Elgato Cam Link: USB 3.0 stick for streaming HDMI sources

elgato-cam-link-post-image

The new Elgato Cam Link is a USB stick with 3.0 technology to which you can connect the video camera, a console like the Nintendo Switch, the Xbox One, the PlayStation 4 or simply the DVD player via HDMI. The Elgato Cam Link is compatible with Apple macOS 10.12 Sierra and certainly also with version 10.13 High Sierra. You can also use it under Windows 10. The connected HDMI sources are recognized as a webcam, which makes streaming on YouTube, Twitch via Skype, Tiny Chat and Co. a lot easier.

With the Elgato Cam Link you can stream your camera, console or action cam directly to your PC or Mac. Devices are recognized as a webcam with this HDMI to USB adapter.

With the Elgato Cam Link you can stream your camera, console or action cam directly to your PC or Mac. Devices are recognized as a webcam with this HDMI to USB adapter.

Elgato Cam Link: in use from August 2017

You can order the Elgato Cam Link USB stick for streaming and recording camera recordings, console games, tutorials, Let's Plays and so on since the end of July 2017. According to the Amazon product page, the Elgato Cam Link will not be officially released until August 18, 2017. From then on you can connect your DSLR, camcorder, action cam from GoPro to Kodak to AUKEY or the game console directly via USB 3.0 with the Apple Mac or PC.

Live streaming stick for HDMI sources
The Elgato Cam Link USB 3.0 stick is ideal for streaming video content in a quality of up to 1080p Full HD at 60 fps or 60 Hz. Feeding in is child's play because the stick is recognized as a webcam. Stream and hard drive recording directly from your camera, camcorder, console and more. Ideal for YouTube Let's Players, Twitch streamers and those who want to use Skype in Full HD.

system requirements

If you want to broadcast holiday videos, create gaming videos or stream a live stream with the new Elgato product, you can do this on your Windows PC as well as on your Apple Mac. However, you need a bit of power to process and use the fed-in multimedia data. Elgato has issued the following system requirements for the new product:

Apple Mac, iMac, MacBook Windows PC, laptop
Operating system MacOS Sierra 10.12 Windows 10
Processor (CPU) Intel Core i5 (4th generation, quad-core) like i3-4xxx or comparable model Intel Core i5 (4th generation, quad-core) like i3-4xxx or comparable model
Connection USB 3.0 or 3.1 USB 3.0 or 3.1

Specifications

The manufacturer does not provide very precise information for the professional video tool. However, important technical data for the average consumer are the supported resolution of a maximum of 1080p60 and the fact that the incoming HDMI signal must be unencrypted. I also find it interesting that a 3.x connection is explicitly required. With a 2.x connection, the device may not work. And then don't say I didn't warn you;)

What's in the box

The scope of delivery of the Cam to Video Device is simple but sufficient. So if you run a YouTube channel and want to refinance the device with an unboxing video, then you don't have much work to do with it ... There is one in the box Elgato Cam Link self; there is also a USB 3.0 extension cablewhich is very practical because the stick does not have to be clamped directly to the computer; and last but not least one Quick Start Guide, so a quick guide.

Software can be chosen freely

Lately I already gave you an extensive article on the stream device Elgato Game Capture HD60 S delivered. In this post I also showed you which software Elgato provides for the use of this and other products for the live transmission of video content. Since the new article is recognized directly as a webcam, you can basically use any app that is compatible with the webcam for processing.

Elgato's new product can be particularly worthwhile as Let's Play equipment and equipment for YouTubers or Twitch personalities.

Elgato's new product can be particularly worthwhile as Let's Play equipment and equipment for YouTubers or Twitch personalities.

It is also possible to use an external camera as a facecam during a Let's Play and to integrate it directly. Depending on the app, you can render the green screen in real time and thus upgrade the video again. Live shows with television quality are also possible by spicing up your transmission with overlays, effects, the use of green screens or other things. Whatever you think of, with the new part of Elgato you can turn numerous video sources into webcams.

Areas of application for the end user

But not only people who earn something from tutorials, vlogs, shows and gaming on YouTube or gameplay on Twitch can benefit from this new Elgato product benefit. Even if you want to transfer the contents of a DSLR, digital camera, old recordings from VHS or DVD and other multimedia treasures such as holiday recordings directly to your computer's hard drive via HDMI, the purchase can be worthwhile.

If you often make video recordings and don't want to swap the SD card back and forth, or if you want to review old recordings burned on DVD with an app on your computer, your workflow will certainly be noticeably improved with the Elgato part. What do you think of the new article? Have you already pre-ordered and are you looking forward to it or are you cold? Feel free to leave a comment! Even if you are a pro user and can recommend other equipment!

Manufacturer site

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Elgato Cam Link: USB 3.0 Stick für Streaming von HDMI-Quellen

Der neue Elgato Cam Link ist ein USB-Stick mit 3.0 Technologie, an den ihr per HDMI die Videokamera, eine Konsole wie die Nintendo Switch, die Xbox One, die PlayStation 4 oder ganz einfach den DVD-Player anschließen könnt. Kompatibel ist der Elgato Cam Link mit Apple macOS 10.12 Sierra und sicherlich auch mit der Version 10.13 High Sierra. Zudem könnt ihr ihn unter Windows 10 nutzen. Die angeschlossenen HDMI-Quellen werden als Webcam erkannt, was das Streaming auf YouTube, Twitch über Skype, Tiny Chat und Co. um einiges einfacher macht.

Mit dem Elgato Cam Link könnt ihr eure Kamera, Konsole oder Action Cam direkt auf dem PC oder Mac streamen. Geräte werden mit diesem HDMI auf USB Adapter als Webcam erkannt.

Mit dem Elgato Cam Link könnt ihr eure Kamera, Konsole oder Action Cam direkt auf dem PC oder Mac streamen. Geräte werden mit diesem HDMI auf USB Adapter als Webcam erkannt.

Elgato Cam Link: ab August 2017 im Einsatz

Bestellen könnt ihr den Elgato Cam Link USB-Stick fürs Streamen und Aufnehmen von Kameraaufnahmen, Konsolenspielen, Tutorials, Let’s Plays und so weiter seit Ende Juli 2017. Laut der Amazon-Produktseite erscheint der Elgato Cam Link allerdings erst offiziell am 18. August 2017. Ab dann könnt ihr eure DSLR, den Camcorder, die Actioncam von GoPro über Kodak hin zu AUKEY oder die Spielekonsole direkt per USB 3.0 mit dem Apple Mac oder PC verbinden.

Live-Streaming Stick für HDMI-Quellen
Der Elgato Cam Link USB 3.0 Stick ist ideal fürs Streamen von Videoinhalten in einer Qualität von bis zu 1080p Full HD mit 60 fps bzw. 60 Hz. Die Einspeisung funktioniert kinderleicht, da der Stick als Webcam erkannt wird. Streaming und Festplatten-Aufnahme direkt von der Kamera, dem Camcorder, der Konsole und mehr. Ideal für YouTube Let’s Player, Twitch-Streamer und jene, die Skype in Full HD nutzen wollen.

Systemanforderungen

Wenn ihr mit dem neuen Produkt von Elgato Urlaubsvideos übertragen, Gaming Videos erstellen oder einen Livestream realisieren wollt, dann könnt ihr das am Windows PC sowie auch am Apple Mac tun. Jedoch braucht ihr für die Verarbeitung und Nutzung der eingespeisten Multimedia-Daten schon ein bisschen Leistung. Elgato hat für das neue Produkt folgende Systemanforderungen herausgegeben:

Mehr für dich:
AUKEY USB und SD Hub für Thunderbolt Port des MacBook Pro 2016
Apple Mac, iMac, MacBookWindows PC, Laptop
BetriebssystemmacOS Sierra 10.12Windows 10
Prozessor (CPU)Intel Core i5 (4. Generation, Quad-Core) wie i3-4xxx oder vergleichbares ModellIntel Core i5 (4. Generation, Quad-Core) wie i3-4xxx oder vergleichbares Modell
AnschlussUSB 3.0 oder 3.1USB 3.0 oder 3.1

Technische Daten

Ganz genaue Angaben für das Profi Video-Tool gibt der Hersteller nicht heraus. Für den Otto-Normal-Verbraucher wichtige technische Daten sind allerdings die unterstützte Auflösung von maximal 1080p60 und die Tatsache, dass das eingehende HDMI-Signal unverschlüsselt sein muss. Interessant finde ich zudem, dass explizit, ein 3.x Anschluss verlangt wird. Mit einem 2.x Anschluss kann es also sein, dass das Gerät nicht funktioniert. Und sagt dann nicht, ich hätte euch nicht gewarnt 😉

Lieferumfang

Der Lieferumfang des Cam to Video Devices ist einfach, aber ausreichend gehalten. Falls ihr also einen YouTube-Kanal betreibt und das Gerät durch ein Unboxing-Video refinanzieren wollt, dann habt ihr nicht viel Arbeit damit… In der Box ist einmal der Elgato Cam Link selbst; dazu gibt es ein USB 3.0 Verlängerungskabel, was ganz praktisch ist, da der Stick dann nicht direkt am Rechner klemmen muss; und zu guter Letzt ein Quick Start Guide, also eine Kurzanleitung.

Software kann frei gewählt werden

Letztens habe ich euch ja schon einen umfangreichen Artikel zum Stream-Gerät Elgato Game Capture HD60 S geliefert. In diesem Beitrag habe ich euch auch aufgezeigt, welche Software Elgato für die Nutzung dieses und weiterer Produkte für die Live-Übertragung von Video-Inhalten liefert. Da der neue Artikel aber direkt als Webcam erkannt wird, könnt ihr im Grunde jede beliebige mit der Webcam kompatible App zur Verarbeitung nutzen.

Vor allem als Let's Play Ausrüstung und Equipment für YouTuber oder Twitch-Persönlichkeiten kann sich das neue Produkt von Elgato lohnen.

Vor allem als Let’s Play Ausrüstung und Equipment für YouTuber oder Twitch-Persönlichkeiten kann sich das neue Produkt von Elgato lohnen.

So ist es auch möglich, eine externe Kamera als Facecam bei einem Let’s Play zu nutzen und direkt einzubinden. Je nach App rendert ihr dabei in Echtzeit den Green Screen heraus und wertet damit das Video abermals auf. Auch Live Shows mit Fernsehqualität sind dabei möglich, indem ihr eure Übertragung mit Einblendungen, Effekten, dem Green Screen Einsatz oder anderen Sachen aufpeppen könnt. Was auch immer ihr euch ausdenkt, mit dem neuen Teil von Elgato könnt ihr zahlreiche Videoquellen in Webcams verwandeln.

Mehr für dich:
The Walking Dead DVD Box Staffel 1 - 6 – jetzt vorbestellbar!

Einsatzbereiche für den Endverbraucher

Aber nicht nur Leute, die sich vermittels Tutorials, Vlogs, Shows und Gaming auf YouTube oder Gameplay auf Twitch etwas dazuverdienen, können von dem neuen Elgato-Produkt profitieren. Auch wenn ihr Inhalte einer DSLR, Digitalkamera, alte Aufnahmen von VHS oder DVD und andere multimedialen Schätze wie Urlaubsaufnahmen direkt per HDMI auf die Festplatte eures Computers übertragen wollt, kann sich der Kauf lohnen.

Wer öfter Videoaufnahmen macht und nicht die SD-Karte hin- und her-tauschen will bzw. wer sich auf DVD gebrannte Altaufnahmen noch einmal mit einer App auf dem Rechner vornehmen will, dessen Workflow wird mit dem Elgato-Teil sicherlich merklich verbessert. Was haltet ihr von dem neuen Artikel? Habt ihr schon vorbestellt und freut euch drauf oder lässt es euch kalt? Lasst gern einen Kommentar da! Auch wenn ihr Pro-Nutzer seid und anderes Equipment empfehlen könnt!

Herstellerseite

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
4.85

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.