Google biscuit: A biscuit that reduces the storage size of JPEG images by 35%

Google Guetzli JPEG Encoder 35% smaller files with good quality, reduce JPEG size make them smaller, maintain quality, fewer artifacts

Not quite a week ago, Google released a new tool called Biscuits presented; this is an encoder for JPEG files whose memory size should be reduced with as little loss of quality as possible. By the way, Guetzli [guɛtsli] is Swiss German and means Keks. According to Google, Guetzli is the in-house encoder Braid not dissimilar to which one makes PNG and gzip files smaller without the need for a new file extension. In addition, the biscuit should stand out from RNN-based image compressors as well as from RAISR and WebP.

The second example image in the blog entry of the Google Research Team: 20 x 24 pixel graphic showing the eye of a cat. Not compressed (left), libjpeg compressed (middle, lots of artifacts), and compressed by cookies (right, fewer artifacts).

The second example image in blog entry by the Google Research Team: 20 x 24 pixel graphic showing the eye of a cat. Not compressed (left), libjpeg compressed (middle, lots of artifacts), and compressed with cookies (right, fewer artifacts).

More possibilities and better performance for webmasters

Webmasters should save memory and upload time with Guetzli, which should come along as an open source tool. In addition, photographers can compress their images for the web without having to worry about too much loss of quality. With the same image size, the new encoder for JPEG or JPG files should save around 35% of storage space. Even better than in the picture above, you can see the comparatively few artifacts at Guetzli in compressed images on this graphic:

16 x 16 pixel graphic showing a telephone overhead line against a blue sky. As above, nothing is compressed on the left, with libjpeg in the middle and cookies on the right. In comparison, the quality is still quite good.

16 x 16 pixel graphic showing a telephone overhead line against a blue sky. As above, nothing is compressed on the left, with libjpeg in the middle and cookies on the right. In comparison, the quality is still quite good.

Perhaps the new open source encoder will finally lead to a usable WordPress plugin that automatically reduces photos for bloggers or for useful Mac apps that use drag & drop to reduce images with good quality. A plug-in for Photoshop would also be desirable in order to output images directly in the corresponding coding.

Faster loading times, better images, less mobile data consumption

But users should also benefit from the new encoder from Google. If the page creator or photographer has to compress his images for a specific web service, then a high level of quality is retained. In doing so, however, the file size and, accordingly, the loading times and, in the case of mobile Internet use, the data volume used decrease. The new JPEG encoder should therefore bring numerous advantages.

>> Download the new JPEG encoder from Google at GitHub <

I am curious to see if and how Guetzli will change or improve the use of JPEG on the web. What do you think of the new Google tool?

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Google Guetzli: Ein Keks, der die Speichergröße von JPEG-Bildern um 35% reduziert

Google Guetzli JPEG Encoder 35% kleinere Dateien bei guter Qualität, JPEG Größe verringern kleiner machen, Qualität beibehalten, weniger Artefakte

Vor nicht ganz einer Woche hat Google ein neues Tool namens Guetzli vorgestellt; dabei handelt es sich um einen Encoder für JPEG-Dateien, deren Speichergröße bei möglichst wenig Qualitätsverlust reduziert werden soll. Guetzli [guɛtsli] ist übrigens Schweizerdeutsch und bedeutet Keks. Laut Google ist Guetzli dem hauseigenen Encoder Zopfli nicht unähnlich, welcher PNG- und gzip-Dateien kleiner macht, ohne dass eine neue Dateiendung nötig wird. Zudem soll sich der Keks von RNN-basierten Bildkompressoren sowie von RAISR und WebP abheben.

Das zweite Beispielbild im Blogeintrag des Research Teams von Google: 20 x 24 Pixel Grafik, die das Auge einer Katze zeigt. Nicht komprimiert (links), libjpeg komprimiert (Mitte, viele Artefakte), und per Guetzli komprimiert (rechts, weniger Artefakte).

Das zweite Beispielbild im Blogeintrag des Research Teams von Google: 20 x 24 Pixel Grafik, die das Auge einer Katze zeigt. Nicht komprimiert (links), libjpeg komprimiert (Mitte, viele Artefakte), und per Guetzli komprimiert (rechts, weniger Artefakte).

Mehr Möglichkeiten und bessere Performance für Webmaster

Webmaster sollen durch Guetzli, welches als Open Source Tool daherkommen soll, Speicher und Upload-Zeit sparen. Zudem können Fotografen ihre Bilder fürs Web komprimieren, ohne zu viel Qualitätsverlust befürchten zu müssen. Bei gleicher Bildgröße soll durch den neuen Encoder für JPEG- bzw. JPG-Dateien eine Ersparnis beim Speicherplatz von zirka 35% erreichbar sein. Besser noch als auf dem obigen Bild sieht man die bei Guetzli vergleichsweise wenigen Artefakte in komprimierten Bildern auf dieser Grafik:

16 x 16 Pixel Grafik, die eine Telefon-Oberleitung vor blauem Himmel zeigt. Wie oben ist links nichts komprimiert, in der Mitte mit libjpeg und rechts mit Guetzli. Im Vergleich eine noch recht gute Qualität.

16 x 16 Pixel Grafik, die eine Telefon-Oberleitung vor blauem Himmel zeigt. Wie oben ist links nichts komprimiert, in der Mitte mit libjpeg und rechts mit Guetzli. Im Vergleich eine noch recht gute Qualität.

Vielleicht führt der neue Open Source Encoder ja endlich zu einem brauchbaren WordPress Plugin, welches Fotos für Blogger automatisch verkleinert oder für nützliche Mac Apps, die per Drag & Drop Bilder bei guter Qualität verkleinern. Auch ein Plugin für Photoshop wäre wünschenswert, um Bilder direkt in der entsprechenden Codierung auszugeben.

Schnellere Ladezeiten, bessere Bilder, weniger mobiler Datenverbrauch

Nutzer sollen aber ebenso von dem neuen Encoder aus dem Hause Google profitieren. Denn muss der Seitenersteller oder Fotograf seine Bilder für einen bestimmten Webdienst komprimieren, dann bleibt ein hohes Maß an Qualität erhalten. Dabei sinkt aber die Dateigröße sowie entsprechend die Ladezeiten und bei mobiler Internetnutzung das verbrauchte Datenvolumen. Der neue JPEG Encoder soll also umfassend zahlreiche Vorteile bringen.

> > Hier den neuen JPEG Encoder von Google bei GitHub laden < <

Ich bin gespannt, ob und wie Guetzli den Umgang mit JPEG im Web verändern bzw. verbessern wird. Was haltet ihr von dem neuen Google Tool?

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.