In the test: Inateck HB4103C USB-C hub with 3x USB 3.0 ports and network connection

The Inateck USB-C to USB-3 hub on the MacBook

Today I have a special hub in the "test laboratory": A 3-port USB 3.0 hub that can be connected to the MacBook (12 inch) from Apple via the Micro-C USB port. If you are looking for a hub with a USB 3.0 connection, you can my post about USB 3.0 hubs read. But this is about an Inateck hub that is connected to the computer via USB-C and then provides USB 3.0 ports. It consists of a unibody aluminum housing and, in addition to the three downward compatible USB 3.0 ports, also has an RJ45 Ethernet socket with which the MacBook can be integrated into a cable-based network via the hub.

Photo: Inateck USB-C hub connected to the MacBook

Photo: Here the Inateck USB-C hub is connected to the MacBook. In addition to the three visible USB 3.0 ports, it also offers an RJ45 socket so that it can be used as an Ethernet adapter - unfortunately the MacBook is not included in the scope of delivery. ;-) (Photos: Sir Apfelot)

USB-C? Never heard!

The manufacturer Inateck has the USB-C hub labeled HB4103C only recently on the market, which is probably due to the fact that there are still few computers with a USB-C port. It is far from being as widespread as the "normal" USB port that is currently supported by all iMacs and MacBooks - except for the 12-inch MacBook from Apple, which only has this one USB-C port as a slot for has external devices. The MacBook is even charged via this connection, which already shows how diverse the specifications of the USB-C interface are.

In addition to the MacBook, the Google Chromebook Pixel 2015 is apparently a laptop or netbook that uses USB-C. There will certainly also be tablets and smartphones that support this interface, but as Sir Apfelot I am of course primarily interested in using the Apple MacBook. ;-)

Where is the Inateck USB-C hub used?

Possible areas of application are explained in the description of the hub:

This HB4103C not only expands your computer by three USB 3.0 interfaces so that you can use your USB 3.0 devices again without having to buy new USB-C devices, but also by a direct network interface. Use these distributors with Ethernet adapter to be able to access several networks directly, to replace a damaged LAN outlet, to add Ethernet to a device without a physical network connection or to replace conventional network cards. This ethernet adapter can should not can be used to connect USB devices to a computer via the network. The trunk connection takes place exclusively via USB.

For owners of the Apple MacBook, however, the hub is not so much a way of replacing defective network cards as it is an expansion of its connection options. The MacBook only comes with a USB-C connection and therefore offers no possibility of connecting USB devices with the usual USB connector. Printers, hard drives and USB sticks cannot be connected without an adapter. Apple offers such adapters, but they are usually quite expensive and also do not have a hub function. That means you only have a normal USB connection available and you would have to plug in an extra hub in order to be able to use several ports. Seen in this light, the Inateck hub offers more functions for little money. It is available in two versions:

  • HB4103C: USB-C connection with 3x USB 3.0 ports and 1x Ethernet port - approx. 28 EUR (my version tested here)
  • HB4102C: USB-C connection with 4x USB 3.0 ports - approx. 18 EUR

Technical data and functions

Here is some information about the technical details of the hub:

  • Supports USB Type-C (5 Gb / s), USB 3.0 (5 Gb / s), USB 2.0 (480 Mb / s), USB 1.0 (12 Mb / s)
  • Network connection works without driver installation
  • Supports IPv4 / IPv6 networks, full duplex, automatic channel. and bandwidth control
  • Integrated Gigabit Ethernet adapter with RTL5401 & RTL8153 chipset supports a bandwidth of 1000 Mb / s, with simultaneous downward compatibility to the network modes 10/100 Mb / s
  • works with OS X and Windows XP / Vista / 7/8 / 8.1 (32/64 bit)
  • compatible with 12 inch MacBook, tablets Nokia N1, Chromebook Pixel 2015, Nexus 6P, Nexus 5X, Pixel C ua.
  • Aluminum unibody case
  • Connection USB-C to 3-port USB 3.0 with Ethernet adapter

Installation on Mac: "Plug and Play"

It's funny sometimes. I looked at the operating instructions for the hub and there was a chapter "Installation" divided into "Installation under Windows" and "Installation under Mac OS" (ok, OS X would have been more correct here). The chapter for Windows included step-by-step instructions with screenshots over two pages. On the Mac: plug it in and it works. Man, sometimes you forget how nice it is to work on a Mac. ;-)

My test: transfer speeds of USB 3.0 hard drives and USB sticks

I have to admit that with a hub you don't even know what to test at first. The processing in aluminum leaves nothing to be desired. You plug it in and it glows. You plug in a hard drive and it appears as usual on the Mac and shows no problems with reading or writing. So a hub is actually a device that, in the best case scenario, you go unnoticed because everything works as usual. And this is exactly what the Inateck USB-C hub does: It works reliably and without failures.

Still, I had the feeling that I had to put it through its paces a little more. So I did the BlackMagic Disk Speed ​​Test and then let the hub on my MacBook with two USB 3 hard drives and a USB 3 stick compete against the Apple Hub and against the direct connection of the devices to my MacBook Pro.

Disk Speed ​​Test: USB 3 hard drive on the Inatek USB-C hub

The Blackmagic Disk Speed ​​Test shows that the read and write speeds of the USB 3 hard drive on the Inatek USB-C hub are by and large what can be expected from the USB 3 port of a MacBook Pro.

The results were clear: the speeds that my USB3 hard drive or USB3 stick showed on the Inateck Hub are not significantly different than when I use the Apple USB-C to USB-3 Hub or the devices directly Connect to my MacBook Pro via USB 3.

The values ​​when writing to a USB-3 hard drive from Western Digital were consistently around 52-56 MB per second, while reading around 60-65 MB per second was achieved. When writing to a Transcend USB 3.0 stick, both values ​​were about 5 MB / s higher. This means that when working with the hub there is no loss of speed compared to direct connection to a USB 3 port or connection via the original Apple USB adapter.

Important: since USB 3.0 is normally up to 600 MB / s, my measured transfer speed should only have ended up at 50-70 MB / s due to the hard drives. Since they weren't SSD hard drives, they probably reached their limit for the measured values, while the Inateck Hub would probably have allowed even faster data transfers.

My conclusion on the USB-C hub HB4103C

The Inateck USB C hub leaves nothing to be desired in practical use. It is a passive USB hub that receives its power for the connected devices and for its operation directly from the MacBook and thus works without an external power supply unit. The hub works flawlessly and is well suited as a supplement for owners of an Apple MacBook who still have to fall back on "old" USB 3 hard drives or USB 3 sticks here and there. Of course, other USB devices can also be connected: Printers, keyboards or mice work perfectly with the Inateck Hub. In any case, it has found its place as a constant companion in my bag for the MacBook.

I haven't tested the Ethernet adapter in the USB-C hub, but it supports speeds of up to 1 Gb / s and is therefore faster than most WiFi networks. For users who, for example, have to plug in a LAN cable at work to get into a network, the Ethernet adapter should be very practical. If you can do without it, you can buy the cheaper version of the Inateck Hub, which comes with 4 USB 3.0 ports.

As a test, I connected both 2,5 inch hard disks to the hub, but since it is a passive hub and the hard disks are neither energy-saving SSDs, the message came that one device was consuming too much power for the port. So you can only operate one hard drive directly on the hub if you don't have an external power supply for the hard drive - but this was to be expected.

Here again both versions of the hub linked on Amazon:

 

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

2 comments

  1. Klaus Schräder says:

    Am I correct that this hub does not offer the possibility of supplying the Macbook with power like the others (my article about 1/2 year ago)? Since there is only one USB c connection, this is actually absolutely necessary. do not understand what the problem is. Apple can do it with its HDMI adapter, which also has a USB port. Of course, it costs € 89 and then only has a USB port. Help me by connecting a hub to this adapter again .... Not very elegant.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Klaus! Exactly ... you cannot charge the MacBook with this hub because there is no USB-C input. I assume this is technically more complex than building a passive hub. For this reason also the low price of the Inateck and the high price of the Apple adapter. I think there are more and more USB-C accessories on the market, so a USB-C hub with a charging function is sure to come. If Inateck develops one and makes one available to me, I'll be happy to test it. :)

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Im Test: Inateck HB4103C USB-C Hub mit 3x USB 3.0 Ports und Netzwerk-Anschluß

Der Inateck USB-C auf USB-3-Hub am MacBook

Heute ist bei mir ein besonderer Hub im “Testlabor”: Ein 3-Port USB 3.0 Hub, der über den Micro-C-USB-Anschluß an das MacBook (12 Zoll) von Apple angeschlossen werden kann. Wer auf der Suche nach einem Hub mit USB 3.0 Anschluß ist, kann meinen Beitrag über USB 3.0 Hubs lesen. Hier geht es aber um einen Inateck Hub, der per USB-C an den Rechner angeschlossen wird und dann USB-3.0-Ports zur Verfügung stellt. Er besteht aus einem Unibody-Alu-Gehäuse und weist neben den drei abwärtskompatiblen USB 3.0-Ports auch eine RJ45 Ethernet-Buchse auf, mit der man das MacBook über den Hub in ein kabelbasiertes Netzwerk einbinden kann.

Foto: Inateck USB-C Hub am MacBook angeschlossen

Foto: Hier ist der Inateck USB-C Hub am MacBook angeschlossen. Er bietet neben den drei sichtbaren USB 3.0 Ports auch noch eine RJ45 Buchse, damit man ihn als Ethernet-Adapter verwenden kann – das MacBook gehört leider nicht zum Lieferumfang. 😉 (Fotos: Sir Apfelot)

USB-C? Noch nie gehört!

Der Hersteller Inateck hat den USB-C-Hub mit der Bezeichnung HB4103C erst seit kurzem im Handel, was vermutlich darauf zurück zu führen ist, dass es noch wenige Computer gibt, die einen USB-C-Anschluß besitzen. Er ist lange noch nicht so verbreitet, wie der “normale” USB-Anschluß, den derzeit eigentlich alle iMacs und MacBooks unterstützen – eben bis auf das 12-Zoll MacBook von Apple, das nur noch diesen einen USB-C-Port als Steckplatz für externe Geräte aufweist. Das MacBook wird sogar über diesen Anschluß geladen, was schon zeigt, wie vielfältig die Spezifikation der USB-C Schnittstelle ist.

Neben dem MacBook ist scheinbar auch das Google Chromebook Pixel 2015 ein Laptop bzw. Netbook, das auf USB-C setzt. Es wird sicher auch noch Tablets und Smartphones geben, die diese Schnittstelle unterstützen, aber als Sir Apfelot interessiert mich natürlich vorwiegend der Einsatz am Apple MacBook. 😉

Wo kommt der USB-C-Hub von Inateck zum Einsatz?

In der Beschreibung des Hubs werden mögliche Einsatzgebiete erläutert:

Dieser HB4103C erweitert Ihren Rechner nicht nur um drei USB-3.0-Schnittstellen, damit Sie Ihre USB-3.0-Geräte wieder verwenden können, ohne neue USB-C-Geräte kaufen zu müssen, sondern auch um eine direkte Netzwerkschnittstelle.Verwenden Sie diese Verteiler mit Ethernet-Adapter, um auf mehrere Netzwerke direkt zugreifen zu können, einen beschädigten LAN-Ausgang zu ersetzen, um Ethernet zu einem Gerät ohne physikalische Netzwerkverbindung hinzuzufügen oder um herkömmliche Netzwerkkarten zu ersetzen. Dieser Ethernet-Adapter kann nicht dazu verwendet werden, um USB-Geräte über das Netzwerk an einen Rechner anzubinden. Die Stammanbindung erfolgt ausschließlich über USB.

Für Besitzer des Apple MacBook ist der Hub allerdings weniger, um defekte Netzwerkkarten zu ersetzen, als vielmehr eine Erweiterung seiner Anschlußmöglichkeiten. Das MacBook kommt nur mit einem USB-C Anschluß und bietet somit keine Möglichkeit, USB-Geräte mit dem üblichen USB-Stecker anzuschließen. Drucker, Festplatten und USB-Sticks kann man ohne Adapter nicht anschließen. Apple bietet zwar solche Adapter an, aber diese sind in der Regel recht teuer und zudem noch ohne Hub-Funktion. Das heißt man hat wieder nur einen normalen USB-Anschluß zur Verfügung und müsste noch einen extra Hub anstecken, um mehrere Ports nutzen zu können. Der Hub von Inateck bietet so gesehen mehr Funktionen für kleines Geld. Es gibt ihn in zwei Ausführungen:

  • HB4103C: USB-C Anschluß mit 3x USB 3.0 Ports und 1x Ethernet-Port – ca. 28 EUR (meine hier getestete Version)
  • HB4102C: USB-C Anschluß mit 4x USB 3.0 Ports – ca. 18 EUR

Technische Daten und Funktionen

Hier stichpunktartig ein paar Infos über die technischen Details des Hubs:

  • Unterstützt USB Typ-C (5 Gb/s), USB 3.0 (5 Gb/s), USB 2.0 (480 Mb/s), USB 1.0 (12 Mb/s)
  • Netzwerkverbindung funktioniert ohne Treiberinstallation
  • Unterstützt IPv4/IPv6-Netzwerke, volles Duplex, automatische Kanal-. und Bandbreitensteuerung
  • integrierte Gigabit Ethernet-Adapter mit RTL5401 & RTL8153-Chipsatz unterstützt eine Bandbreite von 1000 Mb/s, bei gleichzeitiger Abwärtskompatibilität zu den Netzwerkmodi 10/100 Mb/s
  • funktioniert mit OS X und Windows XP/Vista/7/8/8.1 (32/64 bit)
  • kompatibel mit 12 Zoll MacBook, Tablets Nokia N1, Chromebook Pixel 2015, Nexus 6P, Nexus 5X, Pixel C ua.
  • Aluminium Unibody-Gehäuse
  • Anschluß USB-C auf 3-Port USB 3.0 mit Ethernet-Adapter

Installation am Mac: “Plug and Play”

Es ist manchmal schon lustig. Ich habe mir die Bedienungsanleitung für den Hub angeschaut und dort gab es ein Kapitel “Installation” unterteilt in “Installation unter Windows” und “Installation unter Mac OS” (ok, hier wäre OS X korrekter gewesen). Bei dem Kapitel für Windows war eine Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung mit Screenshots über zwei Seiten zu finden. Beim Mac: Einstecken und es läuft. Mensch, manchmal vergißt man, wie schön es ist, am Mac zu arbeiten. 😉

Mein Test: Übertragungsgeschwindigkeiten von USB 3.0 Festplatten und USB-Sticks

Ich muss gestehen, bei einem Hub weiss man im ersten Moment garnicht, was man testen soll. Die Verarbeitung in Alu läßt optisch keine Wünsche offen. Man steckt ihn ein, und er leuchtet. Man steckt eine Festplatte an und sie erscheint wie gewohnt am Mac und zeigt auch keinerlei Probleme beim Lesen und Schreiben. Ein Hub ist also eigentlich ein Gerät, das man im besten Fall nicht bemerkt, weil einfach alles wie gewohnt funktioniert. Und genau dies macht der USB-C Hub von Inateck: Er funktioniert zuverlässig und ohne Ausfälle.

Trotzdem hatte ich das Gefühl, dass ich ihn etwas mehr auf Herz und Nieren testen müsste. Ich habe mir also den BlackMagic Disk Speed Test vorgenommen und dann den Hub auf meinem MacBook mit zwei USB 3 Festplatten und einem USB 3 Stick gegen den Apple Hub und gegen den direkten Anschluß der Geräte an meinem MacBook Pro antreten lassen.

Disk Speed Test: USB 3 Festplatte am Inatek USB-C Hub

Der Blackmagic Disk Speed Test zeigt, dass die Lese- und Schreibgeschwindigkeiten USB 3 Festplatte am Inatek USB-C Hub im Großen und Ganzen dem entsprechen, was man auch am USB-3-Port eines MacBook Pro erwarten kann.

Die Ergebnisse waren eindeutig: Die Geschwindigkeiten, die meine USB3-Festplatte bzw. mein USB3-Stick am Inateck Hub gezeigt haben, sind nicht deutlich anders, als wenn ich den Apple USB-C-auf-USB-3 Hub verwende oder die Geräte direkt über USB 3 an mein MacBook Pro anschließe.

Die Werte beim Schreiben auf einer USB-3-Festplatte von Western Digital lagen durchweg bei ca. 52-56 MB pro Sekunde während beim Lesen ca. 60-65 MB pro Sekunde erreicht wurden. Beim Schreiben auf einen Transcend USB 3.0 Stick lagen beide Werte etwa 5 MB/s höher. Das heißt, beim Arbeiten mit dem Hub gibt es keinerlei Geschwindigkeitseinbußen im Vergleich zum direkten Anschluß an einen USB 3-Port oder zum Anschluß über den original Apple-USB-Adapter.

Wichtig: da USB 3.0 normalerweise bis zu 600 MB/s schnell ist, dürfte meine gemessene Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit aufgrund der Festplatten nur bei 50-70 MB/s gelandet sein. Da es keine SSD-Festplatten waren, haben sie vermutlich ihr Limit bei den gemessenen Werten erreicht, während der Inateck Hub vermutlich noch schnellere Datenübertragungen erlaubt hätte.

Mein Fazit zum USB-C Hub HB4103C

Der Inateck USB C-Hub läßt im Praxiseinsatz keine Wünsche offen. Es handelt sich um einen passiven USB-Hub, der seinen Strom für die angeschlossenen Geräte und für seinen Betrieb direkt vom MacBook erhält und damit ohne externes Netzteil auskommt. Der Hub funktioniert tadellos und eignet sich gut als Ergänzung für Besitzer eines Apple MacBooks, die hier und da noch auf “alte” USB 3-Festplatten oder USB-3 Sticks zurückgreifen müssen. Natürlich ist auch der Anschluß von anderen USB-Geräten möglich: Drucker, Tastaturen oder Mäuse funktionieren einwandfrei mit dem Inateck Hub. In meiner Tasche für das MacBook hat er jedenfalls seinen Platz als ständigen Begleiter gefunden.

Den Ethernet-Adapter im USB-C-Hub habe ich nicht getestet, aber er unterstützt Geschwindigkeiten bis zu 1 Gb/s und ist damit auch schneller als die meisten WLAN-Netzwerke. Für Benutzer, die zum Beispiel an der Arbeit mal ein LAN-Kabel einstecken müssen, um in ein Netzwerk zu kommen, dürfte der Ethernet-Adapter sehr praktisch sein. Wer darauf verzichten kann, kann sich die günstigere Version des Inateck Hubs kaufen, die mit 4 USB-3.0-Ports geliefert wird.

Ich habe testweise mal beide 2,5 Zoll Festplatten am Hub angeschlossen, aber da es sich um einen passiven Hub handelt und die Festplatten beide keine stromsparenden SSDs sind, kam die Meldung, dass ein Gerät zuviel Strom für den Port verbraucht. Man kann also immer nur eine Festplatte direkt am Hub betreiben, wenn man kein externes Netzteil für die Festplatte hat – allerdings war dies auch zu erwarten.

Hier nochmal beide Versionen des Hubs verlinkt auf Amazon:

Inateck HB4102C: Version mit 4x USB 3.0 Ports Inateck HB4103C: Version mit 3x USB 3.0 Ports und Ethernet-Adapter

 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

2 Kommentare

  1. Klaus Schräder sagt:

    Sehe ich das richtig, dass dieser Hub keine Möglichkeit bietet, wie die anderen auch (mein Artikel vor ca. 1/2 Jahr) das Macbook mit Strom zu versorgen? Da nur ein USB c Anschluss vorhanden ist, ist das eigentlich zwingend notwendig. verstehe nicht, was das Problem ist. apple kann es doch auch mit seinem HDMI Adapter, der auch eunen USB Anschluss hat. Der kostet aber natürlich 89 € und hat dann nur einen USB Anschluss. Helfe mir, indem ich an diesen Adapter dann wieder einen Hub anschliesse….Nicht gerade sehr elegant.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Klaus! Exakt… mit diesem Hub kann man das MacBook nicht aufladen, da kein USB-C Eingang vorhanden ist. Ich nehme an dies ist technisch komplexer als einen passiven Hub zu bauen. Aus dem Grund auch der günstige Preis beim Inateck und der hohe Preis vom Apple-Adapter. Ich denke, es ist immer mehr USB-C Zubehör auf dem Markt, so dass sicher auch ein USB-C-Hub mit Ladefunktion kommen wird. Wenn Inateck einen entwickelt und mir zur Verfügung stellt, teste ich ihn gerne. 🙂

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.