AI Sky Enhancer - AI-assisted sky enhancement in Skylum Luminar 2018

Who visites Skylum Luminar 2018 as an app for photo editing, can look forward to using a tool controlled by artificial intelligence in the future. This AI Sky Enhancer This photo editing software tool is intended for editing the sky in photos and gives these important elements of outdoor photography more (or less) saturation, contrast and dynamism. Masks, layers, gradients and other handicrafts are no longer required to separate the sky from objects, buildings, people and other things in the foreground. The update for this precise, AI-supported sky improvement in Skylum Luminar 2018 will be available on November 1st, 2018 - free of charge for all users.

The AI ​​Sky Enhancer for Luminar 2018 comes as a free update for all users of the photo editing app. The AI ​​tool recognizes the sky and lets you make adjustments using the slider. Image source: Skylum

The AI ​​Sky Enhancer for Luminar 2018 comes as a free update for all users of the photo editing app. The AI ​​tool recognizes the sky and lets you make adjustments using the slider. Image source: Skylum

AI Sky Enhancer for Luminar 2018

The AI ​​Sky Enhancer for Luminar 2018 was developed by the Skylum AI Lab by training a neural network on the sky and its delineation from objects in the foreground. Based on this knowledge, the tool automatically creates masks in the background, which do not change the edges of the sky and objects, but separate everything very precisely. Adjustments can then be made using the slider. This greatly simplifies the workflow for outdoor photography and post-processing of the resulting images. Here is a video showing the AI-powered sky enhancement in action:

Support Sir Apfelot on SteadyHQ

Better workflow and beautiful images with less effort

In einem Blog Regarding the AI ​​Sky Enhancer from Skylum CEO Alex Tsepko, he explains that more than 70% of Luminar users mainly take photos outdoors. And since almost three quarters of users always have sky, sky sections or even larger areas of sky in their photos that they want to edit - as quickly, easily and efficiently as possible - the tool described above was developed. Alex Tsepko writes:

We know [...]how important a great sky is for a great photo. But we also know that making improvements to the sky can be difficult and time consuming, especially when there are different objects and people in the foreground. This means that you often have to use masks, layers, edge selections, and other tools and techniques to make the sky look good and realistic at the same time. It's a complex process that takes time.

In the example images, in addition to the sky improved with the AI ​​Sky Enhancer, all other elements of the image were also enhanced in the sense of HDR photography. Image source: Skylum

In the example images, in addition to the sky improved with the AI ​​Sky Enhancer, all other elements of the image were also enhanced in the sense of HDR photography. Image source: Skylum

A déjà-vu for Photolemur 3 users?

Similar improvements as those that can be achieved with AI Sky Enhancer as an AI-supported sky improvement in Skylum Luminar 2018, I already know from mine Photolemur 3 test. The HDR correction of images with the help of artificial intelligence worked in a similar way. No wonder, actually, since Photolemur has been part of Skylum since May 2018 (Message here). 

However, the tool described above mainly focuses on correcting the sky while leaving the other elements of the photo unchanged. It looks different in the sample images (here in the post and in the linked blog post) - but the video shows how it works;) So it is not a direct copy of the technology, but rather a specialization through the training of the AI ​​on sky and Areas of the sky.

Related Links

  • Sir Apfelot's contribution to the launch of Luminar 2018 by Skylum: Click here
  • Details, image examples and download of Luminar 2018: Click here
  • Information, examples and download from Photolemur: Click here
-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

AI Sky Enhancer – KI-gestützte Himmel-Verbesserung in Skylum Luminar 2018

Wer Skylum Luminar 2018 als App für die Fotobearbeitung nutzt, kann sich in Zukunft auf den Einsatz eines von künstlicher Intelligenz gesteuerten Werkzeugs freuen. Dieses AI Sky Enhancer genannte Tool der Fotobearbeitungssoftware ist für die Bearbeitung von Himmel in Fotos gedacht und verleiht diesen wichtigen Elementen der Outdoor-Fotografie mehr (oder weniger) Sättigung, Kontrast und Dynamik. Dabei werden keine Masken, Ebenen, Verläufe und andere Basteleien mehr benötigt, um den Himmel von Objekten, Gebäuden, Menschen und anderen Sachen im Vordergrund zu trennen. Das Update für diese präzise, KI-gestützte Himmel-Verbesserung in Skylum Luminar 2018 gibt es am 1. November 2018 – kostenlos für alle Nutzer.

Der AI Sky Enhancer für Luminar 2018 kommt als gratis Update für alle Nutzer der Fotobearbeitung-App. Das KI-Tool erkennt Himmel und lässt euch per Schieberegler Anpassungen vornehmen. Bildquelle: Skylum

Der AI Sky Enhancer für Luminar 2018 kommt als gratis Update für alle Nutzer der Fotobearbeitung-App. Das KI-Tool erkennt Himmel und lässt euch per Schieberegler Anpassungen vornehmen. Bildquelle: Skylum

AI Sky Enhancer für Luminar 2018

Der AI Sky Enhancer für Luminar 2018 wurde vom Skylum AI Lab entwickelt, indem ein neuronales Netzwerk auf Himmel und deren Abgrenzung zu Objekten im Vordergrund hin trainiert wurde. Das Werkzeug legt aufgrund dieser Erkenntnisse im Hintergrund vollautomatisch Masken an, welche die Kanten von Himmel und Objekten nicht verändern, sondern alles ganz genau abtrennen. Per Schieberegler lassen sich dann Anpassungen vornehmen. Damit wird der Workflow für die Draußen-Fotografie bzw. die Nachbearbeitung der entstehenden Bilder massiv vereinfacht. Hier ein Video, das die KI-gestützte Himmel-Verbesserung in Aktion zeigt:

Besserer Workflow und schöne Bilder mit weniger Aufwand

In einem Blogbeitrag zum AI Sky Enhancer von Skylum-CEO Alex Tsepko geht dieser darauf ein, dass mehr als 70% der Luminar-Nutzer vorwiegend im Freien fotografieren. Und da somit knapp drei Viertel der Nutzer ständig Himmel, Himmelsausschnitte oder auch größere Himmelsflächen in ihren Fotos haben, die sie – möglichst schnell, einfach und effizient – bearbeiten wollen, wurde das oben beschriebene Tool entwickelt. Dazu schreibt Alex Tsepko:

Wir wissen […], wie wichtig ein toller Himmel für ein großartiges Foto ist. Wir wissen aber auch, dass Verbesserungen am Himmel schwierig und zeitraubend sein können, besonders wenn sich verschiedene Objekte und Personen im Vordergrund befinden. Das bedeutet, dass du oft Masken, Ebenen, Kantenauswahlen und andere Werkzeuge und Techniken anwenden musst, um den Himmel gut und gleichzeitig realistisch aussehen zu lassen. Das ist ein komplexer Prozess, der einige Zeit in Anspruch nimmt.

Bei den Beispielbildern wurden neben dem mit dem AI Sky Enhancer verbesserten Himmel auch alle anderen Elemente des Bilds im Sinne der HDR-Fotografie aufgehübscht. Bildquelle: Skylum

Bei den Beispielbildern wurden neben dem mit dem AI Sky Enhancer verbesserten Himmel auch alle anderen Elemente des Bilds im Sinne der HDR-Fotografie aufgehübscht. Bildquelle: Skylum

Ein Déjà-vu für Photolemur 3 Nutzer?

Ähnliche Verbesserungen wie jene, die man per AI Sky Enhancer als KI-gestützte Himmel-Verbesserung in Skylum Luminar 2018 erreichen kann, kenne ich schon aus meinem Photolemur 3 Test. Da hat die HDR-Korrektur von Bildern mithilfe künstlicher Intelligenz ähnlich funktioniert. Kein Wunder eigentlich, wo doch Photolemur seit Mai 2018 zu Skylum gehört (Meldung hier). 

Jedoch konzentriert sich das oben beschriebene Tool vornehmlich auf die Korrektur des Himmels während die anderen Elemente des Fotos nicht weiter angerührt werden. Das sieht zwar in den Beispielbildern (hier im Beitrag sowie im verlinkten Blogbeitrag) anders aus – aber das Video zeigt ja, wie es funktioniert 😉 Es ist also keine direkte Kopie der Technologie, sondern eher eine Spezialisierung durch das Training der KI auf Himmel und Himmelsbereiche.

Weiterführende Links

  • Sir-Apfelot-Beitrag zum Launch von Luminar 2018 von Skylum: Hier klicken
  • Details, Bildbeispiele und Download von Luminar 2018: Hier klicken
  • Informationen, Beispiele und Download von Photolemur: Hier klicken
Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.