In the test: The waterproof DN11 LED flashlight from Imalent with IPX-8 certification

The DN11 has a modern CREE XPL HI LED, which can be regulated from 1 to 1000 lumens.

A few days ago I got the flashlight Immediately DN11 made available for testing. I particularly like the flashlight because of its handy size and excellent light output. Flashlights are actually not necessarily the content of my blog, but this one has a touch control and also a digital display for the light intensity, so that I actually find them "nerdy" enough to present them here. ;-)

LED flashlight DN11 from Imalent - thanks to touch and display I tested it

LED flashlight DN11 from Imalent - thanks to the touch and display, I put it to the test (Photos: Sir Apfelot).

Technical data of the Imalent DN11

When it comes to LED flashlights, we usually have to deal with small "powerhouses" who get by with few batteries and still provide a lot of light. So also in this case. You can find out which technical details the DN11 has to offer in this table:

  • Dimensions: 109 mm length x 32 mm diameter at the head and 25 mm at the handle
  • Weight: approx. 270 g
  • LED: CREE XPL HI LED (50.000 h service life)
  • Luminous intensity: adjustable between 10 and 1000 lm (365 m light range / 14600 mcd)
  • Running time: 1:45 h at full power / 300 h with 1 lumen
  • Material: aviation aluminum with anodization
  • Operation via touch controls
  • Multifunctional display for battery voltage, light intensity and operating modes
  • Waterproof to a depth of 2 meters according to the IPX-8 standard
  • Overheating warning from 55 ° C and notification when the battery level is low <3.1 volts
  • Battery: 2600 mAh, 1x 18650 battery, 18650 battery or 2x CR123
  • Charge with Micro-USB Charging option on the lamp
  • In addition to the flashlight, the scope of delivery also includes the battery, a USB charging cable, a pouch for the belt, a wrist strap and the manual
Imalent DN11 Scope of delivery: flashlight, wrist strap and bag. The manual, charging cable and battery are also included, but not in the picture.

Imalent DN11 Scope of delivery: flashlight, wrist strap and bag. The manual, charging cable and battery are also included, but not in the picture.

Look and material

When you have unpacked the flashlight, you are initially surprised by the handy size. Personally, I used to have flashlights with similar light intensities, which American police officers like to use as a baton and are correspondingly heavy and large. Accordingly, I was positively surprised by the DN11, which you can even put in your pocket.

The Imalent DN11 LED luminaire combines an attractive appearance with high-quality materials.

The Imalent DN11 LED lamp combines an attractive appearance with high-quality materials.

Nevertheless, the Imalent LED flashlight looks extremely valuable, as it lies comfortably in the hand and the matt black anodization goes well with such an outdoor item. If you unscrew the back cover, through which the battery can also be removed, you can see that the case is made of a good 2 mm thick aluminum. The adjective "robust" can therefore also be used in connection with the flashlight - despite its small size.

Operation and modes of operation

Im must admit: At first I found it difficult to turn on the flashlight because - as always - I didn't want to read the operating instructions. After a few minutes I was so frustrated that I unpacked it. After a quick look at the paper, it was clear how to do it: you tap twice with your thumb on an area above the small display and turn on the LED lamp. To turn it off, just tap it once. If you want to switch between the various operating modes such as strobe, beacon and SOS, you also tap it twice briefly and then switch through the lighting modes with a simple tap.

Below the display there is also a button with an open and a closed lock. I don't understand why these lock symbols were placed there, but the touch button has an important effect: if you press it, the brightness is reduced in steps of 10 from 1000. Hold your fingertip on the upper switch to raise the bar. The rules are very useful, for example, if you are in a tent and do not want to let your "roommates" go blind. The flashlight produces so much light in the brightest level that you shouldn't even look roughly into the light source. It is also very advantageous that it remembers the brightness setting after switching off and that the next time you switch it on, the light intensity that was used when you last switched it off is active again.

The DN11 has a modern CREE XPL HI LED, which can be regulated from 1 to 1000 lumens.

The DN11 has a modern CREE XPL HI LED, which can be regulated from 1 to 1000 lumens. In the brightest setting, the battery still lasts 1:45 hours and it has a range of 365 m.

Unfamiliar touch operation

The operation with the touch-sensitive touch surfaces is unusual, but actually quite reliable - unless you have wet fingers or hold the flashlight under water. Under water - which is not a problem for the lamp due to the IPX-8 certification - it works perfectly, but unfortunately you can no longer use the switch. I find this fact somewhat unsatisfactory with a waterproof flashlight. Using it in the rain should also be problematic if you intend to turn the flashlight off or on with wet fingers. Logically, using it with gloves does not work at all, as the touch elements expect contact with the skin.

Somewhat illogical: a waterproof flashlight that unfortunately cannot be operated with wet fingers.

Somewhat illogical: a waterproof flashlight that unfortunately cannot be operated with wet fingers. Nevertheless: The IPX-8 certification allows use up to 2 m water depth.

No focusing of the light cone

Another restriction is the control of the light cone. This is also not possible with the DN11. I suppose this is mainly due to the fact that the Imalent flashlight is waterproof. A moving part for the focus should make it more difficult to make the flashlight waterproof. For my purpose in a tent or at home, focusing is not necessary, so I do not see this as a disadvantage.

My conclusion on the Imalent DN11

Basically, the DN11 is a very nice device: strong luminosity, adjustable, extremely well and robustly processed and also waterproof. Another advantage is the long battery life. As a rule, you will not need 1000 lm (the maximum brightness), so that with approx. 50 lm you can easily have 20 hours of battery life. With 50 lm you have about the brightness of the iPhone 6 flashlight, which has always served me well when I've sneaked through the garden in the dark.

The Imalent DN11 is charged with a micro-USB cable, which most of us will be using for other devices anyway. I find this way very practical, as I don't have an additional charger ready for the rather unusual battery size.

From my point of view, a real drawback is the lack of a "real" button for switching on and off. If you have a protruding, mechanical button, you can feel where you have to press it even in the dark. The touch switch of the flashlight, on the other hand, cannot be clearly felt, so that you actually always have to look for it or, if you are lucky, "rum-touched" on the front part of the flashlight. Both are not so nice in everyday use.

Nonetheless, I would give the flashlight 4 out of 5 stars because it simply sits comfortably in the hand and was always practical when I was using it. I just never use them underwater and rarely, as a rule. On the other hand, I have already used the brightness control several times.

Brands

Brands

Brands

Brands

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Im Test: Die wasserdichte LED Taschenlampe DN11 von Imalent mit IPX-8 Zertifizierung

Die DN11 verfügt über eine moderne CREE XPL HI LED, die sich von 1 bis 1000 Lumen regeln läßt.

Vor einigen Tagen wurde mir die Taschenlampe Imalent DN11 zum Testen zur Verfügung gestellt. Die Taschenlampe gefällt mir besonders wegen der handlichen Größe und der hervorragenden Lichtausbeute. Eigentlich sind Taschenlampen nicht unbedingt inhaltlich passend zu meinem Blog, aber diese hier hat eine Touchbedienung und auch noch eine Digitalanzeige für die Lichtstärke, so dass ich sie eigentlich „nerdig“ genug finde, um sie hier vorzustellen. 😉

LED Taschenlampe DN11 von Imalent – dank Touch und Display bei mir im Test

LED Taschenlampe DN11 von Imalent – dank Touch und Display ist sie bei mir im Test gelandet (Fotos: Sir Apfelot).

Technische Daten der Imalent DN11

Bei LED Taschenlampen haben wir es ja meistens mit kleinen „Kraftprotzen“ zu tun, die mit wenig Batterien auskommen und dennoch viel Licht zur Verfügung stellen. So auch in diesem Fall. Welche technischen Details die DN11 zu bieten hat, könnt ihr dieser Tabelle entnehmen:

  • Abmessungen: 109 mm Länge x 32 mm Durchmesser am Kopf bzw. 25 mm am Griff
  • Gewicht: ca. 270 g
  • LED: CREE XPL HI LED (50.000 h Lebensdauer)
  • Lichtstärke: regelbar zwischen 10 und 1000 lm (365 m Leuchtweite / 14600 mcd)
  • Laufzeit: 1:45 h auf voller Stärke / 300 h mit 1 Lumen
  • Material: Luftfahrtaluminium mit Eloxierung
  • Bedienung über Touch-Bedienelemente
  • Multifunktionsanzeige für Batteriespannung, Lichtstärke und Betriebsmodi
  • Wasserdicht bis 2 Meter Wassertiefe nach IPX-8 Standard
  • Überhitzungswarnung ab 55°C und Hinweis bei niedrigem Akkustand < 3.1 Volt
  • Akku: 2600 mAh, 1x 18650 Batterie, 18650er Akku oder 2x CR123
  • Aufladen mit Micro-USB Lademöglichkeit an der Lampe
  • im Lieferumfang ist neben der Taschenlampe auch der Akku, ein USB-Ladekabel, eine Tasche für den Gürtel, eine Handschlaufe und das Handbuch
Imalent DN11 Lieferumfang: Taschenlampe, Handschlaufe und Tasche. Das Handbuch, Ladekabel und Akku sind auch mit dabei, aber nicht im Bild.

Imalent DN11 Lieferumfang: Taschenlampe, Handschlaufe und Tasche. Das Handbuch, Ladekabel und Akku sind auch mit dabei, aber nicht im Bild.

Optik und Material

Wenn man die Taschenlampe ausgepackt hat, ist man erstmal überrascht von der handlichen Größe. Ich persönlich habe bei ähnlichen Lichtstärken früher Taschenlampen gehabt, die gerne von amerikanischen Polizisten als Schlagstock verwendet werden und entsprechend schwer und groß sind. Entsprechend positiv überrascht war ich von der DN11, die man sogar in die Hosentasche stecken kann.

Die LED Leuchte Imalent DN11 vereint ansprechende optik mit hochwertigen Materialien.

Die LED Lampe Imalent DN11 vereint ansprechende Optik mit hochwertigen Materialien.

Dennoch wirkt die Imalent LED Taschenlampe extrem wertig, da sie gut in der Hand liegt und die matt-schwarze Eloxierung optisch gut zu solch einem Outdoor-Artikel passt. Schraubt man den hinteren Deckel ab, über den auch der Akku entnommen werden kann, sieht man, dass das Gehäuse aus gut 2 mm dickem Alu besteht. Das Adjektiv „robust“ darf man also getrost auch im Zusammenhang mit der Taschenlampe verwenden – trotz ihrer geringen Größe.

Bedienung und Betriebsmodi

Im muss zugeben: Ich habe mich erstmal schwer getan, die Taschenlampe anzuschalten, da ich – wie immer – nicht die Bedienungsanleitung lesen wollte. Nach einigen Minuten war ich dann so gefrustet, dass ich sie doch mal ausgepackt habe. Nach einem kurzen Blick ins Papier war dann klar, wie es geht: man tippt zweimal mit dem Daumen auf eine Fläche oberhalb des kleinen Displays und schaltet damit die LED Lampe an. Zum Ausschalten tippt man einmal drauf. Möchte man die verschiedenen Betriebsmodi wie Strobe, Beacon und SOS durchwechseln, tippt man es ebenfalls zweimal kurz an und schaltet dann mit einem einfachen Tippen durch die Beleuchtungsmodi.

Unterhalb der Anzeige findet man zudem einen Taster mit offenem und geschlossenem Schloss. Ich verstehe zwar nicht, warum diese Schloss-Symbole dort platziert wurden, aber der Touch-Knopf hat einen wichtigen Effekt: Drückt man diesen an, wird die Leuchtstärke in 10er Schritten von 1000 runter geregelt. Zum Hochregeln hält man seine Fingerspitze auf den oberen Schalter. Das Regeln ist ganz sinnvoll, wenn man zum Beispiel im Zelt ist und seine „Mitbewohner“ nicht erblinden lassen möchte. Die Taschenlampe produziert in der hellsten Stufe nämlich derart viel Licht, dass man nicht einmal annährungsweise in die Lichtquelle schauen sollte. Sehr vorteilhaft ist auch, dass sie sich die Helligkeitseinstellung nach dem Ausschalten merkt und man nach dem nächsten Anschalten wieder die Lichtstärke aktiv hat, die man beim letzten Ausschalten verwendet hatte.

Die DN11 verfügt über eine moderne CREE XPL HI LED, die sich von 1 bis 1000 Lumen regeln läßt.

Die DN11 verfügt über eine moderne CREE XPL HI LED, die sich von 1 bis 1000 Lumen regeln läßt. In der hellsten Stufe hält der Akku immernoch 1:45 Stunden und sie hat eine Reichweite von 365 m.

Touchbedienung ungewohnt

Die Bedienung mit den berühungsempfindlichen Touch-Flächen ist ungewohnt, aber eigentlich recht verlässlich – es sei denn, man hat nasse Finger oder hält die Taschenlampe unter Wasser. Unter Wasser – was für die Lampe aufgrund der IPX-8 Zertifierung kein Problem ist – funktioniert sie tadellos, aber leider kann man dann den Schalter nicht mehr verwenden. Diesen Umstand finde ich bei einer wasserdichten Taschenlampe etwas unzufriedenstellend. Auch die Verwendung im Regen dürfte problematisch sein, wenn man beabsichtig die Taschenlampe mit nassen Finger aus- oder einzuschalten. Die Nutzung mit Handschuhen funktioniert logischerweise garnicht, da die Touchelemente eine Berühung mit der Haut erwarten.

Etwas unlogisch: Eine wasserdichte Taschenlampe, die leider keine Bedienung mit nassen Fingern zuläßt.

Etwas unlogisch: Eine wasserdichte Taschenlampe, die leider keine Bedienung mit nassen Fingern zuläßt. Dennoch: Die IPX-8 Zertifizierung erlaubt die Benutzung bis 2 m Wassertiefe.

Keine Fokussierung des Lichtkegels

Eine weitere Einschränkung ist die Regelung des Lichtkegels. Auch dies ist bei der DN11 nicht möglich. Ich nehme an, dass dies vor allem der Tatsache geschuldet ist, dass die Imalent Taschenlampe wasserdicht ist. Ein bewegliches Teil für die Fokussierung dürfte es schwieriger machen, die Taschenlampe wasserdicht aufzubauen. Für meinen Verwendungszweck im Zelt oder im Hausgebrauch ist die Fokussierung nicht nötig, so dass ich dies nicht als Nachteil ansehe.

Mein Fazit zur Imalent DN11

Im Grunde ist die DN11 ein sehr schönes Gerät: starke Leuchtkraft, regelbar, extrem gut und robust verarbeitet und auch noch wasserdicht. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die recht lange Akkulaufzeit. In der Regel wird man keine 1000 lm (die maximale Helligkeit) benötigen, so dass man bei ca. 50 lm locker 20 h Akkulaufzeit hat. Mit 50 lm hat man etwa die Helligkeit der iPhone 6 Taschenlampe, die mir bisher auch immer gute Dienste geleistet hat, wenn ich im Dunkeln durch den Garten geschlichen bin.

Geladen wird die Imalent DN11 mit einem Micro-USB Kabel, das die meisten von uns sowieso wegen anderen Geräten in Verwendung haben werden. Ich finde diesen Weg sehr praktisch, da ich ein zusätzliches Ladegerät für die doch recht ausgefallene Akku-Größe nicht parat hätte.

Ein echtes Manko ist aus meiner Sicht der Verzicht auf einen „echten“ Knopf zum Ein- und Ausschalten. Hat man einen herausstehenden, mechanischen Knopf, fühlt man auch im Dunkeln wo man drücken muss. Der Touchschalter der Taschenlampe ist dagegen leider nicht klar zu erfühlen, so dass man ihn eigentlich immer suchen muss oder auf gut Glück auf dem vorderen Teil der Taschenlampe „rum-touched“. Beides ist nicht so schön in der alltäglichen Verwendung.

Trotzdem würde ich der Taschenlampe 4 von 5 Sternen geben, da sie einfach gut in der Hand liegt und bei meiner Verwendung immer praktisch war. Ich nutze sie einfach nie unter Wasser und auch selten im Regel. Die Leuchtstärkeregelung habe ich dagegen schon mehrfach in Gebrauch gehabt.

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.