Update for Apple iMac: News from Apple WWDC 2017

The day before yesterday, the Apple WWDC 2017 Keynote took place on the next MacOS High Sierra the new or revised models of iMac and Mac were presented. Also iOS 11 for iPhone and iPad as well as tvOS, watchOS, the Apple HomePod and many others became the topic. In this post I would like to briefly provide you with the information on the update of the Apple iMac give as well as an outlook on the new iMac Pro late 2017.

Apple iMac Pro 2017

iMac and MacBook get macOS High Sierra, among other things the new file system APFS brings along. Here you get the further news about Apple iMac and Apple iMac Pro 2017.

News about iMac

The update for the iMac computers from Apple starts with the display and is therefore directly visible. The new displays are with their 500 nits (1 nt = 1 cd / m²) 43% brighter than previous iMac displays. They also have 10-bit dithering, which leads to a display of up to 1 billion colors. There is also an update in the graphics performance (see pictures).

Inside, a seventh generation Intel Core CPU comes into play. In professional circles this is also Kaby Lake called. The 7th generation Intel chip came onto the market in Q3 2016 and provides even more power and significantly higher turbo frequencies in the Apple iMac (in numbers: 4,2 to 4,5 GHz). Also there is one Update for the RAM with the iMac: the 21,5 inch model gets up to 32GB, the 27 inch model up to 64GB.

In addition, the memory is expanded and made faster. All 27 inchers should come along Fusion Drive come along and bring up to 50% faster SSD hard drives. Their storage in the Apple iMac 27 inch can be chosen up to 2TB! Connectivity is also expanded: USB-A comes twice USB-C or Thunderbolt 3 and even Ethernet for up to 10 GBit / s.

Virtual Reality on the iMac

With fast processors, decent RAM, extensive graphics processing and output, and the right software, the iMac is ideal for applications in the field of virtual reality. There was a demo of the possibilities at Apple WWDC 2017 Keynote by the software company Industrial Light & Magic:

Prices for the new iMac models

Later in 2017: the new iMac Pro

The development of a new, more efficient cooling system made it possible for Apple to put significantly more power into the housing of an iMac, as was learned at the Apple WWDC 2017 keynote. The iMac Pro in Space Gray, coming later this year, will have CPUs with 8, 10 or 18 cores; the GPU will be a Radeon Vega Graphics with 16 GB of VRAM. The SSD has 4TB with 3 GBit / s. There are 4 Thunderbolt ports, ethernet and more. The starting price: $ 4,999.

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

Update für Apple iMac: Neues von der Apple WWDC 2017

Vorgestern fand die Apple WWDC 2017 Keynote statt, auf der neben macOS High Sierra die neuen bzw. überarbeiteten Modelle von iMac und Mac vorgestellt wurden. Auch iOS 11 für iPhone und iPad sowie tvOS, watchOS, der Apple HomePod und vieles andere wurde zum Thema. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich euch aber erst einmal kurz und knapp die Informationen zum Update des Apple iMac geben sowie einen Ausblick auf den neuen iMac Pro late 2017.

Apple iMac Pro 2017

iMac und MacBook bekommen macOS High Sierra, was unter anderem das neue Dateisystem APFS mitbringt. Hier bekommt ihr die weiteren News zu Apple iMac und Apple iMac Pro 2017.

Aktuelles zum Thema iMac

Das Update für die iMac Computer von Apple beginnt bereits beim Display und ist damit direkt sichtbar. Die neuen Displays sind nämlich mit ihren 500 nits (1 nt = 1 cd/m²) 43% heller als die bisherigen iMac Displays. Zudem bringen sie ein 10-bit Dithering mit, was zu einer Darstellung von bis zu 1 Milliarde Farben führt. Zudem gibt es auch in der Grafikleistung ein Update (s. Bilder).

Im Inneren kommt ein Intel Core CPU der siebenten Generation zum Tragen. In Fachkreisen wird dieser auch Kaby Lake genannt. Der Intel-Chip der 7ten Generation kam im Q3 2016 auf den Markt und sorgt im Apple iMac für noch mehr Leistung und wesentlich höhere Turbo-Frequenzen (in Zahlen: 4,2 bis 4,5 GHz). Auch gibt es ein Update für den RAM beim iMac: das 21,5 Zoll Modell bekommt bis zu 32GB, das 27 Zoll Modell bis zu 64GB.

Zudem wird der Speicher erweitert und schneller gemacht. Alle 27 Zoller sollen mit Fusion Drive daherkommen und bis zu 50% schnellere SSD Festplatten mitbringen. Deren Speicher im Apple iMac 27 Zoll kann bis zu 2TB gewählt werden! Außerdem wird die Konnektivität erweitert: Zu USB-A kommt zweimal USB-C bzw. Thunderbolt 3 und sogar Ethernet für bis zu 10 GBit/s dazu.

Virtual Reality auf dem iMac

Mit schnellen Prozessoren, ordentlich Arbeitsspeicher, einer umfangreichen Grafikverarbeitung und -ausgabe sowie der richtigen Software wird der iMac ideal für Anwendungen im Bereich Virtual Reality. Eine Demo der Möglichkeiten gab es auf der Apple WWDC 2017 Keynote seitens der Software-Schmiede Industrial Light & Magic:

Preise für die neuen iMac Modelle

Später in 2017: der neue iMac Pro

Durch die Entwicklung eines neuen, effizienteren Kühlungssystems wurde es für Apple möglich, wesentlich mehr Leistung ins Gehäuse eines iMac zu stecken, konnte man bei der Apple WWDC 2017 Keynote erfahren. Im später dieses Jahr kommenden iMac Pro in Space-Grey wird es CPUs mit 8, 10 oder 18 Kernen geben; der GPU wird ein Radeon Vega Graphics mit 16 GB VRAM sein. Die SSD bringt 4TB mit 3 GBit/s mit. Es gibt 4 Thunderbolt-Anschlüsse, Ethernet und mehr. Der Startpreis: $4,999.

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.