DJI OM 4 - New Osmo Mobile Stabilizer for Smartphones

With the Osmo Mobile 4 DJI has introduced a new generation of its handheld gimbals. At the same time, the name was evaporated, so that the device only DJI OM 4 called. You no longer have to clamp your iPhone or Android smartphone in the stabilizer for your mobile phone and then pull it out again if you want to use it for other purposes. Because now you can attach and remove it using a magnetic holder. The foldable handheld gimbal is also not too heavy at 390 g. Further data and information on new functions of the DJI OM 4 can be found in this post.

TL; DR: You can go directly to the shop page here

The new DJI OM 4 smartphone gimbal scores with its magnetic holder, long battery life and numerous functions (partly via the DJI Mimo app) with which cinematic video and photo recordings are possible. This makes the DJI Osmo Mobile 4 more than just an image stabilizer.

The new DJI OM 4 smartphone gimbal scores with its magnetic holder, long battery life and numerous functions (partly via the DJI Mimo app) with which cinematic video and photo recordings are possible. This makes the DJI Osmo Mobile 4 more than just an image stabilizer.

DJI OM 4 - Technical data and important information

In the following I have summarized the most important technical data from the DJI OM 4 data sheet as well as other important information. Below you will find explanations about the individual functions, information on usage, downloading the app and summaries of reviews and test / experience reports.

Device information

  • Manufacturer: DJI
  • Model: OM 4 (Osmo Mobile 4)
  • Device type: smartphone stabilizer
  • Dimensions (folded): 163 × 99,5 × 46,5 mm
  • Dimensions (unfolded): 276 × 119,6 × 103,6 mm
  • Weight gimbal: 390 g
  • Weight magnetic phone clip: 32,6 g
    Weight magnetic ring holder: 11,4 g 
  • Mobile phone support: 67 - 84 mm width / 6,9 - 10 mm thickness / 170 - 290 g weight
  • Bracket for tripod use: 1/4 ″ threaded hole

Gimbal data

  • Pan: -161,2 ° - 171,95 °
  • Roll: -136,7 ° - 198 °
  • Tilt: -106,54 ° - 235,5 °
  • Max. Speed: 120 ° / s
  • Power consumption: 1,2 W (under ideal conditions)

DJI OM 4 battery

  • Battery type: 18650 Li-Ion battery
  • Nominal capacity: 2.450 mAh
  • Energy: 17,64 Wh
  • Voltage: V 7,2
  • Charging & operating temperature: 5 - 40 ° C
  • Battery life: up to 15 hours
  • Charging time (10 W charger): 2,5 hours

More info

  • Radio connection: Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy (LE)
  • App usage: DJI Mimo
  • Scope of delivery: DJI OM 4, magnetic ring holder, magnetic mobile phone clamp, grip stand (length: 138 mm, diameter: 32 mm, weight: 72 g), power cable, storage bag, bracelet (or wrist loop), adhesive pad and attachment aid for the ring holder
  • Charger: not included; simply use your own USB charger
  • Price: € 145,00
Everything you need for use is included in the DJI OM 4 scope of delivery. You have to contribute a charger yourself, but you certainly already have a USB charger at home;)

Everything you need for use is included in the DJI OM 4 scope of delivery. You have to contribute a charger yourself, but you certainly already have a USB charger at home;)

Functions of DJI OM 4 and Mimo App

With the DJI OM 4 you get everything you need in the standard scope of delivery. If you want to get started and make cinematic recordings, you have various options. On the one hand, the pure use of the gimbal for image stabilization with manual camera work. On the other hand, there is app-controlled recording, for example with tracking and camera movements (e.g. mounted on the tripod supplied). 

The story mode is just as much a part of the functions as the gesture control (so that you don't have to stand behind the camera to operate it), ActiveTrack 3.0 (for tracking marked people or objects) and Quick Roll (for quickly switching from portrait to landscape mode and back). It gets even cooler with hyperlapse, motionlapse and time-lapse recordings, which turn the holiday video into a cinema experience. 

There is also slow motion, 240 ° panorama, 3 x 3 panorama (for poster images), DynamicZoom (for vertigo effect) and SpinShot for a rotating camera. Creative photos are also created by the CloneMe panorama, in which a person can be seen three times in the same panorama. All in all, a whole lot of functions that will improve the quality of your photos and video recordings. This saves time that you don't have to spend in Photoshop or an editing program.

An impression of everything you can get it here on the manufacturer's websitewhere everything is demonstrated in the form of small demonstrations. In this way, you will also receive an example for each of the individual terms.

With the DJI Mimo app you can use various video modes. In addition to slow motion or time lapse, rotations, ActiveTrack 3.0, DynamicZoom, CloneMe Panorama and more are possible.

With the DJI Mimo app you can use various video modes. In addition to slow motion or time lapse, rotations, ActiveTrack 3.0, DynamicZoom, CloneMe Panorama and more are possible.

DJI Osmo Mobil 4 in action

But you can also get a picture of the new handheld gimbal from the drone manufacturer DJI here. First of all you will find the official one Videothat was released on August 26, 2020 for the product's launch. Then an official one Tutorial of the manufacturer to set up and use the device for the first time. Third, under this paragraph, you get a short but professional one Review by 9to5Mac.

DJI Mimo App for iOS and Android

For example, to use the gesture control known from current DJI drones, you need the DJI Mimo app on your smartphone for the OM 4. This communicates with the gimbal via Bluetooth and thus enables the unique recording modes. The DJI Mimo download for iOS and Android can of course be found in Apple App Store as well as in the Google Play Store.

[appbox appstore id1431720653]

[appbox googleplay dji.mimo]

DJI OM 4 test / review summary

The DJI Osmo Mobile 4 handheld gimbal has only been on the market yesterday, but as always there have been various reviews as well as test and experience reports. Especially the trade magazines that received a test device in advance are way ahead with their conclusions. In summary, they write about the new DJI OM 4 that both the magnetic mount has always made a secure impression and the gimbal functions set a new standard. 

Cinematic recordings can be created via the DJI Mimo app and above all the image stabilization, which should be extremely good for handheld recordings. Functions can also be used, triggering and pausing / stopping the recording using the buttons and buttons on the gimbal itself. For example, it turned out to be very good . repeatedly described the easy attachment and detachment of the phone using a magnet.

All in all, this is the conclusion of the 9to5Mac test embedded above, using the DJI OM 4 is fun. It offers the possibility of greatly simplifying the creation of mobile video content. It is also ideal when traveling, as it can be folded up small and is not too heavy. In addition, the price is small enough. It is a good investment for content creators who produce for YouTube, Instagram, etc.

DJI OM 4 advantages and disadvantages

Advantages Disadvantages
  • Smartphone gimbal with probably the best value for money
  • Praised by testers and the trade press
  • Numerous functions for cinema-like video recordings with the mobile phone
  • Photo and video functions similar to expensive DJI drones
  • Compact and quick and easy to use thanks to the magnetic holder
  • Handy dimensions and reasonable weight for travel and vacation
  • Easy to set up and use (after a bit of getting used to)
  • Ideal for everyone who wants to replace the first DJI Osmo Mobile or the DJI Osmo Mobile 2 with something more modern
  • Cannot be used with loose-fitting or bulky smartphone cases (best to use without case)
  • Who already one DJI Osmo Mobile 3 doesn't get enough updates for the price
  • To set up the gimbal, the included tripod or another tripod must be used (it is not on the handle alone)

Your opinion on the DJI OM 4 smartphone gimbal

What is your opinion on the DJI OM 4, which was released about a year after the DJI Osmo Mobile 3? In comparison (see the report linked to 3 in the table), the "old" model also offers good performance and many of the functions listed. With the 4, there is now better technology, a few new functions and easier use with the magnetic holder. Or do you see it differently? Are you missing a few features or extras? Feel free to leave your opinion as a comment under this post;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

2 comments

  1. DigitalNaiv says:

    Above all, the Lightning socket now seems to be exposed, making it easier to connect a microphone.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

DJI OM 4 – Neuer Osmo-Mobile-Stabilisator fürs Smartphone

Mit dem Osmo Mobile 4 hat DJI eine neue Generation seiner Handheld-Gimbals vorgestellt. Dabei wurde auch gleich der Name eingedampft, sodass das Gerät nur noch DJI OM 4 heißt. In den Stabilisator fürs Handy muss man das iPhone oder Android-Smartphone nicht mehr einspannen und wieder herausziehen, wenn man es anderweitig verwenden will. Denn jetzt kann man es per Magnet-Halterung anbringen und abnehmen. Das faltbare Handheld-Gimbal ist mit 390 g auch nicht zu schwer. Weitere Daten sowie Informationen zu neuen Funktionen des DJI OM 4 findet ihr in diesem Beitrag.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s direkt zur Shop-Seite

Das neue DJI OM 4 Smartphone-Gimbal punktet durch Magnet-Halterung, lange Akku-Laufzeit und zahlreiche Funktionen (teils per DJI Mimo App), mit denen cineastische Video- und Foto-Aufnahmen gelingen. Damit ist das DJI Osmo Mobile 4 mehr als nur ein Bildstabilisator.

Das neue DJI OM 4 Smartphone-Gimbal punktet durch Magnet-Halterung, lange Akku-Laufzeit und zahlreiche Funktionen (teils per DJI Mimo App), mit denen cineastische Video- und Foto-Aufnahmen gelingen. Damit ist das DJI Osmo Mobile 4 mehr als nur ein Bildstabilisator.

DJI OM 4 – Technische Daten und wichtige Infos

Im Folgenden habe ich euch die wichtigsten technischen Daten aus dem DJI OM 4 Datenblatt sowie weitere wichtige Informationen zusammengefasst. Weiter unten findet ihr dann Ausführungen zu den einzelnen Funktionen, Infos zur Nutzung, den Download der App sowie Zusammenfassungen von Reviews und Test- / Erfahrungsberichten.

Geräteinformationen

  • Hersteller: DJI
  • Modell: OM 4 (Osmo Mobile 4)
  • Gerätetyp: Smartphone-Stabilisator
  • Maße (gefaltet): 163 × 99,5 × 46,5 mm
  • Maße (ausgefaltet): 276 × 119,6 × 103,6 mm
  • Gewicht Gimbal: 390 g
  • Gewicht Magnettelefonklammer: 32,6 g
    Gewicht Magnetringhalter: 11,4 g 
  • Handy-Unterstützung: 67 – 84 mm Breite / 6,9 – 10 mm Stärke / 170 – 290 g Gewicht
  • Halterung für Stativ-Nutzung: 1/4″ Gewindeloch

Gimbal-Daten

  • Schwenken: -161,2° – 171,95°
  • Rollen: -136,7° – 198°
  • Neigen: -106,54° – 235,5°
  • Max. Geschwindigkeit: 120°/s
  • Stromverbrauch: 1,2 W (unter Idealbedingungen)

DJI OM 4 Akku

  • Akku-Typ: 18650 Li-Ion Batterie
  • Nennkapazität: 2.450 mAh
  • Energie: 17,64 Wh
  • Spannung: 7,2 V
  • Lade- & Betriebstemperatur: 5 – 40°C
  • Akkulaufzeit: bis zu 15 Stunden
  • Ladezeit (10 W Ladegerät): 2,5 Stunden

Weitere Infos

  • Funkverbindung: Bluetooth 5.0 Low Energy (LE)
  • App-Nutzung: DJI Mimo
  • Lieferumfang: DJI OM 4, Magnetringhalter, Magnetische Handyklemme, Griffstativ (Länge: 138 mm, Durchmesser: 32 mm, Gewicht: 72 g), Stromkabel, Aufbewahrungstasche, Armband (bzw. Handgelenkschlaufe), Klebe-Pad und Anbringhilfe für den Ringhalter
  • Ladegerät: nicht enthalten; einfach eigenen USB-Lader nutzen
  • Preis: 145,00 Euro
Im DJI OM 4 Lieferumfang ist alles enthalten, was ihr zur Nutzung benötigt. Ein Ladegerät muss selbst beigesteuert werden, aber sicherlich habt ihr einen USB-Lader bereits zuhause ;)

Im DJI OM 4 Lieferumfang ist alles enthalten, was ihr zur Nutzung benötigt. Ein Ladegerät muss selbst beigesteuert werden, aber sicherlich habt ihr einen USB-Lader bereits zuhause ;)

Funktionen von DJI OM 4 und Mimo App

Mit dem DJI OM 4 bekommt ihr also bereits im Standard-Lieferumfang alles, was ihr benötigt. Wenn ihr nun loslegen und cineastische Aufnahmen realisieren wollt, habt ihr dafür verschiedene Möglichkeiten. Zum einen die reine Gimbal-Nutzung für die Bildstabilisierung bei manueller Kameraführung. Zum anderen die App-gesteuerte Aufnahme, etwa mit Tracking und Kamerafahrten (z. B. auf dem mitgelieferten Stativ gemountet). 

Der Story-Modus gehört genauso zu den Funktionen wie auch die Gestensteuerung (damit man zur Bedienung nicht hinter der Kamera stehen muss), ActiveTrack 3.0 (zur Verfolgung markierter Personen oder Objekte) sowie Quick Roll (für den schnellen Wechsel von Portrait- in Landschaftsmodus und zurück). Noch cooler wird es mit Hyperlapse-, Motionlapse- und Zeitraffer-Aufnahmen, die das Urlaubsvideo zum Kinoerlebnis machen. 

Außerdem gibt es Zeitlupe, 240° Panorama, 3 x 3 Panorama (für Poster-Bilder), DynamicZoom (für Vertigo-Effekt) und SpinShot für eine rotierende Kamera. Kreative Fotos entstehen zudem durch das CloneMe Panorama, in dem eine Person dreimal im gleichen Panorama zu sehen sein kann. Insgesamt eine ganze Menge an Funktionen, die der Qualität eurer Fotos und Videoaufnahmen zuträglich sein werden. Das spart im Nachgang Zeit, die ihr nicht in Photoshop oder einem Schnittprogramm verbringen müsst.

Einen Eindruck von allem bekommt ihr hier auf der Herstellerseite, wo alles in Form von kleinen Demonstrationen vorgeführt wird. So bekommt ihr zu den einzelnen Begriffen auch jeweils ein Beispiel geliefert.

Mit der DJI Mimo App könnt ihr verschiedenste Video-Modi nutzen. Neben Zeitlupe oder Zeitraffer sind auch Rotationen, ActiveTrack 3.0, DynamicZoom, CloneMe Panorama und mehr möglich.

Mit der DJI Mimo App könnt ihr verschiedenste Video-Modi nutzen. Neben Zeitlupe oder Zeitraffer sind auch Rotationen, ActiveTrack 3.0, DynamicZoom, CloneMe Panorama und mehr möglich.

DJI Osmo Mobil 4 in Aktion

Ihr könnt euch aber auch hier ein Bild vom neuen Handheld-Gimbal des Drohnen-Herstellers DJI machen. Als erstes findet ihr das offizielle Video, das am 26. August 2020 zur Markteinführung des Produkts veröffentlicht wurde. Danach ein offizielles Tutorial des Herstellers zur Einrichtung und ersten Nutzung des Geräts. Als drittes bekommt ihr unter diesem Absatz ein kurzes, aber dennoch professionelles Review von 9to5Mac.

DJI Mimo App für iOS und Android

Um zum Beispiel die von aktuellen DJI-Drohnen bekannte Gestensteuerung zu nutzen, benötigt ihr für das OM 4 die DJI Mimo App auf eurem Smartphone. Diese kommuniziert per Bluetooth mit dem Gimbal und ermöglicht dadurch die einzigartigen Aufnahmemodi. Den DJI Mimo Download für iOS und Android findet ihr natürlich im Apple App Store sowie im Google Play Store.

[appbox appstore id1431720653]

[appbox googleplay dji.mimo]

DJI OM 4 Test- / Review-Zusammenfassung

Das DJI Osmo Mobile 4 Handheld-Gimbal ist zwar erst seit gestern auf dem Markt, aber wie immer gibt es schon verschiedene Reviews sowie Test- und Erfahrungsberichte. Vor allem die Fachmagazine, die vorab ein Testgerät bekommen haben, sind mit ihren Fazits weit vorn. Zusammengefasst schreiben sie zum neuen DJI OM 4, dass sowohl die Magnet-Halterung immer einen sicheren Eindruck gemacht hat als auch die Gimbal-Funktionen einen neuen Standard setzen. 

Über die DJI Mimo App können cinematische Aufnahmen kreiert werden und allen voran steht zudem die Bildstabilisierung, die bei Handheld-Aufnahmen extrem gut sein soll. Auch über die Knöpfe und Tasten des Gimbals selbst lassen sich Funktionen nutzen, die Aufnahme auslösen sowie pausieren / stoppen. Sehr gut wurde zum Beispiel hier immer wieder das bequeme An- und Abheften des Telefons per Magnet beschrieben.

Alles in allem, so lautet das Fazit des oben eingebetteten 9to5Mac-Tests, macht die Nutzung des DJI OM 4 Spaß. Es bietet die Möglichkeit, die Erstellung von mobilem Video-Content stark zu vereinfachen. Auch auf Reisen ist es ideal, da es klein zusammengefaltet werden kann und nicht zu schwer ist. Zudem ist der Preis klein genug. Für Content Creator, die für YouTube, Instagram o. ä. produzieren, ist es eine gute Investition.

DJI OM 4 Vorteile und Nachteile

Vorteile Nachteile
  • Smartphone-Gimbal mit wahrscheinlich bester Preis-Leistung
  • Von Testern und Fachpresse gelobt
  • Zahlreiche Funktionen für Kino-gleiche Videoaufnahmen mit dem Handy
  • Foto- und Video-Funktionen ähnlich wie bei teuren DJI-Drohnen
  • Kompakt und dank Magnethalterung schnell und einfach nutzbar
  • Handliche Maße und vernünftiges Gewicht auch für Reisen und den Urlaub
  • Einfache Einrichtung und Nutzung (nach ein bisschen Eingewöhnung)
  • Ideal für alle, die das erste DJI Osmo Mobile oder das DJI Osmo Mobile 2 gegen etwas Moderneres auswechseln wollen
  • Nicht nutzbar mit locker sitzenden oder klobigen Smartphone-Hüllen (am besten ohne Hülle nutzen)
  • Wer schon ein DJI Osmo Mobile 3 hat, bekommt nicht genug Updates für den Preis
  • Um das Gimbal aufzustellen, muss das mitgelieferte oder ein anderes Stativ genutzt werden (es steht nicht auf dem Griff allein)

Eure Meinung zum DJI OM 4 Smartphone-Gimbal

Was ist eure Meinung zum DJI OM 4, das nun zirka ein Jahr nach dem DJI Osmo Mobile 3 erschienen ist? Im Vergleich (s. in der Tabelle verlinkter Bericht zur 3) bietet das „alte“ Modell ja auch eine gute Leistung und zahlreiche der aufgezählten Funktionen. Mit der 4 kommen nun eine bessere Technik, ein paar neue Funktionen und mit der Magnethalterung eine einfachere Nutzung hinzu. Oder seht ihr das anders? Fehlen euch vielleicht noch ein paar Features oder Extras? Lasst gern eure Meinung als Kommentar unter diesem Beitrag da ;)


Neu: Es gibt nun ein Sir Apfelot Forum bei dem ihr eure Fragen nicht nur mir, sondern gleich vielen anderen Lesern präsentieren könnt. Das erhöht die Chance, dass euer Problem gelöst wird!

2 Kommentare

  1. DigitalNaiv sagt:

    Vor allem scheint jetzt die Lightning-Buchse frei zu liegen, so dass man ein Mikrofon einfacher anschließen kann.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.