Nothing works anymore? Perform a Lego Mindstorms EV3 hardware reset!

Like all computers, the "Brick" - the central control unit of the Lego Mindstorms EV3 set - sometimes "tweaks". Here are a few problems and solutions.

Today I had the rare case that the "Brick", like the fans, the central Lego brick with the microprocessor in the Lego Mindstorms EV3 kit call, didn't make a sound anymore. He was still busy flashing his green LEDs, but he did not take orders anymore. Interestingly, the Bluetooth connection was still active, but it didn't respond to commands from the iPad or to pressing buttons on the brick itself.

Like all computers, the "Brick" - the central control unit of the Lego Mindstorms EV3 set - sometimes "tweaks". Here are a few problems and solutions.

Like all computers, the "Brick" - the central control unit of the Lego Mindstorms EV3 set - sometimes "tweaks". Here are a few problems and solutions.

The solution: a hardware reset of the EV3 brick

In the end, the only thing that helped me was a hardware reset, which is carried out directly on the EV3 brick. This "forces" him to restart. Where - as I have read - it is more of a start to update the firmware in the EV3 Brick. But it doesn't matter: it restarted me and then I was able to upload and start the program again via iPad. So my problems were solved!

Instructions: How to reset the EV3 Brick

The reset can be carried out relatively easily with three buttons:

  1. With two fingers you press the button in the middle and the button to the right of it.
  2. With the finger of the other hand you press the "Back" button at the top left and keep all buttons pressed until the lights and the display of the Lego EV3 brick go out.
  3. Now you let go of all buttons and the brick should restart.

If you want to see the whole thing illustrated again, you can look at these instructions for the "Start in the firmware update mode":

Instructions for a hardware reset of the Lego EV3 brick.

Instructions for a hardware reset of the Lego EV3 brick.

Problems that can occur with the "Brick"

As I have read, there are some problems you can have when switching on or operating the brick. In order to eliminate these sources of error, I have summarized the symptoms / errors and the possible solutions here:

  • After changing the batteries / rechargeable batteries, the EV3 brick is "dead" and no longer reacts. If so, remove the batteries again and check that you did not bend any of the metal clips when you inserted the batteries.
  • When the brick has started it will flash red and then go off. If this happens with the education version, it may be due to a defective battery pack. Lego delivered a defective battery pack in the early versions of the education version, but Lego will replace it.
  • The brick reports "starting", but the boot process never finishes. In this case the firmware has to be reloaded, which can be done with the following steps:
    • Remove and reinsert batteries; press and hold the middle button and the right button until the message "Updating ..." appears; connect the EV3 stone to the computer via USB; Update the firmware by selecting "Firmware Update" in the menu in the Lego app.
  • The EV3 brick is stuck in the firmware update and is not finished. This problem can also be solved with a manual update of the firmware via the computer. To do this, proceed as follows:
    • Press and hold back button, middle button and right button (as in the picture above) until the brick restarts. Then you just let go of the button on the top left and wait until the brick reports "Updating ...". Now let go of the remaining buttons and press the download button in the firmware update tool (the brick has to be attached to the Mac / PC via USB the whole time). The brick now receives the new update and then restarts. If this does not work the first time, the procedure can be repeated several times until it works.
  • The EV3 stone no longer works and won't turn off (that's what happened to me). A manual reset is carried out here. According to the instructions from Lego, the reset does not result in the loss of files and settings on the brick that originate from previous sessions. However, the data of the current session will be deleted. The manual (hardware) reset is carried out as described above (press and hold the top left, center and right buttons until the display and LEDs go out).

The current firmware and the program (Windows / Mac) for the firmware update can be found by the way here on the Lego download page .

(Source for some information: legoengineering.com)

 

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

3 comments

  1. Noah says:

    Thanks really helped.

    • Jana says:

      Hi Jens,
      How long should that take with the reset please ?????? I've been sitting here for a long time and nothing is happening. Please answer and help

      • Jens Kleinholz says:

        Hello jana! I think it took a few seconds. It shouldn't take ages ... but I haven't done anything with it in so long that I can't say how long it actually took. :(

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Nichts geht mehr? Lego Mindstorms EV3 Hardware-Reset durchführen!

Wie alle Computer

Heute hatte ich den seltenen Fall, dass der “Brick”, wie die Fans den zentralen Lego-Stein mit dem Mikroprozessor im Lego Mindstorms EV3 Bausatz nennen, keinen Mucks mehr gemacht hat. Er hat noch fleissig mit seinen grünen LEDs geblinkt, aber Befehle hat er nicht mehr entgegen genommen. Die Bluetooth Verbindung war interessanterweise immernoch aktiv, aber er reagierte weder auf Befehle vom iPad noch auf den Druck von Tasten auf dem Brick selbst.

Wie alle Computer

Wie alle Computer “zickt” auch der “Brick” – die zentrale Steuereinheit des Lego Mindstorms EV3 Sets – manchmal rum. Hier sind ein paar Probleme und Lösungen erläutert.

Die Lösung: Ein Hardware Reset des EV3 Steins

Letztendlich half bei mir nur ein Hardware-Reset, den man direkt am EV3-Stein ausführt. Damit “zwingt” man ihn zum Neustart. Wobei es – wie ich gelesen habe – eher ein Start ist, um die Firmware im EV3 Brick zu aktualisieren. Aber egal: Bei mir hat er einen Neustart ausgeführt und danach konnte ich wieder das Programm per iPad hochladen und starten. Meine Probleme waren also gelöst!

Anleitung: So führt man den Reset am EV3 Brick aus

Den Reset kann man relativ einfach mit drei Tasten ausführen.:

  1. Mit zwei Fingern drückt man den Knopf in der Mitte und den Knopf rechts daneben.
  2. Mit dem Finger der anderen Hand drückt man links oben auf den “Zurück”-Taster und hält alle Tasten solange gedrückt, bis die Lichter und die Anzeige des Lego EV3 Steins ausgehen.
  3. Nun läßt man alle Tasten los und der Brick sollte neu starten.

Möchte man das Ganze nochmal illustriert sehen, kann man diese Anleitung für den “Start in den Firmware Update Modus” anschauen:

Anleitung für einen Hardware-Reset des Lego EV3 Steins.

Anleitung für einen Hardware-Reset des Lego EV3 Steins.

Probleme, die mit dem “Brick” auftreten können

Wie ich nachgelesen habe, gibt es einige Probleme, die man beim Einschalten bzw. beim Betrieb des Bricks haben kann. Um diese Fehlerquellen zu beseitigen, habe ich hier die Symptome/Fehler und die möglichen Lösungen zusammen gefasst:

  • Nach einem Wechsel der Batterien/Akkus ist der EV3-Stein “tot” und gibt keine Reaktion mehr. Wenn dies der Fall ist, sollte man die Batterien nochmals entfernen und prüfen, dass man keine der Metallklammern umgebogen hat, als man die Batterien eingelegt hat.
  • Wenn der Brick gestartet wurde, blinkt er rot auf und geht dann aus. Wenn dies bei der Education-Version passiert, kann es an einem defekten Akku-Pack liegen. Lego hat in den frühen Versionen der Education-Version noch einen defekten Akku-Pack ausgeliefert, der aber von Lego getauscht wird.
  • Der Brick meldet “starting”, aber der Bootvorgang wird nie fertig. In diesem Fall muss die Firmware neu geladen werden, was man mit den folgenden Schritten bewerkstelligt:
    • Batterien entfernen und wieder einlegen; die mittlere Taste und den rechten Button drücken und halten bis die Meldung “Updating…” erscheint; den EV3 Stein per USB an den Computer anschliessen; die Firmware aktualisieren, indem man in der Lego App den Punkt “Firmware Update” im Menü wählt.
  • Der EV3 Stein hängt im Firmware Update fest und wird nicht fertig. Dieses Problem läßt sich ebenfalls mit einem manuellen Update der Firmware über den Computer beheben. Dazu geht man wie folgt vor:
    • Zurück-Taste, mittlere Taste und rechte Taste (wie oben auf dem Bild) drücken und halten, bis der Brick neu startet. Dann läßt man nur oben links die Taste los und wartet, bis der Brick meldet “Updating…”. Nun läßt man die restlichen Tasten los und drückt im Firmware Update Tool auf den Download Button (der Brick muss die ganze Zeit per USB am Mac/PC hängen). Der Brick bekommt nun das neue Update und startet dann neu. Wenn dies beim ersten Mal keinen Erfolg bringt, kann man die Prozedur mehrmals wiederholen, bis es klappt.
  • Der EV3 Stein arbeitet nicht mehr und läßt sich nicht ausschalten (das ist, was bei mir passiert war). Hier führt man einen manuellen Reset durch. Laut der Anleitung von Lego führt der Reset nicht zum Verlust der Dateien und Einstellungen auf dem Brick, die aus früheren Sessions stammen. Die Daten der aktuellen Session werden jedoch gelöscht. Der manuelle (Hardware)-Reset, wird wie oben bereits beschrieben ausgeführt (Tasten oben links, mittig und rechts gedrückt halten, bis die Anzeige und die LEDs ausgehen).

Die aktuelle Firmware und das Programm (Windows/Mac) für das Firmware Update kann man übrigends hier auf der Download-Seite von Lego finden.

(Quelle für einige Infos: legoengineering.com)

 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

1 Kommentar

  1. Noah sagt:

    Danke hat echt weitergeholfen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.