YouTube Premium: Prices, benefits, termination - all in this post

YouTube Premium

YouTube is one of the most popular video platforms on the internet. Many people use YouTube to watch and share videos. YouTube also offers a paid membership called YouTube Premium. This is a monthly subscription that offers users a number of benefits.

Subscribing to YouTube Premium offers some benefits, but the best part is definitely not being bugged with ads all the time.

Subscribing to YouTube Premium offers some benefits, but the best part is definitely not being bugged with ads all the time.

What are the benefits of YouTube Premium?

Membership costs 11,99 euros per month and offers access to functions that are not freely available to everyone. Some of the benefits of YouTube Premium include:

  • No Ads: YouTube Premium lets you watch videos without ads. This is a great advantage if you want to watch videos on YouTube regularly and are bothered by the constant ads.
  • Offline mode: Offline mode lets you download videos and watch them later even when you don't have an internet connection. This is ideal if you'd like to watch videos on the go but don't always have access to an internet connection.
  • background playback: You can play videos in the background even after exiting the YouTube app or locking the screen. This is an advantage if you would like to listen to music or videos while doing something else.
  • Youtube music: As a YouTube Premium subscriber, you have access to millions of songs without commercial breaks. You can also download the music and listen offline. Background playback is also possible. You can continue listening to the music even when the screen is locked.

How much does YouTube Premium cost?

As already mentioned, YouTube Premium costs 11,99 euros per month. This puts YouTube Premium roughly in the middle compared to other video streaming services. Netflix, for example, costs between €7,99 and €17,99 per month and Amazon Prime Video costs €8,99 per month.

Here you can see the price list of the service (status: 09/2022). I booked the family tariff because my kids should also live free of advertising.

Here you can see the price list of the service (status: 09/2022). I booked the family tariff because my kids should also live free of advertising.

YouTube Premium Family

YouTube Premium Family is a subscription service that allows families to share YouTube. Each family member, up to a maximum of six people from the same household, can use their own account and personal settings. This allows parents and children, for example, to watch videos separately from each other without constantly showing ads. Children must be at least 13 years old and have their own YouTube account. The monthly price for the family subscription is 17,99 euros.

YouTube Premium student plan

As a student, you can subscribe to YouTube Premium with the same functions as the regular plan for an affordable price of only 6,99 euros per month. However, you must provide proof of legitimacy.

Criticism of YouTube Premium

Of course, there is also criticism of YouTube Premium. Most criticisms relate to the price of 11,99 euros per month and the lack of added value compared to the normal YouTube account. Many people see no reason why they should pay for something they can already use for free.

There is also criticism of the lack of availability of free series and films on YouTube Premium. YouTube Premium doesn't offer the same content as Netflix or Amazon Prime. Series and films are available there in a much higher number and mostly already included in the subscription price. On YouTube Premium you often have to pay extra for exclusive films and series.

You can access this menu by clicking on your profile picture in the top right corner of YouTube.

You can access this menu by clicking on your profile picture in the top right corner of YouTube.

How to Cancel YouTube Premium?

The termination is simple and uncomplicated in the Membership Management. A click on a button terminates the current subscription at the end of the monthly membership. There is no notice period. Here are the corresponding step-by-step instructions:

  1. call https://www.youtube.com on
  2. Tap on your profile picture. Paid memberships, then you land here .
  3. Tap the membership you want to cancel.
  4. Tap Manage Apple Subscriptions.
  5. Tap Membership.
  6. Tap Exit or Disable.

My conclusion on the premium subscription from YouTube

YouTube Premium offers good value for money for people who want to watch online videos on a regular basis. Personally, I've been using YouTube Premium for over a year and I was immediately annoyed that I didn't book it much sooner. It's just so much more relaxing when you're not constantly confronted with ads.

Membership comes with many useful features like ad-free content and offline mode. Especially if you also use YouTube Music, it will definitely be interesting. In the end, everyone has to decide for themselves whether they are willing to pay full price for YouTube Premium or not.

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

3 comments

  1. Denis says:

    That's a very good summary of what YouTube Premium offers.
    My personal point of criticism, however, is that there is no Premium without YouTube Music.
    I would certainly 3-5 € per month. pay for ad-free YouTube, but only for it. I don't need YouTube Music at all because I use another music streaming provider.
    But since that doesn't exist and the advertising on YouTube is extremely obtrusive and surprisingly poor by Google standards, I deleted my Google account completely.
    It doesn't make sense that all the content creators only offer their content to YouTube anyway. The dependency they create for themselves will still fall on their feet.

    • Jen Kleinholz says:

      I call that consistent. 😊 Yes, the addiction has certainly gotten on the feet of a number of YouTubers, but the bottom line is that there is simply nothing there as an alternative that could be used for monetization.

      • Denis says:

        There are alternatives. But they may not be as productive yet and you can't talk to them as well as you might be able to "talk" to Google. But that will certainly not change if everyone only relies on this one platform and ignores the other links.
        YouTube wasn't the yellow of the egg in the beginning either, but the community made it better and more sustainable.
        And my "consequent" step was actually easier than you think, because the content on YouTube is the one you can most likely do without.
        However, I have "subscribed" to 3 or 4 channels via my feed reader Reeder and watch some videos there without any advertising.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

YouTube Premium: Preise, Vorteile, Kündigung – alles in diesem Beitrag

YouTube Premium

YouTube ist eine der beliebtesten Video-Plattformen im Internet. Viele Menschen nutzen YouTube, um Videos anzuschauen und zu teilen. YouTube bietet auch eine kostenpflichtige Mitgliedschaft namens YouTube Premium an. Dabei handelt es sich um ein monatliches Abonnement, das Nutzern einige Vorteile bietet.

Das Abo von YouTube Premium bieet einige Vorteile, aber das Beste ist definitiv, dass man nicht ständig mit Werbung genervt wird.

Das Abo von YouTube Premium bietet einige Vorteile, aber das Beste ist definitiv, dass man nicht ständig mit Werbung genervt wird.

Welche Vorteile bietet YouTube Premium?

Die Mitgliedschaft kostet 11,99 Euro pro Monat und bietet Zugriff auf Funktionen, die nicht für alle frei zugänglich sind. Einige der Vorteile von YouTube Premium sind unter anderem:

  • Keine Werbung: Mit YouTube Premium kann man Videos ohne Werbung ansehen. Dies ist ein großer Vorteil, wenn man sich regelmäßig Videos auf YouTube ansehen will und sich von der ständigen Werbung gestört fühlt.
  • Offline-Modus: Mit dem Offline-Modus kann man Videos herunterladen und sie später ansehen, selbst wenn man keine Internetverbindung hat. Dies ist ideal, wenn man sich gerne unterwegs Videos ansehen möchte, aber nicht immer Zugang zu einer Internetverbindung hat.
  • Hintergrundwiedergabe: Man kann Videos im Hintergrund abspielen, selbst wenn man die YouTube-App verlassen oder den Bildschirm gesperrt hat. Dies ist Vorteil, wenn man gerne Musik oder Videos hören möchte, während man etwas anderes macht.
  • YouTube Music: Als YouTube Premium-Abonnent hat man Zugriff auf Millionen Songs ohne Werbeunterbrechung. Man kann die Musik auch herunterladen und offline anhören. Eine Hintergrundwiedergabe ist auch möglich. Die Musik kann man somit auch bei gesperrtem Bildschirm weiter anhören.

Wie viel kostet YouTube Premium?

Wie bereits erwähnt, kostet YouTube Premium 11,99 Euro pro Monat. Damit liegt YouTube Premium im Vergleich zu anderen Video-Streaming-Diensten etwa im Mittelfeld. Netflix zum Beispiel kostet zwischen 7,99 Euro und 17,99 Euro pro Monat und Amazon Prime Video kostet 8,99 Euro pro Monat.

Hier sieht man die Preisliste des Dienstes (Stand: 09/2022). Ich habe den Family-Tarif gebucht, da meine Kids auch werbefrei leben sollen.

Hier sieht man die Preisliste des Dienstes (Stand: 09/2022). Ich habe den Family-Tarif gebucht, da meine Kids auch werbefrei leben sollen.

YouTube Premium Family

YouTube Premium Family ist ein Abo-Service, der es Familien ermöglicht, gemeinsam YouTube zu nutzen. Jedes Familienmitglied, maximal sechs Personen aus demselben Haushalt, kann dabei sein eigenes Konto und seine persönlichen Einstellungen verwenden. Dadurch können sich Eltern und Kinder zum Beispiel getrennt voneinander Videos ansehen, ohne dass ständig Werbung eingespielt wird. Kinder müssen mindestens 13 Jahre alt sein und ein eigenes YouTube-Konto besitzen. Der Monatspreis für das Familienabo beträgt 17,99 Euro.

YouTube Premium Studententarif

Als Student kann man YouTube Premium mit denselben Funktionen wie im Normaltarif zu einem erschwinglichen Preis von nur 6,99 Euro im Monat abonnieren. Man muss jedoch einen Legitimationsnachweis erbringen.

Kritik an YouTube Premium

Natürlich gibt es auch Kritik an YouTube Premium. Die meisten Kritikpunkte beziehen sich auf den Preis von 11,99 Euro pro Monat und den mangelnden Mehrwert gegenüber dem normalen YouTube-Konto. Viele Leute sehen keinen Grund, warum sie für etwas bezahlen sollten, dass sie bereits kostenlos nutzen können.

Weiterhin gibt es auch Kritik an der fehlenden Verfügbarkeit kostenloser Serien und Filme bei YouTube Premium. YouTube Premium bietet nicht die gleichen Inhalte wie Netflix oder Amazon Prime. Serien und Filme sind dort in einer viel höheren Anzahl verfügbar und größtenteils schon im Abopreis enthalten. Auf YouTube Premium muss man für exklusive Filme und Serien oft extra bezahlen.

DIeses Menü kann man aufrufen, indem man oben rechts in YouTube auf sein Profil-Bild klickt.

DIeses Menü kann man aufrufen, indem man oben rechts in YouTube auf sein Profil-Bild klickt.

Wie kann man YouTube Premium kündigen?

Die Kündigung funktioniert einfach und unkompliziert in der Mitgliedschaftsverwaltung. Ein Klick auf einen Button beendet das laufende Abonnement zum Ende der Monatsmitgliedschaft. Eine Kündigungsfrist gibt es nicht. Hier die entsprechende Schritt-für-Schritt-Anleitung:

  1. Rufe https://www.youtube.com auf
  2. Tippe auf dein Profilbild. Kostenpflichtige Mitgliedschaften, dann landest du hier.
  3. Tippe auf die Mitgliedschaft, die du kündigen möchtest.
  4. Tippe auf Apple-Abos verwalten.
  5. Tippe auf die Mitgliedschaft.
  6. Tippe auf Beenden bzw Deaktivieren.

Mein Fazit zum Premium-Abo von YouTube

YouTube Premium bietet ein gutes Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis für Menschen, die regelmäßig Online-Videos schauen möchten. Ich persönlich nutze seit über einem Jahr YouTube-Premium und ich habe mich direkt geärgert, warum ich es nicht viel früher gebucht habe. Es ist einfach viel entspannender, wenn man nicht ständig mit Werbung konfrontiert wird.

Die Mitgliedschaft bietet viele nützliche Funktionen wie werbefreie Inhalte und den Offline-Modus. Insbesondere, wenn man zusätzlich noch YouTube Music nutzt, wird es auf jeden Fall interessant. Am Ende muss jeder selbst entscheiden, ob er oder sie bereit ist, den vollen Preis für YouTube Premium zu bezahlen oder nicht.



Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft oder bei Patreon unterstützen würdest.

3 Kommentare

  1. Denis sagt:

    Das ist mal eine sehr gute Zusammenfassung darüber, was YouTube Premium bietet.
    Mein persönlicher Kritikpunkt ist aber, dass es kein Premium ohne YouTube Music gibt.
    Ich würde durchaus 3-5€ mtl. für Werbefreies YouTube zahlen, aber auch nur dafür. YouTube Music brauche ich absolut nicht, weil ich einen anderen Musik-Streaming-Anbieter nutze.
    Da es das aber nicht gibt und die Werbung auf YouTube extrem penetrant und für Googleverhältnisse erstaunlich schlecht geschaltet ist, habe ich meinen Google-Account komplett gelöscht.
    Es ist ohnehin nicht sinnvoll, dass die ganzen Content-Creator ihre Inhalte nur YouTube anbieten. Die Abhängigkeit, die sie sich da schaffen wird ihnen noch auf die Füße fallen.

    • Jens Kleinholz sagt:

      Das nenne ich mal konsequent. 😊 Ja, die Abhängigkeit ist sicher schon etlichen YouTubern auf die Füße gefallen, aber unterm Strich ist einfach nichts als Alternative da, was man zum Monetarisieren verwenden könnte.

      • Denis sagt:

        Es gibt Alternativen. Sie sind aber vielleicht noch nicht so ergiebig und man kann nicht so gut mit ihnen reden, wie man vielleicht mit Google „reden“ kann. Aber das wird sich sicher nicht ändern, wenn sich alle nur auf diese eine Plattform stützen und die anderen Links liegen lassen.
        YouTube war am Anfang auch nicht das gelbe vom Ei, wurde aber durch die Community besser und tragfähiger.
        Und mein „konsequenter“ Schritt war tatsächlich leichter als man denkt, denn der Content auf YouTube ist der, auf den mal am ehesten verzichten kann.
        Allerdings habe ich noch 3 oder 4 Kanäle über meinen Feed-Reader Reeder „abonniert“ und schaue einige Videos da ganz ohne Werbung.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht.