OS X Mavericks

os x mavericks usb stick
os x mavericks usb stick

OS 10.9 Mavericks offers many innovations, but unfortunately also some incompatibilities.

The Mac OS X Mavericks operating system has version number 10.9. After the many versions with names of big cats, it is the first update that has now been given a different name. The future OS X versions will probably get names of places in California and Mavericks is the starting signal for this concept. Mavericks is the name in California for a popular surfing beach with high waves. It is certainly no coincidence that the screen background has waves.

What's new in OS X 10.9

At first glance, there is little new that a user notices. But under the hood a few things have changed that are worth noting. Some features have been built in that are intended to save electricity. This should be of particular interest to users of MacBooks. But the increased integration of iTunes and iCloud is also remarkable. This has made the connection and collaboration with the iOS devices much easier. Those who forget passwords will surely like the synchronizable keychain, which now also relieves the need to type passwords on iOS devices. And a particularly practical innovation is that Apple is offering future updates to OS X free of charge. Mavericks is the first system that can be downloaded from the AppStore without paying.

Problems with OS X Mavericks

Of course there are always some programs or hardware a few days after the start that does not work with the new system. I will only briefly list what I noticed or what I was able to read on other websites. Please note that there may be problems that have already been resolved in the meantime. However, I cannot check and correct that every day ...

1Keyboard: The Mac app 1Keyboard has been causing problems for me since the Mavericks update. I can connect to my iPhone, but when I type something, it doesn't appear on the iPhone.

GIMP: Here, too, there were initially problems between [GIMP-> gimp] and Mavericks. With version 2.8 everything should work fine.

External hard drives: Western Digital warns against thisto upgrade to Mavericks when using an external hard drive. WD o-ton: "If you upgrade to OS X Mavericks, you should first remove the Western Digital applications WD Drive Manager, WD Raid Manager and WD SmartWave from the computer. Otherwise it can happen that data is connected to a Western Digital -Hard drive on a machine with OS X Mavericks will be lost. " I have an [external 2,5 inch hard drive-> external 2-5 inch hard drives] from [WD-> western-digital] and could not find any problems. However, I have not installed any of the programs mentioned above, since OS X recognizes the hard drives that way.

gmail: Apparently there are too Problems with the Mail app when using a Gmail account. Here Apple is working on a new version of the "Mail" program. Even with the provider Metanet, retrieving or moving the mails apparently leads to a crash of Mail.app.

ID card app: The AusweisApp for authentication via the Internet also seems to no longer work if you have installed OS X Mavericks.

Other software that doesn't work properly, but I haven't found any details about it:

  • CandyBar
  • CCleaner
  • co-book
  • DYMO label
  • DynDNS Updater
  • EndNote
  • Epson scan
  • GrowlMail
  • Logitech Vid
  • MacKeeper
  • mail tabs
  • OnyX
  • Oxygen
  • Parallels Desktop 7
  • Printer Pro Desktop
  • QuarkXpress 9.5.3.1
  • Redline
  • SMART Notebook
  • Shades
  • SyncMate
  • TeXMaker
  • Timbuktu Pro
  • timelog
  • Vectorworks 2008/2009
  • Video box
  • voice candy
  • WD Drive Manager
  • WireTrap Anywhere
  • XBMC
  • Xmarks for Safari
  • Zevo
-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

3 comments

  1. [...] As an external Blu-Ray burner on the Mac, it also works with OS X Mountain Lion and the new OS X Mavericks. In addition to BDXL media, the burner can also write and read CD and DVD media. The […]

  2. […] I was also quick with OS X Mavericks - maybe because I am a little risk-taker and don't need as many programs to work or have no complex workflows that could get out of hand due to a small mistake. But I admit: Some things are not quite right with me too (see my article). [...]

  3. […] Of Mail had to hold down so that Mail recreate the DB, but that no longer works under OS X Mavericks (more Aua available). For the reason here are the instructions on how to solve it now [...]

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

OS X Mavericks

os-x-mavericks-usb-stick
os-x-mavericks-usb-stick

OS 10.9 Mavericks bietet viele Neuerungen, aber leider auch einige Inkompatibilitäten.

Das Betriebssystem Mac OS X Mavericks hat die Versionsnummer 10.9. Es ist nach den vielen Versionen mit Namen von Raubkatzen das erste Update, dass nun einer anderen Namensgebung folgt. Die zukünftigen OS X Versionen werden wohl Namen von Orten in Kalifornien bekommen und Mavericks ist hier der Startschuß für dieses Konzept. Mavericks ist in Kalifornien der Name für einen beliebten Surferstrand an dem es zu hohen Wellen kommt. Dass der Bildschirmhintergrund Wellen hat, ist sicher kein Zufall.

Neuerungen von OS X 10.9

Auf den ersten Blick gibt es wenig Neues, was einem Anwender auffällt. Aber unter der Haube wurden einige Dinge geändert, die erwähnenswert sind. So wurden einige Features eingebaut, die gedacht sind, um Strom zu sparen. Das dürfte vor allem für Benutzer von MacBooks interessant sein. Aber auch die verstärkte Integration von iTunes und iCloud sind bemerkenswert. Damit ist die Verbindung und das Zusammenarbeiten mit den iOS Geräten sehr viel leichter geworden. Den Passwort-Vergessern wird sicher der synchronisierbare Schlüsselbund gefallen, der nun auch auf den iOS Geräten das Eintippen von Passworten abnimmt. Und eine besonders praktische Neuerung ist, dass Apple zukünftige Updates von OS X kostenlos anbietet. So ist Mavericks das erste System, dass man sich ohne Zahlung aus dem AppStore laden kann.

Probleme mit OS X Mavericks

Es gibt natürlich wenige Tage nach dem Start immer einige Programme oder Hardware, die nicht mit dem neuen System zusammenarbeitet. Ich führe hier nur kurz auf, was mir aufgefallen ist oder was ich auf anderen Webseiten lesen konnte. Bitte beachtet, dass es in der Zwischenzeit vielleicht schon gelöste Probleme sind. Das kann ich allerdings nicht täglich prüfen und korrigieren…

1Keyboard: Bei mir macht seit dem Mavericks Update die Mac-App 1Keyboard Probleme. Ich kann mich zwar mit meinem iPhone verbinden, aber wenn ich etwas tippe, erscheint es nicht auf dem iPhone.

GIMP: Auch hier gab es wohl anfänglich Probleme zwischen [GIMP->gimp] und Mavericks. Mit der Version 2.8 sollte aber alles funktionieren.

Externe Festplatten: Western Digital warnt davor, ein Upgrade auf Mavericks zu machen, wenn man eine externe Festplatte nutzt. WD O-Ton: "Wer ein Upgrade auf OS X Mavericks durchführe, sollte zuvor die Western-Digital-Anwendungen WD Drive Manager, WD Raid Manager und WD SmartWave vom Rechner entfernen. Andernfalls kann es passieren, dass Daten beim Anschluss einer Western-Digital-Festplatte an einen Rechner mit OS X Mavericks verloren gehen." Ich habe eine [externe 2,5 Zoll Festplatte->externe-2-5-zoll-festplatten] von [WD->western-digital] und konnte keine Probleme feststellen. Allerdings habe ich auch keines der oben genannten Programme installiert, da OS X die Festplatten ja auch so erkennt.

GMail: Anscheinend gibt es auch Probleme mit der Mail App, wenn man einen Gmail-Account verwendet. Hier arbeitet Apple an einer neuen Version des Programms "Mail". Auch mit dem Anbieter Metanet führt ein Abrufen oder Veschieben der Mails scheinbar zu Abstürzen von Mail.app.

Ausweisapp: Die AusweisApp zum Authentifizieren über das Internet scheint auch nicht mehr zu funktionieren, wenn man OS X Mavericks installiert hat.

Weitere Software die nicht richtig funktioniert, zu der ich aber keine Details gefunden habe:

  • CandyBar
  • CCleaner
  • Cobook
  • DYMO Label
  • DynDNS Updater
  • EndNote
  • Epson Scan
  • GrowlMail
  • Logitech Vid
  • MacKeeper
  • MailTabs
  • OnyX
  • Oxygen
  • Parallels Desktop 7
  • Printer Pro Desktop
  • QuarkXpress 9.5.3.1
  • Redline
  • SMART Notebook
  • Shades
  • SyncMate
  • TeXMaker
  • Timbuktu Pro
  • Timelog
  • Vectorworks 2008/2009
  • Videobox
  • Voice Candy
  • WD Drive Manager
  • WireTrap Anywhere
  • XBMC
  • Xmarks for Safari
  • Zevo
Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

3 Kommentare

  1. […] Er arbeitet als externer Blu-Ray-Brenner am Mac auch mit OS X Mountain Lion und dem neuen OS X Mavericks zusammen. Neben den BDXL Medien kann der Brenner auch CD und DVD Medien beschreiben und lesen. Der […]

  2. […] Bei OS X Mavericks war ich auch flott – vielleicht weil ich ein bisschen risikofreudig bin und zum Arbeiten nicht soviele Programme benötige oder auch keine komplexen Workflows habe, die durch einen kleinen Fehler aus den Fugen geraten könnten. Aber ich gestehe: Auch bei mir sind einige Dinge nicht ganz in Ordnung (siehe dazu meinen Beitrag). […]

  3. […] von Mail gedrückt halten musste, damit Mail die DB neu erstellt, aber das funktioniert unter OS X Mavericks (mehr Aua verfügbar) nicht mehr. Aus dem Grund hier die Anleitung, wie man es nun lösen […]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.