Gooligan: Android malware infected 1 million devices - but not a single iPhone!

Gooligan Android Malware roots smartphones, hacks the user's Google account and independently downloads apps. Output graphics: Pixabay

Gooligan is a new one Android Malware, which has infected and rooted a million devices since August 2016 and hacked Google accounts in the process. What Gooligan is exactly, how the malware works and which apps you should avoid as an Android user, I want to briefly explain to you here. In addition, the new malware, which can basically get onto the smartphone quite easily, is again an argument for it, rather one iPhone to use ;)

TL; DR: If you just want to know whether your Android device is infected by Gooligan, click here!

A few facts and figures about Android malware

The message from Gooligan is now slowly arriving in Germany. According to the cyber security company, the Android malware is said to be Check Point 1 million devices already infected to have; Up to 13.000 more would be added every day. Gooligan sneaks in mainly with older Android versions and those without the latest patches. Especially versions 4 (Ice Cream Sandwich, Jelly Bean, KitKat) and 5 (Lollipop) are affected. According to current figures (November 2016), among other things Android Police supplies, these versions still account for a whopping 80,2% of all Android devices.

Gooligan hacked smartphones, installed apps and spied on users

According to Check Point, only 9% of the devices affected so far are in Europe - probably one reason why there are not many reports in this country. 19% of the affected devices are on the American continents, 15% in Africa and 57% in Asia. In all attacks, the hackers use a command and control server (C&C) to spread infected apps. In addition to third-party sites, some infected apps also come from the Google Play Store. Once installed, Gooligan reads data and roots the device. Then new system modules and apps are loaded, which can (automatically) be rated on behalf of the user.

Gooligan Android Malware is a variant of SnapPea, a malware that caused a stir last year. Here is an overview of how the malware hacked Google accounts, among other things. Image source: blog.checkpoint.com

Gooligan Android Malware is a variant of SnapPea, a malware that caused a stir last year. Here is an overview of how the malware hacked Google accounts, among other things. (Click to enlarge) Image source: blog.checkpoint.com

But that's not all. The malware got its name mainly because it hacked the user's Google account and was able to use Gmail, Google Play, Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Photos and so on on behalf of the person concerned. For example, Gooligan can spread itself via email. In addition, individual apps are automatically rated with 5 stars and always the same comments. So if you find a game in the Play Store that has an extremely high number of 5 star ratings and everyone just says “Good Game”, you now know that something is wrong.

Gooligan: this would not have happened to you on iOS

Software like the one described here can cause all kinds of damage - not only the hack and the possibly necessary resetting of the entire device system are annoying. Some malware also send SMS messages on behalf of the user. If you have a flat rate and nobody answers it, then you may not even notice it. Without an SMS flat rate, however, you can quickly find yourself in a financial mess (I only mention that because it was only recently brought to my attention by those affected). If then MMS are added, it gets bad.

Such horror scenarios are as good as only on Android. Apple's iOS and the other operating systems of the developer from Cupertino as closed systems without a (simple) possibility for the root are much better protected. Only users who jailbreak and then download apps from dubious sources run the risk ... And even then, the target group is so small that hackers tend to focus on Android.

Gooligan Checker: Am I Affected by Android Malware?

As a credible cyber security company, Check Point offers a so-called Gooligan Checker as a service. The tool is very easy to use; you just enter the email address that is connected to your Android device and click on "CHECK". Then after a short check you will be told whether your smartphone is affected by Gooligan. The Gooligan Checker you can find it through this link.

Gooligan Check is my smartphone infected malware finder online

Screenshot of my check - luckily I have neither Android 4 nor 5;)

In which apps is Gooligan (possibly) hiding?

Check Point issued this list of partially infected apps. Under no circumstances should these be downloaded from third-party providers, but only in the Play Store and in the latest version in case of doubt:

Source: blog.checkpoint.com / focus.de

Source: blog.checkpoint.com / focus.de

More information and dissemination of the news

If you want to find out more about so-called "ghost push" malware, to which Gooligan belongs, I can help you this G + Post from Adrian Ludwig recommend. You can find information and data on the SnapPea malware family mentioned above here . Since the malware did not attract attention in this country until December 2016, I recommend that you distribute this article via Facebook, Google+, Twitter, e-mail, etc. in order to prevent further infections. Good luck and, despite everything, have a nice Advent season!

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Gooligan: Android Malware schon 1 Million Geräte infiziert – aber kein einziges iPhone!

Gooligan Android Malware rootet Smartphones, hackt das Google Konto des Nutzers und lädt selbstständig Apps herunter. Ausgangsgrafiken: Pixabay

Gooligan ist eine neue Android Malware, die seit August 2016 bereits eine Million Geräte infiziert, gerootet und dabei Google-Konten gehackt hat. Was Gooligan genau ist, wie die Schadsoftware funktioniert und welche Apps man als Android-Nutzer eventuell meiden sollte, das will ich euch hier kurz darlegen. Zudem ist die neue Malware, die im Grunde recht einfach auf das Smartphone kommen kann, wieder mal ein Argument dafür, lieber ein iPhone zu verwenden 😉

TL;DR: Wer nur wissen will, ob sein Android Gerät von Gooligan befallen ist, der klickt hier!

Ein paar Zahlen und Fakten zur Android Malware

Die Nachricht von Gooligan kommt nun langsam auch in Deutschland an. Die Android Malware soll laut der Cyber Security Firma Check Point bereits 1 Million Geräte infiziert haben; täglich kämen bis zu 13.000 weitere hinzu. Dabei schleicht sich Gooligan hauptsächlich bei älteren Android-Versionen und jenen ohne aktuelle Patches ein. Vor allem die Versionen 4 (Ice Cream Sandwich, Jelly Bean, KitKat) und 5 (Lollipop) seien betroffen. Nach aktuellen Zahlen (November 2016), die unter anderem Android Police liefert, haben diese Versionen immer noch einen Anteil von sagenhaften 80,2 % aller Android-Geräte.

Gooligan hackt Smartphones, installiert Apps und späht Nutzer aus

Von den bisher betroffenen Geräten befinden sich laut Check Point nur 9 % in Europa – wohl ein Grund, warum hierzulande noch nicht viele Berichte vorliegen. Auf den amerikanischen Kontinenten befinden sich 19 % der betroffenen Geräte, 15 % in Afrika und 57 % in Asien. Dabei nutzen die Hacker bei allen Angriffen einen Command and Control Server (C&C), um infizierte Apps zu verbreiten. Neben Drittanbieter-Seiten kommen infizierte Apps teilweise auch aus dem Google Play Store. Einmal installiert, liest Gooligan Daten aus und rootet das Gerät. Dann werden neue Systemmodule sowie Apps geladen, die (automatisch) im Namen des Nutzers bewertet werden können.

Die Gooligan Android Malware ist eine Variante von SnapPea, einer Malware, die letztes Jahr für Aufsehen sorgte. Hier eine Übersicht zum Vorgehen der Schadsoftware, die unter anderem Google Kontos hackt. Bildquelle: blog.checkpoint.com

Die Gooligan Android Malware ist eine Variante von SnapPea, einer Malware, die letztes Jahr für Aufsehen sorgte. Hier eine Übersicht zum Vorgehen der Schadsoftware, die unter anderem Google Kontos hackt. (Klicken zum Vergrößern) Bildquelle: blog.checkpoint.com

Damit noch nicht genug. Denn die Malware trägt ihren Namen vor allem, weil sie das Google Konto des Nutzers hackt und damit Gmail, Google Play, Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Photos und so weiter im Namen des Betroffenen nutzen kann. So kann sich Gooligan zum Beispiel selbst per E-Mail verbreiten. Außerdem werden einzelne Apps automatisch mit 5 Sternen und immer gleich lautenden Kommentaren bewertet. Wer also im Play Store ein Spiel findet, das extrem viele 5 Sterne-Bewertungen hat und alle nur „Good Game“ sagen, weiß nun, dass da was faul ist.

Gooligan: unter iOS wäre dir das nicht passiert

Software wie die hier beschriebene kann allerhand Schaden anrichten – nicht nur der Hack und das möglicherweise notwendig werdende Zurücksetzen des gesamten Gerätesystems sind lästig. Einige Malwares versenden auch im Namen des Nutzers SMS-Nachrichten. Hat man eine Flat und antwortet niemand darauf, dann bekommt man dies vielleicht gar nicht mit. Gerade ohne SMS-Flatrate kann man allerdings schnell in der finanziellen Patsche sitzen (das erwähne ich nur, weil es mir letztens erst von Betroffenenseite zugetragen wurde). Wenn dann noch MMS dazukommen, wird’s arg.

Solche Horrorszenarien gibt es aber so gut wie nur bei Android. Apples iOS und die anderen Betriebssysteme des Entwicklers aus Cupertino als geschlossene Systeme ohne (einfache) Möglichkeit für den Root sind da wesentlich besser geschützt. Gefahr laufen eigentlich nur Nutzer, die einen Jailbreak durchführen und sich dann Apps aus zweifelhaften Quellen laden… Und selbst da ist die Zielgruppe so klein, dass sich Hacker eher auf Android fokussieren.

Gooligan Checker: Bin ich von der Android Malware betroffen?

Als kredibile Cyber Security Firma hat Check Point einen sogenannten Gooligan Checker als Service im Angebot. Das Tool ist denkbar einfach in der Anwendung; ihr gebt einfach die E-Mail-Adresse ein, die mit eurem Android-Gerät verbunden ist, und klickt auf „CHECK“. Dann bekommt ihr nach einem kurzen Check gesagt, ob euer Smartphone von Gooligan betroffen ist. Den Gooligan Checker findet ihr vermittels dieses Links.

Gooligan Check ist mein Smartphone infiziert Malware Finder online

Screenshot von meinem Check – zum Glück hab ich weder Android 4 noch 5 😉

In welchen Apps versteckt sich Gooligan (möglicherweise)?

Check Point hat diese Liste von teilweise infizierten Apps herausgegeben. Diese sollten auf keinen Fall von Drittanbietern geladen werden, sondern im Zweifelsfall nur im Play Store sowie in der aktuellsten Version:

Quelle: blog.checkpoint.com / focus.de

Quelle: blog.checkpoint.com / focus.de

Weitere Informationen und Verbreitung der Nachricht

Wenn ihr euch noch weiter zu sogenannten „Ghost Push“ Malwares informieren wollt, zu denen Gooligan gehört, kann ich euch diesen G+ Post von Adrian Ludwig empfehlen. Infos und Daten zur weiter oben angesprochenen Malware-Familie SnapPea findet ihr hier. Da die Schadsoftware erst zum Dezember 2016 hierzulande Aufmerksamkeit erregt, empfehle ich euch, diesen Artikel per Facebook, Google+, Twitter, E-Mail usw. zu verteilen, um weiteren Infizierungen vorzubeugen. Viel Erfolg und trotz allem eine schöne Adventszeit!

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.