iPhone additional battery "Jackery Mini" in the test: stylish external smartphone battery in "stick design"

Jackery charging ports

Actually, there isn't much to test with power banks: They have to supply power and, if possible, display their charge status. The basic conditions would then already be fulfilled. But you can of course also look at the "trimmings" that an additional battery has to offer. In this post I do this for the "Jackery Mini“- a small battery in the form of a stick (lipstick shape) with a square base.

Scope of delivery of the Jackery Mini additional battery

In addition to the additional battery, the Jackery Mini comes with a USB cable as well as a reference to the Jackery iOS app (which I have not tested, however) (Photo: Sir Apfelot).

Look and structure of the Jackery smartphone additional battery

Immediately after unpacking the Jackery Powerbank you can see that the quality of the material has not been spared. The housing of the Jackery Mini consists for the most part of an aluminum body with a plastic insert at the front and rear. On one side are the connections for the micro-USB charging connection and the USB output. The insert on the other side has no functions whatsoever but only serves as an "end cap". You can see this well on the exploded view that I took from the manufacturer's website.

Jackery explosion photo

This "explosion photo" shows what the internal structure of the Jackery Mini looks like (Photo: jackery.com).

The aluminum housing looks like sandblasted and has a matt finish. This makes it relatively unsusceptible to fingerprints and other dirt. In addition, the colored coating makes a very robust impression. I think the optics shouldn't suffer much even in tough outdoor use.

There is a small button on the top that activates the LED charge indicator. This consists of four LEDs that indicate the charging and discharging status of the Jackery Mini. After approx. 5 seconds it switches itself off again.

Jackery Mini Front with charge level indicator

Here you can see the switched on LED charge indicator. You can see with the naked eye how many of the four LEDs are lit. Unfortunately, this did not come across in the photo (Photo: Sir Apfelot).

Specifications

Before my "evaluation" of the battery pack, I would like to briefly introduce the technical data of the Jackery Mini, because the data is quite impressive:

  • USB charging input: 5V / 2.1A
  • Charging time until the additional battery is full: 3-5 hours (via standard USB or power supply unit with micro USB connection)
  • Output power of the battery: 5V / 2.1A (fast charging of the iPhone is possible!)
  • Capacity: 3200 mAh (charges an iPhone 6 / 6s approx. 1,2 times)
  • Compact "lipstick" size: 9,4 x 2,3 x 2 cm
  • Weight: 77 g
  • various colors on offer (black, orange, silver, gold)
  • USB to micro USB cable included
  • The manufacturer offers an 18-month guarantee for the device
Jackery mini loading capacity

This table shows the charging capacity of the Jackery mini for common smartphones (source: jackery.com).

My test of the Jackery Mini

The Jackery Mini charges at normal speed. Three to five hours are neither particularly brisk nor particularly slow. On the other hand, charging the iPhone is as fast as it normally works with the power adapter. I already had a few power banks that did not have enough output power, so that charging the iPhone was rather leisurely. An Amazon customer writes here Although the current when charging his Samsung Galaxy was only max. 1 A, I can't quite understand that due to the charging speed of my iPhone.

It is perhaps also worth mentioning that the smartphone is charged as soon as it is plugged in. With my other additional batteries, I first have to press the button that also shows me the charge status. Sometimes I forget about this and then wonder why the iPhone wasn't charging. That can't happen with the Jackery Mini.

I think the case and the shape of the Jackery Mini are very successful. The shape with the rounded edges is very "pocket-friendly" and the matt surface looks very high quality.

Jackery charging ports

The two connections are for charging the Jackery and for connecting the USB charging cable for the smartphone. A torch LED in the housing would have been nice, but the Jackery Mini is still a great external battery for the iPhone (Photo: Sir Apfelot).

What would be a small point of criticism on my part is the manufacturer's waiver of a small flashlight LED. These additional features neither take up a lot of space, nor should they cost a lot. So far, I have enjoyed using the flashlight function on all of my additional batteries.

A small "dream" of mine would be an integrated Lightning cable on the Jackery Mini, because I often forget to pack it ... and then the greatest power bank doesn't help. For those who need remedial action in this regard, a short cross-reference to the "tizi rascal"- a USB Lightning charging cable keychain, so to speak.

Jackery Mini suitable for tablets?

Some customer reviews asked whether the Jackery Mini is also suitable for tablets like the iPad. Basically you can of course also charge the iPad with the additional battery, but you certainly won't be able to charge it completely. To make this clear, here are the battery capacities of the corresponding devices:

  • iPhone 6s: 1.715 mAh
  • iPhone 6s Plus: 2.750 mAh
  • iPad Air 2: 7.340 mAh
  • iPad Pro: 10.307 mAh
  • Jackery Mini: 3.200 mAh

Here you have to keep in mind that of course there are also losses due to charging. This means that technically in reality you will not get the full 3.200 mAh of the additional battery 1: 1 into an iPad. With the iPad Air 2 you will be able to fill a quarter or a third of the battery. That is why the Jackery Giant + with 12.000 mAh here the better choice for tablets.

Conclusion: well processed and practical "always with you"

I am very satisfied with the Jackery Mini. It is easy to transport, fits in a jacket or trouser pocket and it charges my iPhone 6 more than once. I like to use the iPhone on hikes and then have GPS active, which of course draws so much power that I usually can't get there on a single charge for a whole day. With the Jackery Mini, I can refuel the iPhone in between and still don't have a 500 gram power bank with me. In my opinion, a chic and recommendable accessory for all smartphone owners.

Purchase option

The Jackery Mini Powerbank is available - just like the other Jackery models, by the way - to buy from Amazon. The price is around 15 EUR.

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

iPhone Zusatzakku “Jackery Mini” im Test: Schicker externer Smartphone-Akku im “Stick-Design”

Ladeanschlüsse des Jackery

Eigentlich gibt es bei Powerbanks nicht viel zu testen: Sie müssen Strom liefern und nach Möglichkeit anzeigen, wie ihr Ladezustand ist. Damit wären die Grundbedingungen schon erfüllt. Aber trotzdem kann man sich natürlich auch das „Drumherum“ anschauen, das ein Zusatzakku zu bieten hat. In diesem Beitrag erledige ich dies für den „Jackery Mini“ – einem kleinen Akku in Form eines Sticks (Lipstick-Form) mit quadratischer Grundfläche.

Lieferumfang des Jackery Mini Zusatzakku

Mit im Lieferumfang des Jackery Mini ist neben dem Zusatzakku sowohl ein USB-Kabel wie auch ein Hinweis auf die Jackery iOS App (die ich jedoch nicht getestet habe) (Foto: Sir Apfelot).

Optik und Aufbau des Jackery Smartphone Zusatzakku

Direkt nach dem Auspacken der Jackery Powerbank sieht man schon, dass hier nicht an der Güte des Materials gespart wurde. Das Gehäuse des Jackery Mini besteht zum größten Teil aus einem Aluminium-Body, der am vorderen und hinteren Ende einen Kunststoffeinsatz hat. Auf einer Seite sind die Anschlüsse für den Micro-USB Ladeanschluß und den USB-Ausgang. Der Einsatz auf der anderen Seite ist ohne irgendwelche Funktionen sondern dient nur als „Endkappe“. Dies sieht man auch gut auf dem Explosionsbild, das ich von der Webseite des Herstellers übernommen habe.

Jackery Explosionsfoto

Dieses “Explosionsfoto” zeigt gut, wie der innere Aufbau des Jackery Mini aussieht (Foto: jackery.com).

Das Alugehäuse wirkt wie sandgestrahlt und hat eine matte Lackierung. Das macht es relativ unanfällig für Fingerabdrücke und andere Verschmutzungen. Zudem macht die farbige Beschichtung einen sehr robusten Eindruck. Ich denke, auch im harten Outdoor-Einsatz dürfte die Optik nicht sehr leiden.

Auf der Oberseite befindet sich ein kleiner Button, der die LED-Ladeanzeige aktiviert. Diese besteht aus vier LEDs, die den Lade- bzw. Entladezustand des Jackery Mini anzeigen. Nach ca. 5 Sekunden schaltet sich diese selbst wieder ab.

Jackery Mini Front mit Ladezustandsanzeige

Hier sieht man die eingeschaltete LED Ladeanzeige. Mit blossem Auge kann man erkennen, wieviele der vier LEDs leuchten. Auf dem Foto ist dies leider nicht rüber gekommen (Foto: Sir Apfelot).

Technische Daten

Vor meiner „Bewertung“ zum Akkupack würde ich gerne noch kurz die technischen Daten des Jackery Mini vorstellen, denn die Daten können sich durchaus sehen lassen:

  • USB-Ladeeingang: 5V / 2.1A
  • Ladezeit bis der Zusatzakku voll ist: 3-5 Stunden (über Standard-USB oder Netzteil mit Micro-USB-Anschluß)
  • Ausgangsleistung des Akkus: 5V / 2.1A (schnelles Aufladen des iPhone ist möglich!)
  • Kapazität: 3200 mAh (lädt ein iPhone 6/6s ca. 1,2 mal auf)
  • Kompakte „Lipstick“ Größe: 9,4 x 2,3 x 2 cm
  • Gewicht: 77 g
  • diverse Farben im Angebot (Schwart, Orange, Silber, Gold)
  • USB-auf Micro-USB-Kabel im Lieferumfang
  • der Hersteller bietet zum Gerät 18 Monate Garantie
Ladekapazität Jackery mini

In dieser Tabelle sieht man Ladekapazität des Jackery mini für die gängigen Smartphones (Quelle: jackery.com).

Mein Test des Jackery Mini

Das Aufladen des Jackery Mini geht in üblicher Geschwindigkeit. Drei bis fünf Stunden sind weder besonders flott, noch besonders langsam. Dagegen ist das Aufladen des iPhones so schnell, wie es normalerweise mit dem Netzteil funktioniert. Ich hatte schon einige Powerbanks, die hier nicht genügend Ausgangsleistung hatten, so dass das Aufladen des iPhone eher gemächlich von statten ging. Ein Amazon-Kunde schreibt hier zwar, dass der Strom beim Laden seines Samsung Galaxy nur max. 1 A betrug, aber das kann ich aufgrund der Ladegeschwindigkeit meines iPhones nicht ganz nachvollziehen.

Erwähnenswert ist vielleicht noch, dass das Smartphone schon direkt nach dem Anstecken aufgeladen wird. Bei meinen anderen Zusatzakkus muss ich erst noch den Knopf drücken, der mir auch den Ladezustand anzeigt. Manchmal vergesse ich dies und wundere mich dann, warum das iPhone nicht geladen wurde. Beim Jackery Mini kann das schonmal nicht passieren.

Das Gehäuse und die Form des Jackery Mini finde ich sehr gelungen. Die Form mit den abgerundeten Kanten ist sehr “hosentaschentauglich” und die matte Oberfläche wirkt sehr hochwertig.

Ladeanschlüsse des Jackery

Die zwei Anschlüsse sind zum Laden des Jackery und zum Anschluß des USB-Ladekabels für das Smartphone. Eine Taschenlampen LED im Gehäuse wäre noch schön gewesen, aber auch so ist der Jackery Mini ein toller externer Akku für das iPhone (Foto: Sir Apfelot).

Was ein kleiner Kritikpunkt von meiner Seite aus wäre, ist der Verzicht des Herstellers auf eine kleine Taschenlampen-LED. Diese Zusatzfeatures nehmen weder viel Platz weg, noch dürften sie viel kosten. Ich habe die Taschenlampenfunktion bisher bei allen meinen Zusatzakkus gerne verwendet.

Ein kleiner “Traum” von mir wäre noch ein integriertes Lightning-Kabel am Jackery Mini, denn das vergesse ich oft einzupacken … und dann hilft die tollste Powerbank nichts. Für diejenigen, die in dieser Hinsicht Abhilfe benötigen, ein kurzer Querverweis auf den “tizi Schlingel” – sozusagen ein USB-Lightning-Ladekabel-Schlüsselanhänger.

Jackery Mini für Tablets geeignet?

Es kam bei einigen Kundenbewertungen die Frage auf, ob der Jackery Mini auch für Tablets wie das iPad geeignet ist. Grundsätzlich kann man mit dem Zusatzakku natürlich auch das iPad laden, allerdings schafft man da sicherlich keine komplette Ladung. Um das zu verdeutlichen, hier kurz die Akkukapazitäten, der entsprechenden Geräte:

  • iPhone 6s: 1.715 mAh
  • iPhone 6s Plus: 2.750 mAh
  • iPad Air 2: 7.340 mAh
  • iPad Pro: 10.307 mAh
  • Jackery Mini: 3.200 mAh

Hier muss man sich vor Augen halten, dass natürlich durch das Laden auch Verluste auftreten. Das heißt, man wird technisch in der Realität nicht die kompletten 3.200 mAh des Zusatzakkus 1:1 in ein iPad rüber bekommen. Beim iPad Air 2 wird man also vielleicht ein Viertel oder ein Drittel des Akkus füllen können. Aus dem Grund ist der Jackery Giant+ mit 12.000 mAh hier die bessere Wahl für Tablets.

Fazit: Gut verarbeitet und praktisch für “immer dabei”

Ich bin mit dem Jackery Mini sehr zufrieden. Er ist gut transportabel, passt in die Jacken- oder Hosentasche und er lädt mein iPhone 6 mehr als einmal auf. Ich nutze das iPhone gerne bei Wanderungen und habe dann GPS aktiv, was natürlich soviel Strom zieht, dass ich in der Regel keinen ganzen Tag mit einer einzigen Akkuladung hinkomme. Durch den Jackery Mini kann ich das iPhone zwischendurch wieder auftanken und habe trotzdem keine 500 Gramm schwere Powerbank dabei. Aus meiner Sicht ein schickes und empfehlenswertes Zubehör für alle Smartphone Besitzer.

Bezugsmöglichkeit

Die Jackery Mini Powerbank gibt es – wie übrigens die anderen Jackery Modelle auch – bei Amazon zu kaufen. Preislich liegt sie bei ca. 15 EUR.

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.