My Passport SSD: Mobile hard drive from Western Digital

The My Passport SSD from Western Digital is an external hard drive that is made for Windows as well as macOS and OS X and has up to 1 TB of storage. Western Digital launched the My Passport SSD in March 2017; It is a compact 9 cm long gadget in the look of a sandwich egg for the rich. In this post I would like to show you an alternative from Samsung in addition to the WD device, which has been around since the beginning of 2016.

Western Digital - WD - My Passport SSD

The sandwich ice cream for the rich: the My Passport SSD hard drive from Western Digital.

Western Digital - My Passport SSD

With this external SSD hard drive you get either 256 GB, 512 MB or 1 TB of storage for on the go. You can also achieve data rates of up to 3.1 MB / s via USB-C 515. Photos, videos, folders with countless files, software and so on are all quickly backed up externally. The My Passport SSD hard drive from WD is small and handy.

Here I have summarized the technical details for you:

  • Manufacturer: Western Digital (WD)
  • Brand: My Passport / My Passport SSD
  • Model Number: WDBK3E0010PSL-WESN
  • Dimensions: 9,0 x 4,5 x 1,0 cm
  • Weight: 390 g
  • Storage capacity: 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB
  • Compatible with: Microsoft Windows 7, 8.1, 10 / Apple OS X Yosemite, EL Capitan, Apple macOS Sierra
  • Scope of delivery: My Passport SSD hard drive, USB-C to USB-C cable, USB-C to USB-A adapter, instructions
New Western Digital hard drive 1TB
The Western Digital My Passport SSD is an external solid state drive with 256, 512 or 1 TB storage capacity. Password protection and hardware encryption are possible. With USB-C ideal for Mac, iMac and MacBook from Apple.

Alternative: Samsung Portable SSD

The price of the My Passport SSD shows that it was only released in March 2017. A device that celebrated its first birthday in January 2017 is much cheaper. Samsung's external SSD hard drive is currently the bestseller on Amazon and out of 158 reviews, 120 reviews have 5 stars and 15 have 4 stars.

Samsung's mobile SSD hard drive is a worthy alternative.

Together with the lower price, these are several reasons to show this FP as an alternative:

Samsung Portable SSD 1TB
This external SSD from Samsung is available in 250 GB, 500 MB, 1TB or 2 TB. Dimensions: 7,4 x 5,8 x 1,0 cm / weight: 50 g / up to 450 MB / s read and write / password and encryption possible / USB-C connection - ideal for new Apple Mac models.

Make your own mobile SSD with extra housing

A third way to connect an SSD disk to a Mac or PC via USB is to insert an actually internal hard disk in an external housing with a USB connection. So if you still have an SSD or an HDD lying around, then you only need the right accessories, which are also much cheaper, and you already have a mobile disk for photos, videos, backup without cloud, etc. Especially when on the move If there is no internet and you cannot access the cloud, an external FP is worth gold.

Thematically relevant articles

-
Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

My Passport SSD: Mobile Festplatte von Western Digital

Die My Passport SSD von Western Digital ist eine externe Festplatte, die sowohl für Windows als auch für macOS und OS X gemacht ist und bis zu 1 TB Speicher aufweist. Western Digital hat die My Passport SSD im März 2017 auf den Markt gebracht; es handelt sich um ein kompaktes Gadget von 9 cm Länge in der Optik eines Sandwicheises für Reiche. In diesem Beitrag möchte ich euch zusätzlich zum WD-Gerät auch noch eine Alternative von Samsung aufzeigen, die es schon seit Anfang 2016 gibt.

Western Digital - WD - My Passport SSD

Das Sandwicheis für Reiche: die My Passport SSD Festplatte von Western Digital.

Western Digital – My Passport SSD

Mit dieser externen SSD-Festplatte bekommt ihr wahlweise 256 GB, 512 MB oder 1 TB Speicher für unterwegs. Per USB-C 3.1 erreicht ihr zudem Datenraten von bis zu 515 MB/s. Fotos, Videos, Ordner mit zahllosen Dateien, Software und so weiter sind damit allesamt schnell extern gesichert. Dabei ist die My Passport SSD Festplatte von WD klein und handlich.

Hier habe ich euch mal die technischen Details zusammengefasst:

  • Hersteller: Western Digital (WD)
  • Marke: My Passport / My Passport SSD
  • Modellnummer: WDBK3E0010PSL-WESN
  • Maße: 9,0 x 4,5 x 1,0 cm
  • Gewicht: 390 g
  • Speicher-Kapazität: 256 GB, 512 GB, 1 TB
  • Kompatibel mit: Microsoft Windows 7, 8.1, 10 / Apple OS X Yosemite, EL Capitan, Apple macOS Sierra
  • Lieferumfang: My Passport SSD Festplatte, USB-C auf USB-C Kabel, USB-C auf USB-A Adapter, Anleitung
Neue Western Digital Festplatte 1TB
38 Bewertungen
Neue Western Digital Festplatte 1TB
Die Western Digital My Passport SSD ist eine externes Solid State Drive mit 256, 512 oder 1 TB Speicher-Kapazität. Passwortschutz und Hardwareverschlüsselung sind möglich. Mit USB-C ideal für Mac, iMac und MacBook von Apple.

Alternative: Samsung Portable SSD

Am Preis der My Passport SSD sieht man, dass sie erst im März 2017 rausgekommen ist. Wesentlich günstiger ist da ein Gerät, das bereits im Januar 2017 den ersten Geburtstag feiern konnte. Die externe SSD-Festplatte von Samsung ist derzeit Bestseller bei Amazon und von 158 Bewertungen haben 120 Rezensionen 5 Sterne und 15 haben 4 Sterne.

Die mobile SSD-Festplatte von Samsung ist eine würdige Alternative.

Zusammen mit dem kleineren Preis sind das mehrere Gründe, um diese FP als Alternative aufzuzeigen:

112,74 EUR
Samsung Portable SSD 1TB
213 Bewertungen
Samsung Portable SSD 1TB
Diese externe SSD von Samsung ist mit 250 GB, 500 MB, 1TB oder 2 TB erhältlich. Maße: 7,4 x 5,8 x 1,0 cm / Gewicht: 50 g / bis zu 450 MB/s Lesen und Schreiben / Passwort und Verschlüsselung möglich / USB-C Anschluss – ideal für neue Apple Mac Modelle.

Mobile SSD mit Extra-Gehäuse selber machen

Eine dritte Möglichkeit, um eine SSD-Platte per USB mit Mac oder PC zu verbinden, ist das Einbringen einer eigentlich internen Festplatte in ein externes Gehäuse mit USB-Anschluss. Wenn ihr also noch eine SSD oder auch eine HDD rumliegen habt, dann braucht ihr nur das passende Zubehör, welches zudem wesentlich günstiger ist, und schon habt ihr eine mobile Platte für Fotos, Videos, das Backup ohne Cloud, etc. Vor allem wenn unterwegs kein Internet vorhanden ist und ihr nicht auf die Cloud zugreifen könnt, ist eine externe FP Gold wert.

Thematisch passende Artikel

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.