Magnet for macOS: Arrange on the Mac window as in Windows

Those who switch from a Windows PC to an Apple Mac will surely find many advantages in switching, but also a few hurdles. Because the workflow and thus productivity cannot be transferred 1: 1, at least not without tools. For example, if you have Apple's Split View for arranging windows next to each other and if you want to dock windows on sides, in corners and elsewhere by moving the mouse or a key combination, as in Windows 7, 8 and 10, then you need a helping app - and it's called Magnet. I've tried the Magnet macOS app and can only recommend it.

Arranging windows under macOS on the Apple Mac is as easy with the Magnet app as under Windows on the PC.

Arranging windows under macOS on the Apple Mac is as easy with the Magnet app as under Windows on the PC.

What's wrong with the split screen with Split View?

If you just want to put two windows side by side, for example to transfer information from a website into a text file then Apple Split View is a good thing. To do this, however, click longer on the green Maximize button and then also have to directly determine the second window for the other half of the screen, that can throttle the workflow. Especially if you are used to the simple arrangement of windows next to each other in Windows. Die-hard Mac users may only know this from the installed Windows version via Boot Camp or Parallels Desktop, but those who switch directly are more likely to recognize the Mac weakness.

Arrange windows more freely under macOS with the Magnet app

I discovered the Magnet app by accident when I was browsing the Mac App Store. If you look there in the “Productivity” category, you will quickly find Magnet as a suggested application for the Apple Mac, iMac and MacBook. The function of the software is explained very quickly: If you drag a window with the mouse or the cursor to the respective position on the screen (top, bottom, left, right, corners), the window is not only docked there, but also in adjusted to size. If you work with the trackpad and therefore cannot click a button, you simply use the keyboard - the windows can also be arranged with key combinations and thus used much more freely than with Split View.

Click the window, drag it down and fill a third of the screen. So there is no need to pull the window edges awkwardly;)

Click the window, drag it down and fill a third of the screen. So there is no need to pull the window edges awkwardly;)

Magnet in the test: Clear purchase recommendation!

The Magnet App has already made it into the official "Get Productive" selection in the Mac App Store as well as under the "Invaluable Utilities" apps. It is currently also available for a reduced price of 80% for just EUR 1,09. The low price for the 1,8MB small software is only given "for a limited time". The developers Tomáš Znamenáček, Pavel Kozárek, Michal Sedlák from CrowdCafé did not write exactly what that means. In the test, Magnet proved to be very reliable - the program does exactly what it should. Arranging the windows on macOS should always be this easy! Simply drag to the side, corner or down (this will fill a third of the screen) and you're done. Maximizing is also made easier by dragging the window upwards. For the full screen mode you still need to click on the corresponding button in the window.

Screenshot: Sir Apfelot

Magnet download

You can find the magnet download in the Apple Mac App Store (under Productivity Apps) and on the iTunes website. I can only recommend the software for window management on the Apple Mac - it has been optimized for macOS 2.1.0 High Sierra with version 2017 from February 10.13.
Link to the App Store

Organize windows on Mac screen with trackpad

Another little tip: If you cannot or do not want to memorize the magnetic key combinations and use a trackpad instead of a mouse, window management as described is still quite easy. Simply click or tap on the window that you want to move / dock and then on the magnet symbol in the menu bar.

Screenshot: Sir Apfelot

Now you can select the desired function from an overview. So you don't need a single key to move the windows on the Mac more freely and to have them displayed more individually;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

2 comments

  1. Sebastian says:

    Great app for little money.

    I got to an apple a little late, but thanks to the excellent tip here, I was able to simplify my switch from Windows to apple. The app, currently already over 3 euros, is very helpful and makes handling much easier in daily work. Thanks for your tip.

    Sebastian

    PS:
    Maybe you have a tip for me on how to teach my Macbook Air to use the native keyboard layout of my USB Logitech G710. I've already learned that the @key is now located somewhere else, but all the rest of the swapped keys are just annoying.

    • Jens Kleinholz says:

      Hello Sebastian! I'm glad you found something interesting here and there with me. I would recommend two passages to your keyboard question:
      1. System Settings> Keyboard> Input Sources: Here you can set the US layout, if you like.
      2. System Settings> Keyboard> Keyboard> Special Keys: Here you can remap keys like CTRL and ALT to make it easier for you.

      I hope the two tips help you. LG, Jens

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Magnet für macOS: Am Mac Fenster anordnen wie unter Windows

Wer von einem Windows PC zu einem Apple Mac wechselt wird sicher viele Vorteile am Wechsel finden, aber auch ein paar Hürden. Denn der Workflow und damit die Produktivität lassen sich nicht 1:1 übertragen, zumindest nicht ohne Hilfsmittel. Wenn ihr zum Beispiel Apples Split View zum nebeneinander Anordnen von Fenstern nicht ausreichend findet und Fenster wie unter Windows 7, 8 und 10 an Seiten, in Ecken und anderswo durch Mausbewegung oder Tastenkombination andocken möchtet, dann braucht ihr eine helfende App – und diese heißt Magnet. Ich habe die Magnet macOS App ausprobiert und kann sie nur empfehlen.

Fenster anordnen unter macOS am Apple Mac wird mit der Magnet App so einfach wie unter Windows am PC.

Fenster anordnen unter macOS am Apple Mac wird mit der Magnet App so einfach wie unter Windows am PC.

Was ist falsch am Splitscreen mit Split View?

Wenn man einfach nur zwei Fenster nebeneinander setzen möchte, um beispielsweise Informationen von einer Webseite in eine Textdatei zu übertragen, dann ist Apple Split View eine gute Sache. Dafür aber länger auf den grünen Maximieren-Knopf klicken und dann auch noch direkt das zweite Fenster für die andere Bildschirmhälfte bestimmen zu müssen, dass kann den Workflow drosseln. Vor allem wenn man das einfache nebeneinander Anordnen von Fenstern in Windows gewohnt ist. Eingefleischte Macuser kennen das vielleicht nur durch die installierte Windows-Version via Boot Camp oder Parallels Desktop, wer aber direkt wechselt, der erkennt die Mac-Schwäche eher.

Unter macOS Fenster freier anordnen mit der Magnet App

Die Magnet App habe ich eher durch Zufall entdeckt als ich im Mac App Store unterwegs war. Schaut man dort in die Kategorie „Produktivität“, dann findet man schnell Magnet als vorgeschlagene Applikation für den Apple Mac, iMac und das MacBook. Die Funktion der Software ist ganz schnell erklärt: Zieht man mit der Maus bzw. dem Cursor ein Fenster an die jeweilige Stelle des Bildschirms (oben, unten, links, rechts, Ecken), dann wird das Fenster dort nicht nur angedockt, sondern auch in der Größe angepasst. Wer mit dem Trackpad arbeitet und daher keine Taste klicken kann, nutzt einfach die Tastatur – mit Tastenkombinationen lassen sich die Fenster ebenfalls anordnen und damit wesentlich freier verwenden als mit Split View.

Fenster anklicken, nach unten ziehen und damit ein Drittel des Bildschirms ausfüllen. So ist kein pfriemeliges Ziehen der Fensterränder mehr nötig ;)

Fenster anklicken, nach unten ziehen und damit ein Drittel des Bildschirms ausfüllen. So ist kein pfriemeliges Ziehen der Fensterränder mehr nötig 😉

Magnet im Test: Klare Kaufempfehlung!

Die Magnet App hat es im Mac App Store schon in die offizielle „Get Productive“-Auswahl sowie unter die „Invaluable Utilities“-Apps geschafft. Aktuell ist sie zudem um 80% reduziert für nur 1,09 EUR zu haben. Der günstige Preis für die 1,8MB kleine Software ist aber nur „für begrenzte Zeit“ gegeben. Was das genau heißt, das haben die Entwickler Tomáš Znamenáček, Pavel Kozárek, Michal Sedlák von CrowdCafé nicht dazu geschrieben. Im Test hat sich Magnet sehr zuverlässig gezeigt – das Programm macht genau das, was es soll. Die Fenster unter macOS anordnen sollte immer so einfach sein! Einfach an die Seite, die Ecke oder nach unten ziehen (dann wird ein Drittel des Bildschirms ausgefüllt) und fertig. Auch das Maximieren wird durch das nach-oben-Ziehen der Fenster vereinfacht. Für den Vollbildmodus braucht es dennoch den Klick auf die entsprechende Schaltfläche im Fenster.

Screenshot: Sir Apfelot

Magnet Download

Den Magnet Download findet ihr im Apple Mac App Store (bei den Produktivitäts-Apps) sowie auf der iTunes-Webseite. Ich kann die Software für das Fenster-Management am Apple Mac nur empfehlen – sie ist mit der Version 2.1.0 vom Februar 2017 auf macOS 10.13 High Sierra optimiert wurden.

Magnet
Magnet
Entwickler: CrowdCafé
Preis: 2,99 €

Fenster auf dem Mac-Bildschirm mit Trackpad organisieren

Noch ein kleiner Tipp: Könnt oder wollt ihr euch die Magnet-Tastenkombinationen nicht merken und verwendet statt einer Maus ein Trackpad, dann ist das Fenster-Management wie beschrieben dennoch recht einfach möglich. Klickt bzw. tippt dafür einfach das Fenster an, das ihr verschieben / andocken wollt und dann auf das Magnet-Symbol in der Menüleiste.

Screenshot: Sir Apfelot

Nun könnt ihr die gewünschte Funktion aus einer Übersicht auswählen. So braucht ihr keine einzige Taste, um die Fenster am Mac freier zu bewegen und individueller angezeigt zu bekommen 😉

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.