Apps for iOS, macOS, Android and Windows

4 JULY 2017

Commander One Mac App: Total Commander for Apple computers

The Commander One Mac app, which is available as a Pro version in the Mac App Store, is officially considered Total Commander for Apple computers. Who does not know the Total Commander: this is a kind of Explorer for all Windows versions, [...]
3 JULY 2017

Is WhatsApp illegal and am I threatened with a warning as a user?

Do WhatsApp users act illegally because they agree to the terms and conditions of the app for iOS and Android and thus send the data of their contacts to WhatsApp Inc. in California, USA? This question is currently being asked [...]
30th of June 2017
There are a number of unofficial Mac apps that display the timeline and can also be used to distribute likes, but there are none that are also able to post photos.

The official Instagram Mac app - doesn't exist, but a free solution with Safari!

With Sir Apfelot, I also try to provide social media with posts and use the Sendible web service, which costs a monthly fee, but offers a reasonably quick, semi-automated solution to [...]
30th of June 2017

Glympse App for iOS and Android: Share location across devices

With the Glympse app, you can share your GPS location from your iPhone, iPad, Android smartphone or tablet and so on, regardless of device. The free app reports your location via SMS or email from [...]
29th of June 2017

With apps against cell phone addiction - sounds illogical? But it works!

Taking action against cell phone addiction with an app or limiting the time on the smartphone with apps - that sounds absurd at first. However, for Apple iOS on iPhone and iPad as well as for Google Android smartphones [...]
28th of June 2017
With the Mac app "Get Plain Text" you can convert formatted text into plain text "on the fly". Alternatively, you can only selectively convert the contents of the clipboard to plain text.

Get Plain Text: Copy & paste without formatting on the Mac

I don't know how long I've been making the detour via BBEdit when I copy text somewhere under macOS and then copy it to a website or editor without formatting. Anyway, I need it [...]
20th of June 2017

Affinity Photo iPad App: Video Tutorials in German (YouTube)

The Photoshop alternative Affinity Photo by Serif, published in 2015 for Apple Mac, has also been available for Windows PCs since 2016 and since 2017 for iOS 10.3+ and iOS 11 on the iPad Air 2 / iPad [...]
19th of June 2017

Manuals and tutorials for image editing with Affinity Photo Windows / macOS / iOS

The image editing program Affinity Photo, for which there are now several manuals, instructions and tutorials, is often compared with Photoshop and can be seen as a much cheaper version of the Adobe classic. Because the developer Serif from [...]
16th of June 2017

The fastest FTP client for the Mac

As a web developer, webmaster and other user who wants to exchange data on a server and from there to the Mac or between two servers, you naturally need a reliable FTP client. But which client, which FTP program, [...]
6th of June 2017

Affinity Photo iPad App: Image editing under iOS 10.3+ / iOS 11

Serif from Great Britain has been causing a sensation since 2015 with Affinity Photo, a very good Photoshop alternative - first on the Mac with macOS, then in 2016 on Windows on PC and now as an iPad app for iOS. [...]

Apps für iOS, macOS, Android und Windows

10. Juli 2017

Paparazzi & Tailor: Webseiten und Chat-Verläufe als Bild oder PDF speichern (Mac, iPhone)

Webseiten in ganzer Länge als Bild oder PDF speichern, das könnt ihr entweder mühevoll mit einzelnen Screenshots, die ihr zusammenfügt, über das Entwicklertool von Firefox oder aber mit der Paparazzi Mac App. Zudem gibt es […]
6. Juli 2017

Google Maps Offline, HERE WeGo und andere Alternativen

Es ist Sommer und damit Urlaubszeit; längst orientiert man sich aber im Urlaub nicht mehr (hauptsächlich) mit gedruckten Karten und Reiseführern, sondern mit Google Maps, HERE WeGo, Ulmon CityMaps2Go, Maps.Me und Co. Einige der Dienste […]
4. Juli 2017

Commander One Mac App: Total Commander für Apple-Rechner

Die Commander One Mac App, die als Pro-Version im Mac App Store erhältlich ist, gilt offiziell als Total Commander für Apple-Rechner. Wer den Total Commander nicht kennt: das ist eine Art Explorer für alle Windows-Versionen, […]
3. Juli 2017

Ist WhatsApp illegal und droht mir als Nutzer eine Abmahnung?

Agieren Nutzer von WhatsApp illegal, weil sie den AGB der App für iOS und Android zustimmen und damit die Daten ihrer Kontakte an die WhatsApp Inc. nach Kalifornien, USA senden? Diese Frage stellen sich derzeit […]
30. Juni 2017
Es gibt eine Reihe an inoffiziellen Mac-Apps, die zwar die Timeline anzeigen und über die man auch Likes verteilen kann, aber es gibt keine, die auch in der Lage ist, Fotos zu posten.

Die offizielle Instagram Mac App – gibt’s nicht, aber eine gratis Lösung mit Safari!

Ich versuche mit Sir Apfelot auch die Sozialen Medien mit Beiträgen zu versorgen und nutze dazu den Webservice Sendible, der zwar einen Monatsbeitrag kostet, aber dafür eine halbwegs flotte, halbautomatisierte Lösung bietet, um mit einem […]
30. Juni 2017

Glympse App für iOS und Android: Standort geräteübergreifend teilen

Mit der Glympse App könnt ihr geräteunabhängig von iPhone, iPad, Android Smartphone oder Tablet und so weiter euren per GPS ermittelten Standort teilen. Die kostenlose App teilt euren Standort per SMS oder E-Mail mit von […]
29. Juni 2017

Mit Apps gegen Handysucht – klingt unlogisch? Geht aber!

Mit einer App gegen Handysucht vorgehen oder die Zeit am Smartphone mit Apps begrenzen – das klingt erst einmal widersinnig. Jedoch gibt es für Apple iOS auf iPhone und iPad sowie für Google Android Smartphones […]
28. Juni 2017
Mit der Mac-App "Get Plain Text" kann man formatierten Text "on the fly" in reinen Plaintext umwandelt. Alternativ dazu kann man den Inhalt der Zwischenablage auch nur selektiv in Plaintext konvertieren.

Get Plain Text: Copy&Paste ohne Formatierung am Mac

Ich weiss nicht, wie lange ich schon den Umweg über BBEdit mache, wenn ich unter macOS Text irgendwo rauskopiere und dann ohne Formatierungen in eine Webseite oder einen Editor kopieren möchte. Ich brauche es jedenfalls […]
20. Juni 2017

Affinity Photo iPad App: Video Tutorials auf Deutsch (YouTube)

Die 2015 für Apple Mac veröffentlichte Photoshop-Alternative Affinity Photo von Serif gibt es seit 2016 auch für Windows PCs und seit 2017 für iOS 10.3+ und iOS 11 auf dem iPad Air 2 / iPad […]
19. Juni 2017

Handbücher und Tutorials für Bildbearbeitung mit Affinity Photo Windows / macOS / iOS

Das Bildbearbeitungsprogramm Affinity Photo, für das es mittlerweile einige Handbücher, Anleitungen und Tutorials gibt, wird oft mit Photoshop verglichen und kann durchaus als wesentlich kostengünstigere Version des Adobe-Klassikers angesehen werden. Denn der Entwickler Serif aus […]