TinkerTool: make macOS fine adjustments safely

Tinker Tool Download Download Security Configure OS X safely customize company computer

September 25th 2017 is from the helpful macOS software TinkerTool Version 6.21 was released. TinkerTool can therefore be used both under macOS 10.12 Sierra and macOS 10.13 High Sierra. If you use the software, you can use it to make fine adjustments and functions that are built into the Apple operating system for the Mac, but are not immediately apparent to the average user. In this post I will show you the details of the program, which enables configurations on the Mac safely and without admin rights.

Settings in macOS with TinkerTool - here you can see what you can configure on the Safari browser. Image: bresink.com

Settings in macOS with TinkerTool - here you can see what you can configure on the Safari browser. Image: bresink.com

TinkerTool: Details on the configuration helper

TinkerTool you can download Puma for all versions of macOS, OS X and Mac OS X from 10.1. You will receive details on the individual software generations on the product page, on which you can also find the TinkerTool download of the latest versions for Sierra and High Sierra. I would like to show details and functions of these in the following.

Worth knowing: These Macs are compatible with macOS High Sierra

If you are toying with the idea of ​​downloading and using TinkerTool, then you might first want to know which programs and system sections you can influence. These are the individual macOS elements that you can adjust with the software (you will find screenshots of each area again below):

  • Finder (e.g. show hidden files etc)
  • Dock
  • Launchpad
  • iTunes
  • Desk
  • Safari
  • Setting options for other macOS programs
  • General settings for all programs
  • Font settings for multiple programs
  • Additional features as well as resetting all changes
You can also make general changes and settings in the Apple operating system for the Mac. Image: bresink.com

You can also make general changes and settings in the Apple operating system for the Mac. Image: bresink.com

Individual settings in the overview

To list all the settings, changes and configurations that are possible with TinkerTool under macOS would go beyond the scope. Therefore at this point only an excerpt from important application examples of the TinkerTool software. You can find a complete list on the website of the programmer Marcel Bresink linked above.

  • Show hidden system files in the Finder
  • Turn off sound effects in the Finder
  • Switching off various animations
  • Blocking various functions of Finder and Co.
  • Enable and disable Press and hold for accents
  • Set the file format for macOS screenshots
  • Set how to deal with Mac system crashes
  • Prevent programs from closing automatically
  • Set the default fonts for Safari (proportional and non-proportional)
  • Allow iTunes half-star ratings
  • And much more
In the start screen of TinkerTool you are informed that the program only changes settings and does not manipulate any parts of the operating system or execute any scripts.

In the start screen of TinkerTool you are informed that the program only changes settings and does not manipulate any parts of the operating system or execute any scripts.

Security when configuring macOS

Not only as a home user of macOS on the Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook, the security of the system is of course very important when changing with third-party software - but also when using it on professionally used Apple computers. However, as Marcel Bresink assures on his website, you can rest assured with TinkerTool:

"The tool ensures that changing setting values ​​only affects the current user. No administrator rights are required [...] Due to this product design, it is not a problem to use TinkerTool in professional networks [...] The program never changes components of the operating system, so your computer is not exposed to any risk and there are no restrictions on system updates. Compliance with these security rules is also guaranteed by the macOS application sandbox."

Conclusion on TinkerTool

You can download TinkerTool for Apple operating systems from Mac OS X 10.1 Puma. "TinkerTool Classic" is available for this and the Jaguar and Panther versions. Other versions also cover Tiger, Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite and El Capitan. Versions like Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah and older are no longer supported. However, the TinkerTool software is a useful, free and safe program for fine-tuning your Mac for the Apple Mac operating systems mentioned.

What's your opinion? Feel free to leave a comment! ;)

Screenshots from TinkerTool

To get a small overview of the setting options, you can click through the following screenshots, which I just made under macOS High Sierra:

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

TinkerTool: macOS-Feineinstellungen sicher vornehmen

Am 25. September 2017 ist von der hilfreichen macOS-Software TinkerTool die Version 6.21 erschienen. TinkerTool ist damit sowohl unter macOS 10.12 Sierra als auch unter macOS 10.13 High Sierra verwendbar. Wenn ihr die Software verwendet, dann könnt ihr damit Feineinstellungen und Funktionen verwenden, die zwar im Apple-Betriebssystem für den Mac eingebaut, aber für den Otto-Normal-Nutzer nicht gleich ersichtlich sind. In diesem Beitrag zeige ich euch die Details zum Programm auf, das Konfigurationen am Mac sicher und ohne Admin-Rechte ermöglicht.

Einstellungen in macOS mit TinkerTool - hier seht ihr, was ihr am Safari-Browser konfigurieren könnt. Bild: bresink.com

Einstellungen in macOS mit TinkerTool – hier seht ihr, was ihr am Safari-Browser konfigurieren könnt. Bild: bresink.com

TinkerTool: Details zum Konfigurations-Helfer

TinkerTool könnt ihr für alle Versionen von macOS, OS X und Mac OS X ab 10.1 Puma herunterladen. Details zu den einzelnen Software-Generationen bekommt ihr auf der Produktseite, auf der ihr auch den TinkerTool Download der aktuellsten Versionen für Sierra und High Sierra findet. Zu diesen möchte ich im Folgenden auch Details und Funktionen aufzeigen.

Wissenswert: Diese Macs sind mit macOS High Sierra kompatibel

Wenn ihr mit dem Gedanken spielt, TinkerTool herunterzuladen und zu verwenden, dann wollt ihr vielleicht zuerst wissen, auf welche Programme und Systemabschnitte ihr Einfluss nehmen könnt. Das sind die einzelnen macOS-Elemente, die ihr mit der Software anpassen könnt:

  • Finder
  • Dock
  • Launchpad
  • iTunes
  • Schreibtisch
  • Safari
  • Einstellmöglichkeiten für weitere macOS-Programme
  • Allgemeine Einstellungen für alle Programme
  • Schriftarteinstellungen für mehrere Programme
  • Weitere Features sowie Zurücksetzen aller Änderungen
Auch allgemeine Änderungen und Einstellungen könnt ihr im Apple Betriebssystem für den Mac erwirken. Bild: bresink.com

Auch allgemeine Änderungen und Einstellungen könnt ihr im Apple Betriebssystem für den Mac erwirken. Bild: bresink.com

Einzelne Einstellungen in der Übersicht

Hier alle Einstellungen, Änderungen und Konfigurationen aufzuzählen, die mit TinkerTool unter macOS möglich sind, würde den Rahmen sprengen. Deshalb an dieser Stelle nur ein Auszug von wichtigen Anwendungsbeispielen der TinkerTool-Software. Eine komplette Liste findet ihr auf der oben verlinkten Seite des Programmierers Marcel Bresink.

  • Anzeigen von versteckten Systemdateien im Finder
  • Abschalten von Sound-Effekten im Finder
  • Abschalten diverser Animationen
  • Blockieren von verschiedenen Funktionen von Finder und Co.
  • Aktivieren und Deaktivieren von Drücken und Halten für Akzente
  • Einstellen des Dateiformats für macOS Screenshots
  • Umgang mit Systemabstürzen des Mac einstellen
  • Automatisches Beenden von Programmen verhindern
  • Standardschriftarten für Safari einstellen (proportional und nichtproportional)
  • Zulassen von iTunes-Bewertungen mit halben Sternen
  • Und viiieeeles mehr
Mehr für dich:
Seriöser Mac Keylogger für OS X als Text-Backup-System

Sicherheit beim Konfigurieren von macOS

Nicht nur als Heimanwender von macOS auf dem Apple Mac, iMac oder MacBook ist natürlich die Sicherheit des Systems bei der Veränderung mit Drittanbietersoftware ganz wichtig – sondern auch bei der Anwendung an professionell genutzten Apple-Computern. Jedoch, so versichert Marcel Bresink auf seiner Webseite, kann man mit TinkerTool ganz beruhigt sein:

Das Tool stellt jeweils sicher, dass sich die Änderung von Einstellungswerten nur auf den aktuellen Benutzer auswirkt. Es wird kein Administratorrecht benötigt […] Aufgrund dieses Produktdesigns ist es kein Problem, TinkerTool in professionellen Netzwerken einzusetzen […] Das Programm ändert niemals Komponenten des Betriebssystems, so dass Ihr Computer keinem Risiko ausgesetzt ist und sich bei System-Updates keinerlei Einschränkungen ergeben. Die Einhaltung dieser Sicherheitsregeln wird zusätzlich durch die Anwendungs-Sandbox von macOS gewährleistet.

Fazit zu TinkerTool

TinkerTool könnt ihr für Apple-Betriebssysteme ab Mac OS X 10.1 Puma herunterladen. Für diese und die Jaguar- sowie Panther-Version steht „TinkerTool Classic“ zur Verfügung. Weitere Versionen decken auch Tiger, Leopard, Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite und El Capitan ab. Versionen wie Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah und älter werden nicht mehr unterstützt. Jedoch bekommt ihr für die genannten Apple Mac Betriebssysteme mit der Software TinkerTool ein brauchbares, kostenloses und sicheres Programm für die Feineinstellungen am Mac.

Was ist eure Meinung dazu? Lasst gern einen Kommentar dazu da! 😉

Vielleicht auch interessant?

Mehr für dich:
Internet Browser Marktanteile verschieben sich – Aktuelle Zahlen und hiesige Statistik

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
52

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

d
c