StopTheMadness Pro – Comprehensive browser plugin for better web experience

StopTheMadness Pro is a browser extension that can be used in Safari, Firefox and Chrome on the Apple Mac as well as Safari on the iPhone and iPad. It ensures that websites cannot overwrite functions such as context menus, scroll bars, keyboard shortcuts, etc. It also takes care of cookies and stops animations on websites. There are also many options for customization, such as automatically selecting the right YouTube subtitles. Settings for individual pages can be transferred directly to others, eliminating the need to recompose them each time.

One of the explanatory screenshots of StopTheMadness Pro from the Mac App Store
One of the explanatory screenshots of StopTheMadness Pro from the Mac App Store

StopTheMadness Pro from Underpass App Company

The extensive plugin comes from Jeff Johnson's Underpass App Company software company. In addition to StopTheMadness Pro, the developer also offers utilities such as StopTheScript (stops all JavaScript), StopTheFonts (blocks web fonts in Safari), Homecoming for Mastodon (opens Mastodon links in its own instance) and the Link Unshortener (already presented here) on.

Before offering his own app, Jeff Johnson worked at Rogue Amoeba and worked on the RSS reader Vienna tinkered. In short: the plugin described here comes from capable hands. You can find out more about developer Jeff Johnson and what he offers on the official website of his software company: https://underpassapp.com/ 

Plugin task 1: Eliminate inconvenience

On some pages it becomes apparent quite quickly that one or another browser function has been deactivated. If you lead e.g. For example, if you right-click to open a context menu, it can either be blocked completely or some items can be removed from it. This makes it difficult to access the page's source code, copy text, or download an image. 

And these are all things that should at least be possible for private use. StopTheMadness Pro ensures that the above and many other functions are available again and you can do whatever you want with the websites you access. You can also add additional context menu items.

Plugin task 2: Simplify web usage

But StopTheMadness Pro doesn't just bring back browser functions so that you can use all possible usage options again. The extension can also be used to set various presets for websites so that you have to click and type less on them. As already mentioned at the beginning, this includes setting the subtitle language for YouTube.

On the Mac there is also the option to block the banners of many sites that offer notifications about new content. An additional context menu also makes it possible to hide individual elements of a website (e.g. advertising, videos or large images). Last but not least, thanks to StopTheMadness Pro, you can also prevent changing key combinations so that you can continue to use the familiar ones without unintentionally using an individual page function.

Large overview of functions in the App Store

Listing all the functions and possible uses here would go beyond the scope. If you want to find out about the individual features before buying StopTheMadness Pro, you can also visit the developer's website linked above App Store landing page study. The feature lists and screenshots stored there on both the Mac and the iPhone and iPad show the numerous usage and setting options.

Does the “udm=14” trick work with StopTheMadness Pro?

Jeff Johnson also recently addressed this question. As a quick introduction: Using the addition &udm=14 in the URL of a Google search limits the results to a list of websites. This means that videos, question-and-answer boxes, advertising results and the like disappear. More about it here: Skip past videos, Q&As and AI texts – get to Google web results faster.

By the way, the answer to the question is yes! You should do this follow these instructions Use the redirects function for automatic redirections. It shows which pattern needs to be entered and which replacement needs to be specified. If you just want it to work, you can be satisfied with it. For anyone who wants information about the functionality of the whole thing, the technical details of the procedure are also discussed.

Buy StopTheMadness Pro once and use it on multiple devices

As you can see on the App Store page for Mac, iPhone and iPad linked above, StopTheMadness Pro is a paid browser plugin. It costs 17,99 euros and is therefore more for those who benefit from the individual setting options and features. It may be too expensive to try out and play around with. What puts the price into perspective, however, is the fact that a single purchase enables use on multiple devices - Mac, iPhone and iPad alike.

Various browsers can also be equipped with it on the Mac. In addition to Safari, the plugin also works with Chrome and Firefox. If you have already bought the previous version (StopTheMadness without “Pro”), you can upgrade to the new version at a discount. In addition to a list of the many features, there is corresponding information and explanations on the App Store website.

Conclusion on StopTheMadness Pro

Anyone who is annoyed by limited browser functions, newly defined keyboard shortcuts, automatically played animations, notification banners, cookie queries, web fonts and the like could find the holy grail of website use in StopTheMadness Pro. A lot of time and smart thinking went into this extension for Safari, Chrome and Firefox. The result is a comprehensive tool that is certainly useful for several target groups. 

My tips & tricks about technology & Apple

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership would support.

12 comments on “StopTheMadness Pro – Comprehensive browser plugin for a better web experience”

  1. What is missing from the article:
    Such browser extensions can cause security and privacy issues, as has happened countless times.
    If necessary, use at least your own browser profile for the extension, not in the main profile!

    “It (the extension) also takes care of cookies”

    Something like that can quickly backfire. The website only has to change something in the cookie banner and data is sent, “thanks” to the automation of the extension, even without the user’s knowledge.

    1. Jen Kleinholz

      I think the security and data protection problems are just as high as if you install any app on your PC. You should just consider which codes you should and should not include in this browser extension.

      And regarding the cookie banner: To be honest, I no longer read what I tick off. The idea behind the cookie banners was nice, but something like that should have been adjustable at the browser level. I don't want to have to say "Only the necessary ones" on every page, but I want to tell my browser that once and then it should work. If that goes wrong in one case, I personally think it's worth the risk. But of course everyone has to assess and decide for themselves. The more elegant solution would be if I could define this globally for all websites anyway. But to do that, the EU will probably have to step on a few people's toes again - and whether that will happen is very questionable.

  2. Hallo,
    very interesting post about an interesting extension.

    But what about safety when using it?
    “This extension can change the pages you visit and view your browsing history across all websites. This includes sensitive information from websites, including passwords, phone numbers and credit cards.”

    To be honest, using this extension looks like you're swapping plague for cholera.

    1. For many apps, this is a matter of personal preference. If the company behind it seems dubious to you, you shouldn't install anything. With a paid extension that has been developed by the same people for many years, I am personally willing to take the risk. But as I said: This is always a matter of personal taste. With every password manager, I also trust the developers. As the saying goes: You have to pick your poison. 😊

      1. Why use third-party password managers? Nowadays, every browser offers this natively without advertising, tracking, money and in a safe and convenient way.

      2. But why take the risk?
        Just so I don't see any ads on YouTube?

        If things go wrong, there will be a lot of screaming and you may have massive problems if credit card details or passwords are stolen.

        I also only use the iCloud Keychain as a password manager. Apple has already saved my data anyway.
        The more I spread my personal data, the more likely it is that it will blow up in my face at some point.
        Then I'd rather forego some comfort.

        1. Yes, your approach is correct. The fewer services you use and data spread around, the safer you are. I also always weigh up how much trust I have in an extension and the developers behind it. But comfort is a great temptation. 😊

    2. Things get really interesting when the extension is compromised, for example through a sale or through manipulation on the part of the developer.

        1. I sometimes have to use Chrome and sometimes Firefox and then Mac and iPad and iPhone. I'd rather have a PW manager. But everyone can hold it as they like.

          1. I prefer Firefox, but some sites mess with Firefox and I always have to test customer websites with different browsers. It's really special... certainly not everyone needs it.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Specials
Shopping
  •  
  •

StopTheMadness Pro – Umfangreiches Browser-Plugin für besseres Web-Erlebnis

StopTheMadness Pro ist eine Browser-Erweiterung, die in Safari, Firefox und Chrome am Apple Mac sowie Safari am iPhone und iPad genutzt werden kann. Sie sorgt dafür, dass Webseiten keine Funktionen wie Kontextmenüs, Scrollbars, Tastenkombinationen u. ä. überschreiben können. Zudem kümmert sie sich um Cookies und stoppt Animationen auf Webseiten. Es stehen zudem viele Möglichkeiten für die individuelle Anpassung bereit, etwa für die automatische Auswahl der richtigen YouTube-Untertitel. Einstellungen für einzelne Seiten können direkt auf andere übertragen werden, sodass sie nicht jedes Mal neu zusammengestellt werden müssen.

Einer der erklärenden Screenshots von StopTheMadness Pro aus dem Mac App Store
Einer der erklärenden Screenshots von StopTheMadness Pro aus dem Mac App Store

StopTheMadness Pro von der Underpass App Company

Das umfangreiche Plugin stammt aus der Softwareschmiede Underpass App Company von Jeff Johnson. Der Entwickler bietet dabei neben StopTheMadness Pro auch solche Hilfsprogramme wie StopTheScript (hält jedes JavaScript an), StopTheFonts (blockiert Web-Schriftarten in Safari), Homecoming for Mastodon (öffnet Mastodon-Links in der eigenen Instanz) und den Link Unshortener (hier bereits vorgestellt) an.

Vor dem eigenen App-Angebot hat Jeff Johnson bei Rogue Amoeba gearbeitet sowie mit am RSS-Reader Vienna getüftelt. Kurzum: das hier beschriebene Plugin stammt aus fähigen Händen. Mehr zum Entwickler Jeff Johnson und zu seinem Angebot findet ihr auf der offiziellen Webseite seines Software-Unternehmens: https://underpassapp.com/ 

Plugin-Aufgabe 1: Unannehmlichkeiten beseitigen

Auf manchen Seiten fällt recht schnell auf, dass die eine oder auch andere Browser-Funktion deaktiviert wurde. Führt man z. B. einen Rechtsklick aus, um ein Kontextmenü aufzurufen, dann kann dieses entweder komplett blockiert oder einige Punkte daraus entfernt werden. So wird es erschwert, auf den Quelltext der Seite zuzugreifen, Text zu kopieren oder ein Bild herunterzuladen. 

Und das sind alles Dinge, die zumindest in einem privaten Nutzungsrahmen möglich sein sollten. StopTheMadness Pro sorgt dafür, dass die genannten und viele weitere Funktionen wieder zur Verfügung stehen und man mit den aufgerufenen Webseiten machen kann, was man will. Außerdem lassen sich weitere Kontextmenü-Punkte hinzufügen.

Plugin-Aufgabe 2: Web-Nutzung vereinfachen

StopTheMadness Pro holt aber nicht nur Browser-Funktionen zurück, sodass man wieder alle möglichen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten wahrnehmen kann. Auch lassen sich über die Erweiterung verschiedene Voreinstellungen für Webseiten festlegen, sodass man auf ihnen weniger klicken und eingeben muss. Wie eingangs schon erwähnt, gehört dazu etwa das Festlegen der Untertitel-Sprache für YouTube.

Am Mac gibt es zudem die Möglichkeit, die Banner vieler Seiten zu blockieren, über die Benachrichtigungen zu neuen Inhalten angeboten werden. Ein zusätzliches Kontextmenü eröffnet zudem die Möglichkeit, einzelne Elemente einer Webseite auszublenden (z. B. Werbung, Videos oder großflächige Bilder). Nicht zuletzt kann man dank StopTheMadness Pro auch die Veränderung von Tastenkombinationen unterbinden, sodass man die bekannten weiterhin nutzen kann, ohne ungewollt eine individuelle Seitenfunktion zu verwenden.

Große Funktionsübersicht im App Store

Hier alle Funktionen und Nutzungsmöglichkeiten aufzuzählen, das würde den Rahmen sprengen. Wenn ihr euch vor dem Kauf von StopTheMadness Pro über die einzelnen Features informieren wollt, dann könnt ihr neben der weiter oben bereits verlinkten Webseite des Entwicklers auch die Angebotsseite des App Stores studieren. Sowohl am Mac als auch am iPhone und iPad zeigen die dort hinterlegten Feature-Listen und Screenshots die zahlreichen Nutzungs- und Einstellungsmöglichkeiten auf.

Funktioniert der „udm=14“-Trick mit StopTheMadness Pro?

Auch dieser Frage hat sich Jeff Johnson letztens gewidmet. Als kurze Einführung: Mit dem Zusatz &udm=14 in der URL einer Google-Suche beschränkt man die Ergebnisse auf eine Liste von Webseiten. Das heißt, dass Videos, Frage-Antwort-Boxen, Werbe-Ergebnisse und dergleichen verschwinden. Mehr dazu hier: An Videos, Q&As und KI-Texten vorbei – Schneller zu den Google Web-Ergebnissen.

Die Antwort auf die Frage ist übrigens Ja! Dazu soll man dieser Anleitung nach die Redirects-Funktion für automatische Umleitungen nutzen. Es wird aufgezeigt, welches Muster (Pattern) einzugeben ist und welcher Ersatz (Replacement) festgelegt werden muss. Wer einfach nur will, dass es funktioniert, kann sich damit zufrieden geben. Für alle, die Infos zur Funktionalität des Ganzen wollen, wird aber auch auf die technischen Details des Vorgehens eingegangen.

StopTheMadness Pro einmal kaufen und auf mehreren Geräten verwenden

Wie ihr auf der oben verlinkten Seite des App Stores für Mac, iPhone und iPad seht, ist StopTheMadness Pro ein kostenpflichtiges Browser-Plugin. Es kostet 17,99 Euro und ist daher eher etwas für jene, die großflächig von den einzelnen Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und Features profitieren. Zum Ausprobieren und Herumspielen ist es ggf. zu teuer. Was den Preis jedoch relativiert, ist die Tatsache, dass ein einzelner Kauf die Nutzung auf mehreren Geräten – also Mac, iPhone und iPad gleichermaßen – ermöglicht.

Am Mac können zudem verschiedene Browser damit ausgestattet werden. Neben Safari funktioniert das Plugin auch mit Chrome und Firefox. Wer schonmal die vorige Version (StopTheMadness ohne „Pro“) gekauft hat, kann das Upgrade auf die neue Version übrigens rabattiert erhalten. Dazu gibt es, neben einer Auflistung der vielen Features, entsprechende Informationen und Ausführungen auf der Seite des App Stores.

Fazit zu StopTheMadness Pro

Wer von eingeschränkten Browser-Funktionen, neu definierten Tastenkombinationen, automatisch abgespielten Animationen, Notification-Bannern, Cookie-Abfragen, Web-Fonts und dergleichen genervt ist, könnte in StopTheMadness Pro den heiligen Gral der Webseitennutzung finden. In diese Erweiterung für Safari, Chrome und Firefox wurden viel Zeit und viele schlaue Überlegungen hineingesteckt. Herausgekommen ist ein umfangreiches und damit sicherlich für mehrere Zielgruppen nützliches Tool. 

Meine Tipps & Tricks rund um Technik & Apple

Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft unterstützen würdest.

12 Kommentare zu „StopTheMadness Pro – Umfangreiches Browser-Plugin für besseres Web-Erlebnis“

  1. Was im Artikel fehlt:
    Solche Browsererweiterungen können Sicherheits- und Datenschutzprobleme verursachen, wie schon unzählige Male passiert.
    Insofern notwendig, also mindestens ein eigenes Browserprofil für die Erweiterung nutzen, nicht im Hauptprofil!

    „Zudem kümmert sie (die Erweiterung) sich um Cookies“

    Sowas kann schnell nach hinten los gehen. Die Webseite muss nur etwas am Cookiebanner ändern und schon werden Daten versendet und „dank“ Automatisierung der Erweiterung auch noch ohne das Wissen des Anwenders.

    1. Ich denke, die Sicherheits- und Datenschutzprobleme sind genauso hoch, wie wenn man sich irgendeine App am PC installiert. Man sollte eben überlegen, welche Codes man in diese Browsererweiterung einbaut und was nicht.

      Und bezgl. der Cookiebanner: Ich lese da ehrlich gesagt nicht mehr, was ich abhake. Die Idee hinter den Cookiebannern war nett gemeint, aber sowas hätte auf Browserebene einstellbar sein müssen. Ich möchte nicht bei jeder Seite sagen müssen “Nur die notwendigen”, sondern ich möchte das einmal meinem Browser mitteilen und dann soll das funktionieren. Wenn das in einem Fall mal daneben geht, ist es mir persönlich das Risiko wert. Aber das muss natürlich jeder für sich selbst einschätzen und entscheiden. Die elegantere Lösung wäre sowieso, wenn ich das global für alle Webseiten definieren könnte. Aber dazu muss die EU vermutlich wieder ein paar Leuten auf die Füsse treten – und ob das passiert, ist sehr fraglich.

  2. Hallo,
    sehr interessanter Beitrag über eine interessante Erweiterung.

    Aber wie sieh es mit der Sicherheit beim Verwenden aus?
    “Diese Erweiterung kann Webseiten, die du besuchst, lesekund ändern sowie deine Browserverlauf auf allen Websites sehen. Das schließt auch vertrauliche Informationen von Webseiten eine, einschließlich Passwörter, Telefonnummern und Kreditkarten”

    Um ehrlich zu sein, dass sieht aus als würde man beim Verwenden dieser Erweiterung, Pest gegen Cholera tauschen.

    1. Das ist bei vielen Apps eine Sache der persönlichen Einstellung. Wenn das Unternehmen dahinter für einen unseriös erscheint, sollte man nichts installieren. Bei einer bezahlten Erweiterung, die auch schon seit vielen Jahren von den gleichen Leuten weiterentwickelt wird, bin ich persönlich bereit, das Risiko einzugehen. Aber wie gesagt: Das ist immer eine persönliche Geschmackssache. Bei jedem Passwortmanager vertraue ich auch den Entwicklern. Wie sagt man so schön: You have to pick your poison. 😊

      1. Wozu Passwortmanager von Drittanbieter nutzen? Jeder Browser bietet das heutzutage nativ an ohne Werbung, Tracking, Geld und in sicher und bequem.

      2. Aber warum das Risiko eingehen?
        Nur damit mir bei YouTube keine Werbung gezeigt wird?

        Wenn das dann in die Hose gegangen ist, dann ist das Geschrei groß und man hat vielleicht massive Probleme, wenn Kreditkartendaten oder Passwörter gestohlen wurden.

        Auch als Passwortmanager benutze ich nur den iCloud Keychain. Apple hat eh schon meine Daten gespeichert.
        Je mehr ich meine persönlichen Daten streue um so höher die Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass mir das irgendwann um die Ohren fliegt.
        Dann verzichte ich lieber auf etwas Komfort.

        1. Ja, deine Vorgehensweise stimmt. Je weniger Dienste man nutzt und Daten streut, umso sicherer ist man. Ich wäge auch immer ab, wie viel Vertrauen ich in eine Erweiterung und die Entwickler dahinter habe. Aber Komfort ist eben eine große Versuchung. 😊

    2. Richtig interessant wird es dann wenn die Erweiterung kompromittiert wird, zB durch ein Verkauf oder durch Manipulation auf Seite des Entwicklers.

        1. Ich muss manchmal Chrome und manchmal Firefox nutzen und dann Mac und iPad un iPhone. Da hab ich lieber nen PW-Manager. Aber kann jeder halten, wie er mag.

          1. Ich bevorzuge Firefox, aber manche Seiten zicken rum mit Firefox und ich muss auch immer mal Webseiten von Kunden mit verschiedenen Browsern testen. Ist wirklich speziell… braucht sicher nicht jeder.

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Im Sir Apfelot Blog findest du Ratgeber, Anleitungen und Testberichte zu Apple Produkten wie iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini und Mac Studio.

Specials
Shopping
  •  
  •