Ejectify: Mandatory app for owners of monitors with a built-in Thunderbolt hub

Mac app Ejectify

Today I got an email from the developer Niels Mouthaan, who gave me his app Ejectify has presented. The function of the app is quickly explained:

Ejectify automatically unmounts external hard drives when your Mac hibernates and mounts them again when you wake up.

So far so good. Unfortunately, I had no idea what this would be helpful for, because the hard drives usually just stay mounted when the Mac goes to sleep and are still there when I wake up. So why the circumstance with this app?

The "Ejectify" app for the Mac unmounts volumes when the Mac goes to sleep and mounts them again when it wakes up. Why is this useful? Will be explained in a moment ...
The Ejectify app for Mac unmounts volumes when the Mac goes to sleep and mounts them again when it wakes up. Why is this useful? Will be explained soon...

Use case: monitors with built-in Thunderbolt hub

After I wrote to Niels that I would like to introduce his app, but I just couldn't think of a scenario where this software would be of practical use, I promptly got his answer:

In most cases it indeed doesn't matter. The scenario that bothered me causing me to develop Ejectify is this: my Time Machine is connected via a USB hub that's embedded in my external screen. When my Mac instructs its screens to start sleeping the hub is getting powered off and the disk is getting ejected forcefully. When my Mac wakes up, I get this annoying "Disk not ejected properly" notification and I have to unplug my external screen and plug it in again to make the disk appear.

Users are also using it to safely disconnect their external drive when their Mac is sleeping without opening it first to eject it properly. This is the most common scenario.

Translation from my buddy DeepL:

In most cases, it actually doesn't matter. The scenario that bothered me and led me to develop Ejectify is this: My Time Machine is connected through a USB hub that is built into my external screen. When my Mac hibernates its screens, the hub turns off and the disk is forcibly ejected. When my Mac wakes up, I get this annoying “Not ejected correctly” message and I have to unplug and plug in my external display for the disc to appear.

Users also use it to safely disconnect their external drive when their Mac is asleep without first opening the drive to properly eject it. This is the most common scenario.

Monitor manufacturers accept the destruction of data

And I have to say: I had exactly this problem with my LG monitor, which has a built-in hub. Immediately after setting it up, I hung my external hard drives on the monitor in order to have as few cables as possible on my MacBook Pro.

Unfortunately, the hard drives just turned off when the Mac went to sleep. It was completely incomprehensible to me why the monitor manufacturer had built in such an automatic power-saving system, since it can turn a hard drive into a mess of data if you cut off the power in the middle of writing.

The function of Ejectify is particularly interesting if you have a monitor with a built-in Thunderbolt hub that simply cuts off the power supply to the connected hard drives in power-saving mode.
The function of Ejectify is particularly interesting if you have a monitor with a built-in Thunderbolt hub that simply cuts off the power supply to the connected hard drives in power-saving mode.

My conclusion about the built-in Thunderbolt hub in the monitor was that I just stopped using it. Every time I found these messages just too annoying. And somehow the risk was too great for me that at some point a hard drive or at least the data on it would bless the time.

My conclusion on Ejectify

If you want to use a monitor with a built-in Thunderbolt Hub on your Mac, you should buy the 3 Euro app. It makes the operation of external data carriers on the monitor hub safer and also saves your nerves because it prevents many warning messages.

Ejectify: Mandatory App For Owners of Thunderbolt Monitors

For me, Ejectify makes the hub function in my LG monitor a useful thing again - although I have not used it for years in order to protect my data on the hard drives.

If you're interested in Ejectify, you'll find the software here on the app's own website.

According to the version history, the Mountain App received the last update almost 10 years ago.
According to the version history, the Mountain App received the last update almost 10 years ago.

Mountain.App - same function, unfortunately neglected

Surely there are people who say “Yes, that already exists. The app is called Mountain! ”… That's true, because Mountain from the appgineers fulfills almost the same functionality, but on the one hand the developers want 5,99 euros for it and on the other hand the last revision of the app is from 2012. I'm not sure whether the software still runs on macOS Big Sur at all.

So my tip: Take the solution from Niels, because it is very fresh and the developer takes care of the tool. The source code is even on Guthub available.

My tips & tricks about technology & Apple

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership would support.

12 comments on "Ejectify: Must-have app for owners of monitors with a built-in Thunderbolt hub"

  1. Moin,
    have for these purposes "jettison“On the MBP - their settings are much more extensive. You specify whether or which hard disks are remounted. The settings in "Ejectify" are a bit spartan. But a nobrainer for $ 3. Thanks for the tip.

    1. Hello OnSmash! Cool, thanks for the tip. I didn't know "Jettison" either. But it also seems like a good app. It costs twice as much as Ejectify, but it might be better for those who need more options. You can look at the demo and then you can see if it suits you.

    2. It's a shame, I was hoping that this program might solve my problem with my MacBook. I operate my Macbook on a docking station to which an external hard drive is connected. My hope now was that this program might also work in such a way that if I fold the MacBook, then the MacBook could simply be separated. Unfortunately, this program does not work reliably and I keep getting the message that the external hard drive has not been removed correctly. Too bad…

      1. Hello Eric! Yes, you will not be able to do that in terms of software, because the software cannot know when you close the MacBook. The software only notices when it is closed and then it can be too late to deregister the disks.
        Alternatively, you could put the disks in a NAS, because you can separate it at any time without causing problems. The connection is network-based anyway. Would that be an idea?

        1. Hi Jens and thanks for your answer.
          Doesn't the MacBook go to sleep when you close it, or something like that? This, at least I thought so, should be recognized by the software and trigger this reaction by ejecting the external hard drives. Well, unfortunately it doesn't work.
          I already do your idea with the NAS with my data. To do this, I use DEVONthink very intensively, so that my data is always up-to-date with me when I'm on the move. Only when editing images do I prefer to have the data on a faster SSD disk, which is connected directly or, as in my case, to the docking station.

          1. Yes I understand. And yes, actually you are right. The tool should recognize the idle state. I'll ask the developer what the problem might be. In any case, it cannot unmount hard drives with files open on them.

  2. @Eric
    “Jettison” can do that; automatically ejects the hard disks when they are closed or shut down, or they can also be mounted again. My highlight: ejecting the external media via shortcut. Just give it a try.

    1. Hello OnSmash! Jettison seems like a real pearl. What this thing can do. : D I think that will also get a contribution.

      1. I've had the app on my MBPs for years and I'm still excited about the functionality. I'm still Catalina (due to job) and therefore don't know whether she is M1-compatible - so it's definitely worth a test by you.
        Greets

  3. hmm, I actually tried the “Jettison” and sometimes it worked, sometimes not. Maybe it was too hectic.
    In the meantime I've installed it again and tried it around. Unfortunately, the separation is not reliable. The strange thing is that when I close the MacBook and then open it again, the hard drive was ejected. But it is then no longer automatically remouted, only after it is unplugged and plugged in is it recognized again. After several attempts, the automatic disconnection usually works if you wait about 5-6 seconds to unplug after you have folded the MacBook. But it doesn't have to work for sure, every now and then the message that the hard drive has not been removed correctly appears. Too bad, it would be nice if it had worked.

    I had seen the one with the key combination and set it that way. I think this path is the safe one and it already helps.

    1. Hi Eric,
      I can only say: Things are really reliable for me. Check times in all the settings - especially regarding the remounting (extras). Otherwise, Jettison also offers the function via the menu. Check it out at your leisure.
      (The action "Close and open again quickly" is unfortunately extremely rare in my everyday life.)

      1. I'll keep trying, maybe it's because of my dock.
        I only did the closing and opening action when I tried it because I wanted to see if the external hard drive was ejected. Oddly enough, it was ejected immediately. Only when I closed and unplugged the dock, then opened it again, did the unpleasant message appear that the external hard drive was not ejected. Jettison himself tells me “The volume “images” would not unmount. Try ejecting it into the Finder.”

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Specials
Shopping
  •  
  •

Ejectify: Pflicht-App für Besitzer von Monitoren mit eingebautem Thunderbolt-Hub

Mac App Ejectify

Ich bekam heute eine Mail von dem Entwickler Niels Mouthaan, der mir seine App Ejectify vorgestellt hat. Die Funktion der App ist schnell erklärt:

Ejectify meldet externe Festplatten automatisch ab, wenn euer Mac in den Ruhezustand geht, und mounted sie wieder nach dem Aufwachen.

Soweit so gut. Leider fehlte mir aber jegliche Vorstellung, wofür dies hilfreich sein sollte, denn in der Regel bleiben die Festplatten einfach gemountet, wenn der Mac schlafen geht und nach dem Aufwachen sind sie immer noch da. Wozu also der Umstand mit dieser App?

Die App "Ejectify" für den Mac meldet Volumes ab, wenn der Mac schlafen geht und mountet sie nach dem Aufwachen wieder. Warum das nützlich ist? Wird gleich erklärt…

Die App "Ejectify" für den Mac meldet Volumes ab, wenn der Mac schlafen geht und mountet sie nach dem Aufwachen wieder. Warum das nützlich ist? Wird gleich erklärt…

Anwendungsfall: Monitore mit eingebauten Thunderbolt-Hub

Nachdem ich Niels geschrieben habe, dass ich seine App ja gerne vorstellen würde, mir aber einfach kein Szenario einfallen würde, wo diese Software einen praktischen Nutzen habe, bekam ich prompt seine Antwort:

In most cases it indeed doesn’t matter. The scenario that bothered me causing me to develop Ejectify is this: my Time Machine is connected via a USB hub that’s embedded in my external screen. When my Mac instructs its screens to start sleeping the hub is getting powered off and the disk is getting ejected forcefully. When my Mac wakes up, I get this annoying "Disk not ejected properly" notification and I have to unplug my external screen and plug it in again to make the disk appear.

Users are also using it to safely disconnect their external drive when their Mac is sleeping without opening it first to eject it properly. This is the most common scenario.

Übersetzung von meinem Kumpel DeepL:

In den meisten Fällen spielt es tatsächlich keine Rolle. Das Szenario, das mich gestört hat und mich veranlasst hat, Ejectify zu entwickeln, ist folgendes: Meine Time Machine ist über einen USB-Hub angeschlossen, der in meinen externen Bildschirm integriert ist. Wenn mein Mac seine Bildschirme in den Ruhezustand versetzt, wird der Hub ausgeschaltet und die Platte wird gewaltsam ausgeworfen. Wenn mein Mac aufwacht, erhalte ich diese lästige „Nicht korrekt ausgeworfen“-Meldung und ich muss meinen externen Bildschirm aus- und wieder einstecken, damit die Disk erscheint.

Benutzer verwenden es auch, um ihr externes Laufwerk sicher zu trennen, wenn ihr Mac schläft, ohne das Laufwerk vorher zu öffnen, um es richtig auszuwerfen. Dies ist das häufigste Szenario.

Monitorhersteller nehmen Zerstörung von Daten in Kauf

Und ich muss sagen: Genau dieses Problem hatte ich auch an meinem LG Monitor, der einen eingebauten Hub besitzt. Direkt nach der Einrichtung hatte ich meine externen Festplatten an den Monitor gehängt, um möglichst wenige Kabel an meinem MacBook Pro zu haben.

Nur leider wurden die Festplatten einfach abgeschaltet, wenn der Mac in den Ruhezustand ging. Mir war es völlig unverständlich, warum der Monitorhersteller so eine Stromsparautomatik eingebaut hat, da es durchaus eine Festplatte zu Datensalat machen kann, wenn man ihr mitten im Schreiben den Strom kappt.

Die Funktion von Ejectify ist besonders dann interessant, wenn ihr einen Monitor mit eingebautem Thunderbolt-Hub besitzt, der im Stromsparmodus einfach die Energieversorgung zu den angesteckten Festplatten kappt.

Die Funktion von Ejectify ist besonders dann interessant, wenn ihr einen Monitor mit eingebautem Thunderbolt-Hub besitzt, der im Stromsparmodus einfach die Energieversorgung zu den angesteckten Festplatten kappt.

Mein Fazit zu dem eingebauten Thunderbolt-Hub im Monitor war, dass ich es einfach nicht mehr verwendet habe. Jedes Mal diese Meldungen fand ich einfach zu nervig. Und irgendwie war mir auch das Risiko zu groß, dass irgendwann doch mal eine Festplatte oder zumindest die Daten darauf das Zeitliche segnen.

Mein Fazit zu Ejectify

Wer unter einen Monitor mit eingebautem Thunderbolt Hub am Mac betreiben möchte, sollte sich die 3 Euro App leisten. Sie macht den Betrieb von externen Datenträgern am Monitor-Hub sicherer und schont dazu die Nerven, weil sie viele Warnmeldungen verhindert.

Ejectify: Mandatory App For Owners of Thunderbolt Monitors

Für mich macht Ejectify die Hub-Funktion in meinem LG Monitor wieder zu einer brauchbaren Sache – obwohl ich seit Jahren darauf verzichtet habe, um meine Daten auf den Festplatten zu schützen.

Wenn ihr euch für Ejectify interessiert, findet ihr die Software hier auf der eigenen Webseite der App.

Die Mountain App hat das letzte Update laut der Versionshistorie vor fast 10 Jahren erhalten.

Die Mountain App hat das letzte Update laut der Versionshistorie vor fast 10 Jahren erhalten.

Mountain.App – gleiche Funktion, leider ungepflegt

Sicher gibt es Leute, die jetzt sagen „Ja, das gibt es doch schon. Die App heißt Mountain!“… das stimmt zwar, denn Mountain von den appgineers erfüllt quasi die gleiche Funktionalität, aber zum einen möchten die Entwickler 5,99 Euro dafür und zum anderen ist die letzte Überarbeitung der App von 2012. Ich bin nicht sicher, ob die Software überhaupt noch unter macOS Big Sur läuft.

Darum mein Tipp: Nehmt die Lösung von Niels, denn die ist ganz frisch und der Entwickler kümmert sich um das Tool. Der Quellcode ist sogar auf Guthub verfügbar.


Neu: Es gibt nun ein Sir Apfelot Forum bei dem ihr eure Fragen nicht nur mir, sondern gleich vielen anderen Lesern präsentieren könnt. Das erhöht die Chance, dass euer Problem gelöst wird!

12 Kommentare

  1. OnSmash sagt:

    Moin Moin,
    hab für diese Zwecke „Jettison“ auf dem MBP – deren Einstellungen sind wesentlich umfangreicher. Man legt fest, ob bzw welche Festplatten remounted werden. Die Settings in „Ejectify“ sind etwas spartanisch. Aber für 3$ ein nobrainer. Danke für den Tipp.

    • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

      Hallo OnSmash! Cool, danke für den Hinweis. "Jettison" kannte ich auch nicht. Aber scheint auch ne gute App zu sein. Kostet zwar doppelt soviel wie Ejectify, aber wer mehr Optionen braucht, ist damit vielleicht besser bedient. Man kann sich ja die Demo anschauen und dann sieht man, ob es für einen passt.

    • Eric sagt:

      Schade, ich habe gehofft, dass dieses Programm vielleicht mein Problem am MacBook lösten könnte. Ich betreibe mein Macbook an einer Dockingstation, an der eine externe Festplatte angeschlossen ist. Meine Hoffnung war nun, dass dieses Programm vielleicht auch so funktioniert, dass wenn ich das MacBook zusammenklappe, dann das MacBook einfach getrennt werden könnte. Leider funktioniert es mit diesem Programm nicht zuverlässig und ich bekommen immer wieder die Meldung des nicht korrekten entfernen der externen Festplatte. Echt schade…

      • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

        Hallo Eric! Ja, das wird man softwaretechnisch nicht hinbekommen, da die Software ja nicht wissen kann, wann du das MacBook zuklappst. Die Software merkt es erst, wenn es zu ist und dann kann es zu spät, die Platten abzumelden.
        Alternativ könntest du die Platten aber in ein NAS stecken, denn das kannst du jederzeit trennen ohne, dass es hier zu Problemen kommen würde. Die Verbindung ist ja sowieso netzwerkbasiert. Wäre das eventuell eine Idee?

        • Eric sagt:

          Hi Jens und danke für deine Antwort.
          Beim zuklappen geht doch das MacBook in einen Ruhezustand, oder so was ähnliches? Dieser, zumindest dachte ich es so, müsste von der Software erkannt werden und diese Reaktion mit dem Auswurf der externen Festplatten auslösen. Tja, leider geht wohl leider nicht.
          Deine Idee mit der NAS mach ich mit meinen Daten bereits so. Dafür nutze sehr intensiv DEVONthink, um meine Daten auch Unterwegs immer aktuell dabei zu haben. Nur bei der Bildbearbeitung habe ich die Daten lieber auf einer schnelleren SSD-Disk, die direkt, oder wie im meinem Fall an der Dockingstation, angeschlossen wird.

          • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

            Ja, verstehe. Und ja, eigentlich hast du recht. Den Ruhezustand müsste das Tool erkennen. Ich frage mal beim Entwickler, wo das Problem liegen könnte. Es kann auf jeden Fall keine Festplatten abmelden, wenn Dateien darauf geöffnet sind.

  2. OnSmash sagt:

    @Eric
    „Jettison“ kann das; wirft die Festplatten automatisch beim Zuklappen oder auch Runterfahren aus, wahlweise werden sie auch wieder gemounted. Mein Highlight: Auswerfen der externen Medien via Shortcut. Probier‘s einfach mal aus.

    • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

      Hallo OnSmash! Jettison scheint ja ne echte Perle zu sein. Was das Ding alles kann. 😀 Ich glaube, das bekommt auch noch einen Beitrag.

      • OnSmash sagt:

        Hab die App schon seit Jahren auf meinen MBPs und bin immer noch begeistert ob der Funktionalität. Bin auf (jobbedingt) noch Catalina und weiß daher nicht, ob sie M1-kompatibel ist – insofern sicher einen Test durch Dich wert.
        Greets

  3. Eric sagt:

    hmm, ich hatte es eigentlich mit den "Jettison" versucht und da hatte es mal geklappt mal nicht. War wohl vielleicht zu hektisch drangegangen.
    Ich habe es mir inzwischen noch mal installiert und damit herum probiert. Das Trenn geht leider nicht zuverlässig. Seltsam ist, dass wenn ich das MacBook zuklappe und gleich wieder öffne, die Festplatte ausgeworfen wurde. Aber sie wird dann nicht mehr automatisch remouted, erst nach ab und anstecken wir diese wieder erkannt. Nach etlichen Versuchen klappt die automatische Trennung meistens wenn mann ca. 5-6sec warten mit dem abstecken, nachdem man das MacBook zusammengeklappt hat. Muss aber nicht sicher klappen, es kommt hin und wieder immer noch die Meldung des nicht richtigen entfernen der Festplatte. Schade, wäre schön wenn es geklappt hätte.

    Das mit der Tastenkombination hatte ich gesehen und auch gleich so eingestellt. Ich denke dieser Weg ist der Sichere und hilft ja auch schon weiter.

    • OnSmash sagt:

      Hallo Eric,
      ich kann nur sagen: Bei mir läufts wirklich zuverlässig. Check mal in aller die Einstellungen – gerade bezüglich des Remountens (Extras). Ansonsten bietet Jettison ja auch über das Menü die Funktion an. Check das mal in aller Ruhe aus.
      (Die Aktion „Zuklappen und schnell wieder öffnen“ kommt in meinem Alltag leider extrem selten vor.)

      • Eric sagt:

        Ich probiere es weiter, vielleicht liegt es ja auch an meinen Dock.
        Die Aktion Zu-und wieder Aufklappen habe ich auch nur bei dem probieren so gemacht, weil ich sehen wollte ob die externe Festplatte ausgeworfen wurde. Seltsamerweise wurde diese ja gleich ausgeworfen. Nur wenn ich zuklappe und die Dock abziehe, anschliessend wieder aufklappte erschien die unerfreuliche Meldung, dass die externe Festplatte nicht ausgeworfen wurde. Jettison selber meldet mir "The volume "Bilder" would not unmount. Try ejecting it in the Finder."

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.