pCloud test - cloud storage with encryption and auto-uploads

If one of the storage devices on the iPhone runs out or space is required on the Mac hard drive, cloud storage can be the right alternative to external hard drives, DVD-RWs and USB sticks. A provider of cloud storage space that offers not only automatic uploads but also client-side encryption of data is pCloud. In the test of the service, I looked at the individual functions and options. I put particular emphasis on the use of pCloud with the iOS app on the iPhone. But you can also use the cloud storage on a Mac, on a Windows or Linux PC or on Android or use it to exchange files between the devices.

2-TB lifetime for 350 EUR / one-time: View the offer here at pCloud

The pCloud test with iPhone, Mac and browser - here you will find the possibilities of using the cloud, advantages and disadvantages.

The pCloud test with iPhone, Mac and browser - here you will find the possibilities of using the cloud, advantages and disadvantages.

Preliminary remark on the pCloud test

For this pCloud test report, in which I would like to share my experiences with the cloud with you, the creators of the service gave me a premium account with 500 GB of storage space. However, this has no effect on my opinion of the offer. Even if I was allowed to use the online storage for free, the following statements are based on my experience and my objectively formed opinion on the product.

pCloud App for iPhone - App from the store

The pCloud app for the iPhone is very easy to use download it from the App Store. The download is free, but there are various in-app purchases that can be made, in line with pCloud's offers. The registration in the app works with a user account or via Facebook. After logging in, various options can be selected and functions activated; for example the automatic upload of photos and videos. This can be very helpful, especially when the memory of the iPhone is getting full and you want to outsource some things or new content. The automatically uploaded data (if activated) are then located in the "Automatic Upload" folder.

Other folders automatically created at the beginning are “My Music” for music, “My Pictures” for pictures and “My Videos” for videos. They contain sample files that can be safely deleted. Incidentally, during this campaign, you will also receive an e-mail with the information that something has just been deleted for the first time. But do not be afraid of spam: Such e-mails only come in for a few actions that are carried out for the first time. There is not a notification every time, after all you know what you are doing;) It is of course also possible to create your own folders and folder structures.

Incidentally, the deleted files are not lost immediately, but are moved to the recycle bin on the cloud drive. What I found a bit strange was that there is no folder for this recycle bin in the folder overview or in the menu of the app. This makes for a better overview, but confuses at first. You can then find the deleted files via the settings. To do this, you tap on the three lines in the upper left, chooses Settings and then See deleted files. This displays the recycle bin, from which files can now be permanently deleted. Even more important: The crypto folder can be used to create a specially encrypted location for files. More on this below.

Settings in the pCloud iPhone app

Here I would like to give you a small overview of the setting and customization options that can be found in the settings of the pCloud iOS app. I leave out some standard items such as “clear cache” or the version display, as they are not directly related to the cloud service. So in the settings you will find this:

  • Memory allocation and upgrade options
  • Password and passcode options
  • Adjustments for notifications via push and email
  • Creation of a crypto folder for files and folders encrypted on the device
  • Selection of file types for automatic upload (photos, videos, both or neither)
  • Display of system files
  • Offline settings for the use of mobile data for pCloud services

pCloud App for macOS - My Little Odyssey

For me, installing and using the macOS app from pCloud was a little odyssey, which does not mean that it has to be the same for every user. I failed briefly with the security settings of the Mac, but was able to solve the problem in the end. When mounting the cloud drive, the message came up that I had to install "FUSE", a necessary additional program, and first give access to it. FUSE ensures that third-party apps such as pCloud can access Finder functions. After I had agreed to open the software in the Mac's security settings, the pCloud installation was also complete. Only the app could not be started and activation as a Finder extension also failed. 

Start of installation

FUSE is required

In the security settings you can initiate the installation and execution of FUSE

In the security settings you can initiate the installation and execution of FUSE

After restarting, pCloud was finally able to run on the Mac

After restarting, pCloud was finally able to run on the Mac

In the end, all I had to do was restart the Mac, open pCloud and everything worked as it should. Not only was the drive mounted and shown in the Finder; the pCloud program window also opened and the menu bar icon appeared.

These are the pCloud menu bar options.

These are the pCloud menu bar options.

The successful installation opened up new possibilities for handling files and folders in the cloud - you can right-click / secondary-click these options directly in the Finder:

  • Offline access (sync) - Download a file or folder for offline use
  • Invite to Folder - Invite other people to use the folder (share function)
  • Copy Upload Link - Creates a link that other users can use to upload files to a folder
  • Copy Download Link - Creates a link that other users can use to download selected files / folders 

Options of the pCloud Mac app

First of all, the note on deleting the files: They are also moved to pCloud's own recycle bin on the Mac. To do this, you can simply use the Finder's options, which are also used to delete local files. So right click and Put it in the paper basket, drag them with the mouse into the recycle bin on the dock, etc. Then you can find the files in the app, on the web and on the iPhone in the pCloud recycle bin.

Extensive use of the cloud is also possible with the pCloud Mac app

Extensive use of the cloud is also possible with the pCloud Mac app

Much more important, however, are the options that the app window offers. Information can be called up and settings made in various tabs such as Account, Sync, Shares, Crypto, Settings and Help. Here are the most important features:

  • Account: view user data and drive allocation, change password, view recycle bin, etc.
  • Sync: Display of the synchronized folders with a comparison of the local and the cloud version
  • Shares: Display of the upload and download links created and the number of interacting users
  • Crypto: Offer of crypto encryption and use after booking the service
  • Settings: Settings for app start and display, definition of the maximum upload and download speed in kB / s, options for drive usage
  • Help: Access to pCloud Support, pCloud FAQ and pCloud Blog
  • About: Information about the app version and updates

Use pCloud in the browser - super easy

If you don't want to use the Mac app, which you can download from the provider's website, you can simply log in with your access data on that same page. And then there is also the possibility of viewing, adding, editing, deleting files or copying them to a hard drive or another storage medium. In addition, all the other options offered by the iOS and macOS apps are also present; So sharing content, inviting users to download something from their own folders or loading something into them, downloading content and so on. Calling up the pCloud cloud in the browser is therefore also ideal if you want to keep your files tidy on your computer when you are on the move or on vacation.

Backup of various services - Interesting service

When using the service in the browser, I discovered the menu item “Backups” - this could be interesting for anyone who wants to back up other clouds such as Google Drive, OneDrive and Dropbox on a regular basis. In addition, social media friends get their money's worth, because the content from the Facebook and Instagram accounts can also be backed up regularly.

pCloud Crypto - encrypted upload and download of data

Already mentioned here and there, I would like to take a closer look at pCloud Crypto. This is an encryption service from pCloud. It works on both desktop and mobile devices. The files are encrypted directly on the device, and decryption is only carried out by the client on the machine being used. A crypto pass must be created for this, a kind of password with which you can confirm your authorization to decrypt and access the files. 

With pCloud Crypto-Folder there is no need to install and use additional programs to encrypt uploaded data. In addition, you don't have to have the appropriate software installed on every device that you want to use to access the data. It is enough to remember the Crypto Pass - and the files and folders can be conveniently viewed on the Mac, Windows PC, iPhone, Android smartphone and from many other locations. And only by the user who is also allowed to do so.

Important to know: pCloud cannot reset, change or send your Crypto Pass if you forget it. That would mean the point would be lost, because the providers should be able to access your data just as little as other strangers. I. E. the encrypted data is lost if you forget the Crypto Pass. 

Even more security through AES, TLS and SSL

In addition to the crypto folder, all other files are of course also protected during transmission and storage on the pCloud servers. A 256-bit AES encryption method, for example, is used to prevent unauthorized access by hackers. When the data is transmitted, TLS / SSL channel protection works against possible third-party queries. In addition, the files stored in the cloud are also protected against hardware errors. You can read the following from the provider:

Backing up your files isn't just limited to potential hacks, it is also about protecting against a possible hardware failure. After your data has been uploaded to the pCloud server, we keep 5 copies in at least three server locations in a highly secure data storage center, monitored around the clock.
pCloud Crypto, on the other hand, is an optional additional layer of protection for your sensitive personal data, which encrypts the information you upload to your device before it is transmitted.

pCloud Crypto Hacking Challenge - Nobody Made It

Also worth mentioning in this context is the so-called “pCloud Crypto Hacking Challenge”, in which anyone who wanted to take part and win should crack a user account created for the competition. The prize was $ 100.000 or the Bitcoin equivalent. 2.860 participants (including 21 technical universities and 613 hacker organizations) did not want to miss this opportunity. However, none of them were able to hack the account in a period of 6 months. If that doesn't speak for the security of the service!

pCloud Pricing - What Does the Fun Cost?

Such a service with up to 2 TB of storage for private and professional users as well as many ways to use it naturally costs money. The two most prominently advertised account versions are pCloud Premium and pCloud Premium Plus. The prices depend on the type of payment - monthly, annually or once for a "lifetime" offer.

pCloud Premium (500 GB) pCloud Premium Plus (2 TB)
Monthly payment 4,99 € 9,99 €
Annual payment € 47,88 (equivalent to € 3,99 / month) € 95,88 (equivalent to € 7,99 / month)
One Time Payment 480 € (currently € 175) 980 € (currently € 350)
Action - -

Then there's the Family Plan for family use of an account. Here, too, 2 TB are made available, but these can be divided between up to 5 users. Currently the price is for pCloud for Family at € 500 (instead of € 1.400). This is a lifetime offer. Finally, however, a professional business offer is also made; in the form of pCloud Business. You can test this package free of charge after specifying your company, name, contact details and number of users. I think an individual offer is made here and no flat rate is charged.

Disadvantages - translation or language selection

Additional storage of 500 GB or 2 TB that can be used over the Internet is not bad. In addition, other clouds, the local drive, photos and videos from the iPhone and other data can be created as (automatic) backups. In addition, there is the encryption of data in the crypto folder. Further advantages include the possibility to share files and folders or to let others fill them without them being able to look inside. However, there are a few downsides to pCloud here and there. Especially in the area of ​​linguistic design. 

While the iOS app for the iPhone is displayed completely in German and there are no comprehension problems, this is the case with the other solutions relevant not looking so good. The pCloud macOS app, for example, was installed with a German description, but it is ultimately displayed and used in English (but I was promised by the developers that a German version should also be available soon). And in the browser there is sometimes a mix of both languages, if you call up the menu item “Public” and land in “Public folder”.

Also interesting: VirtualBox - Free virtualization app

Conclusion on cloud storage

My conclusion is positive. I like that pCloud offers a solution for all possible devices and not only enables communication between them, but also offers many external options. Regardless of whether you want to share files with others or receive them from them - there are well thought-out options for both. Backups and automatic uploads are also no problem. Not only the iPhone can be relieved by this if the memory is running out again. Fortunately, I can personally ignore the language problem thanks to my knowledge of English; In the future there will also be a completely German Mac app. The prices are not too high, if you consider the scope of the offers in addition to the pure storage space. 

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

2 comments

  1. Pyro says:

    Such "lifetime" offers somehow always have a taste. What is Lifetime? My lifetime or its lifetime?

    Then they save everything on US servers. Even if it is a Swiss company, this state of affairs is in turn filled with flavors for a European.
    So whether their own crypto history is really end-to-end and tight cannot be said. I have not found any information whether their client is open source. If not, one can almost assume that back doors are integrated.

    That you have to use fuse is annoying. You don't have to with other cloud services.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      There is always the risk that the company will go bankrupt. But pCloud is relatively big (in the top 5 worldwide) and has paying customers. If you've been there for three years and they don't go bankrupt, then the lifetime amount has already been worth it.

      As far as encryption is concerned: If you like to encrypt everything and everyone, you can also use pCloud with BoxCryptor and thus encrypt your files. Then nobody can read along - if they want to / do it at all.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

pCloud Test – Cloud-Speicher mit Verschlüsselung und Auto-Uploads

Geht einem der Speicher auf dem iPhone aus oder benötigt man Platz auf der Mac-Festplatte, dann kann ein Cloud-Speicher die richtige Alternative zu externen Festplatten, DVD-RWs und USB-Sticks sein. Ein Anbieter für Cloud-Speicherplatz, der neben automatischen Uploads auch die clientseitige Verschlüsselung der Daten anbietet, ist pCloud. Im Test des Services habe ich mir die einzelnen Funktionen und Optionen angeschaut. Besondere Gewichtung habe ich dabei auf die Verwendung von pCloud mit der iOS-App auf dem iPhone gelegt. Aber auch am Mac, am Windows- oder Linux-PC sowie unter Android könnt ihr den Cloud-Speicher verwenden bzw. damit unter den Geräten Dateien austauschen.

2-Jahres-Deal zum Sonderpreis: Angebot mit 50% Rabatt sichern

Der pCloud Test mit iPhone, Mac und Browser - hier findet ihr die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der Cloud, Vorteile und Nachteile.

Der pCloud Test mit iPhone, Mac und Browser – hier findet ihr die Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der Cloud, Vorteile und Nachteile.

Vorbemerkung zum pCloud Test

Für diesen pCloud Testbericht, in dem ich euch meine Erfahrungen mit der Cloud darlegen möchte, wurde mir von den Machern des Dienstes ein Premium-Account mit 500 GB Speicherplatz spendiert. Dies hat aber keine Auswirkung auf meine Meinung zum Angebot. Auch wenn ich den Online-Speicher kostenlos nutzen durfte, fußen die folgenden Ausführungen auf meinen Erfahrungen und meiner objektiv gehaltenen Meinungsbildung zum Produkt.

pCloud App fürs iPhone – App aus dem Store

Die pCloud App fürs iPhone lässt sich ganz einfach aus dem App Store laden. Der Download ist kostenlos, aber es gibt – entsprechend den Angeboten von pCloud – verschiedene In-App-Käufe, die man abschließen kann. Die Anmeldung in der App funktioniert mit einem Nutzerkonto oder über Facebook. Nach der Anmeldung können verschiedene Optionen gewählt und Funktionen aktiviert werden; beispielsweise der automatische Upload von Fotos und Videos. Gerade wenn der Speicher des iPhones immer voller wird und man einige Sachen bzw. neue Inhalte auslagern möchte, kann das ganz hilfreich sein. Die automatisch hochgeladenen Daten (falls aktiviert) befinden sich dann im Ordner „Automatic Upload“.

Weitere zum Anfang automatisch erstellte Ordner sind „My Music“ für Musik, „My Pictures“ für Bilder und „My Videos“ für Videos. Sie enthalten Beispiel-Dateien, die man getrost löschen kann. Unter anderem bei dieser Aktion erhält man dann übrigens auch eine E-Mail mit der Information, dass man gerade zum ersten Mal etwas gelöscht hat. Aber keine Angst vor Spam: Solche E-Mails flattern nur bei einigen Aktionen, die man erstmalig ausführt, ein. Es gibt nicht jedes Mal eine Benachrichtigung, immerhin weiß man ja, was man tut 😉 Das Anlegen eigener Ordner und Ordnerstrukturen ist natürlich auch möglich.

Die gelöschten Dateien sind übrigens nicht gleich verloren, sondern werden in den Papierkorb des Cloud-Laufwerks verschoben. Was ich etwas komisch fand, war, dass es für diesen Papierkorb keinen Ordner in der Ordnerübersicht bzw. im Menü der App gibt. Das sorgt zwar für mehr Übersichtlichkeit, verwirrt aber erst einmal. Man findet die gelöschten Dateien dann über die Einstellungen. Dafür tippt man auf die drei Striche oben links, wählt Einstellungen und dann Gelöschte Dateien sehen. Damit wird der Papierkorb angezeigt, aus dem sich nun Dateien endgültig löschen lassen. Noch wichtiger: Es lässt sich mit dem Crypto-Ordner ein speziell verschlüsselter Ort für Dateien kreieren. Dazu mehr weiter unten.

Einstellungen in der pCloud iPhone App

Hier möchte ich euch eine kleine Übersicht über jene Einstellungs- und Anpassungsmöglichkeiten geben, die sich in den Einstellungen der pCloud iOS App finden lassen. Einige Standard-Punkte wie „Cache löschen“ oder die Versionsanzeige lasse ich aus, da sie nicht direkt mit dem Cloud-Service zu tun haben. In den Einstellungen findet ihr also dieses:

  • Speicher-Belegung und Upgrade-Möglichkeiten
  • Passwort- und Passcode-Optionen
  • Anpassungen für Benachrichtigungen über Push und E-Mail
  • Erstellung eines Crypto-Ordners für auf dem Gerät verschlüsselte Dateien und Ordner
  • Auswahl von Dateiarten für den automatischen Upload (Fotos, Videos, beides oder keines davon)
  • Anzeige von Systemdateien
  • Offline-Einstellungen zur Nutzung von mobilen Daten für pCloud-Dienste

pCloud App für macOS – Meine kleine Odyssee

Für mich war die Installation und Nutzung der macOS App von pCloud eine kleine Odyssee, was nicht heißt, dass das bei jedem Nutzer so sein muss. Kurz gescheitert war ich an den Sicherheitseinstellungen des Mac, konnte das Problem aber letztlich lösen. Beim Mounten des Cloud-Laufwerks kam die Meldung, dass ich „FUSE“, ein notwendiges Zusatzprogramm, installieren und dafür erst einmal Rechte freigeben musste. FUSE sorgt dafür, dass Drittanbieter-Apps wie pCloud auf Finder-Funktionen zugreifen kann. Nachdem ich in den Sicherheitseinstellungen des Mac dem Öffnen der Software zugestimmt hatte, war auch die pCloud-Installation abgeschlossen. Nur ließ sich die App nicht starten und auch die Aktivierung als Finder-Erweiterung schlug fehl. 

Anfang der Installation

FUSE wird benötigt

In den Sicherheitseinstellungen kann man die Installation und das Ausführen von FUSE veranlassen

In den Sicherheitseinstellungen kann man die Installation und das Ausführen von FUSE veranlassen

Nach dem Neustart konnte pCloud auf dem Mac schließlich ausgeführt werden

Nach dem Neustart konnte pCloud auf dem Mac schließlich ausgeführt werden

Letztendlich musste ich nur den Mac neu starten, pCloud öffnen und schon funktionierte alles wie es sollte. Nicht nur wurde das Laufwerk gemountet und im Finder angezeigt; zudem öffnete sich auch das pCloud-Programmfenster und das Menüleistensymbol erschien.

Das sind die pCloud Menüleisten-Optionen.

Das sind die pCloud Menüleisten-Optionen.

Mit der erfolgreichen Installation ergaben sich neue Möglichkeiten im Umgang mit den Dateien und Ordnern in der Cloud – so kann man direkt über den Finder per Rechtsklick / Sekundärklick diese Optionen wählen:

  • Offline access (sync) – Datei oder Ordner herunterladen für die Offline-Verwendung
  • Invite to Folder – Andere Personen zur Nutzung des Ordners einladen (Teilen-Funktion)
  • Copy Upload Link – Erstellt einen Link, mit dem andere Nutzer Dateien in einen Ordner laden können
  • Copy Download Link – Erstellt einen Link, mit dem andere Nutzer ausgesuchte Dateien / Ordner herunterladen können 

Möglichkeiten der pCloud Mac App

Als erstes der Hinweis zum Löschen der Dateien: Auch am Mac werden sie in den pCloud-eigenen Papierkorb verschoben. Dafür kann man einfach die Möglichkeiten des Finders nutzen, die man auch zum Löschen von lokalen Dateien verwendet. Also Rechtsklick und In den Papierkorb legen, mit der Maus in den Papierkorb auf dem Dock ziehen, etc. Anschließend findet man die Dateien per App, im Web und auf dem iPhone im pCloud-Papierkorb.

Mit der pCloud Mac App ist ebenfalls eine umfangreiche Nutzung der Cloud möglich

Mit der pCloud Mac App ist ebenfalls eine umfangreiche Nutzung der Cloud möglich

Viel wichtiger sind aber die Möglichkeiten, die das App-Fenster bietet. In verschiedenen Reitern wie Account, Sync, Shares, Crypto, Settings und Help lassen sich Informationen aufrufen und Einstellungen vornehmen. Hier die wichtigsten Features:

  • Account: Nutzer-Daten und Laufwerk-Belegung einsehen, Passwort ändern, Papierkorb einsehen, etc.
  • Sync: Anzeige der synchronisierten Ordner mit Gegenüberstellung der lokalen und der Cloud-Version
  • Shares: Anzeige der erstellen Upload- und Download-Links sowie der Anzahl der interagierenden Nutzer
  • Crypto: Angebot der Crypto-Verschlüsselung sowie Nutzung nach Buchung des Dienstes
  • Settings: Einstellungen zum App-Start und zur Anzeige, Festlegung der maximalen Upload- und Download-Geschwindigkeit in kB/s, Optionen zur Laufwerknutzung
  • Help: Zugang zu pCloud Support, pCloud FAQ und pCloud Blog
  • About: Infos zur App-Version und zu Updates

pCloud im Browser nutzen – super einfach

Wer die Mac App, die man von der Anbieter-Webseite runterladen kann, nicht nutzen möchte, kann sich auch einfach mit seinen Zugangsdaten auf eben jener Seite anmelden. Und schon gibt es ebenfalls die Möglichkeit, Dateien anzusehen, hinzuzufügen, zu bearbeiten, zu löschen oder auf eine Festplatte bzw. ein anderes Speichermedium zu kopieren. Zudem sind auch alle anderen Möglichkeiten präsent, welche die iOS- und macOS-App bieten; also das Teilen von Inhalten, das Einladen von Nutzern, die etwas aus den eigenen Ordnern herunterladen oder etwas in sie hinein laden können, das Herunterladen von Inhalten und so weiter. Der Aufruf der pCloud-Cloud im Browser ist daher auch ideal, wenn ihr unterwegs oder im Urlaub per Computer eure Dateien in Ordnung halten wollt.

Backup verschiedener Dienste – Interessanter Service

Bei der Verwendung des Dienstes im Browser habe ich den Menüpunkt „Backups“ entdeckt – dieser könnte interessant für alle sein, die andere Clouds wie Google Drive, OneDrive und Dropbox regelmäßig sichern wollen. Zudem kommen Social-Media-Freunde auf ihre Kosten, denn es lassen sich auch die Inhalte aus dem Facebook- und aus dem Instagram-Konto regelmäßig sichern.

pCloud Crypto – Daten verschlüsselt hoch- und runterladen

Hier und da schon einmal genannt, möchte ich an dieser Stelle ausführlicher auf pCloud Crypto eingehen. Das ist ein Verschlüsselungsdienst von pCloud. Er funktioniert sowohl auf Desktop- als auch auf Mobilgeräten. Die Verschlüsselung der Dateien passiert dabei direkt auf dem Gerät, und auch die Entschlüsselung wird nur vom Client auf der genutzten Maschine vorgenommen. Dafür muss ein Crypto Pass angelegt werden, eine Art Passwort, mit dem man seine Berechtigung zum Entschlüsseln und Aufrufen der Dateien bestätigen kann. 

Mit pCloud Crypto-Ordner fällt die Installation und Nutzung zusätzlicher Programme zum Verschlüsseln von hochzuladenden Daten weg. Zudem muss man nicht die entsprechende Software auf jedem Gerät, mit dem man auf die Daten zugreifen will, installiert haben. Es reicht, sich den Crypto Pass zu merken – und schon lassen sich die Dateien und Ordner bequem auf dem Mac, dem Windows PC, dem iPhone, Android-Smartphone und von vielen anderen Orten einsehen. Und zwar nur von dem Nutzer, der das auch darf.

Wichtig zu wissen: pCloud kann den Crypto Pass nicht zurücksetzen, ändern oder euch zusenden, wenn ihr ihn vergesst. Damit ginge ja der Sinn der Sache verloren, denn die Anbieter sollen ja ebenso wenig auf eure Daten zugreifen können wie andere Fremde. D. h. die verschlüsselten Daten gehen verloren, wenn man den Crypto Pass vergessen hat. 

Noch mehr Sicherheit durch AES, TLS und SSL

Neben dem Crypto-Ordner werden natürlich auch alle anderen Dateien bei der Übermittlung sowie bei der Lagerung auf den pCloud-Servern geschützt. Gegen den unbefugten Zugriff durch Hacker kommt zum Beispiel eine 256-Bit-AES-Verschlüsselungsmethode zum Einsatz. Bei der Übertragung der Daten arbeitet ein TLS / SSL-Kanalschutz gegen mögliche Fremdabfragen. Zudem sind die in der Cloud gespeicherten Dateien auch gegen Hardware-Fehler gesichert. Dazu kann man beim Anbieter folgendes lesen:

Die Sicherung Ihrer Dateien ist nicht nur auf potenzielle Hacks beschränkt, sondern auch auf den Schutz vor einem möglichen Hardwarefehler. Nachdem Ihre Daten auf die pCloud-Server hochgeladen wurden, behalten wir 5 Kopien an mindestens drei Serverstandorten in einem hochsicheren Datenspeicher Zentrum, rund um die Uhr überwacht.
pCloud Crypto hingegen ist eine optionale zusätzliche Schutzschicht für Ihre sensiblen Personen Daten, die die Informationen, die Sie auf Ihr Gerät hochladen, vor deren Übertragung verschlüsseln.

pCloud Crypto Hacking Challenge – Niemand hat sie geschafft

In diesem Zusammenhang ebenfalls erwähnenswert ist die sogenannte „pCloud Crypto Hacking Challenge“, bei der jeder, der mitmachen und gewinnen wollte, ein für den Wettbewerb angelegtes Nutzerkonto knacken sollte. Als Preis gab es 100.000$ bzw. das Bitcoin-Äquivalent zu gewinnen. Diese Chance wollten sich 2.860 Teilnehmer (darunter 21 technische Universitäten und 613 Hacker-Organisationen) nicht entgehen lassen. Jedoch konnte keiner von ihnen in einem Zeitraum von 6 Monaten das Konto hacken. Wenn das mal nicht für die Sicherheit des Dienstes spricht!

pCloud Preise – Was kostet der Spaß?

So ein Dienst mit bis zu 2 TB Speicher für private und professionelle Nutzer sowie vielen Möglichkeiten, diesen einzusetzen, kostet natürlich Geld. Die beiden am prominentesten beworbenen Account-Versionen sind pCloud Premium und pCloud Premium Plus. Die Preise richten sich nach der Zahlungsart – monatlich, jährlich oder einmalig für ein „Lifetime“-Angebot.

pCloud Premium (500 GB)pCloud Premium Plus (2 TB)
Monatliche Zahlung4,99 €9,99 €
Jährliche Zahlung47,88 € (entspricht 3,99 € / Monat)95,88 € (entspricht 7,99 € / Monat)
Einmalige Zahlung480 € (aktuell 175 €)980 € (aktuell 350 €)
AktionNochmal 50% Rabatt mit diesem Link

Dann gibt es auch noch den Family-Plan für die Familiennutzung eines Kontos. Auch hier werden 2 TB zur Verfügung gestellt, diese können aber auf bis zu 5 Nutzer aufgeteilt werden. Aktuell liegt der Preis für pCloud for Family bei 500 € (statt 1.400 €). Dabei handelt es sich um ein Lifetime-Angebot. Zuletzt wird aber auch noch ein professionelles Business-Angebot gereicht; in Form von pCloud Business. Dieses Paket kann man kostenlos testen, nach Angabe von Unternehmen, Name, Kontaktdaten und Anzahl der Nutzer. Ich denke, hier wird ein individuelles Angebot gemacht und kein Pauschalpreis erhoben.

Nachteile – Übersetzung bzw. Sprachauswahl

Ein zusätzlicher, übers Internet nutzbarer Speicher von 500 GB oder 2 TB ist nicht schlecht. Zudem lassen sich andere Clouds, das lokale Laufwerk, die Fotos und Videos vom iPhone sowie weitere Daten als (automatisches) Backup anlegen. Hinzu kommt die Verschlüsselung von Daten im Crypto-Ordner. Zu den weiteren Vorteilen gehört die Möglichkeit, Dateien und Ordner zu teilen bzw. von anderen befüllen zu lassen, ohne dass sie einen Einblick erlangen. Jedoch gibt es hier und da auch ein paar Nachteile bei pCloud. Vor allem im Bereich der sprachlichen Gestaltung. 

Während die iOS-App fürs iPhone komplett auf Deutsch angezeigt wird und es da keine Verständnisprobleme gibt, da sieht das bei den anderen Lösungen aktuell nicht so gut aus. Die pCloud macOS App zum Beispiel wurde zwar mit deutscher Beschreibung installiert, die letztendliche Anzeige und Nutzung passiert aber auf Englisch (von den Entwicklern wurde mir aber zugesagt, dass es bald auch eine deutsche Version geben soll). Und im Browser gibt es teilweise einen Mix aus beiden Sprachen, wenn man etwa den Menüpunkt „Public“ aufruft und in „Öffentlicher Ordner“ landet.

Ebenfalls interessant: VirtualBox – Kostenlose Virtualisierungs-App

Fazit zum Cloud-Speicher

Mein Fazit ist positiv. Mir gefällt, dass pCloud für alle möglichen Geräte eine Lösung anbietet und nicht nur die Kommunikation zwischen diesen ermöglicht, sondern auch nach außen viele Optionen anbietet. Egal ob man Dateien mit anderen teilen oder von ihnen erhalten möchte – es gibt für beides durchdachte Optionen. Auch Backups und automatische Uploads sind kein Problem. Nicht nur das iPhone kann man dadurch entlasten, wenn der Speicher mal wieder knapp wird. Das Sprachenproblem kann ich persönlich dank Englischkenntnissen zum Glück missachten; in Zukunft wird es zudem eine komplett deutsche Mac App geben. Die Preise sind auch nicht zu hoch, wenn man den Umfang der Angebote neben dem reinen Speicherplatz bedenkt. 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.