OCR apps for Mac - extract text from image or PDF

OCR apps for the Mac ensure that you can extract text from images or non-editable PDF files under macOS. "OCR" stands for Optical Character Recognition. In this post I have put together three examples of OCR software that you can use on the Apple Mac. Below that is a bit older Condense, which is also compatible with QR codes Aristocrat as well as the newer one Easy Screen OCR App. All three are available for download from the MacOS App Store.

With OCR apps for the Mac, you can read text from images or paragraphs from PDF files using Optical Character Recognition under macOS. QR codes and barcodes can also be partially read. Image to text, PDF to text

With OCR apps for the Mac, you can read text from images or paragraphs from PDF files using Optical Character Recognition under macOS. QR codes and barcodes can also be partially read.

Easy Screen OCR

Easy Screen OCR is a Mac app from the developer Tong Zhang, which reads the respective text from images, screenshots, PDF files and other screen content by simply marking it and outputs it for further processing. The software is activated after installation via the menu bar icon or via shortcut. Then mark the text to be read out with the mouse by holding it in a rectangle. 

After reading out the screen section, you get the "pure text" for copying and further processing. With the app you can convert scanned documents, image files, PDFs and more into text. This can also help with a specialist, bachelor's or master's thesis if you want to quote a digitized book or something similar, but don't want to type everything in.

You can find more information, including how to save the read out text parts as PDF, PNG, etc., as well as the Easy Screen OCR download with this link or the following box:

[appbox appstore id1359663922]

Important note from a reader: Easy Screen OCR is not free. After using it 20 times, the software is blocked and you have to insert money!

Aristocrat

Aristocrat is another free OCR software for Mac under macOS. This helper for word processing also has an icon for the menu bar. In its menu you can choose, among other things, whether a screen section or the screen as a whole should be read out or copied directly as text. In addition, the extracted text can be used directly with various services, sent by email or published as a tweet.

Another useful feature of the OCR app for the Mac is reading out QR codes. In addition to decoding the pixel squares, the software can also recognize and read different barcodes, according to developer Josh Parnham. Different standards such as EAN-8, EAN-13, Code 128, ITF and so on are recognized. Like the one mentioned above, the program is also free.

You can find more information and details as well as screenshots and the Aristocrat download auf dieser seite or in the following box:

[appbox appstore id886910172]

Condense

Condense by Thomas Johannesmeyer is the only OCR app for the Mac in this series that is not free. The software for reading letters, words, sentences and entire texts under macOS currently costs € 5,49 in the Mac App Store. Since version 1.6, the Optical Character Recognition application has also included a "Text to Speech" function, which should be of interest to people with visual impairments. But the numerous other functions can also be helpful.

The description of the program deals with the application in an academic sense as well as with learning by means of video tutorials. For example, with instructions for programming: instead of typing the example from the video character by character, you can also press pause, run the software over it and use what has been written as text yourself. Quotes and paragraphs for use / analysis in presentations are also possible - ideal for school and university.

You can find the Condense download, a list of the individual features and ratings from users by means of this link or again in the box:

[appbox appstore id715394237]

The best OCR apps for Mac / macOS?

Do you have a completely different suggestion as to which software is best suited for reading text from an image, a PDF or other sources on the Mac? Then please leave a comment - even if you want to share your own experiences with the OCR apps for macOS mentioned!

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

8 comments

  1. Enc says:

    It should be noted that Condense was last updated four years ago. For my part, I would not shortlist such a program. :)

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Enc! Yes, in principle I feel the same way when choosing a program. If I already pay something, then I would also like to have something that is halfway up-to-date. That's why I would prefer Easy Screen OCR because it has just been updated. ;-)

  2. Ralf Kusmierz says:

    Easy Screen OCR is NOT free! The software is blocked after it has been used 20 times. Even if this software is quite reliable, in my opinion it is too expensive for occasional, irregular and private use.

  3. Manfred Bolz says:

    Aristocrat under MacOS 10.14.6 Mojave: loaded, executed, symbol in the menu bar used to read out the screen section.

    Result: none, or the program says goodbye without further notification. It is a pity for the effort to load the program at all.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      You could do the program Prism look at. I've been using this myself for a few weeks to recognize texts in screenshots. That works wonderfully. Unfortunately it costs something ...

  4. Martin says:

    Picatext is still an alternative (https://www.picatext.com/), costs $ 4 one time, I've been using it for 6 months and I'm super satisfied.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Martin! Thanks for the hint. That seems like a good tip. With 4 USD it is definitely an alternative if you don't need so many features.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

OCR Apps für Mac – Text aus Bild oder PDF extrahieren

OCR Apps für Mac – Text aus Bild oder PDF extrahieren

OCR Apps für den Mac sorgen dafür, dass ihr unter macOS Text aus Bildern oder nicht editierbaren PDF-Dateien extrahieren könnt. „OCR“ steht dabei für Optical Character Recognition. In diesem Beitrag habe ich euch drei Beispiele für OCR Software zusammengetragen, die ihr am Apple Mac nutzen könnt. Darunter ist das schon etwas ältere Condense, das auch mit QR-Codes kompatible Aristocrat sowie die neuere Easy Screen OCR App. Alle drei gibt es im App Store für macOS zum Download.

Mit OCR Apps für den Mac könnt ihr per Optical Character Recognition unter macOS Text aus Bildern oder Absätze aus PDF-Dateien auslesen. Auch QR- und Barcodes können teilweise gelesen werden. Bild zu Text, PDF zu Text

Mit OCR Apps für den Mac könnt ihr per Optical Character Recognition unter macOS Text aus Bildern oder Absätze aus PDF-Dateien auslesen. Auch QR- und Barcodes können teilweise gelesen werden.

Easy Screen OCR

Easy Screen OCR ist eine Mac App des Entwicklers Tong Zhang, die aus Bildern, Screenshots, PDF-Dateien und anderem Bildschirminhalt durch einfaches Markieren desselben den jeweiligen Text ausliest und für die weitere Verarbeitung ausgibt. Die Aktivierung der Software nach der Installation passiert über das Menüleistensymbol oder per Tastenkombination. Anschließend markiert man den auszulesenden Text mit der Maus, indem man ihn in ein Rechteck fasst. 

Nach dem Auslesen des Bildschirmausschnitts erhält man den „Reintext“ zum Kopieren und Weiterverarbeiten. Mit der App könnt ihr also eingescannte Dokumente, Bilddateien, PDFs und mehr in Text umwandeln. Das kann auch bei der Fach-, Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit helfen, wenn ihr ein digitalisiertes Buch oder ähnliches zitieren wollt, aber nicht alles abtippen möchtet.

Weitere Infos, auch zum Speichern der ausgelesenen Textteile als PDF, PNG usw., sowie den Easy Screen OCR Download findet ihr mit diesem Link oder der folgenden Box:

Easy Screen OCR
Easy Screen OCR
Entwickler: Tong Zhang
Preis: Kostenlos+

Aristocrat

Aristocrat ist eine weitere kostenlose OCR Software für den Mac unter macOS. Auch dieser Helfer für die Textverarbeitung bringt ein Symbol für die Menüleiste mit. In dessen Menü könnt ihr u. a. auswählen, ob ein Bildschirmausschnitt bzw. der Bildschirm als Ganzes ausgelesen oder direkt als Text kopiert werden soll. Zudem lässt sich der extrahierte Text direkt mit verschiedenen Services nutzen, per Mail verschicken oder als Tweet veröffentlichen.

Ein weiteres, brauchbares Feature der OCR App für den Mac ist das Auslesen von QR-Codes. Neben der Decodierung der Pixelquadrate kann die Software laut dem Entwickler Josh Parnham auch unterschiedliche Barcodes erkennen und auslesen. Dabei werden verschiedene Standards wie EAN-8, EAN-13, Code 128, ITF und so weiter erkannt. Das Programm ist wie das vorbenannte auch gratis.

Weitere Informationen und Details sowie Screenshots und den Aristocrat Download findet ihr auf dieser Seite oder in folgender Box:

Aristocrat
Aristocrat
Entwickler: Josh Parnham
Preis: Kostenlos

Condense

Condense von Thomas Johannesmeyer ist die einzige OCR App für den Mac in dieser Reihe, die nicht kostenlos ist. Aktuell kostet die Software zum Auslesen von Buchstaben, Wörtern, Sätzen und ganzen Texten unter macOS 5,49 € im Mac App Store. Die Optical Character Recognition Applikation bringt seit der Version 1.6 auch eine „Text to Speech“-Funktion mit, was für Menschen mit Sehbehinderung interessant sein dürfte. Aber auch die zahlreichen anderen Funktionen können hilfreich sein.

In der Beschreibung des Programms wird auf die Anwendung im akademischen Sinn sowie beim Lernen vermittels Video-Tutorials eingegangen. Zum Beispiel bei einer Anleitung fürs Programmieren: statt das Beispiel aus dem Video Zeichen für Zeichen abzutippen kann man auch Pause drücken, die Software drüber laufen lassen und das Geschriebene selber als Text nutzen. Zitate und Absätze für die Verwendung / Analyse in Präsentationen sind ebenso möglich – ideal für Schule und Uni.

Den Condense Download, eine Auflistung der einzelnen Features sowie Bewertungen von Nutzern findet ihr vermittels dieses Links oder abermals in der Box:

Condense
Condense
Preis: 5,49 €

Die besten OCR Apps für Mac / macOS?

Habt ihr vielleicht noch einen ganz anderen Vorschlag, welche Software sich am besten für das Auslesen von Text aus einem Bild, einer PDF oder anderen Quellen am Mac eignet? Dann lasst gern einen Kommentar da – auch wenn ihr eigene Erfahrungen mit den genannten OCR Apps für macOS teilen wollt!

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
51

2 Comments

  1. Enc sagt:

    Bleibt vielleicht noch anzumerken, dass Condense zum letzten mal vor vier Jahren aktualisiert wurde. Ich für meinen Teil würde ein solches Programm nicht in die engere Auwahl nehmen. 🙂

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Enc! Ja, im Prinzip geht es mir bei der Programmauswahl ähnlich. Wenn ich schon was zahle, dann möchte auch auch was haben, was halbwegs aktuell ist. Aus dem Grund würde ich Easy Screen OCR den Vortritt geben, denn das wurde gerade aktualisiert. 😉

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.