"The Apple Store Time Machine" Mac App: Visit four Apple Stores on opening day

In May 2021 I have you for the 20th anniversary of the opening of the first Apple Store the AR project by 9to5Mac presented, with which you could look around the store. Now you can go one or two steps further. Because the developer Michael Steeber, with the help of Robert Steeber, has released free software that not only lets you look around the first Apple Store in Tysons Corner, Virginia, but also visit three other Apple stores on opening day. Impressions from the years 2004, 2006 and 2015 are included. The project is called The Apple Store Time Machine; the installed one App is called Shop Different.

TL; DR: Here is the developer website

Shop windows, exterior lighting, interior - with the Shop Different app from The Apple Store Time Machine Download you can look at different shops in a detailed 3D environment. This is just a screenshot to get you started.

Shop windows, exterior lighting, interior - with the Shop Different app from The Apple Store Time Machine Download you can look at different shops in a detailed 3D environment. This is just a screenshot to get you started.

The Apple Store Time Machine with free download

The software project was realized with the Unity engine and is therefore as easy to control as a video game. Through extensive research and viewing of locations and recordings, these Apple Stores, including realistic sounds and media, were made digitally accessible:

  • Apple Store, Tyson's Corner on May 19, 2001
  • Apple Store, Stanford Shopping Center on October 16, 2004
  • Apple Store, Fifth Avenue on May 19, 2006
  • Apple Infinite Loop, Cupertino on the 19. September 2015
The menu with the selection of the four stores guides you in a more classic OS X style.

The menu with the selection of the four stores guides you in a more classic OS X style.

From the very first Apple Store to the in-house store in Apple Park, there are several stages of Apple retail space development. The download of “The Apple Store Time Machine” is available on the Developer's website for free. The game-like software works on current Intel Macs as well as on models with Apple Silicon. Once downloaded, the file you need to drag into the Applications folder is called "Shop Different". But it is still the right program.

Learn more about Shop Different

The program is basically self-explanatory. It will tell you that you can skip the intro with the escape key. The four shops can then be selected in a clear menu and you can display the controls at any time. This works, as all gamers are used to, using the W, A, S, D and mouse keys. 

By the way, on the linked website you will also find the possibility to leave a donation for the software and its development, if you want to. The voluntary payment is processed via the Gumroad platform. What do you think of The Apple Store Time Machine or Shop Different app? Have you already taken a tour? Feel free to leave a comment on the topic!

And here is the real tour from 2001 with Steve Jobs:

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

„The Apple Store Time Machine“ Mac App: Vier Apple Stores am Eröffnungstag begehen

Im Mai 2021 habe ich euch zum 20-jährigen Jubiläum der Eröffnung des ersten Apple Stores das AR-Projekt von 9to5Mac präsentiert, mit dem ihr euch in dem Laden umsehen konntet. Jetzt könnt ihr noch ein-zwei Schritte weiter gehen. Denn der Entwickler Michael Steeber hat mithilfe von Robert Steeber eine kostenlose Software veröffentlicht, mit der ihr euch nicht nur im ersten Apple Store in Tysons Corner, Virginia umsehen, sondern noch drei weitere Apple-Läden zum Eröffnungstag besuchen könnt. Mit dabei sind Eindrücke aus den Jahren 2004, 2006 und 2015. Das Projekt heißt The Apple Store Time Machine; die installierte App nennt sich Shop Different.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s zur Developer-Webseite

Schaufenster, Außenbeleuchtung, Innenraum – mit der Shop Different App aus dem The Apple Store Time Machine Download könnt ihr euch verschiedene Läden in einer detailreichen 3D-Umgebung anschauen. Das hier ist nur ein Screenshot zur Einstimmung.

Schaufenster, Außenbeleuchtung, Innenraum – mit der Shop Different App aus dem The Apple Store Time Machine Download könnt ihr euch verschiedene Läden in einer detailreichen 3D-Umgebung anschauen. Das hier ist nur ein Screenshot zur Einstimmung.

The Apple Store Time Machine mit gratis Download

Das Software-Projekt wurde mit der Unity-Engine realisiert und steuert sich daher so einfach wie ein Videospiel. Durch umfangreiche Recherche und Sichtung von Locations bzw. Aufzeichnungen wurden diese Apple Stores inklusive realistischen Sounds und Medien digital begehbar gemacht:

  • Apple Store, Tysons Corner am 19. Mai 2001
  • Apple Store, Stanford Shopping Center am 16. Oktober 2004
  • Apple Store, Fifth Avenue am 19. Mai 2006
  • Apple Infinite Loop, Cupertino am 19. September 2015
Das Menü mit der Auswahl der vier Läden weist euch in einem eher klassischen OS X Stil den Weg.

Das Menü mit der Auswahl der vier Läden weist euch in einem eher klassischen OS X Stil den Weg.

Vom allerersten Apple Store bis hin zum hauseigenen Laden im Apple Park sind also mehrere Entwicklungsstufen der Apple-Ladenflächen dabei. Der Download der „The Apple Store Time Machine“ ist auf der Webseite des Entwicklers kostenlos. Die spielähnliche Software funktioniert auf aktuellen Intel-Macs sowie auf Modellen mit Apple Silicon. Nach dem Download heißt die Datei, die ihr in den Programme-Ordner ziehen müsst, „Shop Different“. Es handelt sich aber dennoch um das richtige Programm.

Weitere Informationen zu Shop Different

Das Programm erklärt sich im Grunde von selbst. Es wird euch angezeigt, dass ihr das Intro mit der Escape-Taste überspringen könnt. In einem übersichtlichen Menü lassen sich dann die vier Läden auswählen und ihr könnt euch jederzeit die Steuerung anzeigen lassen. Diese funktioniert, für alle Gamer/innen gewohnt, über die Tasten W, A, S, D und Maus. 

Auf der verlinkten Webseite findet ihr übrigens auch die Möglichkeit, eine Spende für die Software und ihre Entwicklung zu hinterlassen, falls ihr das möchtet. Abgewickelt wird die freiwillige Bezahlung über die Plattform Gumroad. Was haltet ihr von der „The Apple Store Time Machine“- bzw. „Shop Different“-App? Habt ihr schon einen Rundgang unternommen? Lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Thema da!

Und hier noch der echte Rundgang von 2001 mit Steve Jobs:



Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft oder bei Patreon unterstützen würdest.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.