Inexpensive Palette Gear Alternative: Control Lightroom with a MIDI controller

Cheap Palette Gear Alternative Cheap For Lightroom

Use Lightroom with a MIDI controller: You use Lightroom and want to improve your workflow, but you don't want to spend hundreds of euros to use the buttons, sliders and knobs of Palette Gear to buy? Then you should look in the direction of the MIDI controllers and MIDI consoles. I also recently discovered this affordable alternative to Palette Gear; but find it ideal for everyone who wants to save and doesn't necessarily have to have a modular system. Somehow it sounds logical too, doesn't it? Why not operate Lightroom with a MIDI controller?

Operate Lightroom with a MIDI controller: photo editing with a USB mixer.

Operate Lightroom with a MIDI controller: photo editing with a USB mixer. (Image sources: Amazon / Adobe)

Cheaper than Palette Gear: MIDI controllers are an alternative

MIDI controllers, i.e. mixing consoles that are actually intended for creating, mixing and other work on music, offer an inexpensive alternative to Palette Gear. For a fraction of the price and with software that lets you connect MIDI consoles to Lightroom, you can speed up your workflow cheaply. In this article I would like to introduce you to a few MIDI mixing consoles for Windows PC, Apple Mac or MacBook as well as Apple iPad. I have also put together links to the appropriate MIDI software for Lightroom;)

Recommended reading: In-depth article on Palette Gear (and a bit of Loupedeck)

MIDI mixer for controlling Adobe Lightroom

Modern MIDI controllers are no longer attached to the Mac or PC in a complicated manner with adapters and dongles, but simply plugged in via USB. You only need a corresponding adapter (to Lightning) if you want to connect the USB MIDI desk to the iPad. Here I have found you four MIDI controllers for use with Lightroom. For a very flexible workflow, a wireless one is also included (but you can also choose the cable version at a low price on the product page):

11,00 EUR
KORG nanoKONTROL2 with eight channels
Instead of using Palette Gear, you can simply use Lightroom with a MIDI controller for 55 euros, for example with this one. Eight channels each have a rotary control and a fader (slider). The MIDI desk with USB connection is available in black and white (to match the Mac).
AKAI Professional LPD8 Wireless
This wireless MIDI controller can be connected to Mac, Windows PC and iPad via Bluetooth. You can get the wired version for just under 50 euros. There are more details on the Amazon product page.
Samson SAKGRMF8
The third MIDI controller with which you can operate Lightroom cheaply via a mixer. The Samson model also has eight channels. Ideal for adjusting the most important settings.
NOVATION launch control
Operate Lightroom with the MIDI controller? This also works with this model from NOVATION, which, however, has a long delivery time. Pads and two rotary controls per channel provide many possibilities.

Rotary knobs, sliders and pads for graphic settings

The rotary knobs, sliders and pads can be used for music production in Adobe graphics programs as well as for image processing and post-processing of photos. For example, if you keep using the same settings (brightness, contrast, saturation, etc.), simply place them on the sliders and forget about mouse and keyboard shortcuts - just turn and slide!

The Gear Alternative range "in the making": loud deck

The right software belongs to the hardware

Thanks to these programs for Windows PC, iPad with iOS or Mac with OS X or macOS, you can operate Adobe Lightroom via MIDI controller and use the various controls via haptic control units:

  • knob room (Lightroom MIDI plugin for Mac, MacBook, etc.)
  • PF fixer (ready for Lightroom 6 / CC and macOS Sierra)
  • MIDI2LR (OS X 10.9 and higher; Windows 7/8/10; Lightroom 6 / CC)
  • Paddy (Windows and iOS on the iPad; not yet for Lightroom CC)

Controlling Lightroom with a MIDI controller: your opinion

Do you use Palette Gear, are you waiting for Loupedeck or do you tend to prefer the cheaper alternative in the form of MIDI controllers? For little money and with the right software and a little time to adjust all the sliders, buttons and pads, you can put together a good Lightroom control here, right? If you use Lightroom with MIDI controllers, please leave a comment! Thanks :)

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

2 comments

  1. Tobias says:

    Hello :-)

    great article.
    Can you then also save presets on the buttons? So presets from Lightroom?

    Have a nice weekend

    Tobias

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello, tobias! Exactly ... you can use the P1-P8 buttons to define any number of presets that will then be used. LG and you also have a nice WE! Jens

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

Günstige Palette Gear Alternative: Lightroom mit MIDI Controller steuern

Lightroom mit MIDI Controller nutzen: Ihr verwendet Lightroom und wollt euren Workflow verbessern, aber dafür nicht hunderte Euros ausgeben, um euch die Knöpfe, Schieberegler und Drehknöpfe von Palette Gear zu kaufen? Dann solltet ihr mal in die Richtung der MIDI Controller und MIDI Pulte schauen. Ich habe diese günstige Alternative zu Palette Gear auch erst kürzlich entdeckt; finde sie aber ideal für alle, die sparen wollen und nicht unbedingt ein modulares System haben müssen. Irgendwie klingt es auch logisch, oder? Warum nicht Lightroom mit einem MIDI Controller bedienen?

Lightroom mit MIDI Controller bedienen: Fotobearbeitung mit USB Mischpult.

Lightroom mit MIDI Controller bedienen: Fotobearbeitung mit USB Mischpult. (Bildquellen: Amazon / Adobe)

Günstiger als Palette Gear: Alternative sind MIDI Controller

MIDI Controller, also Mischpulte, die eigentlich für die Erstellung, das Mischen und weitere Arbeiten an Musik gedacht sind, bieten eine günstige Alternative zu Palette Gear. Für einen Bruchteil des Preises sowie mit Software, die euch MIDI Pulte mit Lightroom koppeln lässt, könnt ihr euren Workflow billig beschleunigen. In diesem Artikel möchte ich euch ein paar MIDI Mischpulte für Windows PC, Apple Mac oder MacBook sowie Apple iPad vorstellen. Dazu habe ich auch Links zur passenden MIDI Software für Lightroom zusammengetragen 😉

Lesetipp: Ausführlicher Artikel zu Palette Gear (und ein bisschen Loupedeck)

Mehr für dich:
Loupedeck vorbestellen: Mischpult für Lightroom kaufen

MIDI Mischpult für die Steuerung von Adobe Lightroom

Moderne MIDI Controller werden nicht mehr kompliziert mit Adaptern und Dongles am Mac oder PC festgemacht, sondern ganz einfach per USB eingestöpselt. Nur wenn ihr das USB MIDI Pult mit dem iPad verbinden wollt, braucht ihr einen entsprechenden Adapter (auf Lightning). Hier habe ich euch mal vier MIDI Controller für die Verwendung mit Lightroom zusammengesucht. Für den ganz flexiblen Workflow ist auch ein kabelloser dabei (auf der Produktseite könnt ihr aber auch die Kabel-Version zum kleinen Preis wählen):

KORG nanoKONTROL2 mit acht Kanälen
24 Bewertungen
KORG nanoKONTROL2 mit acht Kanälen
Statt mit Palette Gear könnt ihr auch einfach für 55 Euro Lightroom mit MIDI Controller nutzen, zum Beispiel mit diesem. Acht Kanäle bieten je einen Drehregler und einen Fader (Schieberegler). Das MIDI Pult mit USB-Anschluss gibt es in Schwarz und Weiß (passend zum Mac).
AKAI Professional LPD8 Wireless
36 Bewertungen
AKAI Professional LPD8 Wireless
Dieser kabellose MIDI Controller lässt sich per Bluetooth mit Mac, Windows PC und iPad koppeln. Für knapp 50 Euro bekommt ihr die kabelgebundene Version. Auf der Produktseite von Amazon gibt’s weitere Details.
Samson SAKGRMF8
3 Bewertungen
Samson SAKGRMF8
Der dritte MIDI Controller, mit dem ihr Lightroom günstig per Mischpult bedienen könnt. Auch das Samson Modell bringt acht Kanäle mit. Ideal, um die wichtigsten Einstellungen zu regeln.
NOVATION Launch Control
7 Bewertungen
NOVATION Launch Control
Lightroom mit dem MIDI Controller bedienen? Das geht auch mit diesem Modell von NOVATION, das allerdings eine lange Lieferzeit hat. Pads und zwei Drehregler pro Kanal sorgen für viele Möglichkeiten.

Drehknöpfe, Schieberegler und Pads für Grafikeinstellungen

Die Drehknöpfe, Schieberegler und Pads könnt ihr neben der Musikproduktion in Adobe-Grafikprogrammen auch für die Bildbearbeitung bzw. für die Nachbearbeitung von Fotos verwenden. Wenn ihr beispielsweise immer wieder die gleichen Einstellungen (Helligkeit, Kontrast, Sättigung, etc.) nutzt, legt diese einfach auf die Regler und vergesst Maus und Tastatur Shortcuts – einfach drehen und schieben!

Mehr für dich:
Thunderbolt und USB-C Displays für das MacBook Pro 2016: Monitore, Adapter und Co

Die Palette Gear Alternative „in der Mache“: Loupedeck

Zur Hardware gehört die richtige Software

Dank dieser Programme für Windows PC, iPad mit iOS oder Mac mit OS X bzw. macOS könnt ihr Adobe Lightroom per MIDI Controller bedienen und die verschiedenen Regler über haptische Steuereinheiten nutzen:

  • Knobroom (Lightroom MIDI Plugin für Mac, MacBook, etc.)
  • PFixer (bereit für Lightroom 6 / CC und macOS Sierra)
  • MIDI2LR (OS X 10.9 und höher; Windows 7 / 8 / 10; Lightroom 6 / CC)
  • Paddy (Windows und iOS auf dem iPad; noch nicht für Lightroom CC)

Lightroom mit MIDI Controller steuern: Eure Meinung

Nutzt ihr Palette Gear, wartet ihr auf Loupedeck oder tendiert ihr eher zur günstigen Alternative in Form von MIDI Controllern? Für kleines Geld und mit der richtigen Software sowie ein bisschen Zeit zur Einstellung aller Schieberegler, Knöpfe und Pads lässt sich hier doch eine gute Lightroom-Steuerung zusammenstellen, oder? Wenn ihr Lightroom mit MIDI Controllern nutzt, dann lasst bitte einen entsprechenden Kommentar da! Danke 🙂

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
55
Mehr für dich:
Adobe Lightroom 5 Handbuch

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.