elementary OS - Nice alternative to Windows and macOS

If you want to equip your (old) Windows PC or an Apple Mac with a Linux distribution designed for users, you should take a look elementary OS look at. Like the handsome Linux Mint, this operating system is based on Ubuntu. Visually, it is reminiscent of macOS or Windows 11 and should be particularly easy to use. Unlike other Linux variants, it is designed for the end user and less for developers. But they can easily provide apps and tools for elementary OS, everything is open source. Download, installation and use are also free of charge; a donation can be made.

TL; DR: Click here to go to the system's website

Here you will find information about elementary OS in general as well as elementary OS 6 Odin system requirements, details on download and installation, information on usage, etc.

Here you will find information about elementary OS in general as well as elementary OS 6 Odin system requirements, details on download and installation, information on usage, etc.

elementary OS 6 Odin - system for work, multimedia and games

You can currently find it on the page linked above elementary OS 6 Odin as the latest version of the system (as of September 6, 2021). The alternative operating system for the PC or Apple Mac brings with it multi-touch functions, a dark mode, sandboxing for apps and other great features. Various programs are available for everyday use: the web as an Internet browser, mail as an e-mail client, music as an audio app, photos and videos as a display and player program for other media, a calendar, a camera app and more . Of course there is also a replacement for the Finder / Explorer with files. Terminal and code help with more professional use.

Videos on the side: Picture-in-Picture function as USP

In elementary OS, video playback as picture-in-picture is a feature integrated into the system. You can use it to keep a small video player in the foreground and thus continue to watch the film, series or documentary while working, while writing on a work, checking e-mails and surfing the Internet. In addition to this function for multimedia friends, the system also looks quite tidy, especially due to the design reminiscent of macOS - there is a dock with important apps at the bottom, the menu bar at the top with the time, battery level (for laptops), volume and others Info.

A system adapted for Linux users

Elementary OS is basically a system for anyone looking for a computer that is easy to use. As noted above, the elementary operating system has been optimized for users. So if you don't want to mess around with the terminal and use command lines, you should feel at home here. When looking for new programs, there are no detours - just open the AppCenter (as an alternative to the App Store or Microsoft Store) and look for software that helps with use, enables and facilitates tasks or brings other advantages. Elementary OS is also interesting for gaming. 

elementary OS system requirements for Mac and PC

If you are looking for a Linux alternative for Mac and PC to get old devices working again, then this system is not really for you. Instead, take a look at this post: Xtra-PC - Education about the "PC miracle" and instructions for doing it yourself. The elementary OS is graphically well thought out, offers picture-in-picture for HD videos, enables gaming and is otherwise quite modern; and that is exactly what requires a few resources. The system requirements for elementary OS 6 Odin are currently these:

  • Current Intel i3 or comparable 64-bit dual-core processor
  • At least 4 GB of working memory (RAM)
  • Solid State Drive (SSD) with at least 15 GB of free space
  • Internet access
  • Built-in or wired mouse / touchpad and keyboard
  • 1024 × 768 Minimum screen resolution
  • USB stick with at least 4 GB for the installation (as a boot stick)

The source for this information as well as information and assistance for installation, use in a virtual machine (VM) and more can be found with this link.

elementary OS download and price

You will already find the note “Pay what you can” on the start page of elementary.io. This note is supplemented by the options $ 10, $ 20, $ 30 and Your own amount. If you only want to pay after the system has been tested, or if you cannot afford it at the moment, enter a zero (0) in the "Your own amount" field and then click on "Download elementary OS". If you choose an amount above $ 0, you will be offered payment by credit card. 

The elementary OS download is offered directly on the elementary.io home page. The price and its payment are optional. You can download, install and use elementary OS for free.

The elementary OS download is offered directly on the elementary.io home page. The price and its payment are optional. You can download, install and use elementary OS for free.

After the download, an installation medium (boot stick) must be prepared from which a demo can be used or the complete system can be installed on a computer. This is shown on the support page linked above, among other things by a Tutorial video. It mentions Etcher as an app for creating the boot stick. We have etcher before at this point recommended - there you will also find the link to download the program.

 


1,01 EUR
Eastbull USB 2.0 stick with swivel joint, 2 pieces, flash drive, memory stick (different ...
  • High speed USB 2.0 memory sticks
  • No need to install software, just plug in and use.
  • The red light flashes when data is being transferred. You can easily know if the drive is working.
Kingston DataTraveler SE9 -DTSE9H / 16GB USB sticks, 16GB, silver
  • Practical - small, without a cap, in pocket size
  • Robust - metal housing with a robust ring
  • Large ring for easy attachment
ARCANITE 128 GB USB 3.1 SuperSpeed ​​USB stick, read speed of up to 400 MB / s
  • Super fast USB 3.1 GEN 1 Type A connector (backwards compatible with USB 3.0, 2.0 & 1.1)
  • Made in Taiwan. dustproof, shockproof, and climate resistant. Size: 56, 7 × 18 × 9 mm
  • Read speed up to 400 MB / s. Write speed up to 100 MB / s. Actual transfer speed is ...
-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

1 comment

  1. frater mosses von lobdenberg says:

    Nice indeed - if you have an old Mac running Linux. The 2008 iMac 2m to my right isn't one of them.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

elementary OS – Schöne Alternative zu Windows und macOS

Wer den (alten) Windows-PC oder einen Apple Mac mit einer auf die Nutzer/innen ausgelegten Linux-Distribution versehen will, sollte sich mal elementary OS anschauen. Wie das ebenfalls ansehnliche Linux Mint fußt dieses Betriebssystem auf Ubuntu. Optisch erinnert es an macOS oder Windows 11 und soll sich besonders leicht bedienen lassen. Anders als andere Linux-Abwandlungen ist es auf die Endverbraucher/innen ausgelegt, weniger auf Entwickler/innen. Diese können aber leicht Apps und Tools für elementary OS bereitstellen, alles ist Open Source. Download, Installation und Nutzung sind zudem kostenlos; eine Spende lässt sich abgeben.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s zur Webseite des Systems

Hier findet ihr Infos zu elementary OS im Allgemeinen sowie elementary OS 6 Odin Systemvoraussetzungen, Details zu Download und Installation, Angaben zur Nutzung, etc.

Hier findet ihr Infos zu elementary OS im Allgemeinen sowie elementary OS 6 Odin Systemvoraussetzungen, Details zu Download und Installation, Angaben zur Nutzung, etc.

elementary OS 6 Odin – System für Arbeit, Multimedia und Spiele

Aktuell findet ihr auf der oben verlinkten Seite elementary OS 6 Odin als neueste Version des Systems (Stand: 6. September 2021). Das alternative Betriebssystem für den PC oder Apple Mac bringt dabei Multi-Touch-Funktionen, einen Darkmode, Sandboxing für Apps und weitere tolle Features mit. Für die alltägliche Nutzung stehen verschiedene Programme bereit: Web als Internetbrowser, Mail als E-Mail-Client, Musik als Audio-App, Fotos und Videos als Anzeige- und Player-Programm für weitere Medien, ein Kalender, eine Kamera-App und mehr. Natürlich ist mit Dateien auch ein Ersatz für den Finder / Explorer dabei. Terminal und Code helfen bei der professionelleren Nutzung.

Videos nebenher: Picture-in-Picture-Funktion als USP

In elementary OS ist die Videowiedergabe als Picture-in-Picture ein ins System integriertes Feature. Ihr könnt damit einen kleinen Video-Player im Vordergrund halten und somit neben der Arbeit, während des Schreibens an einer Arbeit, beim E-Mails checken sowie beim Surfen im Internet den Film, die Serie oder die Doku weiterschauen. Neben dieser Funktion für Multimedia-Freund/innen wirkt das System auch sonst recht aufgeräumt, vor allem durch das an macOS erinnernde Design – unten gibt es ein Dock mit wichtigen Apps, oben die Menüleiste mit Uhrzeit, Akkustand (bei Laptops), Lautstärke und anderen Infos.

Ein für Linux-Anwender/innen angepasstes System

Damit ist elementary OS im Grunde ein System für alle, die einen einfach zu benutzenden Computer suchen. Optimiert ist das elementary-Betriebssystem dabei – wie oben schon einmal angemerkt – für Anwenderinnen und Anwender. Wer sich also nicht mit dem Terminal herumschlagen und Befehlszeilen nutzen will, sollte sich hier wohl fühlen. Auf der Suche nach neuen Programmen müssen dabei auch keine Umwege gegangen werden – einfach das AppCenter (als Alternative für den App Store oder Microsoft Store) öffnen und nach Software suchen, die bei der Nutzung hilft, Aufgaben ermöglicht und erleichtert oder andere Vorteile bringt. Dabei ist elementary OS auch für Gaming interessant. 

elementary OS Systemvoraussetzungen an Mac und PC

Wenn ihr eine Linux-Alternative für Mac und PC sucht, um alte Geräte wieder flott zu machen, dann ist dieses System nicht wirklich was für euch. Schaut dafür lieber in diesen Beitrag: Xtra-PC – Aufklärung zum „PC-Wunder“ und Anleitung zum selber machen. Das elementary OS ist grafisch durchdacht, bietet Picture-inPicture für HD-Videos, ermöglicht Gaming und ist auch sonst recht modern; und genau das fordert ein paar Ressourcen. Die Systemvoraussetzungen für elementary OS 6 Odin sind aktuell diese:

  • Aktueller Intel i3 oder vergleichbarer 64-Bit Dual-Core Prozessor
  • Mindestens 4 GB Arbeitsspeicher (RAM)
  • Solid State Drive (SSD) mit mindestens 15 GB freiem Speicherplatz
  • Internetzugriff
  • Eingebaute oder kabelgebundene Maus / Touchpad und Tastatur
  • 1024×768 Minimale Bildschirmauflösung
  • USB-Stick mit mindestens 4 GB für die Installation (als Boot-Stick)

Die Quelle für diese Angaben sowie Hinweise und Hilfestellungen für die Installation, die Verwendung in einer virtuellen Maschine (VM) und mehr findet ihr mit diesem Link.

elementary OS Download und Preis

Bereits auf der Startseite von elementary.io findet ihr den Hinweis „Zahlen Sie, was Sie können“. Ergänzt wird dieser Hinweis von den Auswahlmöglichkeiten $10, $20, $30 und Eigener Betrag. Wollt ihr erst nach einem Test des Systems bezahlen oder könnt derzeit nichts dafür aufbringen, dann gebt in das „Eigener Betrag“-Feld eine Null (0) ein und klickt dann auf „elementary OS herunterladen“. Wählt ihr einen Betrag über $0 aus, wird euch die Zahlung per Kreditkarte angeboten. 

Der elementary OS Download wird direkt auf der Startseite von elementary.io angeboten. Der Preis und seine Bezahlung sind optional. Ihr könnt elementary OS kostenlos herunterladen, installieren und nutzen.

Der elementary OS Download wird direkt auf der Startseite von elementary.io angeboten. Der Preis und seine Bezahlung sind optional. Ihr könnt elementary OS kostenlos herunterladen, installieren und nutzen.

Nach dem Download muss ein Installationsmedium (Boot-Stick) angefertigt werden, von dem aus eine Demo genutzt bzw. das vollständige System auf einen Computer installiert werden kann. Gezeigt wird das auf der oben verlinkten Support-Seite u. a. durch ein Tutorial-Video. Darin wird Etcher als App zur Erstellung des Boot-Sticks erwähnt. Etcher haben wir schon einmal an dieser Stelle empfohlen – dort findet ihr auch den Link zum Download des Programms.

 


Eastbull USB-2.0-Stick mit Drehgelenk, 2 Stück, Flashlaufwerk, Speicherstick (unterschiedliche...
  • High Speed USB 2.0 Speichersticks
  • Keine Notwendigkeit, Software zu installieren, einfach einstecken und verwenden.
  • Das rote Licht blinkt bei Datenübertragung. Sie können leicht wissen, ob das Laufwerk funktioniert.
Kingston DataTraveler SE9 -DTSE9H/16GB USB-Sticks, 16GB, silber
  • Praktisch — klein, ohne Verschlusskappe, in Taschengröße
  • Robust — Metallgehäuse mit robustem Ring
  • Großer Ring zur einfachen Befestigung
ARCANITE 128 GB USB 3.1 SuperSpeed USB-Stick, Lesegeschwindigkeit von bis zu 400 MB/s
  • Superschneller USB 3.1 GEN 1 Verbinder Typ A (abwärtskompatibel mit USB 3.0, 2.0 & 1.1)
  • In Taiwan hergestellt. staubdicht, stoßfest, und klimabeständig. Größe: 56, 7 × 18 × 9 mm
  • Lesegeschwindigkeit bis zu 400 MB/s. Schreibgeschwindigkeit bis zu 100 MB/s. Tatsächliche Transfergeschwindigkeit ist...

 

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

1 Kommentar

  1. frater mosses von lobdenberg sagt:

    In der Tat schön – wenn man nen alten Mac hat, auf dem Linux läuft. Der 2008er iMac 2m rechts von mir ist keiner davon.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.