Malwarebytes 3.0 is out: Anti-Virus, Anti-Ransomware, Anti-Exploit, and Web Protection

Malwarebytes 3.0 or Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium the cyber security company and software maker of the same name is out; the revised protection software promises four different modules against malware, spyware, viruses and rootkits. With the new overall package, basically every other program from the division becomes obsolete - nevertheless, the developers have also developed Malwarebytes 3.0 in such a way that it can run parallel to other antivirus programs. That all sounds very good, only one question remains: When is the version for OS X or macOS coming?

Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium protects against viruses, ransomware and other threats. The new all-round protection should offer the best protection currently available against attacks from the network. Image: Screenshot from malwarebytes.com

Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium protects against viruses, ransomware and other threats. The new all-round protection should offer the best protection currently available against attacks from the network. Image: Screenshot from malwarebytes.com

This is Malwarebytes 3.0 (Premium) in short

"Our engineers have made your defenses even better against advanced threats. Malwarebytes 3.0 now offers four modules for combating malware“, It says on the German website of the provider. These four modules are - also according to the website - the following:

  • Anti-Malware
  • anti-malware/antispyware
  • Protection against malicious websites
  • Anti-Rootkit

As has been done with Malwarebytes so far, there is a free trial version with a few permanent and several temporary components. In order to be able to use the latter over a longer period of time, the premium version is required. After 14 days, these components of the trial version become obsolete: real-time protection, anti-exploit, anti-ransomware, protection against malicious websites. Anti-malware / anti-spyware and the anti-rootkit are retained.

The Malwarebytes download can be implemented directly on the provider's website. There is a choice between a test version and the premium version. Image: Screenshot from malwarebytes.com

The Malwarebytes download can be implemented directly on the provider's website. There is a choice between a test version and the premium version. Image: Screenshot from malwarebytes.com

Questions and answers about the new Malwarebytes version

In einem Blog Malwarebytes CEO Marcin Kleczynski not only presented the program, but also answered several questions in the form of an FAQ. In addition, interested parties and users can ask questions under the blog post. Here I would like to translate a few important comments from the post for you:

Can I replace my antivirus with Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium?
Yes; 50% of users have already done this. The new program offers all the necessary protection against various threats, including viruses.

Can Malwarebytes still run alongside Symantec, McAfee, etc.?
Naturally. Malwarebytes 3.0 is compatible with all well-known regular antivirus programs, including Windows Defender and Microsoft Security Essentials.

I already have an anti-malware subscription. How much do i have to pay?
There are no extra costs. The previous (cheaper) subscription costs remain, even if you upgrade to 3.0.

I have an Anti-Malware Lifetime License - does it also apply to 3.0?
Yes. Simply install the new version and off you go.

Inset - More interesting posts on the blog:

 

Operating system: when is Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium for Mac coming?

Already a month ago I got you guys Antivirus and other anti-malware software for Mac presented. This is also becoming more and more important, since Apple products from the iMac to the MacBook to the iPhone, iPad and iPod have long been targets of attack by cyber criminals. The devices have advanced from the hipster module to the mainstream and are therefore worth a detour for rip-offs and troublemakers. So I think the question is justified: When will full Malwarebytes protection for Apple systems come?

User interface of the new program; Image source: blog.malwarebytes.com

User interface of the new program; Image source: blog.malwarebytes.com

So far, only the Windows versions from Windows XP to Windows 10 have been supported by the all-round protection, which can even more or less replace a firewall. For Mac there is "only" the anti-malware program with an anti-Adware-Component. The current protection, which will also be available for companies from 2017, cannot yet be used by Mac users with OS X or macOS. Corresponding questions under the linked blog entry have not yet been answered. (Status: December 13, 2016)

Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium already on iMac, MacBook and MacBook Pro?

Apple Boot Camp or Parallels you can also run Windows on the Mac, quite simply alongside the current Apple operating system. But running two systems on the Mac just to max out an anti-malware program ... that may be too much (unnecessary) hassle. If you have other uses for Windows on the Mac, then you can think about using Malwarebytes on the system to scan the hard drives from the Microsoft operating system. The catch: The program is of course mainly designed for Windows attackers. It is questionable whether it “learns” to also fight OS X or macOS attackers.

More information in the video

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Malwarebytes 3.0 ist draußen: Anti-Virus, Anti-Ransomware, Anti-Exploit und Web-Schutz

Malwarebytes 3.0 bzw. Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium der gleichnamigen Cyber Security Firma und Software-Schmiede ist draußen; die überarbeitete Schutzsoftware verspricht vier verschiedene Module gegen Malware, Spyware, Viren und Rootkits. Mit dem neuen Gesamtpaket wird im Grunde jedes andere Programm aus der Sparte obsolet – dennoch haben die Entwickler auch Malwarebytes 3.0 so entwickelt, dass es parallel zu anderen Antivirenprogrammen laufen kann. Das klingt alles sehr gut, nur bleibt eine Frage: Wann kommt die Version für OS X bzw. macOS?

Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium schützt vor Viren, Ransomware und anderen Bedrohungen. Der neue Rundumschutz soll den aktuell besten Schutz gegen Angriffe aus dem Netz bieten. Bild: Screenshot von malwarebytes.com

Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium schützt vor Viren, Ransomware und anderen Bedrohungen. Der neue Rundumschutz soll den aktuell besten Schutz gegen Angriffe aus dem Netz bieten. Bild: Screenshot von malwarebytes.com

Das ist Malwarebytes 3.0 (Premium) in Kurzform

Unsere Techniker haben Ihre Verteidigung gegen erweiterte Bedrohungen noch weiter verbessert. Malwarebytes 3.0 bietet jetzt vier Module zur Bekämpfung von Schadsoftware“, heißt es auf der deutschen Webseite des Anbieters. Diese vier Module sind – ebenfalls der Webseite nach – folgende:

  • Anti-Malware
  • Anti-Malware/Anti-Spyware
  • Schutz vor bösartigen Websites
  • Anti-Rootkit

Es gibt, wie bei Malwarebytes bisher auch gehandhabt, eine kostenlose Testversion mit wenigen dauerhaften und mehreren temporären Komponenten. Um letztere über einen längeren Zeitraum nutzen zu können, braucht es die Premium-Version. Nach 14 Tagen werden diese Komponenten der Testversion hinfällig: Echtzeitschutz, Anti-Exploit, Anti-Ransomware, Schutz vor bösartigen Websites. Erhalten bleiben Anti-Malware / Anti-Spyware und das Anti-Rootkit.

Der Malwarebytes Download kann direkt auf der Webseite des Anbieters realisiert werden. Es besteht die Auswahl zwischen einer Testversion und der Premium-Variante. Bild: Screenshot von malwarebytes.com

Der Malwarebytes Download kann direkt auf der Webseite des Anbieters realisiert werden. Es besteht die Auswahl zwischen einer Testversion und der Premium-Variante. Bild: Screenshot von malwarebytes.com

Fragen und Antworten zur neuen Malwarebytes Version

In einem Blogbeitrag hat der Malwarebytes CEO Marcin Kleczynski nicht nur das Programm vorgestellt, sondern auch in Form eines FAQ mehrere Fragen beantwortet. Zudem können Interessenten und Nutzer unter dem Blogbeitrag Fragen stellen. Hier möchte ich euch ein paar wichtige Anmerkungen aus dem Beitrag übersetzen:

Kann ich mit Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium mein Antivirenprogramm ersetzen?
Ja; bereits 50 % der User haben dies bereits getan. Das neue Programm bietet jedweden nötigen Schutz vor verschiedenen Bedrohungen, inklusive Viren.

Kann Malwarebytes immer noch neben Symantec, McAfee, etc. betrieben werden?
Natürlich. Malwarebytes 3.0 ist kompatibel mit allen namhaften regulären Antivirenprogrammen, auch Windows Defender und Microsoft Security Essentials.

Ich habe bereits ein Anti-Malware-Abonnement. Wie viel muss ich bezahlen?
Es gibt keine Extrakosten. Die bisherigen (günstigeren) Abokosten bleiben bestehen, auch wenn auf 3.0 hochgerüstet wird.

Ich habe eine Anti-Malware Lifetime-Lizenz (lebenslange Lizenz) – gilt die auch für 3.0?
Ja. Einfach die neue Version installieren und los geht’s.

Betriebssystem: Wann kommt Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium für Mac?

Vor knapp einem Monat habe ich euch bereits Antiviren- und weitere Anti-Malware-Software für Mac vorgestellt. Diese wird auch immer wichtiger, da Apple-Produkte vom iMac über das MacBook hin zu iPhone, iPad und iPod längst zu Angriffszielen von Cyber-Kriminellen geworden sind. Vom Hipster-Modul sind die Geräte zum Mainstream avanciert und daher für Abzocker und Störenfriede einen Abstecher wert. Daher, denke ich, ist die Frage berechtigt: Wann kommt der volle Malwarebytes-Schutz für Apple-Systeme?

Benutzeroberfläche des neuen Programms; Bildquelle: blog.malwarebytes.com

Benutzeroberfläche des neuen Programms; Bildquelle: blog.malwarebytes.com

Bislang werden von dem Rundum-Schutz, der sogar eine Firewall mehr oder minder ersetzen kann, nur die Windows-Versionen von Windows XP bis Windows 10 unterstützt. Für Mac gibt es „nur“ das Anti-Malware-Programm mit einer Anti-Adware-Komponente. Den aktuellen Schutz, den es ab 2017 auch für Unternehmen geben soll, können Mac-User mit OS X oder macOS noch nicht nutzen. Entsprechende Fragen unter dem verlinkten Blogeintrag wurden auch noch nicht beantwortet. (Stand: 13. Dezember 2016)

Malwarebytes 3.0 Premium jetzt schon auf iMac, MacBook und MacBook Pro?

Per Apple Boot Camp oder Parallels könnt ihr Windows auch auf dem Mac laufen lassen, ganz einfach neben dem aktuellen Apple Betriebssystem. Aber zwei Systeme auf dem Mac laufen zu lassen, nur um ein Anti-Malware-Programm auszureizen… das ist vielleicht zu viel (unnötiger) Aufwand. Wenn ihr anderweitige Verwendung für Windows auf dem Mac habt, dann könnt ihr ja über die Nutzung von Malwarebytes auf dem System nachdenken, um von dem Microsoft Betriebssystem aus die Festplatten zu scannen. Der Haken: Das Programm ist natürlich hauptsächlich auf Windows-Angreifer ausgelegt. Ob es „lernt“, auch OS X oder macOS-Angreifer zu bekämpfen, das ist fraglich.

Weitere Infos im Video

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.