Test: CleanMyPC for system and hard disk cleanup on Windows computers

A little over two years ago there was one here on the blog Test of CleanMyMac 3, which is still considered a recommendation for the Mac app. At this point, for the sake of completeness, I would like to introduce you to CleanMyPC from MacPaw, the sister program for Windows computers. I recently took a close look at this software for system and hard drive cleaning - however, not on a Windows partition of the Mac hard drive, but on a Lenovo laptop; so under "real" conditions.

The MacPaw CleanMyPC app for Windows computers is ideal for keeping your computer's hard drive in good condition. In this test report you can find my experiences with the software.

The MacPaw CleanMyPC app for Windows computers is ideal for keeping your computer's hard drive in good condition. In this test report you can find my experiences with the software.

CleanMyPC in the test: delete garbage data, free up space and more

Especially when the PC or notebook is a bit older, you often have to struggle with comparatively small hard drives that have accumulated a lot of files and folders over the years. Some things can be moved to memory cards, external hard drives or to the cloud - but software, apps, office solutions and games as well as files that you need every day have to stay on the hard drive. To keep things tidy, to remove residues of deleted files and to clean up directories, logs and cache memories that are no longer used, you should get help - and this is what MacPaw offers with CleanMyPC for Windows.

The price for CleanMyPC 

The price for MacPaw CleanMyPC depends on how many licenses you want to purchase at once. There are single licenses, packages for up to 5 PCs and even a MacPaw bundle with CleanMyPC for Windows and CleanMyMac for macOS in a double pack at a budget price. Here I have listed the individual costs for you:

  • Single license: 39,95 euros
  • License for 2 PCs: 59,95 euros
  • License for 5 PCs: 89,95  Euro
  • Bundle for Mac and PC: 67,95 euros

Download and installation

The download is very easy and happens directly from the developer website. Why you should only download apps from the developer, you read that here. You can also download the setup for CleanMyPC on your Mac and then play it on the Windows PC using a stick or external hard drive. During the installation you will be asked for your preferred language - German is available as an option.

Then standard steps are exercised, such as the license agreement, the selection of a directory and the question of the icon on the desktop and the start of the software after the successful installation. If everything is clear, then you simply click on "Install" and off you go.


Activation with "Activation Number"

If you buy the full version of the app, you will receive an activation code by email - if the email arrives in English, it is the activation number. This is highlighted accordingly so that you cannot read it at all. Simply mark, copy and paste in the activation menu of the software. Your CleanMyPC version will be associated with your purchase and you can use the full version, which brings you the functions and options described below.


Functions of CleanMyPC: computer, registry, program uninstallation, etc.

The program that has been started has a simple structure and offers you an overview of the functions on the left-hand side and the corresponding information on the right-hand side when they are used. In the following I have summarized the individual possible uses of the cleaning program with brief explanations and a screenshot for each, so that you can get an impression:

My computer

Here you can scan your Windows PC for data residues, expired documents and data junk. According to the description, only data that does not represent any loss to the system or private data is deleted.

Registry maintenance

This function searches for problems and errors in the registry database of the Windows system - and fixes them with one click. This, too, should not have a negative effect on the system or your own files.

Multi-uninstaller

Simply select programs, approve for uninstallation and have them automatically removed. Connected directories, files and folders that are ignored in a standard uninstallation are also deleted. I have listed criticism of the function below.

Eliminate Mac apps with all leftover data: AppCleaner for macOS

hibernation

Here you can see how big the system image is in the idle state (about 1,5 GB for me). You can activate and deactivate hibernation using the slider.

Extensions

Toolbars in the browser and explorer, widgets for the desktop or plug-ins for individual apps - if you want to get rid of this or update it, this is the place for you.

startup

Autostart is the collection of programs and services that are started when Windows boots. You can select or deselect the individual programs using the slider.

Privacy

If you don't know how to delete your browser history, empty the cache or remove cookies, this function can help you.

Annihilator

The shredder from CleanMyPC offers the safe deletion of files and folders. Their storage space is overwritten several times, making restoring difficult or impossible.

Experience with individual options

The first thing I did was select "My Computer" to see how much junk I could remove from the hard drive. In the end, there were 3,93 GB of different files that I either couldn't find or would probably not have clearly classified as deletable with a manual search. It is interesting that in addition to a display of the amount of data removed at the end of the process, the cumulative amount of hard drive garbage removed from all runs is also displayed. So you can see that (or whether) the regular use of this option is also worthwhile.


Then I looked at the "Registry Maintenance", where the Windows registry database is examined carefully. Problems, expired data or registry entries that are no longer used are searched for in the database for configurations of the system and programs. Since I otherwise absolutely did not deal with the topic, it also found 291 problems that can be solved with a click on "Repair registry". Practically!

I also used the “multi-deinstallation program” to see how quickly it all works, how many programs can be deinstalled at once and whether it is really more convenient than with the Windows program overview CleanMyPC also has an alphabetical list from which you can choose not just one, but up to 10 programs that are to be uninstalled one after the other. 

Anyone expecting complete automation and other conveniences here will be a little disappointed. Because for many apps you have to confirm the deletion individually and sometimes also select the components that are to be deleted with the main program. With some programs, the developer page is also opened in the web browser after the uninstallation - this is not prevented by CleanMyPC. Ergo: You have to stay seated and see that everything goes its way.


By starting an uninstalled program in the browser, I immediately discovered an additional function of CleanMyPC: If you close a web browser, you will be informed with a message that you will remove the data, cookies, cache fillings, etc. generated with the web session can.

I was also curious about the menu item “idle state” because I couldn't imagine anything under it. For me, hibernation was just a battery-saving way to leave the laptop alone, but not switch it off. What I have learned through CleanMyPC is that the (automatic) hibernation mode means that a status quo image of the system is created, which can be several GB in size and accordingly takes up space on the hard drive. Therefore, you can switch off the rest option of Windows directly in the MacPaw app.

Under "Extensions" I was shown mainly plug-ins and additional content of the installed web browser. Internet Explorer, which has basically never been used, as well as Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox could be updated and cleaned.

More screenshots:

The shredder can also be used directly in the Explorer - how, the program shows in an info column. You can also set the number of overwrites in this CleanMyPC tab.

The shredder can also be used directly in the Explorer - how, the program shows in an info column. You can also set the number of overwrites in this CleanMyPC tab.

 

Compared to CCleaner from Piriform

One or the other will probably be of the opinion that you can save the money and simply use the CCleaner app for Windows. That is also true, but only on a few points. Because this free app from Piriform also offers a "cleaner" function, registry management and some extras; however, it also lacks some of the functions that the program presented here has. If you want to exhaust all possibilities, you can simply get the CCleaner Free version and the paid version of CleanMyPC - with that you are fully equipped to manage, clean, keep up to date and analyze the hard disk.

Update 31.07.2020/XNUMX/XNUMX: Not only has a Warning against CCleaner pronounced, but Microsoft itself currently advises against using it under Windows.

Conclusion on MacPaw CleanMyPC

The CleanMyPC app for Microsoft Windows is quite useful and helps to free the hard drive of data garbage, to remove programs comprehensively and to keep an eye on the system in other respects. Anyone who wants to make a PC that has been used for a long time fit again or to keep a new Windows computer clean from the outset should invest in software. You have my recommendation;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Test: CleanMyPC für System- und Festplattenbereinigung am Windows-Computer

Vor etwas mehr als zwei Jahren gab es hier im Blog bereits einen Test zu CleanMyMac 3, der immer noch als Empfehlung für die Mac App gilt. An dieser Stelle möchte ich euch der Vollständigkeit halber CleanMyPC von MacPaw vorstellen, das Schwesternprogramm für Windows-Computer. Diese Software für die System- und Festplattenbereinigung habe ich kürzlich unter die Lupe genommen – allerdings nicht auf einer Windows-Partition der Mac-Festplatte, sondern auf einem Laptop von Lenovo; also unter „echten“ Bedingungen.

Die MacPaw CleanMyPC App für Windows-Computer ist ideal, um die Festplatte des Rechners in Schuss zu halten. In diesem Test-Bericht findet ihr meine Erfahrungen mit der Software.

Die MacPaw CleanMyPC App für Windows-Computer ist ideal, um die Festplatte des Rechners in Schuss zu halten. In diesem Test-Bericht findet ihr meine Erfahrungen mit der Software.

CleanMyPC im Test: Datenmüll löschen, Platz schaffen und mehr

Gerade wenn der PC oder das Notebook schon ein bisschen älter ist, hat man nicht selten mit vergleichsweise kleinen Festplatten zu kämpfen, die über die Jahre ordentlich Dateien und Ordner angesammelt haben. Einiges kann man zwar auf Speicherkarten, externe Festplatten oder in die Cloud verschieben – Software, Apps, Office-Lösungen und Spiele sowie täglich benötigte Dateien müssen aber auf der Festplatte bleiben. Um dabei Ordnung zu halten, Rückstände von gelöschten Dateien zu entfernen und nicht mehr genutzte Verzeichnisse, Logs und Cache-Speicher zu bereinigen, sollte man sich Hilfe holen – und diese bietet MacPaw mit CleanMyPC für Windows.

Der Preis für CleanMyPC 

Der Preis für MacPaw CleanMyPC ist abhängig davon, wie viele Lizenzen ihr auf einmal erwerben wollt. Es gibt Einzellizenzen, Pakete für bis zu 5 PCs und sogar ein MacPaw Bundle mit CleanMyPC für Windows und CleanMyMac für macOS im Doppelpack zum Sparpreis. Hier habe ich euch mal die einzelnen Kosten aufgelistet:

  • Einzellizenz: 39,95 Euro
  • Lizenz für 2 PCs: 59,95 Euro
  • Lizenz für 5 PCs: 89,95  Euro
  • Bundle für Mac und PC: 67,95 Euro

Download und Installation

Der Download ist denkbar einfach und passiert direkt von der Entwickler-Webseite. Warum ihr Apps nur vom Entwickler herunterladen solltet, das lest ihr hier. Ihr könnt das Setup für CleanMyPC auch am Mac herunterladen und dann per Stick oder externe Festplatte auf den Windows-PC spielen. Bei der Installation werdet ihr nach der bevorzugten Sprache gefragt – Deutsch ist als Option vorhanden.

Danach werden Standardschritte durchexerziert, wie der Lizenzvertrag, die Auswahl eines Verzeichnisses und die Frage nach dem Symbol auf dem Desktop sowie dem Start der Software nach der erfolgreichen Installation. Ist alles klar, dann klickt ihr einfach auf „Installieren“ und schon geht es los.


Aktivierung mit „Activation Number“

Wenn ihr die Vollversion der App kauft, dann erhaltet ihr per E-Mail einen Aktivierungscode – falls die Mail auf Englisch ankommt, dann handelt es sich um die Activation Number. Diese ist entsprechend hervorgehoben, sodass ihr sie gar nicht überlesen könnt. Einfach markieren, kopieren und im Aktivierungsmenü der Software einfügen. Schon wird eure CleanMyPC-Version mit eurem Kauf in Verbindung gebracht und ihr könnt die Vollversion nutzen, die euch die im Folgenden beschriebenen Funktionen und Möglichkeiten bringt.


Funktionen von CleanMyPC: Computer, Registry, Programm-Deinstallation, etc.

Das gestartete Programm ist einfach aufgebaut und bietet euch auf der linken Seite eine Übersicht der Funktionen und bei deren Nutzung auf der rechten Seite die entsprechenden Informationen. Im Folgenden habe ich euch die einzelnen Verwendungsmöglichkeiten des Reinigungsprogramms mit kurzen Erläuterungen und je einem Screenshot zusammengefasst, sodass ihr einen Eindruck bekommt:

Mein Computer

Hier könnt ihr euren Windows-PC auf Datenreste, abgelaufene Dokumente und Datenmüll hin scannen. Es werden dabei laut der Beschreibung nur Daten gelöscht, die keinen Verlust für System oder private Daten darstellen.

Registry Wartung

Mit dieser Funktion werden Probleme und Fehler in der Registrierungsdatenbank des Windows-Systems gesucht – und mit einem Klick behoben. Auch dies sollte sich nicht negativ auf System oder eigene Dateien auswirken.

Multi-Deinstallationsprogramm

Einfach Programme auswählen, zur Deinstallation freigeben und automatisiert entfernen lassen. Dabei werden auch verbundene Verzeichnisse, Dateien und Ordner gelöscht, die bei einer Standard-Deinstallation nicht beachtet werden. Kritik an der Funktion habe ich euch weiter unten aufgeführt.

Mac Apps mit allen Datenresten beseitigen: AppCleaner für macOS

Ruhezustand

Hier wird geschaut, wie groß das Systemabbild im Ruhezustand ist (bei mir ca. 1,5 GB). Ihr könnt den Ruhezustand per Schieberegler aktivieren und deaktivieren.

Erweiterungen

Toolbars in Browser und Explorer, Widgets für den Desktop oder Plug-Ins für einzelne Apps – wer das loswerden oder aktualisieren will, ist hier gut aufgehoben.

Autostart

Der Autostart ist die Sammlung der Programme und Dienste, die beim Boot vom Windows mit gestartet werden. Per Schieberegler könnt ihr die einzelnen Programme zu- oder abwählen.

Privatsphäre

Wer nicht weiß, wie man den Browserverlauf löscht, den Cache leert oder Cookies entfernt, der kann sich mit dieser Funktion helfen lassen.

Vernichter

Der Vernichter von CleanMyPC bietet das sichere Löschen von Dateien und Ordnern an. Deren Speicherplatz wird dabei mehrfach überschrieben, sodass ein Wiederherstellen erschwert bzw. unmöglich gemacht wird.

Erfahrungen mit einzelnen Optionen

Als erstes habe ich „Mein Computer“ ausgewählt, um zu sehen, wie viel Datenmüll sich von der Festplatte beseitigen lässt. Am Ende waren es immerhin 3,93 GB an unterschiedlichsten Dateien, die ich bei händischer Suche entweder nicht gefunden oder vermutlich nicht eindeutig als löschbar eingestuft hätte. Interessant ist, dass neben einer Anzeige der entfernten Datenmenge am Ende des Vorgangs auch die kumulierte Menge des entfernten Festplattenmülls aller Durchgänge angezeigt wird. So sieht man, dass (bzw. ob) sich die regelmäßige Verwendung dieser Option auch lohnt.


Danach habe ich mir die „Registry Wartung“ angeschaut, wo die Registrierungsdatenbank von Windows unter die Lupe genommen wird. Dabei werden in der Datenbank für Konfigurationen von System und Programmen Probleme, abgelaufene Daten oder nicht mehr gebrauchte Registry-Einträge gesucht. Da ich mich sonst absolut nicht mit dem Thema auseinandergesetzt habe, hat es auch gleich 291 Probleme gefunden, die mit einem Klick auf „Registry reparieren“ gelöst werden. Praktisch!

Auch das „Multi-Deinstallationsprogramm“ habe ich genutzt, um mal zu schauen, wie schnell das Ganze geht, wie viele Programme man auf einmal deinstallieren kann und ob es wirklich komfortabler ist als mit der Programme-Übersicht von Windows selbst. Wie in diesem bekommt man bei CleanMyPC ebenfalls eine alphabetische Liste, aus der man aber nicht nur eines, sondern bis zu 10 Programme wählen kann, die nacheinander deinstalliert werden sollen. 

Wer hier eine vollkommene Automatisierung und andere Annehmlichkeiten erwartet, wird aber ein bisschen enttäuscht. Denn für viele Apps muss man die Löschung einzeln bestätigen und teilweise auch die Komponenten auswählen, die mit dem Hauptprogramm gelöscht werden sollen. Auch wird bei einigen Programmen nach der Deinstallation die Entwickler-Seite im Webbrowser aufgerufen – das wird nicht von CleanMyPC unterbunden. Ergo: Man muss dabei sitzen bleiben und schauen, dass alles seinen Gang geht.


Durch den Browser-Start eines deinstallierten Programms habe ich dann aber auch gleich eine Zusatzfunktion von CleanMyPC entdeckt: Schließt man einen Webbrowser, dann wird man mit einer Meldung darauf hingewiesen, dass man die mit der Websession erzeugten Daten, Cookies, Cachefüllungen, etc. entfernen kann.

Neugierig gemacht hat mich auch der Menüpunkt „Ruhezustand“, weil ich mir darunter absolut gar nichts vorstellen konnte. Für mich war der Ruhezustand bisher einfach nur eine Akku sparende Möglichkeit, den Laptop alleine zu lassen, aber nicht abzuschalten. Was ich durch CleanMyPC gelernt habe, ist, dass der (automatische) Ruhezustand dazu führt, dass ein Status-Quo-Abbild des Systems erstellt wird, welches mehrere GB groß sein kann und entsprechend Platz auf der Festplatte einnimmt. Deshalb kann man die Ruheoption von Windows direkt in der MacPaw-App abschalten.

Unter „Erweiterungen“ wurden mir vor allem Plug-Ins und Zusatzinhalte der installierten Webbrowser angezeigt. Sowohl der im Grunde nie genutzte Internet Explorer als auch Google Chrome und Mozilla Firefox konnten aktualisiert sowie gesäubert werden.

Weitere Screenshots:

Der Vernichter kann auch direkt im Explorer genutzt werden - wie, das zeigt das Programm in einer Info-Spalte. Zudem könnt ihr in diesem Tab von CleanMyPC die Anzahl der Überschreibungen einstellen.

Der Vernichter kann auch direkt im Explorer genutzt werden – wie, das zeigt das Programm in einer Info-Spalte. Zudem könnt ihr in diesem Tab von CleanMyPC die Anzahl der Überschreibungen einstellen.

Vergleich zu CCleaner von Piriform

Der eine oder die andere wird nun wahrscheinlich der Meinung sein, dass man sich das Geld auch sparen und einfach die CCleaner App für Windows verwenden kann. Das stimmt auch, allerdings nur in ein paar Punkten. Denn auch diese kostenlose App von Piriform bietet eine „Cleaner“-Funktion, die Registry-Verwaltung und einige Extras; jedoch fehlen ihr auch einige Funktionen, die das hier präsentierte Programm inne hat. Wer alle Möglichkeiten ausschöpfen will, der holt sich einfach die CCleaner Free-Version (hier) und die Bezahlversion von CleanMyPC – damit seid ihr dann rundum ausgerüstet, um die Festplatte zu managen, zu bereinigen, aktuell zu halten und zu analysieren.

Fazit zu MacPaw CleanMyPC

Die CleanMyPC App für Microsoft Windows ist durchaus brauchbar und hilft, die Festplatte von Datenmüll zu befreien, Programme umfassend zu entfernen und das System auch in weiterer Hinsicht im Blick zu behalten. Gerade wer einen schon länger genutzten PC wieder fit machen oder einen neuen Windows-Rechner von vornherein sauber halten will, sollte in die Software investieren. Meine Empfehlung dazu habt ihr 😉

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.