Boxcryptor - encrypting files in the cloud made easy

Cloud storage providers usually secure their servers with their own security methods. But that doesn't mean they are 100% safe. If you save company data or private content in Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive or in another cloud, give Boxcryptor more safety. But thanks to encryption, Boxcryptor can also contribute to more data security on local hard drives, on a USB stick or in the NAS. The whole thing works under macOS on the Apple Mac as well as on Windows PC or on iOS and Android devices. Everything you need to know, the compatibilities and the prices can be found below.

With Boxcryptor you can encrypt files and folders in the cloud. For this purpose, the data is protected locally using 256-bit AES encryption and only then is the upload started.

With Boxcryptor you can encrypt files and folders in the cloud. For this purpose, the data is protected locally using 256-bit AES encryption and only then is the upload started.

Boxcryptor - encrypt cloud storage yourself

Boxcryptor offers end-to-end encryption that can be used for local storage, NAS systems and various cloud providers (see list below). The encryption is "Made in Germany" because both the company and the servers are located in Germany. In addition, the security of the Boxcryptor service was and is confirmed by the security audit by Kudelski Security. If you want to be completely on the safe side, use two-factor authentication (2FA) when using Boxcryptor. So only you can access your data after a corresponding query.

This is how the encryption of files and folders works

With Boxcryptor, files and folders are secured to the local device using 256-bit AES encryption before they are uploaded. The upload is only implemented after this backup, so that the selected cloud storage device only has the material in encrypted form. In order to decrypt the files and folders and thus release them for viewing, editing or output, the respective software key is required. As a private person, you naturally have this directly on your device with Boxcryptor. In companies, an administrator can issue access rights and expand or restrict them in groups.

Why I recommend the paid version

As you can see in the video above, there is also a free version of the encryption service. However, this only covers one cloud provider on up to two devices. If you want to access the data with the iPad in addition to the Mac and iPhone or save something encrypted online, this is not possible for free. In addition, you can only use iCloud or Dropbox or one of the other storage devices. There are no such restrictions in the paid package. In the following table you will find an overview of all the features of the individual packages.

Free Personnel Business
Only 1 cloud storage supported Unlimited cloud storage All functions of the "Personal" package
Use only 2 devices with one account Use an unlimited number of devices with one account For professional and corporate use
Community support Support via email Support requests have higher priority
For private use only For private use only
Integration of Whisply Integration of Whisply with additional functions Whisply integration for business use
Encryption of file names possible
Price: € 0 Price (1 year): 36 € Price (1 year): 72 €
Price (3 years): 81 € Price (3 years): 162 €

Buy and use Boxcryptor software online

There is the option of booking both the personal and the business offer for one year or three years each. In the end, the price also depends on this. In the following I have listed an overview of the individual offers and prices for Boxcryptor. The links in the list will take you directly to the offer page:

Boxcryptor is compatible with these clouds

Here is a list of the online storage devices with which the Boxcryptor developers ensure compatibility (as of July 29, 2020). There is sure to be one or more providers that you use:

  • iCloud Drive
  • dropbox
  • Google Drive
  • OneDrive
  • OneDrive for Business
  • Telekom MagentaCLOUD
  • GMX
  • WEB.de
  • Strato HiDrive
  • Box
  • SharePoint Online
  • egnytes
  • ownCloud
  • Amazon S3
  • Spider Oak One
  • CloudMe
  • cloudwatt
  • HubiC
  • SugarSync
  • Mailbox.org Drive
  • Yandex.Disk
  • Mail.ru hotbox
  • Nextcloud
  • LeitzCloud
  • Storegate
  • Nutstore
  • Livedrive
  • Dracoon

Conclusion on the encryption of files in the online storage

If you load data into the cloud - whether iCloud, Dropbox or another provider - you might want to do it in encrypted folders. The Boxcryptor software gives you the opportunity to save your data more securely and protect it against hacks or other attacks. For this purpose, the data is encrypted before being uploaded to the cloud and only then uploaded to a server for storage. The software works on the Apple Mac and on iOS or iPadOS devices as well as on the Windows PC or Android devices. So you can use cross-platform encrypted data from the cloud from Mac, iPhone, iPad and Co. A recommendable thing if you want more security.

-
 

4 comments

  1. con2epa says:

    I came across Tresorit by chance. For € 100 a year 500 GB of storage. Fully encrypted, certified according to HIPAA and with versioning. Before that I was at MEGA, but Tresorit is much more comfortable and better developed.

    You may already know, though, because Apple has integrated its ZeroKit into CareKit. ;-)

    In any case, I find it much more user-friendly than a separately subscribed layer for any other clouds.

    Incidentally, since the new law on issuing passwords and the planned identification requirement with regard to IT, “Made in Germany” has been what it was in the beginning: A warning not to use any products from Germany.

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello Con2epa! Somehow the comment sounds like an advertisement. The fact that you are talking about "Made in Germany" even though Tresorit is clearly a Swiss company with Swiss hosting makes the whole post here a bit "suspicious". If not, I'm sorry for my comment, but I wanted to make a note in case other readers want to jump on Tresorit. ;-)

  2. Michael says:

    I'm currently trying out Boxcryptor with OneDrive. It works wonderfully. But fognedes irritates me: In the settings in Boxcryptor under Storage locations, OneDrive is displayed with a tick. There is also a "Connect" button. What is it for, because Boxcryptor is connected to OneDrive, otherwise the whole thing wouldn't work. Do you have an idea?

    Thanks Michael

    • Jen Kleinholz says:

      Hi Michael! Sorry, I don't know either. But it's better to have one function too many than one too little. : D

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Boxcryptor – Dateien in der Cloud verschlüsseln einfach gemacht

Anbieter für Cloud-Speicher sichern ihre Server meist mit eigenen Security-Methoden ab. Das heißt aber nicht, dass sie zu 100% sicher sind. Wenn ihr Unternehmensdaten oder private Inhalte in Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive oder in einer anderen Cloud speichert, gibt euch Boxcryptor mehr Sicherheit. Aber auch auf lokalen Festplatten, auf einem USB-Stick oder im NAS kann Boxcryptor dank Verschlüsselung zu mehr Datensicherheit beitragen. Das Ganze funktioniert unter macOS am Apple Mac genauso wie am Windows PC oder an iOS- und Android-Geräten. Alles Wissenswerte, die Kompatibilitäten sowie die Preise findet ihr im Folgenden.

Mit Boxcryptor könnt ihr Dateien und Ordner verschlüsselt in der Cloud speichern. Dazu werden die Daten lokal per 256 Bit AES-Verschlüsselung geschützt und dann erst der Upload begonnen.

Mit Boxcryptor könnt ihr Dateien und Ordner verschlüsselt in der Cloud speichern. Dazu werden die Daten lokal per 256 Bit AES-Verschlüsselung geschützt und dann erst der Upload begonnen.

Boxcryptor – Cloud-Speicher selber verschlüsseln

Boxcryptor bietet eine Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung, die für lokale Speicher, NAS-Systeme sowie verschiedenste Cloud-Anbieter (Liste s.u.) genutzt werden kann. Die Verschlüsselung ist dabei „Made in Germany“, da sich sowohl das Unternehmen als auch die Server in Deutschland befinden. Zudem wurde und wird die Sicherheit des Boxcryptor-Dienstes durch den Sicherheits-Audit von Kudelski Security bestätigt. Wenn ihr komplett auf Nummer Sicher gehen wollt, nutzt bei der Verwendung von Boxcryptor die Zwei-Faktor-Authentifizierung (2FA). So könnt nur ihr nach einer entsprechenden Abfrage auf eure Daten zugreifen.

So funktioniert die Verschlüsselung der Dateien und Ordner

Mit Boxcryptor werden die Dateien und Ordner noch vor dem Hochladen auf dem lokalen Gerät per 256 Bit AES-Verschlüsselung gesichert. Erst nach dieser Sicherung wird der Upload realisiert, sodass der ausgesuchte Cloud-Speicher das Material nur verschlüsselt vorliegen hat. Um die Dateien und Ordner zu entschlüsseln und somit zur Ansicht, zum Bearbeiten oder Ausgeben freizugeben, braucht es den jeweiligen Softwareschlüssel. Als Privatperson hat man diesen mit Boxcryptor natürlich direkt auf dem Endgerät. In Unternehmen kann ein/e Administrator/in Zugriffsrechte ausgeben und in Gruppen erweitern oder einschränken.

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Warum ich die kostenpflichtige Version empfehle

Zwar gibt es, wie ihr im obigen Video seht, auch eine kostenlose Version des Verschlüsselungsservices. Dieser deckt aber nur einen Cloud-Anbieter auf bis zu zwei Geräten ab. Wollt ihr neben dem Mac und iPhone auch mit dem iPad auf die Daten zugreifen oder etwas verschlüsselt online speichern, geht das kostenlos nicht. Zudem könnt ihr nur iCloud oder Dropbox oder einen der anderen Speicher nutzen. Im kostenpflichtigen Paket gibt es keine solchen Beschränkungen. In der folgenden Tabelle findet ihr alle Features der einzelnen Pakete in der Übersicht.

Free Personal Business
Nur 1 Cloudspeicher unterstützt Unbegrenzt viele Cloudspeicher Alle Funktionen des „Personal“-Pakets
Nur 2 Geräte mit einem Account nutzen Unbegrenzt viele Geräte mit einem Account nutzen Für berufliche und unternehmerische Nutzung
Support durch die Community Support per E-Mail Support-Anfragen haben höhere Priorität
Für ausschließlich private Nutzung Für ausschließlich private Nutzung
Integration von Whisply Integration von Whisply mit zusätzlichen Funktionen Whisply-Integration für die geschäftliche Nutzung
Verschlüsselung von Dateinamen möglich
Preis: 0 € Preis (1 Jahr): 36 € Preis (1 Jahr): 72 €
Preis (3 Jahre): 81 € Preis (3 Jahre): 162 €

Boxcryptor-Software online kaufen und nutzen

Es gibt die Möglichkeit, sowohl das Personal- als auch das Business-Angebot für jeweils ein Jahr oder drei Jahre zu buchen. Davon abhängig ist dann am Ende auch der Preis. Im Folgenden habe ich euch eine Übersicht über die einzelnen Angebote und Preise für Boxcryptor aufgelistet. Mit den Links in der Liste kommt ihr direkt zur Angebotsseite:

Mit diesen Clouds ist Boxcryptor kompatibel

Hier eine Liste der Online-Speicher, mit denen die Entwickler/innen von Boxcryptor eine Kompatibilität zusichern (Stand: 29. Juli 2020). Bestimmt ist auch einer oder sind mehrere Anbieter dabei, die ihr nutzt:

  • iCloud Drive
  • Dropbox
  • Google Drive
  • OneDrive
  • OneDrive for Business
  • Telekom MagentaCLOUD
  • GMX
  • WEB.de
  • Strato HiDrive
  • Box
  • SharePoint Online
  • Egnyte
  • ownCloud
  • Amazon S3
  • SpiderOak One
  • CloudMe
  • Cloudwatt
  • HubiC
  • SugarSync
  • Mailbox.org Drive
  • Yandex.Disk
  • Mail.ru Hotbox
  • Nextcloud
  • LeitzCloud
  • Storegate
  • Nutstore
  • Livedrive
  • Dracoon

Fazit zur Verschlüsselung von Dateien im Online-Speicher

Ladet ihr Daten in die Cloud – egal ob iCloud, Dropbox oder anderer Anbieter – wollt ihr das vielleicht in verschlüsselten Ordnern tun. Die Boxcryptor-Software gibt euch die Möglichkeit, eure Daten sicherer zu speichern und gegen Hacks oder andere Angriffe zu schützen. Dazu werden die Daten vor dem Upload in die Cloud verschlüsselt und dann erst zum Speichern auf einem Server hochgeladen. Die Software funktioniert auf dem Apple Mac und auf iOS- bzw. iPadOS-Geräten genauso wie auf dem Windows PC oder auf Android-Devices. So könnt ihr plattformübergreifend verschlüsselte Daten aus der Cloud von Mac, iPhone, iPad und Co. aus nutzen. Eine empfehlenswerte Sache, wenn ihr mehr Sicherheit wollt.


Wenn mein Beitrag geholfen hat und dir mein Blog unterstützenswert erscheint, würde ich mich über eine Hilfe per Steady oder Buy me a coffee sehr freuen.

2 Kommentare

  1. con2epa sagt:

    Ich bin durch Zufall auf Tresorit gestoßen. Für 100 € im Jahr 500 GB Speicher. Voll verschlüsselt, nach HIPAA zertifiziert und mit Versionierung. Vorher war ich bei MEGA, Tresorit ist aber sehr viel komfortabler und besser entwickelt.

    Obwohl, kennen Sie vielleicht schon, denn Apple hat dessen ZeroKit in CareKit integriert. 😉

    Finde ich jedenfalls sehr viel benutzerfreundlicher als ein gesondert abonnierter Layer für irgendwelche anderen clouds.

    Nebenbei, „Made in Germany“ ist seit dem neuen Gesetz zur Passwortherausgabe und der geplanten Identifikationspflicht In Bezug auf IT doch wieder das, was es mal zu Anfang war: Eine Warnung, ja keine Produkte aus Deutschland zu verwenden.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Con2epa! Irgendwie klingt der Kommentar wie Werbung. Auch die Tatsache, dass Sie von "Made in Germany" sprechen, obwohl Tresorit eindeutig ein schweizer Unternehmen mit schweizer Hosting ist, macht den ganzen Post hier etwas "verdächtig". Wenn es nicht so ist, tut mir meine Anmerkung leid, aber ich wollte es mal anmerken, falls andere Leser nun auf Tresorit springen möchten. 😉

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.