SQUID - news app with a little something extra

Since Sir Apfelot is now also available in the SQUID app as a source of information, it is time to present this offer here in the blog. SQUID is a collection of news, reports and magazines that can be called up quickly, easily and mobile on a smartphone or tablet. The download is available from the Apple App Store, the Google Play Store and the Huawei AppGallery. In addition to pure reading and information enjoyment, the app offers the option of adding markings and stickers to articles in order to then share them - for example via social media.

Here you will find information, download links and screenshots for the app "SQUID - Nachrichten & Magazines"

Here you can find information, download links and screenshots for the app "SQUID - Nachrichten & Magazines"

SQUID App - the news octopus

The symbol of the featured news app is an octopus, in English "Squid". To explain it, the editors say (translated into German):

The squid is an intelligent, dynamic, and versatile animal. In the SQUID app world, the squid captures the messages for the user with its tentacles and delivers the “best ink” according to the user's preferences.

The “best ink” naturally means the best articles, news and magazine articles in the form of (digital) printer ink. So it's all the nicer to see that too sir appleot was included in this dance. If you want to read about the service on your mobile device before using it, you can not only do so here, but also on the official website from SQUID do;)

SQUID download for iOS, Android and Huawei devices

The download of SQUID - News & Magazines can be found with the following links for iOS devices as well as for Android cellular operator or for Huawei devices. Downloading, installing and ultimately using the software and its contents is free of charge. So you get the latest reports, news, advice and meetings for free.

[appbox app store id1064860074]

Setup and use

After downloading the SQUID onto your iPhone, iPad, Android smartphone or tablet or Huawei device, the first thing to do is to select your favorite categories. The choices include: top news, lifestyle, fashion & beauty, football, gaming, entertainment, food & drink, film, sports, music, travel, politics, eSports, motor and learning English. With the SQUID app you can also improve your English skills! 

The SQUID app starts with the selection of the subject areas for which you want to receive messages. Later you can adjust and refine the selection. SQUID App Test 1

The SQUID app starts with the selection of the subject areas for which you want to receive messages. Later you can adjust and refine the selection.

You will then be forwarded to your news feed and can swipe back and forth between the selected categories. I immediately noticed a negative point of criticism: in the area of ​​"film" it is clearly too much about irrelevant topics such as "Bachelor" and "jungle camp", which can only be counted as part of the film sector with a lot of goodwill and two closed eyes . 

With the little plus (+) in the upper right corner you can choose further categories - for example "Comics". SQUID App Test 2

With the little plus (+) in the upper right corner you can choose further categories - for example "Comics".

With the small, circled "+" in the top right, you can add or deselect categories and subject areas as well as regions (Germany, World, Top News in English, etc.) at any time. Here you will also find significantly more or more specific topics than with the first app setup - for example, education, comics, marketing & media, LGBTQ, video news, YouTubers, etc.

Here you can choose from many other categories and topics for your individual news feed. SQUID App Test 3

Here you can choose from many other categories and topics for your individual news feed.

To read individual articles, which are usually displayed with a preview image and the headline, you just have to tap on them. Then you can switch between the web display and the reading mode. When testing a Sir Apfelot article, some content was lost in reading mode. Not only the Amazon boxes in which the presented products are shown, but above all the subheadings necessary for understanding.

In WWW mode, the original formatting is displayed, in reading mode, however, individual display options are standardized or content is completely removed. SQUID app experiences

In WWW mode, the original formatting is displayed, in reading mode, however, individual display options are standardized or content is completely removed.

Recommended reading: Sir Apfelot at Appy Geek

Conclusion on the news offer

The app with the full name SQUID - News & Magazines offers an extensive selection of news articles, blog posts, advice, reports and meetings. With the different categories, language choices and other customization options, there is something for everyone. If you want to share individual content and adapt it beforehand with markings and stickers, you can do this as well. Here and there perhaps a little more attention could be paid to the relevance of individual reports (keyword “jungle camp” in the film area), but otherwise the app is a pretty good piece of information.

What do you all mean? Feel free to leave a comment on the topic!

-
 

 

1 comment

  1. Tea jay says:

    Hello Sir Apfelot,

    I use SQUID quite often myself and have become a friend of the different areas of the app. So you always get exactly what interests you!

    Best Regards

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

SQUID – News-App mit gewissem Extra

Da Sir Apfelot nun auch in der SQUID App als Informationsquelle verfügbar ist, wird es hier im Blog Zeit, dieses Angebot einmal vorzustellen. Bei SQUID handelt es sich um eine Sammlung von Nachrichten, Meldungen und Magazinen, die man schnell, einfach und mobil auf dem Smartphone oder Tablet aufrufen kann. Der Download steht im Apple App Store, im Google Play Store sowie in der Huawei AppGallery zur Verfügung. Neben dem reinen Lese- und Informationsvergnügen bietet die App die Möglichkeit, Artikel mit Markierungen und Stickern zu versehen, um sie anschließend zu teilen – bspw. über Social Media.

Hier findet ihr Informationen, Download-Links und Screenshots zur App "SQUID - Nachrichten & Magazine"

Hier findet ihr Informationen, Download-Links und Screenshots zur App „SQUID – Nachrichten & Magazine“

SQUID App – der Nachrichten-Tintenfisch

Das Symbol der vorgestellten News-App ist ein Tintenfisch, auf Englisch „Squid“. Zur Erklärung heißt es von den Herausgebern (ins Deutsche übersetzt):

Der Tintenfisch ist ein intelligentes, dynamisches und vielseitiges Tier. In der SQUID-App-Welt fängt der Tintenfisch mit seinen Tentakeln die Nachrichten für den Benutzer ein und liefert die „beste Tinte“ entsprechend den Präferenzen des Benutzers.

Mit der „besten Tinte“ sind natürlich die besten Artikel, News und Magazin-Beiträge in Form von (digitaler) Druckertinte gemeint. Deshalb ist es umso schöner zu sehen, dass auch Sir Apfelot in diesen Reigen aufgenommen wurde. Falls ihr euch vor der Nutzung auf dem Mobilgerät zum Dienst belesen wollt, könnt ihr dies übrigens nicht nur hier, sondern auch auf der offiziellen Webseite von SQUID tun 😉

SQUID Download für iOS, Android und Huawei-Geräte

Den Download von SQUID – Nachrichten & Magazine findet ihr mit den folgenden Links für iOS-Geräte sowie auch für Android-Mobilfunker oder für Huawei-Devices. Das Herunterladen, Installieren und letztendliche Nutzen der Software und ihrer Inhalte ist kostenlos. Ihr kommt also gratis an die aktuellsten Meldungen, Nachrichten, Ratgeber und Besprechungen heran.

SQUID - Nachrichten & Magazine
SQUID - Nachrichten & Magazine
Entwickler: Njuice
Preis: Kostenlos

Einrichtung und Nutzung

Nach dem SQUID Download auf euer iPhone, iPad, Android-Smartphone oder -Tablet bzw. Huawei-Gerät gilt es erst einmal, die von euch favorisierten Kategorien auszuwählen. Zur Auswahl stehen unter anderem: Topnachrichten, Lifestyle, Mode & Schönheit, Fußball, Gaming, Unterhaltung, Essen & Trinken, Film, Sport, Musik, Reisen, Politik, eSports, Motor und Learning English. Mit der SQUID App könnt ihr also auch eure Englisch-Kenntnisse verbessern! 

Die SQUID App startet mit der Auswahl der Themenbereiche, zu denen ihr Nachrichten angezeigt bekommen wollt. Später könnt ihr die Auswahl anpassen und verfeinern. SQUID App Test 1

Die SQUID App startet mit der Auswahl der Themenbereiche, zu denen ihr Nachrichten angezeigt bekommen wollt. Später könnt ihr die Auswahl anpassen und verfeinern.

Anschließend werdet ihr zu eurem News-Feed weitergeleitet und könnt zwischen den ausgewählten Kategorien hin- und her-wischen. Dabei ist mir gleich ein negativer Kritikpunkt aufgefallen: im Bereich „Film“ geht es eindeutig zu viel um nicht relevante Themen wie „Bachelor“ und „Dschungelcamp“, die man nur mit ganz viel gutem Willen und zwei zugedrückten Augen zum Film-Bereich zählen kann. 

Mit dem kleinen Plus (+) oben rechts könnt ihr weitere Kategorien wählen - zum Beispiel auch "Comics". SQUID App Test 2

Mit dem kleinen Plus (+) oben rechts könnt ihr weitere Kategorien wählen – zum Beispiel auch „Comics“.

Mit dem kleinen, eingekreisten „+“ oben rechts könnt ihr übrigens jederzeit Kategorien und Themenfelder sowie Regionen (Deutschland, Welt, Top News auf Englisch, etc.) hinzu- oder abwählen. Hier findet ihr auch wesentlich mehr bzw. spezieller gefasste Themengebiete als bei der ersten App-Einrichtung – so zum Beispiel auch Erziehung, Comics, Marketing & Media, LGBTQ, Video Nachrichten, YouTubers, etc.

Hier könnt ihr noch viele weitere Kategorien und Themengebiete für euren individuellen News-Feed aussuchen. SQUID App Test 3

Hier könnt ihr noch viele weitere Kategorien und Themengebiete für euren individuellen News-Feed aussuchen.

Um einzelne Artikel, die meist mit einem Vorschaubild und der Überschrift angezeigt werden, zu lesen, müsst ihr sie einfach nur antippen. Dann könnt ihr noch zwischen der Web-Anzeige und dem Lese-Modus wechseln. Beim Test eines Sir-Apfelot-Artikels gingen im Lesemodus einige Inhalte verloren. Nicht nur die Amazon-Boxen, in denen vorgestellte Produkte aufgezeigt werden, sondern vor allem auch die zum Verständnis nötigen Zwischenüberschriften.

Im WWW-Modus wird die originale Formatierung angezeigt, im Lesemodus hingegen werden einzelne Darstellungsoptionen vereinheitlicht oder Inhalte komplett herausgenommen. SQUID App Erfahrungen

Im WWW-Modus wird die originale Formatierung angezeigt, im Lesemodus hingegen werden einzelne Darstellungsoptionen vereinheitlicht oder Inhalte komplett herausgenommen.

Lesetipp: Sir Apfelot bei Appy Geek

Fazit zum Nachrichten-Angebot

Die App mit dem vollen Namen SQUID – Nachrichten & Magazine bietet eine umfangreiche Auswahl aus News-Artikeln, Blog-Beiträgen, Ratgebern, Berichten und Besprechungen. Mit den unterschiedlichen Kategorien, Sprachauswahlen und weiteren Anpassungsmöglichkeiten ist für jeden etwas dabei. Wer einzelne Inhalte teilen und zuvor mit Markierungen und Stickern anpassen will, kann dies ebenfalls tun. Hier und da könnte vielleicht ein bisschen mehr auf die Relevanz einzelner Meldungen geachtet werden (Stichwort „Dschungelcamp“ im Film-Bereich), aber ansonsten ist die App ein schon recht ansehnliches Stück Informationsvermittlung.

Was meint ihr? Lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Thema da!

1 Kommentar

  1. Tee Jay sagt:

    Hallo Sir Apfelot,

    ich nutze SQUID selbst recht häufig und bin ein Freund der unterschiedlichen Bereiche der App geworden. So bekommt man echt immer genau das mit, was einen wirklich interessiert!

    Beste Grüße

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.