Apple Studio Display specs, price and comparison to Pro Display XDR

On Tuesday, in addition to the new models from Apple iPhone SE and iPad Air as well as next to the all new MacStudio also presented a suitable monitor. The Studio Display is a 5K monitor that can be purchased with optional nano-texture glass. It is intended to serve as a screen for office and studio environments, whether music, photo and video, 3D environments or programming. The new Apple Studio Display can be used with the Mac Studio, but also with other Mac, iMac and MacBook models. Here you can find more data and the comparison with the Apple Pro Display XDR.

The Apple Studio Display is compatible with the Mac Studio and various Mac, iMac and MacBook models. The 27-inch screen also has its own audio system and a FaceTime camera. You can find more dates, the price and more in this post.
The Apple Studio Display is compatible with the Mac Studio and various Mac, iMac and MacBook models. The 27-inch screen also has its own audio system and a FaceTime camera. You can find more dates, the price and more in this post.

Apple Studio Display Specifications

The Apple Studio Display is a screen that can be combined with two different stands for the desk as well as with a VESA mount on the wall. In the following you will find all important technical data from the Studio Display data sheet:

  • Manufacturer: Apple
  • Product: Studio display
  • Product Type: Screen
  • Dimensions (incl. standard stand): 47,8 cm high, 62,3 cm wide, 16,8 cm deep
  • Weight (including standard stand): 6,3 kg
  • Dimensions (incl. height-adjustable stand): 47,9 to 58,3 cm high, 62,3 cm wide, 20,7 cm deep
  • Weight (incl. height-adjustable stand): 7,7 kg
  • Dimensions (incl. VESA mount): 36,2 cm height, 62,3 cm width, 3,1 cm depth
  • Weight (including VESA mount): 5,5 kg
  • Display diagonal: 27 inches (68,29 cm)
  • Display resolution: 5.120 x 2.880 pixels @ 218 ppi
  • Display brightness: 600 nits
  • Other screen data: P3 color space, supports 1 billion colors, True Tone
  • Screen surface: standard glass or nano-textured glass (against reflections)
  • FaceTime camera: 12 MP ultra wide-angle lens with 122° field of view, ƒ/2.4 aperture and follow mode (Center Stage)
  • Loudspeakers: 6 loudspeakers for differentiated stereo sound and support for 3D sound (Spacial Audio)
  • Microphones: 3 studio quality microphones with noise cancellation and "Hey Siri"
  • Processor: A13 Bionic Chip
  • Connections: 1 x Thunderbolt 3 (can be used as a 96 W charger), 3 x USB-C (each up to 10 GBit/s)
  • Tilt with stand: 30° tilt range from -5° to +25°
  • Included in delivery: Studio Display, Thunderbolt cable (1 m)
  • Price: 1.749 euros to 2.459 euros

Apple Studio Display reference modes

The Apple Studio Display, which was introduced on March 8, 2022, offers various reference modes for the ideal display of colors, brightness and contrast. These modes help to calibrate the screen to specific applications and goals without manual fine-tuning. According to the device's official data sheet, the following reference modes will be available at launch:

  • Apple Display (P3 600 nits)
  • HDTV video (BT.709-BT.1886)
  • NTSC video (BT.601 SMPTE-C)
  • PAL and SECAM video (BT.601 EBU)
  • Digital Cinema (P3‑DCI)
  • Digital Cinema (P3‑D65)
  • Design and Print (P3‑D50)
  • Photography (P3‑D65)
  • Internet and Web (sRGB)

Studio Display - Apple monitor price

As you have already seen in the overview above, there are different versions of the new Apple monitor. The display size of 27 inches is always the same. However, you can choose from different display glass and different stands or a VESA mount for the wall. Below you will find the corresponding pricing after selecting the individual factors.

Tiltable standard stand Height-adjustable stand VESA Mount
standard glass 1.749,00 € 2.209,00 € 1.749,00 €
nano texture glass 1.999,00 € 2.459,00 € 1.999,00 €

Comparison of Studio Display and Pro Display XDR

With the Mac Pro of 2019, Apple has that too Pro XDR Display presented. The 6K screen should iron out the disadvantages of existing professional displays, bring other advantages and be cheaper. For comparison, at that time Keynote a Sony screen is listed for $43.000. Nevertheless, the Pro Display XDR with a 32-inch display from 5.499 euros was and is a big investment. Especially since the "Pro Stand" stand costs another 1.099 euros. Basically, the two current Apple displays for the Mac can hardly be compared. I'll try the following anyway.

Pro Display XDR (2019) Studio Display (2022)
Diagonal 32 inches (80,26 cm) 27 inches (68,29 cm)
Resolution 6.016 x 3.384 pixels @ 218 ppi 5.120 x 2.880 pixels @ 218 ppi
aspect ratio 16:9 16:9
screen glass Standard glass or nano-texture glass Standard glass or nano-texture glass
default brightness 500 Nits 600 Nits
XDR brightness 1.000 nits with 1.600 nits peak -
contrast ratio 1.000.000:1 n / a
Audio - 6 speakers + 3 microphones
camera - 12 MP wide angle with center stage
Prices from € 5.499 from € 1.749

Apple Studio Display and Peek Performance event on video

If you want to get the most important information about the new Mac Studio and the Studio Display in short form, then there is a corresponding advertising video from Apple. You can also view detailed information and the presentation of the other devices with the VoD of the "Peek Performance" keynote. So that you don't have to search long, I have embedded the two videos below for you:

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

9 comments on “Apple Studio Display – Specifications, price and comparison with Pro Display XDR”

  1. Beatrice Willius

    That an adjustable monitor costs 500 euros more than the fixed monitor is outrageous. It's like the reels that go for $700 or so. Or these superfluous cleaning cloths.

    1. Jen Kleinholz

      Yes, you can at least buy something alternative for the cleaning cloths, but you will probably not find anything comparable for the monitor holder.

  2. @Beatrix: That's called a market economy. You don't have to buy the Apple display. You can also connect other (height-adjustable) monitors to the Mac Studio. If you want Apple design and quality, you pay more...

  3. I am interested in the alternatives to the Studio Display 2022. Who can give recommendations for alternative monitors?

    1. Jen Kleinholz

      The question is a bit broad. In principle, every monitor is an alternative. What is particularly important to you? short response time for gaming, high frame rate, 5K resolution, sound, USB C connection, what kind of panel, etc...?

      1. That is only partly true, it should be comparable to the Studio Display 2022 in many respects. I am interested in who can hold a candle to this display in as many points as possible.

        1. Jen Kleinholz

          Well, the display has an iPhone processor built in. There is no other display from other manufacturers that has this. But I'll leave the recommendation to others. I just think the question is too "open ended".

          1. Beatrice Willius

            The built-in iPhone processor is pretty uninteresting. I find the question clear. What alternative is there that comes close to the studio display?

            I'm sitting here in front of a 3,5 year old iMac. Even for that there is no alternative monitor that comes close to the 5k resolution, except maybe the LG 5k Ultrafine. But otherwise there is nothing.

          2. Jen Kleinholz

            Hello Beatrice! What I didn't get from the question was that the iPhone processor is uninteresting...that may be an important feature for some people in the Apple ecosystem. I just don't think it's efficient if you don't state exactly what's important to you and hope that someone will sacrifice their time to look for equipment. Little by little, what is important and what isn't becomes clear. ;-) But if you understood it exactly, you can perhaps give S.Dirk a tip. 😂 I'm opting out...

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Apple Studio Display – Daten, Preis und Vergleich mit Pro Display XDR

Am Dienstag hat Apple neben den neuen Modellen von iPhone SE und iPad Air sowie neben dem komplett neuen Mac Studio auch einen passenden Monitor vorgestellt. Das Studio Display ist ein 5K-Monitor, der optional mit Nanotexturglas gekauft werden kann. Er soll als Bildschirm für Büro- und Studio-Umgebungen dienen, egal ob Musik, Foto und Video, 3D-Umgebungen oder Programmierung. Das neue Apple Studio Display kann mit dem Mac Studio, aber auch mit anderen Mac-, iMac- und MacBook-Modellen verwendet werden. Hier findet ihr weitere Daten und den Vergleich mit dem Apple Pro Display XDR.

Das Apple Studio Display ist mit dem Mac Studio sowie mit verschiedenen Mac-, iMac- und MacBook-Modellen kompatibel. Der 27-Zoll-Bildschirm bringt zudem ein eigenes Audio-System und eine FaceTime-Kamera mit. Weitere Daten, den Preis und mehr findet ihr in diesem Beitrag.

Das Apple Studio Display ist mit dem Mac Studio sowie mit verschiedenen Mac-, iMac- und MacBook-Modellen kompatibel. Der 27-Zoll-Bildschirm bringt zudem ein eigenes Audio-System und eine FaceTime-Kamera mit. Weitere Daten, den Preis und mehr findet ihr in diesem Beitrag.

Apple Studio Display – Technische Daten

Das Apple Studio Display ist ein Bildschirm, der mit zwei verschiedenen Ständern für den Schreibtisch sowie mit einer VESA-Halterung an der Wand kombiniert werden kann. Im Folgenden findet ihr alle wichtigen technischen Daten aus dem Studio Display Datenblatt:

  • Hersteller: Apple
  • Produkt: Studio Display
  • Produkttyp: Bildschirm
  • Maße (inkl. Standard-Standfuß): 47,8 cm Höhe, 62,3 cm Breite, 16,8 cm Tiefe
  • Gewicht (inkl. Standard-Standfuß): 6,3 kg
  • Maße (inkl. höhenverstellbarem Standfuß): 47,9 bis 58,3 cm Höhe, 62,3 cm Breite, 20,7 cm Tiefe
  • Gewicht (inkl. höhenverstellbarem Standfuß): 7,7 kg
  • Maße (inkl. VESA-Mount): 36,2 cm Höhe, 62,3 cm Breite, 3,1 cm Tiefe
  • Gewicht (inkl. VESA-Mount): 5,5 kg
  • Display-Diagonale: 27 Zoll (68,29 cm)
  • Display-Auflösung: 5.120 x 2.880 Pixel @ 218 ppi
  • Display-Helligkeit: 600 Nits
  • Weitere Bildschirm-Daten: P3-Farbraum, unterstützt 1 Milliarde Farben, True Tone
  • Bildschirm-Oberfläche: Standardglas oder Nanotexturglas (gegen Reflexionen)
  • FaceTime-Kamera: 12 MP Ultraweitwinkel-Objektiv mit 122° Sichtfeld, ƒ/2.4 Blende und Folgemodus (Center Stage)
  • Lautsprecher: 6 Lautsprecher für ausdifferenzierten Stereo-Sound sowie Unterstützung von 3D Sound (Spacial Audio)
  • Mikrofone: 3 Mikrofone in Studioqualität mit Geräuschunterdrückung und „Hey Siri“
  • Prozessor: A13 Bionic Chip
  • Anschlüsse: 1 x Thunderbolt 3 (kann als 96 W Ladegerät genutzt werden), 3 x USB-C (jeweils bis zu 10 GBit/s)
  • Neigung mit Standfuß: 30° Neigungsspielraum von -5° bis +25°
  • Lieferumfang: Studio Display, Thunderbolt-Kabel (1 m)
  • Preis: 1.749 Euro bis 2.459 Euro

Referenzmodi des Apple Studio Display

Für die ideale Anzeige von Farben, Helligkeit und Kontrast bietet das Apple Studio Display, das am 8. März 2022 vorgestellt wurde, verschiedene Referenzmodi. Diese Modi helfen dabei, den Bildschirm ohne manuelle Feinjustierung auf bestimmte Anwendungen und Ziele hin zu kalibrieren. Laut dem offiziellen Datenblatt des Geräts stehen beim Marktstart die folgenden Referenzmodi zur Verfügung:

  • Apple Display (P3 600 Nits)
  • HDTV Video (BT.709-BT.1886)
  • NTSC Video (BT.601 SMPTE‑C)
  • PAL und SECAM Video (BT.601 EBU)
  • Digitales Kino (P3‑DCI)
  • Digitales Kino (P3‑D65)
  • Design und Druck (P3‑D50)
  • Fotografie (P3‑D65)
  • Internet und Web (sRGB)

Studio Display – Preis des Apple-Monitors

Wie ihr in der obigen Übersicht schon gesehen habt, gibt es verschiedene Ausführungen des neuen Apple-Monitors. Die Display-Größe von 27 Zoll ist dabei immer gleich. Jedoch könnt ihr aus verschiedenem Displayglas sowie unterschiedlichen Standfüßen bzw. einem VESA-Mount für die Wand wählen. Im Folgenden findet ihr die entsprechende Preisgestaltung nach Auswahl der einzelnen Faktoren.

Neigbarer Standard-Standfuß Höhenverstellbarer Standfuß VESA Mount
Standardglas 1.749,00 € 2.209,00 € 1.749,00 €
Nanotexturglas 1.999,00 € 2.459,00 € 1.999,00 €

Vergleich von Studio Display und Pro Display XDR

Mit dem Mac Pro von 2019 hat Apple auch das Pro Display XDR vorgestellt. Der 6K-Bildschirm sollte die Nachteile bestehender Profi-Displays ausbügeln, weitere Vorteile bringen und dabei günstiger sein. Zum Vergleich wurde bei der damaligen Keynote ein Sony-Bildschirm für 43.000 US-Dollar aufgeführt. Trotzdem war und ist das Pro Display XDR mit 32-Zoll-Display ab 5.499 Euro eine große Investition. Zumal der Standfuß „Pro Stand“ weitere 1.099 Euro kostet. Im Grunde lassen sich die beiden aktuellen Apple-Displays für den Mac also kaum vergleichen. Ich versuche es im Folgenden trotzdem mal.

Pro Display XDR (2019) Studio Display (2022)
Diagonale 32 Zoll (80,26 cm) 27 Zoll (68,29 cm)
Auflösung 6.016 x 3.384 Pixel @ 218 ppi 5.120 x 2.880 Pixel @ 218 ppi
Seitenverhältnis 16:9 16:9
Bildschirmglas Standardglas oder Nanotexturglas Standardglas oder Nanotexturglas
Standard-Helligkeit 500 Nits 600 Nits
XDR-Helligkeit 1.000 Nits mit 1.600 Nits Spitze
Kontrastverhältnis 1.000.000:1 k/A
Audio 6 Lautsprecher + 3 Mikrofone
Kamera 12 MP Weitwinkel mit Center Stage
Preise ab 5.499 Euro ab 1.749 Euro

Apple Studio Display und „Peek Performance“-Event im Video

Wenn ihr euch in Kurzform die wichtigsten Informationen zum neuen Mac Studio sowie zum Studio Display beschaffen wollt, dann gibt es ein entsprechendes Werbevideo von Apple dazu. Außerdem könnt ihr euch detaillierte Informationen sowie die Vorstellung der anderen Geräte mit dem VoD der „Peek Performance“-Keynote anschauen. Damit ihr nicht lange suchen müsst, habe ich euch die zwei Videos im Folgenden eingebettet:



Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft oder bei Patreon unterstützen würdest.

9 Kommentare

  1. Beatrix Willius sagt:

    Daß ein verstellbarer Monitor 500 Euronen mehr kostet als der feste Monitor ist eine Unverschämtheit. Das ist wie bei den Rollen, die es für 700 Euronen oder so gibt. Oder diese überflüssige Putztüchlein.

    • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

      Ja, bei den Putztüchlein kann man wenigstens was Alternatives kaufen, aber für die Monitorhalterung wird man wohl nichts Vergleichbares finden.

  2. Lemmy sagt:

    @Beatrix: Das nennt sich Marktwirtschaft. Man muss das Apple Display ja nicht kaufen. Man kann an den Mac Studio auch andere (höhenverstellbare) Monitore anschließen. Wer Apple Design und Qualität möchte zahlt eben mehr…

  3. S.Dirk sagt:

    Mich interessieren die Alternativen zu dem Studio Display 2022. Wer kann Empfehlungen geben für alternative Monitore?

    • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

      Die Frage ist ein bisschen weit gefasst. Im Prinzip ist jeder Monitor eine Alternative. Was ist dir denn besonders wichtig? kurze Reaktionszeit für Zocken, hohe Framerate, 5K Auflösung, Ton, USB C Anschluss, welche Art von Panel, etc… ?

      • S.Dirk sagt:

        Das ist nur bedingt richtig, er sollte schon in vielen Punkten vergleichbar sein mit dem Studio Display 2022. Da interessiert mich wer diesem Display in möglichst vielen Punkten das Wasser reichen kann.

        • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

          Naja, das Display hat einen iPhone Prozessor eingebaut. Es gibt kein anderes Display von anderen Herstellern, dass dies hat. Aber ich überlasse mal anderen die Empfehlung. Ich denke nur, die Frage ist zu "offen" gestellt.

          • Beatrix Willius sagt:

            Der eingebaute iPhone-Prozessor ist ziemlich uninteressant. Ich finde die Frage klar gestellt. Welche Alternative gibt es, die an das Studio-Display herankommt?

            Ich sitze hier vor einem 3,5 Jahre alten iMac. Noch nicht einmal dafür gibt es einen alternativen Monitor, der an die 5k-Auflösung herankommt, außer vielleicht dem LG 5k Ultrafine. Aber sonst gibt es nichts.

          • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

            Hallo Beatrix! Ich konnte aus der Frage nicht herauslesen, dass der iPhone-Prozessor uninteressant ist… das kann für manche Leute im Apple-Ökosystem ein wichtiges Feature sein. Ich finde es einfach nicht effizient, wenn man nicht genau sagt, was einem wichtig ist und hofft, dass jemand seine Zeit opfert, um Geräte zu suchen. Nach und nach kommt dann meistens schon raus, was wichtig ist und was nicht. ;-) Aber wenn du es genau verstanden hast, kannst du S.Dirk vielleicht einen Tipp geben. 😂 Ich klinke mich aus…

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.