Instructions: NVRAM, PRAM and SMC reset on Mac - reset to solve problems

NVRAM reset, PRAM reset, SMC reset, instructions, Apple Mac, MacBook

Here you will find instructions for resetting or resetting NVRAM, PRAM and SMC on the Apple Mac or MacBook. Many problems that arise when using the Apple Mac can be solved by resetting these three things. Often there are also reader questions here on the blog, the answer to which lies in resetting NVRAM, PRAM and / or SMC. In addition to the instructions for Do It Yourself, I would also like to briefly explain the individual terms.

Update June 22, 2020: Instructions for the SMC reset on Mac and MacBook with T2 Security Chip (End of update)

Resetting RAM and cache memory as well as the control chip: Instructions for the NVRAM, PRAM and SMC reset can be found here

Resetting RAM and cache memory as well as the control chip: Instructions for the NVRAM, PRAM and SMC reset can be found here

A brief explanation of terms: What are NVRAM, PRAM and SMC?

Before we get to the reset of NVRAM, PRAM and SMC, let's first clarify the terms. Not every user knows what to do with NVRAM, PRAM and SMC and may therefore shy away from resetting them accordingly. So here is a brief explanation of the three abbreviations for you:

NVRAM "Non-volatile random access memory“, A non-volatile memory that comes close to RAM, but remains in place even without an external power supply. Unsegmented, hardly limited and non-overwriting memory - hence sometimes a "garbage cache".
PRAM "Random Access Memory parameter“, A memory not dissimilar to NVRAM, but which mainly contains data from the operating system. Among other things, OS X or macOS stores data such as volume, font formation, alarm settings, monitor data, double-click intervals, the hard drive cache, etc. in the PRAM.
SMC "System Management Controller“, A chip on the motherboard of the Mac or MacBook that controls voltage-dependent functions (also and above all of the hardware). Affected here are the fan, USB ports and USB devices, the Bluetooth module, etc. The SMC reset thus solves minor hardware problems and the associated system failures / overloads.

Instructions for NVRAM and PRAM reset: Reset the Mac RAM

Only older Mac models have a PRAM, most newer devices only use NVRAM. Therefore there is only one guide for resetting NVRAM and PRAM. And this is how it works:

  • Turn off your Mac or MacBook (if not already off)
  • Turn on your Mac or MacBook
  • Hold Command + Option (Alt) + P + R (⌘ + ⌥ + P + R) during system startup
  • When the system starts to sound for the second time, release the buttons
  • Then checks information such as the boot hard disk / boot partition, display and time or dates and other system settings; if necessary adjust them again to your preferences

There are problems? Trouble shooting during NVRAM reset

It can happen that when resetting the non-volatile random access memory or the parameter random access memory nothing happens and you only get a gray screen. Here it can help to unplug all USB or Thunderbolt devices. Take the peripherals off the Mac (except of course the keyboard, if it's wired) and switch off the Mac (if it doesn't catch itself and remain in its gray shock). Then repeat the above procedure.

Before we get to the System Management Controller Reset ...

Apple thinks that if you have system problems, i.e. if the hardware is crazy, you shouldn't reset the SMC first. Rather, one should end problematic tasks, restart the computer and so on. If that doesn't help or if the problems keep recurring after the restart, then you should consider the following steps. Apple shows no negative consequences of the reset. Therefore you can use it for trouble shooting.

Instructions for the SMC reset: Reset the system management controller chip

There are different measures to reset the SMC for stationary Apple computers and for various MacBook models. Here I would like to show you the three different approaches. In preparation, the Mac or MacBook must first be shut down (force shutdown if necessary).

There are these differences when resetting:

  • Desktop Mac: Turn off the Mac, disconnect the power cord from the power supply for 15 seconds, then wait another 5 seconds and turn the Mac on again
  • MacBook with removable battery: Remove the MagSafe power supply unit, remove the battery, press the On / Off button for 5 seconds, insert the battery, switch on
  • MacBook with a fixed battery: Remove the MagSafe or USB-C power supply, Shift + Ctrl + Option (Alt) (everything on the left side of the built-in keyboard) and press the On / Off button for 10 seconds, release, plug in the power supply, switch on

Indication that the SMC may need to be reset

The subheading and the following list are to be understood as quotations. The source is this Apple support page. Here are the cases listed there in which you can consider an SMC reset to solve the problem:

  • The computer fans run at high speed even though the computer is not being used heavily and is well ventilated.
  • The keyboard backlight is behaving incorrectly.
  • The status light behaves incorrectly.
  • The battery status indicator, if present, behaves incorrectly (on Mac notebooks without a removable battery).
  • The display backlight does not respond properly to changes in ambient lighting.
  • The computer does not respond when the power button is pressed.
  • The Mac notebook does not behave properly when it is opened or closed.
  • The computer goes to sleep or turns off unexpectedly.
  • The battery is not charging properly.
  • The MagSafe power supply LED does not indicate activity properly.
  • The computer is unusually slow even though it is not using an unusually high CPU load.
  • Program icons "jump" in the Dock for an excessive amount of time when the associated programs are opened.
  • Applications do not work properly or stop responding after opening.
  • A computer that supports the screen synchronization mode does not switch to the target screen or back suddenly as expected or suddenly.
  • Lights around I / O ports on a Mac Pro (Late 2013) don't turn on when you move the computer.

Any questions?

Were these instructions helpful or missing a detail? Is something unclear or could I help you? Feel free to leave a comment about the reset of NVRAM, PRAM and SMC;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

15 comments

  1. Sascha says:

    Where does an iMAc write, what kind of keyboard does it start with? At
    Thanks to my iMac, I often have to change the keyboard layout to enter the hard disk password, but not always because it is in the wrong language.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hey Sascha! I don't know exactly in which RAM it is saved, but with me this has now occurred in exceptional cases with the wrong keyboard layout. I think times during a recovery or during an action with the hard disk encryption. As far as I know, resetting NVRAM, PRAM or SMC will not affect this. I recently did these resets on an iMac and was still able to log in with a password (which also contained umlauts). Maybe a reader has more information ... but unfortunately I don't know exactly when this will occur with the US keyboard layout. VG! Jens

  2. Sandro says:

    Hallo,
    can i do a PRAM and an SMC reset on an iMac at the same time, or does it cause complications?
    (In other words: switch off and disconnect from the power supply; wait 15 seconds; plug in; wait 5 seconds; press Alt CMD PR and switch on)
    I have to do this more often with my somewhat older and heavily used iMac and now wonder whether this can have negative consequences.
    Many thanks for the answer

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hi Sandro! That doesn't actually have any negative consequences. It's just a deletion of a cache. It may take a little longer for the Mac to boot for the first time, but nothing more should happen. What problems are you having with your iMac that you need to perform these resets? LG! Jens

    • Markus says:

      Hello, I also have this phenomenon every now and then. which OS do you have with the problem? I use an external Logitech keyboard (macOS Mojawe) and it is not recognized during a reboot if I do not want to enter my password when logging in. The computer recognizes other keyboards from Apple and Kannex. after booting the keyboard is back ... I have the whole thing on a Macbook Pro and a Macbook. Anyone have an idea? I did Nvram and SMC.

      • Sir Apfelot says:

        Hi Markus! With some keyboards you have to type a bit when logging in before they pair. But what surprises me: Logitech normally supports Macs quite reliably. Unfortunately, I don't know why the keyboard doesn't work ... I also have no idea what to do with it. Has the problem been since Mojave or before?

        • Markus says:

          Hello, the problem has only appeared since Mojawe. And as I said, both on the Macbook Pro and on my little Macbook. Specifically, it's about the Logitech Craft and the MX Ergo trackball. I also do Apple support myself, but at the moment I don't know what to do next.

  3. Klaus says:

    Hello, my iMac (older model) takes forever to start. After entering the PIN, the beach ball runs continuously. Would a PRAM reset be worthwhile? I have Yosemite on it. thanks

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Klaus! You can't go wrong with the reset. With a slow system start you could also check whether the start volume is set correctly and, if necessary, check where it "hangs" by restarting in Verbose mode (hold down the cmd + V key during restart). Most of the time it gives an error there. You can then view these logs in the console (Utilities> Console) and see why it is hanging. LG! Jens

  4. Joachim says:

    I have the problem that my iMac (Late2017) loses the bluetooth connection after booting, but not always, and logging in for several minutes, first mouse, then keyboard, even after waking up. But not always. I also connected a cable mouse and when I go to Bluetooth with this in the head bar, the rotating ball comes

  5. Rainer says:

    Hello. Apparently I'm doing something wrong with the safe boot. Immediately after the on / off switch, I press Shift and still don't get a bar but the normal login screen. It worked once, not since then. Urgently need to remove incompatible software that is preventing the system from starting. Is there still another possibility? Regards, R

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Hello Rainer! We're talking about the same key, aren't we? The Shift key that is used to make capital letters. : D An alternative would be to boot with CMD + R and then delete the corresponding data on the hard disk via the terminal. You won't get a real finder there. Or the last - somewhat cumbersome - solution: boot with CMD + R, then install a fresh system on an external hard drive, boot from there and then delete the incompatible program from the internal hard drive. I hope you can somehow manage it. LG!

  6. Reinhard Brakel says:

    Hello my dears. My MacBook Pro at the end of 2008 starts up as usual, but the startup process aborts and turns off again. What can I do?

    • Jens Kleinholz says:

      Hello Reinhard! Does he do that when he's on the cable? Have you ever tried booting with the SHIFT key pressed (Safe Mode)? Or boot in recovery mode (with pressed CMD + R key)? I would try to restore an external hard drive with a fresh macOS and boot from it. The system may have a problem on the internal disk. If you want more answers from other readers, I would give you that Sir Apfelot Forum recommend. There are already some experts out there who have more knowledge than I do. : D

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Anleitung: NVRAM, PRAM und SMC Reset am Mac – Zurücksetzen um Probleme zu lösen

NVRAM Reset, PRAM zurücksetzen, SMC Reset, Anleitung, Apple Mac, MacBook

Hier bekommt ihr eine Anleitung für den Reset bzw. für das Zurücksetzen von NVRAM, PRAM und SMC beim Apple Mac oder MacBook. Viele Probleme, die sich bei der Nutzung des Apple Mac ergeben, können mit dem Reset dieser drei Sachen gelöst werden. Oft gibt es hier im Blog auch Leserfragen, deren Antwort beim Zurücksetzen von NVRAM, PRAM und / oder  SMC liegt. Neben der Anleitung zum Do It Yourself möchte ich die einzelnen Begriffe auch kurz erklären.

Zurücksetzen von RAM und Cache Speicher sowie des Kontroll-Chips: eine Anleitungen für den NVRAM, PRAM und SMC Reset gibt's hier

Zurücksetzen von RAM und Cache Speicher sowie des Kontroll-Chips: eine Anleitungen für den NVRAM, PRAM und SMC Reset gibt’s hier

Kleine Begriffsklärung: Was sind NVRAM, PRAM und SMC?

Bevor wir zum Reset von NVRAM, PRAM und SMC kommen, wollen wir doch erst einmal die Begriffe klären. Nicht jeder Nutzer weiß etwas mit NVRAM, PRAM und SMC anzufangen und scheut sich deshalb vielleicht auch vor dem entsprechenden Zurücksetzen. Deshalb hier eine kurze Klärung der drei Abkürzungen für euch:

NVRAMNon-Volatile Random-Access Memory“, ein nichtflüchtiger Speicher, der dem RAM nahekommt, aber auch ohne externe Stromzufuhr bestehen bleibt. Unsegmentierter, kaum limitierter und nicht überschreibender Speicher – daher manchmal ein „Müll-Cache“.
PRAMParameter Random Access Memory“, ein dem NVRAM nicht unähnlicher Speicher, der allerdings vor allem Daten des Betriebssystems enthält. Unter anderem speichert OS X oder macOS im PRAM Daten wie Lautstärke, Schriftformation, Weckereinstellungen, Monitordaten, Doppelklickintervalle, den Festplattencache, etc.
SMCSystem Management Controller“, ein Chip auf der Hauptplatine des Mac oder MacBook, der spannungsabhängige Funktionen (auch und vor allem der Hardware) steuert. Betroffen sind hier u. a. der Lüfter, USB Ports und USB Geräte, das Bluetooth Modul, etc. Der SMC Reset löst also kleinere Hardware-Probleme und damit verbundene System-Ausfälle /-Überlastungen.

Anleitung zum NVRAM und PRAM Reset: den Mac RAM zurücksetzen

Nur noch ältere Mac Modelle haben einem PRAM, die meisten neueren Geräte nutzen ausschließlich den NVRAM. Deshalb gibt es nur eine Anleitung für das Zurücksetzen von NVRAM und PRAM. Und das geht so:

  • Mac oder MacBook ausschalten (falls nicht schon aus)
  • Mac oder MacBook einschalten
  • Während des Systemstarts Command + Option (Alt) + P + R halten (⌘ + ⌥ + P + R)
  • Wenn der zweite Startton des Systems erklingt, die Tasten loslassen
  • Checkt danach Angaben wie die Start-Festplatte / Start-Partition, Display und Zeit bzw. Datumsangaben und andere Systemeinstellungen; passt sie ggf. wieder euren Präferenzen an

Gibt es Probleme? Trouble Shooting beim NVRAM Reset

Es kann vorkommen, dass beim Zurücksetzen des Non-Volatile Random-Access Memory bzw. Parameter Random Access Memory nichts passiert und ihr nur einen grauen Bildschirm angezeigt bekommt. Hier kann es helfen, alle USB- bzw. Thunderbolt-Geräte abzustöpseln. Nehmt die Peripherie vom Mac (außer natürlich die Tastatur, falls sie kabelgebunden ist) und schaltet den Mac aus (sollte er sich nicht fangen und in seiner grauen Schockstarre verharren). Wiederholt dann das obige Vorgehen.

Bevor wir zum System Management Controller Reset kommen…

Apple meint, man solle bei Systemproblemen, also wenn die Hardware spinnt, nicht als erstes den SMC zurücksetzen. Vielmehr soll man problematische Tasks beenden, den Rechner neu starten und so weiter. Falls das nichts hilft oder die Probleme auch nach dem Neustart immer wieder auftreten, dann solltet ihr die folgenden Schritte in Betracht ziehen. Apple zeigt keine negativen Konsequenzen des Resets auf. Daher könnt ihr ihn fürs Trouble Shooting nutzen.

Anleitung für den SMC Reset: den System Management Controller Chip zurücksetzen

Für die stationären Apple Rechner sowie für verschiedene MacBook Modelle gibt es unterschiedliche Maßnahmen, um den SMC zurückzusetzen. Hier möchte ich euch die drei verschiedenen Vorgehensweisen aufzeigen. Zur Vorbereitung muss der Mac oder das MacBook vorerst runtergefahren werden (zur Not das Runterfahren erzwingen).

Es gibt beim Reset diese Unterschiede:

  • Desktop Mac: Mac ausschalten, Netzkabel für 15 Sekunden von der Stromversorgung trennen, danach nochmal 5 Sekunden warten und den Mac wieder einschalten
  • MacBook mit herausnehmbarem Akku: MagSafe-Netzteil abnehmen, Akku entnehmen, Ein/Aus Taste für 5 Sekunden drücken, Akku einsetzen, einschalten
  • MacBook mit festem Akku: MagSafe- oder USB-C-Netzteil abnehmen, Shift + Strg + Option (Alt) (alles auf der linken Seite der eingebauten Tastatur) und Ein/Aus Taste für 10 Sekunden drücken, loslassen, Netzteil anstecken, einschalten

Anzeichen, dass ein Zurücksetzen des SMC notwendig sein könnte

Die Zwischenüberschrift sowie die folgende Liste sind als Zitat zu verstehen. Die Quelle ist diese Apple-Support-Seite. Hier die dort aufgelisteten Fälle, in denen ihr einen SMC Reset zur Lösung des Problems in Betracht ziehen könnt:

  • Die Computerlüfter werden mit hoher Drehzahl betrieben, obwohl der Computer nicht stark beansprucht wird und gut belüftet ist.
  • Die Hintergrundbeleuchtung der Tastatur verhält sich fehlerhaft.
  • Die Statusleuchte verhält sich fehlerhaft.
  • Die Batteriestatusanzeige, sofern vorhanden, verhält sich fehlerhaft (bei Mac-Notebooks ohne herausnehmbarer Batterie).
  • Die Hintergrundbeleuchtung des Displays reagiert nicht richtig auf Änderungen der Umgebungsbeleuchtung.
  • Der Computer reagiert nicht auf die Betätigung des Ein-/Ausschalters.
  • Das Mac-Notebook verhält sich beim Auf- bzw. Zuklappen nicht ordnungsgemäß.
  • Der Computer wechselt unerwartet in den Ruhezustand oder schaltet sich aus.
  • Die Batterie wird nicht richtig aufgeladen.
  • Die LED des MagSafe-Netzteils zeigt die Aktivität nicht richtig an.
  • Der Computer ist ungewöhnlich langsam, obwohl keine ungewöhnlich hohe CPU-Belastung besteht.
  • Programmsymbole „springen“ im Dock übermäßig lange, wenn die zugehörigen Programme geöffnet werden.
  • Anwendungen funktionieren nicht richtig oder reagieren nach dem Öffnen nicht mehr.
  • Ein Computer, der den Bildschirm-Synchronisationsmodus unterstützt, schaltet nicht wie erwartet oder plötzlich zum Ziel-Bildschirm oder zurück.
  • Die Beleuchtung um die E/A-Ports eines Mac Pro (Ende 2013) werden nicht aktiviert, wenn Sie den Computer bewegen.

Noch Fragen?

Waren diese Anleitungen hilfreich oder fehlt ein Detail? Ist etwas unklar oder konnte ich euch weiterhelfen? Lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Reset von NVRAM, PRAM und SMC da 😉

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

7 Comments

  1. Sascha sagt:

    Wo schreibt ein iMAc hin, mit was für einer Tastatur er startet? Bei
    Danke meinem iMac muss ich zur Eingabe des Festplattenpasswrds oft, aber nicht immer das Tastaturlayut ändern, weil es in einer falschen Sprache ist.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Sascha! Ich weiss nicht so genau in welchem RAM das gespeichert wird, aber bei mir ist das mit dem falschen Tastaturlayout nun in Ausnahmefällen aufgetreten. Ich glaube mal bei einer Wiederherstellung oder bei einer Aktion mit der Festplattenverschlüsselung. Soweit ich weiss, wird das beim Zurücksetzen des NVRAM, PRAM oder SMC nicht beeinflusst. Ich hatte diese Resets letztens bei einem iMac gemacht und konnte trotzdem mit einem Passwort (in dem auch Umlaute vorkamen) einloggen. Vielleicht hat ja ein Leser noch mehr Infos… aber ich weiss leider nicht genau, wann das mit dem US-Tastaturlayout auftritt. VG! Jens

  2. Sandro sagt:

    Hallo,
    kann man einen PRAM und eine SMC-Reset bei einem iMac gleichzeitig durchführen, oder führt das zu Komplikationen?
    (Sprich: Ausschalten und vom Strom trennen; 15 Sekunden warten; einstecken; 5 Sekunden warten; Alt CMD P R drücken und einschalten)
    Muss das bei meinem schon etwas älteren und stark gebrauchten iMac öfters machen und frage mich nun ob das negative Folgen haben kann.
    Vielen Dank für die Antwort

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Sandro! Das kein eigentlich keine negativen Folgen haben. Es ist ja nur ein Löschen von einem Zwischenspeicher. Es kann sein, dass der Mac beim ersten Booten dann etwas länger benötigt, aber mehr sollte nicht passieren. Welche Probleme treten an deinem iMac auf, dass du diese Resets durchführen musst? LG! Jens

    • Markus sagt:

      Hallo, ich hab das Phänomen auch ab und an. welches OS habt ihr mit dem Problem? Ich habe eine externe Logitech-Tastatur (macOS Mojawe) im Einsatz und bei einem Reboot wird diese nicht erkannt wenn ich mein Passwort beim Login nicht eingeben will. Andere Tastaturen von Apple und Kannex erkennet der Rechner. nach dem Booten ist die Tastatur wieder da..das ganze hab ich auf einem Macbook Pro und einem Macbook. Irgendjemand eine Idee? Nvram und SMC hab ich durchgeführt.

      • Sir Apfelot sagt:

        Hallo Markus! Bei manchen Tastaturen muss man beim Login erst ein bisschen Tippen, bis sie sich koppeln. Aber was mich wundert: Normalerweise unterstützt Logitech die Macs recht zuverlässig. Warum die Tastatur nicht klappt, weiss ich leider nicht… Ich hätte auch keine Idee, was man da machen könnte. Ist das Problem erst seit Mojave oder schon vorher gewesen?

        • Markus sagt:

          Hallo, das Problem tritt erst seit Mojawe auf. Und wie gesagt, sowohl auf dem Macbook Pro als auch auf meinem kleinen Macbook. Konkret geht es um die Logitech Craft und den Trackball MX Ergo. Ich mach selbst auch Apple-Support, aber ich weiss im Moment nicht mehr weiter.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.