Flexound HUMU - speaker cushion (with test summary)

The Flexound HUMU is an "Augmented Audio Cushion", ie a loudspeaker cushion that is supposed to create an immersive audio experience. The speaker cushion should be less suitable for music and more for films, series and video games. In a flex and HUMU test by 9to5Mac the gadget did pretty well for leisurely media enjoyment. Therefore, I would like to briefly introduce it to you here, briefly summarize the test report and include customer reviews from the Amazon site. 

The Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion is a speaker cushion for films, series and games. Here I have put together test experiences and customer reviews.

The Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion is a speaker cushion for films, series and games. Here I have put together test experiences and customer reviews.

What is Flex and HUMU?

The Flexound HUMU pillow was designed as high-fi equipment that provides the user with a unique sound through sound and vibration. It should be ideal for games, series and films as well as for use without disturbing the other people in the room (see reviews below). Thanks to the patented Flexound® Xperience technology, the high-fi experience should only be transferred to those who have placed their heads and therefore their ears on the pillow. Everyone else can devote themselves to other things or sleep without being disturbed - as shown in the following trailer of the crowdfunding campaign for the product:

Technical data: Flexound HUMU data sheet

  • Manufacturer: Flexound
  • Product: HUMU
  • Dimensions (H x W x D): 14,5 cm x 48 cm x 27 cm
  • Outer material: Soft microfiber made of 50% polyurethane and 50% nylon 
  • Weight: 1,5 kg
  • Audio frequencies for sound and vibration: 20 Hz to 20 kHz
  • Runtime: 8 hours
  • Charging time: 3 hours
  • Battery: Lithium polymer with 3,7 V and 5,5 W.
  • Charging via: micro USB cable (included)
  • Wireless connectivity: Bluetooth 4.2 with A2DP and a range of up to 10 m
  • Cable connection: 3,5 mm jack
  • Certification: CCC, CE, FCC
  • Scope of delivery: HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion, micro-USB charging cable and operating instructions
  • Source
If you lie comfortably on the speaker cushion, then the sound and vibration should have a really immersive effect. You can find impressions of a HUMU review below.

If you lie comfortably on the speaker cushion, then the sound and vibration should have a really immersive effect. You can find impressions of a HUMU review below.

Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion - Test experiences by Ben Lovejoy

As already mentioned at the beginning, there are already some professional Flex and HUMU test reports. One of these tests (see link in the introduction) shows that the pillow is very comfortable. In addition, it should be in the higher average of comparable music headphones, but score significantly better, especially with multimedia experiences such as film, series and video game experiences. Compared to headphones and professional loudspeaker systems for entire rooms, B&W, Sonos and the Apple HomePod - i.e. high-end products - are named as better alternatives.

Used for the main purpose, i.e. the multimedia sound experience, the real strengths should show themselves, which come closer to a cinema experience than to a television. Even if - or maybe especially BECAUSE - the enjoyment of audio quality is limited to one person, it is so immersive. Action scenes, people running, helicopter rotors and explosions are listed as vivid examples of wonderful sound experiences. This suggests that more sociable and gentler, but impressive audio scenarios from film and television also come across well.

According to test and review author Ben Lovejoy, the real market is gaming. While playing a car racing game on his iPad, he felt like he was right in the scenery displayed. For the Flexound HUMU test, he also downloaded other action games and can certify an improvement in the user experience for these too when the loudspeaker cushion is used. If you like to lounge on the couch and play on the PlayStation, Xbox or Nintendo Switch, the Flex and HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion could certainly be something for you.

Gaming on the go: Probably the best Nintendo Switch bag

Flexound HUMU - Amazon customer reviews

The Flexound HUMU has been around for some time to buy from Amazon. You can currently find 9 customer reviews on the product page, most of which show 5 stars and 4 stars. Some also have 3 stars, there are none with 2 or one star. Information as of August 8, 2018. The following points can be identified from the individual reviews of Amazon customers:

  • The sound should be very clear, at higher volume the vibration is noticeably used as bass support
  • Other people in the room are only not disturbed when the volume is low to medium; Loud music, films or games can be heard by them
  • The stereo channels (left and right) seem to be "swapped" - or the customers are using the speaker cushion the wrong way round
  • It is conditionally good to well suited for music - but that is communicated in advance
  • Optimal sound is obtained when the patient is lying down “correctly” - so the best lying position has to be tried out at the beginning

A matching quote from the product page:

To enjoy the gentle vibrations of the sound waves and the soundscape that are best generated by Flexound HUMU, place HUMU behind your neck and shoulders, lean back on a comfortable sofa or bed, select the content and relax.

Loudspeaker cushions for multimedia experiences
The Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion is a cushion and audio device in one. It reproduces sounds and vibrations in a frequency spectrum from 20 Hz to 20.000 Hz and can be played via Bluetooth or jack cable. Recommended for Spotify, Netflix, YouTube, VR, games, audiobooks, sports broadcasts, and more.
-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Flexound HUMU – Lautsprecher-Kissen (mit Test-Zusammenfassung)

Das Flexound HUMU ist ein „Augmented Audio Cushion“, also ein Lautsprecher-Kissen, das ein immersives Audio-Erlebnis erzeugen soll. Weniger für Musik, dafür mehr für Filme, Serien und Videospiele soll das Speaker-Kissen geeignet sein. In einem Flexound HUMU Test von 9to5Mac hat das Gadget für den gemütlichen Mediengenuss ziemlich gut abgeschnitten. Deshalb möchte ich es euch hier kurz vorstellen, des Testbericht kurz zusammenfassen und Kundenrezensionen von der Amazon-Seite mit einbinden. 

Das Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion ist ein Lautsprecher-Kissen für Filme, Serien und Games. Hier habe ich Test-Erfahrungen und Kundenrezensionen zusammengetragen.

Das Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion ist ein Lautsprecher-Kissen für Filme, Serien und Games. Hier habe ich Test-Erfahrungen und Kundenrezensionen zusammengetragen.

Was ist Flexound HUMU?

Das Flexound HUMU Kissen wurde als High-Fi-Equipment designt, das dem Nutzer über Klang und Vibration einzigartigen Sound liefert. Für Spiele, Serien und Filme sowie für die Nutzung ohne die anderen Leute im Raum zu stören soll es ideal sein (s. Rezensionen unten). Das High-Fi-Erlebnis soll sich durch die patentierte Flexound® Xperience Technologie nur auf jene übertragen, die ihren Kopf und damit ihre Ohren auf dem Kissen gelagert haben. Alle anderen können sich auditiv ungestört anderen Sachen widmen oder schlafen – wie im folgenden Trailer der Crowdfunding-Kampagne zum Produkt gezeigt:

Technische Daten: Flexound HUMU Datenblatt

  • Hersteller: Flexound
  • Produkt: HUMU
  • Maße (H x B x T): 14,5 cm x 48 cm x 27 cm
  • Außenmaterial: Weiches Mikrofaser aus 50% Polyurethan und 50% Nylon 
  • Gewicht: 1,5 kg
  • Audio-Frequenzen für Sound und Vibration: 20 Hz bis 20 kHz
  • Laufzeit: 8 Stunden
  • Ladezeit: 3 Stunden
  • Akku: Lithium Polymer mit 3,7 V und 5,5 W
  • Aufladen über: Mikro-USB-Kabel (im Lieferumfang)
  • Funk-Konnektivität: Bluetooth 4.2 mit A2DP und Reichweite bis 10 m
  • Kabel-Anschluss: 3,5 mm Klinke
  • Zertifizierung: CCC, CE, FCC
  • Lieferumfang: HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion, Micro-USBLadekabel und Bedienungsanleitung
  • Quelle
Liegt man bequem auf dem Speaker-Kissen, dann sollen Klang und Vibration richtig immersiv wirken. Eindrücke einer HUMU Review findet ihr im Folgenden.

Liegt man bequem auf dem Speaker-Kissen, dann sollen Klang und Vibration richtig immersiv wirken. Eindrücke einer HUMU Review findet ihr im Folgenden.

Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion – Test-Erfahrungen von Ben Lovejoy

Wie eingangs schon erwähnt, so gibt es bereits einige professionelle Flexound HUMU Testberichte. Aus einem dieser Tests (s. Link in der Einleitung) geht hervor, dass das Kissen sehr bequem ist. Außerdem soll es zwar im höheren Mittelmaß vergleichbarer Musik-Kopfhörer liegen, aber besonders bei multimedialen Erlebnissen wie Film-, Serie- und Videospiel-Erfahrungen wesentlich besser punkten. Im Vergleich zu Kopfhörern und professionellen Lautsprecher-Systemen für ganze Räume werden als bessere Alternativen B&W, Sonos und der Apple HomePod genannt – also High-End-Produkte.

Für den Hauptzweck verwendet, also das multimediale Klang-Erlebnis, sollen sich die wahren Stärken zeigen, die schon eher an eine Kino-Erfahrung heranreichen denn an einen Fernseher. Auch wenn – oder vielleicht gerade WEIL – der Genuss der Audio-Qualität auf eine Person begrenzt ist, zeigt dieser sich so immersiv. Action-Szenen, rennende Leute, Hubschrauber-Rotoren und Explosionen werden als anschauliche Beispiele für wunderbare Klangerlebnisse aufgeführt. Das lässt darauf schließen, dass auch umgänglichere und sanftere, aber eindrucksvolle Audioszenarien aus Film und Fernsehen gut rüberkommen.

Der wahre Markt ist laut Test- bzw. Review-Autor Ben Lovejoy das Gaming. Bei einem Autorennen-Spiel auf seinem iPad fühlte er sich direkt in die angezeigte Szenerie versetzt. Für den Flexound HUMU Test hat er sich auch noch andere Action-Spiele heruntergeladen und kann auch für diese eine Verbesserung der Nutzungserfahrung bescheinigen, wenn das Lautsprecher-Kissen zum Einsatz kommt. Wer gern auf der Couch lümmelt und an der PlayStation, Xbox oder Nintendo Switch spielt, für den könnte das Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion also sicher auch was sein.

Gaming unterwegs: Die wahrscheinlich beste Nintendo Switch Tasche

Flexound HUMU – Amazon Kundenrezensionen

Schon seit einiger Zeit gibt es das Flexound HUMU bei Amazon zu kaufen. Aktuell findet ihr auf der Produktseite 9 Kundenrezensionen, von denen die meisten 5 Sterne und 4 Sterne aufzeigen. Einige haben auch 3 Sterne, es gibt keine mit 2 oder einem Stern. Stand der Infos: 8. August 2018. Aus den einzelnen Bewertungen der Amazon-Kunden lassen sich folgende Punkte herauskristallisieren:

  • Der Sound soll sehr klar sein, bei höherer Lautstärke kommt die Vibration spürbar als Bass-Unterstützung zum Einsatz
  • Nur bei leiser bis mittlerer Lautstärke werden andere Leute im Raum nicht gestört; laute Musik, Filme oder Games können von ihnen gehört werden
  • DIe Stereo-Kanäle (links und rechts) scheinen „vertauscht“ zu sein – oder die Kunden nutzen das Lautsprecher-Kissen falsch herum
  • Für Musik ist es bedingt gut bis gut geeignet – aber das wird ja schon im Vorfeld kommuniziert
  • Optimaler Klang ergibt sich bei „richtigem“ Aufliegen – mit der besten Liegeposition muss also anfangs herumprobiert werden

Dazu ein passendes Zitat von der Produktseite:

Um in den Genuss der sanften Schwingungen der Schallwellen und der Klanglandschaft zu kommen, die durch Flexound HUMU auf beste Art erzeugt werden, platzieren Sie HUMU hinter Ihrem Nacken und Schultern, lehnen Sie sich auf einem bequemen Sofa oder Bett zurück, wählen Sie den Inhalt aus und entspannen Sie sich.

Lautsprecher-Kissen für Multimedia-Erlebnisse
9 Bewertungen
Lautsprecher-Kissen für Multimedia-Erlebnisse
Das Flexound HUMU Augmented Audio Cushion ist Kissen und Audiogerät in einem. Es gibt Klänge und Vibration in einem Frequenz-Spektrum von 20 Hz bis 20.000 Hz wieder und kann per Bluetooth oder Klinke-Kabel bespielt werden. Für Spotify, Netflix, YouTube, VR, Spiele, Hörbücher, Sportübertragungen und mehr empfohlen.

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
51

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.