Reader question: do the iPhone X and iPhone 8 support Qualcomm Quick Charge?

In comments, via the contact form and directly by e-mail, questions from readers arrive here in the blog from time to time. One of the readers' questions recently was: "Do iPhone X and iPhone 8 support Qualcomm Quick Charge?“- To answer this question, you could just say“ No ”or provide some additional information about fast charging of smartphones, tablets and other mobile devices. And I would like to do the latter in the following. So you can understand why you cannot charge the iPhone 8 or iPhone X with Quick Charge and what is needed instead.

Can I charge my iPhone 8 or iPhone X with Qualcomm Quick Charge? No, but with USB Power Delivery. Details can be found in this post.

Can I charge my iPhone 8 or iPhone X with Qualcomm Quick Charge? No, but with USB Power Delivery. Details can be found in this post.

How to Fast Charge iPhone 8 and X?

With the Apple iPhone 8, its Plus model and the Apple iPhone X, there is the option of charging the battery very quickly. The so-called fast charging is used with the standard USB Power Delivery realized, which comes in connection with a USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 connection. With USB Power Delivery (USB-PD for short), up to 100 watts of power at 5 to 20 volts are possible. If you get a power bank or a charger with USB-PD, you also need a USB-C to Lightning cable, then fast charging works with the 2017 smartphone models from Apple. You will get a list of original Apple accessories in this post. Has details on USB, USB-C and Power Delivery USB.org for you.

Recommended reading: Qi charger for wireless charging of the iPhone X in the test

What is Qualcomm Quick Charge?

Qualcomm's Quick Charge, also known as QC for short, is now available in the third generation - i.e. Qualcomm Quick Charge 3 or QC 3. This fast-charging technology can be used on devices that have built-in Qualcomm chips and systems. With the last generations of the iPhone, Apple and Qualcomm worked well together and in Cupertino smartphones with the corresponding components were designed. However, Apple and Qualcomm are now in a dispute - Apple is said to have passed on secrets relevant to the industry to Intel. The end of the story: The collaboration is more or less on hold and neither the iPhone 8 nor the iPhone X supports Quick Charge 3 from Qualcomm. You can get more information about QC in this FAQ.

iPhone X and iPhone 8 quick charger for the car

For example, if you are looking for a 36W charger that provides you with the power to charge your iPhone X or iPhone 8 faster via the cigarette lighter in your car, then you will find a selection from Belkin, AUKEY and POWERocker in this overview. With a USB-C to USB-C cable you can also use the car chargers to charge the Apple MacBook (Pro) with Thunderbolt 3 connection. Not at high speed, but at least at a low price in the car. In the future, a few more chargers with USB Power Delivery for the Apple iPhone will be presented here in the blog. So secure the notifications for Safari, Google Chrome and Co. or write to you to the newsletter mailing list a ;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

6 comments

  1. "Joe" says:

    Hallo,

    Is it in any way harmful for iPhone, Powerbank & Co. to charge them on a QuickCharge charger or nothing happens (except slower charging)?

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello joe! Exactly, it only charges as slowly as a normal USB charger with 5 volts. The iPhone under Powerbank doesn't do anything. LG!

  2. Lutze says:

    Hallo,
    I have an iPhone8 and a uGreen 18W with USB-A and PD technology.
    In addition the old USB-A cable from the 5V charger.

    I can't connect a USB-C cable to the charger because USB-A is available.

    So now I charge my iPhone with PD technology.
    My question: now charges the charger with 18W, although it is capable of 18W.
    Or only because no USB-C charging cable can be connected to the USB-A charger, only with 5W?

    Or: do I need an 18W USB-C charger and a USB-C cable for the iPhone8Plus?

    So far, nobody has been able to answer this question.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Lutze! A charger with USB PD actually always has a USB-C connection, because this is the only way Power Delivery works. So your iPhone will only charge "normally fast". But certainly faster than 5 W. The 5 watts were the limitation of the charger that Apple shipped with the iPhones. I have just measured how much power my iPhone Xs charges at USB-A and came to 5 V and 1,5 A. That makes 7,5 watts. Might be similar for your iPhone 8 Plus.

  3. Lutze says:

    Hello and thanks for the quick reply.

    So the so-called Fast Charger, with an 18W charger on USB-A, doesn't bring me anything?
    Do I want it faster, do I need an 18W charger with USB-C socket and a corresponding USB-C plug for the charger?

    The jumble about USB-C is well described here:
    https://www.allround-pc.com/artikel/wissen/2016/wissen-usb-typ-c-im-ueberblick-was-geht-was-geht-nicht

    E as in simple looks different :-)

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Yeah, it's a bit complicated. But charging is basically simple: If you want USB Power Delivery, you MUST have a USB-C to Lightning cable, like me . have described. With devices like the iPad Pro, which already comes with a USB-C socket, you can use a USB-C to USB-C cable directly. I am happy to recommend that of Nimaso, as it also supports the maximum power of 100 watts that future MacBook Pro models may need.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Leserfrage: Unterstützen das iPhone X und das iPhone 8 Qualcomm Quick Charge?

In Kommentaren, über das Kontaktformular und direkt per Mail kommen ab und zu Fragen von Leserinnen und Lesern hier im Blog an. Eine der Leserfragen lautete letztens: „Unterstützen das iPhone X und das iPhone 8 Qualcomm Quick Charge?“ – Um diese Frage zu beantworten, könnte man einfach nur „Nein“ sagen oder ein paar zusätzliche Informationen zum Schnellladen von Smartphone, Tablet und weiteren Mobilgeräten geben. Und Letzteres möchte ich im Folgenden tun. So könnt ihr nachvollziehen, warum man nicht das iPhone 8 oder iPhone X mit Quick Charge laden kann, und was stattdessen benötigt wird.

Kann man das iPhone 8 oder iPhone X mit Qualcomm Quick Charge laden? Nein, dafür mit USB Power Delivery. Details dazu in diesem Beitrag.

Kann man das iPhone 8 oder iPhone X mit Qualcomm Quick Charge laden? Nein, dafür mit USB Power Delivery. Details dazu in diesem Beitrag.

Wie kann man iPhone 8 und X schnellladen?

Beim Apple iPhone 8, bei dessen Plus-Modell sowie auch beim Apple iPhone X gibt es die Möglichkeit, den Akku jeweils recht schnell aufzuladen. Das sogenannte Schnellladen wird dabei mit dem Standard USB Power Delivery realisiert, welcher in Verbindung mit einem USB-C bzw. Thunderbolt 3 Anschluss daherkommt. Mit USB Power Delivery (kurz: USB-PD) sind bis zu 100 Watt Leistung bei 5 bis 20 Volt Spannung möglich. Wenn ihr euch eine Powerbank oder ein Ladegerät mit USB-PD holt, braucht ihr dazu noch ein USB-C auf Lightning Kabel, dann klappt das Schnellladen bei den 2017 Smartphone-Modellen von Apple. Eine Liste mit originalem Apple-Zubehör dazu bekommt ihr in diesem Beitrag. Details zu USB, USB-C und Power Delivery hat USB.org für euch.

Lesetipp: Qi-Ladegerät für kabelloses Laden des iPhone X im Test

Was ist Qualcomm Quick Charge?

Quick Charge von Qualcomm, kurz auch einfach QC genannt, gibt es nun schon in der dritten Generation – also Qualcomm Quick Charge 3 bzw. QC 3. Nutzbar wird diese Schnelllade-Technologie bei Geräten, die entsprechende Chips und Systeme von Qualcomm verbaut haben. Bei den letzten Generationen des iPhones arbeiteten Apple und Qualcomm noch gut zusammen und in Cupertino wurden Smartphones mit den entsprechenden Bauteilen designt. Jedoch liegen nun Apple und Qualcomm im Streit – angeblich soll Apple branchenrelevante Geheimnisse an Intel weitergegeben haben. Das Ende vom Lied: Die Zusammenarbeit liegt mehr oder minder auf Eis und weder das iPhone 8 noch das iPhone X unterstützt Quick Charge 3 von Qualcomm. Mehr Infos zu QC bekommt ihr in diesem FAQ.

iPhone X und iPhone 8 Schnell-Lader fürs Auto

Wenn ihr beispielsweise einen Lader mit 36W sucht, der euch über den Zigarettenanzünder im Auto die Energie liefert, um das iPhone X oder das iPhone 8 schneller zu laden, dann findet ihr eine Auswahl von Belkin, AUKEY und POWERocker in dieser Übersicht. Mit einem USB-C auf USB-C Kabel könnt ihr mit den Autoladegeräten auch das Apple MacBook (Pro) mit Thunderbolt 3 Anschluss aufladen. Zwar nicht mit Highspeed, aber immerhin zum kleinen Preis im Auto. Zukünftig werden hier im Blog sicher noch ein paar Ladegeräte mit USB Power Delivery für das Apple iPhone vorgestellt. Sichert euch also die Benachrichtigungen für Safari, Google Chrome und Co. oder schreibt euch in den Newsletter-Verteiler ein 😉


Wenn mein Beitrag geholfen hat und dir mein Blog unterstützenswert erscheint, würde ich mich über eine Hilfe per Steady oder Buy me a coffee sehr freuen.

6 Kommentare

  1. Joe sagt:

    Hallo,

    ist es denn in irgendeiner Weise schädlich für iPhone, Powerbank & Co., wenn man sie an einem QuickCharge-Ladegerät auflädt oder passiert da nichts (außer langsameres laden)?

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Joe! Genau, es lädt nur so langsam, wie an einem normalen USB-Ladegerät mit 5 Volt. Der iPhone under Powerbank macht das aber nichts. LG!

  2. Lutze sagt:

    Hallo,
    ich hab ein iPhone8 und ein uGreen 18W mit USB-A und PD Technik.
    Dazu das alte USB-A Kabel vom 5V Ladegerät.

    Am Ladegerät kann ich ja kein USB-C Kabel anschliessen, da USB-A vorhanden.

    Somit lade ich jetzt mit PD Technik mein iPhone.
    Meine Frage: ladet jetzt das Ladegerät, obwohl 18W fähig, mit 18W.
    Oder nur, da kein USB-C Ladekabel am USB-A Ladegerät anschließbar, nur mit 5W ?

    Oder: benötige ich ein Ladegerät 18W USB-C und ein USB-C Kabel fürs iPhone8Plus ?

    Diese Frage, konnte mir bisher keiner beantworten.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Lutze! Ein Ladegerät mit USB PD hat eigentlich immer einen USB-C Anschluss, denn nur darüber funktioniert Power Delivery. Dein iPhone wird also sicherlich nur "normal schnell" laden. Aber sicher auch schneller als 5 W. Die 5 Watt waren die Begrenzung des Ladegerätes, das Apple mit den iPhones ausgeliefert hat. Ich habe eben mal nachgemessen, mit wie viel Leistung mein iPhone Xs an USB-A lädt und bin auf 5 V und 1,5 A gekommen. Das macht dann 7,5 Watt. Dürfte bei deinem iPhone 8 Plus ähnlich sein.

  3. Lutze sagt:

    Hallo, und danke für die schnelle Antwort.

    Dann bringt mir also das sog. Fast Charger , mit einem 18W Ladegerät auf USB-A gar nichts ?
    Will ich’s schneller haben, benötige ich ein Ladegerät 18W mit USB-C Buchse und ein entsprechendes Kabel USB-C Stecker fürs Ladegerät ?

    Der wirrwarr über USB – C ist hier gut beschrieben:
    https://www.allround-pc.com/artikel/wissen/2016/wissen-usb-typ-c-im-ueberblick-was-geht-was-geht-nicht

    E wie Einfach sieht anders aus 🙂

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Ja, das ist etwas kompliziert. Aber das Laden ist im Prinzip einfach: Möchte man USB Power Delivery MUSS man ein USB-C auf Lightningkabel haben, wie ich es hier beschrieben habe. Bei Geräten wie dem iPad Pro, das schon mit einer USB-C Buchse kommt, kann man direkt ein USB-C-auf-USB-C-Kabel verwenden. Da empfehle ich gerne das von Nimaso, da es auch die maximale Leistung von 100 Watt unterstützt, die kommende MacBook Pro Modelle eventuell brauchen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.