Firefox Test Pilot: Hacks and Experiments for the Browser

Mozilla has to the web browser Firefox an experimental program called Test Pilot added, which allows you to perform various tasks otherwise realized with third-party add-ons. For example, you can take notes directly in the Firefox browser, encrypt files, upload them and send the download link, send tabs to snooze mode, create containers (groups) for certain thematically related pages and play videos in the foreground, even if you switch from YouTube or Vimeo to other tabs.

You will be welcomed on the Firefox Test Pilot website in a nice presentation. The add-on for the Mozilla browser provides interesting surfing experiments.

You will be welcomed on the Firefox Test Pilot website in a nice presentation. The add-on for the Mozilla browser provides interesting surfing experiments.

Firefox Test Pilot: Add-on for various purposes

On the start page of the program, the intention behind the new add-on for the Mozilla browser Firefox is already clear. The software company behind the surf app would like help from users. Who the add-on Test Pilot installed, which can test so-called experiments, give his or her opinion and help with the development of Firefox.

If you have equipped your Firefox with the add-on, then you have the opportunity to test various new experiments. Personally, I find it particularly interesting Min Vid. It shows YouTube or Vimeo videos in a small window in the foreground while visiting other pages in other tabs.

Videos from Sir Apfelot: SecaCam HomeVista test report

Current experiments for test pilot

There are currently six helpers available to try out and give feedback for. You can select and use them, for example, on the page testpilot.firefox.com/experiments. Or you can click on the new icon next to the browser menu after installing Test Pilot. This will also take you to the page. On this you will also find the field at the top Settings and in it the items “Test Pilot Wiki”, “Discuss Test Pilot”, “Report a Problem” and “Uninstall Test Pilot”.

At the top next to the menu you will find the symbol with which you can become a test pilot;)

Before uninstalling it is of course worthwhile to test the individual experiments for the Firefox web browser. These are the six that you can currently choose:

  • Notes: Notepad for taking notes directly in the browser
  • Send: Encrypt files, temporarily upload them and send download links
  • Snooze Tab: Let tabs snooze and set alarms to use later
  • Cliqz: Suggestions when typing URLs or search terms into the address bar
  • Containers: create groups for websites in the areas of "work", "private", "social", etc.
  • Min Vid: Videos are displayed in a small frame in the foreground

Past experiments of the program

So far, seven experiments have been tested and information and feedback have been collected on each. If you go to the page linked above or click on it via your own add-on, then you can see the past experiments of Firefox Test Pilot see. These are currently the following:

  • Pulse: Providing feedback on pages that work well and not so well in Firefox
  • Page Shot: Create, save and share screenshots directly in the browser
  • Tracking Protection: Protection against activity tracking and the ability to report problems
  • Activity Stream: New start page and graphical overview of the process
  • No More 404s: Display of the option to call up old, archived pages of the Way Back Machine
  • Tab Center: Tabs are no longer displayed at the top, but on the side
  • Universal Search: Recommendations for websites, similar to Cliqz

Your opinion on the community test

What do you think about Firefox Test Pilot? An exciting thing for users who like to try out new things and give feedback - or is it just a simple type of market research that Mozilla has built in? Feel free to leave your opinion and experience with Test Pilot as a comment!

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Firefox Test Pilot: Hacks und Experimente für den Browser

Mozilla hat zum Webbrowser Firefox ein experimentelles Programm namens Test Pilot hinzugefügt, das es euch ermöglicht, verschiedene sonst mit Drittanbieter-Add-Ons realisierte Aufgaben zu erfüllen. Zum Beispiel könnt ihr direkt im Firefox-Browser Notizen anfertigen, Dateien verschlüsseln, hochladen und den Download-Link verschicken, Tabs in den Schlummer-Modus schicken, Container (Gruppen) für bestimmte thematisch zusammengehörige Seiten anlegen sowie Videos im Vordergrund abspielen lassen, auch wenn ihr von YouTube oder Vimeo in andere Tabs wechselt.

In schöner Aufmachung wird man auf der Seite von Firefox Test Pilot empfangen. Das Add-On für den Mozilla-Browser sorgt für interessante Experimente beim Surfen.

In schöner Aufmachung wird man auf der Seite von Firefox Test Pilot empfangen. Das Add-On für den Mozilla-Browser sorgt für interessante Experimente beim Surfen.

Firefox Test Pilot: Add-On für verschiedene Zwecke

Auf der Startseite des Programms wird bereits die Intension hinter dem neuen Add-On für den Mozilla-Browser Firefox deutlich. Die Software-Schmiede hinter der Surf-App möchte Hilfe von den Nutzern haben. Wer das Add-On Test Pilot installiert, der kann sogenannte Experimente testen, seine Meinung sagen und bei der Entwicklung von Firefox helfen.

Habt ihr euren Firefox mit dem Zusatz ausgestattet, dann habt ihr die Möglichkeit, verschiedene neue Experimente zu testen. Ganz besonders interessant finde ich persönlich Min Vid. Es zeigt YouTube- oder Vimeo-Videos in einem kleinen Fenster im Vordergrund an, während man in anderen Tabs andere Seiten besucht.

Videos von Sir Apfelot: SecaCam HomeVista Testbericht

Aktuelle Experimente für Test Pilot

Aktuell stehen euch sechs Helfer zur Verfügung, die ihr ausprobieren und für die ihr Feedback abgeben könnt. Auswählen und verwenden könnt ihr sie zum Beispiel über die Seite testpilot.firefox.com/experiments. Oder ihr klickt nach der Installation von Test Pilot auf das neue Symbol neben dem Menü des Browsers. Damit gelangt ihr ebenfalls auf die Seite. Auf dieser findet ihr ganz oben auch noch das Feld Einstellungen und darin die Punkte „Test-Pilot-Wiki“, „Über Test Pilot diskutieren“, „Ein Problem melden“ und „Test Pilot deinstallieren“.

Oben neben dem Menü findet ihr das Symbol, mit dem ihr zum Testpilot werdet 😉

Vor dem Deinstallieren lohnt es sich aber natürlich, die einzelnen Experimente für den Firefox-Webbrowser zu testen. Das sind die sechs, die ihr aktuell auswählen könnt:

  • Notes: Notizblock für Notizen direkt im Browser
  • Send: Dateien verschlüsseln, temporär hochladen und Download-Link versenden
  • Snooze Tab: Tabs schlummern lassen und Wecker stellen, um sie später zu verwenden
  • Cliqz: Vorschläge beim Eintippen von URLs oder Suchbegriffen in die Adressleiste
  • Containers: Gruppen erstellen für Webseiten der Bereiche „Arbeit“, „Privat“, „Soziales“, etc.
  • Min Vid: Videos werden in einem kleinen Rahmen im Vordergrund angezeigt
Mehr für dich:
Anleitung: Gesperrte YouTube Videos sehen - ProxTube ist dein Freund

Vergangene Experimente des Programms

Bisher wurden schon sieben Experimente getestet und es wurden zu jedem Informationen sowie Feedback gesammelt. Wenn ihr auf die oben verlinkte Seite geht oder euch über euer eigenes Add-On dahin klickt, dann könnt ihr die vergangenen Experimente von Firefox Test Pilot einsehen. Diese sind aktuell folgende:

  • Pulse: Feedback zu Seiten geben, die in Firefox gut und nicht so gut funktionieren
  • Page Shot: Screenshots direkt im Browser erstellen, speichern und teilen
  • Tracking Protection: Schutz vor Aktivitätenverfolgung sowie Meldemöglichkeit für Probleme
  • Activity Stream: Neue Startseite und grafische Übersicht des Verlaufs
  • No More 404s: Anzeige der Aufrufmöglichkeit von alten, archivierten Seiten der Way Back Machine
  • Tab Center: Tabs werden nicht mehr oben, sondern an der Seite angezeigt
  • Universal Search: Empfehlungen für Webseiten, ähnlich wie Cliqz

Eure Meinung zum Community-Test

Was haltet ihr von Firefox Test Pilot? Eine spannende Sache für Nutzer, die gern Neues ausprobieren und Feedback geben wollen – oder doch nur eine einfache Art von Marktforschung, die Mozilla da eingebaut hat? Lasst gern eure Meinung und Erfahrung mit Test Pilot als Kommentar da!

Vielleicht auch interessant?

Mehr für dich:
MAC DVD Ripper von Leawo – mein Test

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
52

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.