What was QuickDraw on the Apple Mac?

In the early days of home computing, there was no efficient graphics output. If images and other graphics could be calculated, then only in complex detours. Only with 2D image description languages ​​and corresponding graphic libraries was it possible not only to display existing image files in operating systems and their graphically displayed programs, but also to draw some yourself. And that's where QuickDraw comes in. The first QuickDraw library was created on the Apple II and was used on the Apple, Apple Lisa and Macintosh in the 1980s to quickly and easily create raster graphics. It was part of the operating system until Mac OS 9.2.2 from 2001.

QuickDraw not only enabled a graphical user interface on Apple computers, but also smooth operation and editing of graphics – for example in MacPaint. Here you will find the most important information about QuickDraw and its successor, Quartz.
QuickDraw not only enabled a graphical user interface on Apple computers, but also smooth operation and editing of graphics – for example in MacPaint. Here you will find the most important information about QuickDraw and its successor, Quartz.

The history of QuickDraw

QuickDraw is said to be based on Jef Raskin's doctoral thesis, which the computer scientist wrote in 1967 under the title "A Hardware-Independent Computer Drawing System Using List-Structured Modeling: The Quick-Draw Graphics System' submitted to Pennsylvania State University. He and one of his students, the programmer Bill Atkinson, ended up at Apple in the late 1970s, where they were able to implement their ideas about graphical interfaces and their ease of use. In addition to the "Quick-Draw Graphics System" from the doctoral thesis, the drag & drop mechanism for moving files, folders and drives was created.

The first commercial version of the graphics library, dubbed QuickDraw, was created by Bill Atkinson on the Apple II in 1979. It was written for UCSD Pascal, a Pascal implementation adopted by Apple for the Apple II as "Apple Pascal". After the computers named Apple, QuickDraw was eventually used on the Lisa computer and on the Macintosh. For the latter, it was expanded by software developer Andy Hertzfeld, who was also one of Apple's first employees. Eventually, QuickDraw became a core element of Mac systems and Mac OS to enable the graphical interface, usage and editing. 

QuickDraw and MacPaint source codes are available

The source code of MacPaint 1.3 from 1984 was donated by Apple to the Computer History Museum in 2010. As part of this, the source code for the QuickDraw version used at the time was published. you can do both auf dieser seite download and use for non-commercial purposes. In addition, there are a few more insights into the development of technologies and mechanisms on the linked page. 

So e.g. B. explains that in early graphics editing, the content had to be cleared from the screen before the edited shape could be displayed. To avoid the flickering caused by this transition, the editing steps were carried out in the background and only the finished result was displayed as the next frame after the initial state. This resulted in a smooth processing of pixels, lines, shapes and entire graphics.

MacPaint as a drawing program on the Macintosh

On Windows PCs there is still the paint program "Paint" (also Microsoft Paint or MS Paint) integrated in the operating system. MacPaint used to exist on the Macintosh, which looked very similar and also brought with it the same tools as early versions of MS Paint. Various paint, fill, selection, shape and other tools could be used in MacPaint. 

In addition, the strength of tools could be adjusted, for example to change the brush width. Instead of colors, only black, white and patterns were available in the early versions. With the resulting shading, however, impressive drawings could still be created. You can try it out via the Apple system and Mac OS emulations Infinite Mac.

Image Credit: Apple/Computer History Museum
Image Credit: Apple/Computer History Museum

Mac OS X - QuickDraw is replaced by Quartz

With the new millennium, Apple wanted to be able to get even more out of its own computers than it had before System 1.0 to Mac OS 9.2.2 was possible. And so, in 2001, the new operating system Mac OS X 10.0 released, soon known under the name "Cheetah". The new Mac operating system got off to a rocky start, but it took Mac graphics to a new level. Because instead of the 2D image description language QuickDraw, Quartz was used, a 2D and 3D graphics layer that consists of several individual technologies. These were continually updated with subsequent versions of Mac OS X, OS X, and macOS.

Quartz built and builds on these ingredients:

  • Quartz 2D: Display 2D content such as raster graphics, vector graphics, and text
  • OpenGL: Interface for 3D content
  • QuickTime: Multimedia interface for decoding and playback of audio / video
  • Quartz Compositor: GUI substructure for program window management
  • PDF implementation: For anti-aliasing of graphics and texts and the integration of OpenType, PostScript and TrueType fonts

You can find more information and insights into the innovations and changes in the individual Mac operating systems from Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah to macOS 14 Sonoma in this article: Mac Operating Systems - Everything from Mac OS X 10.0 (2001) to macOS 14 Sonoma (2023). There is a link to an individual article for each system, which contains detailed information, a video of the presentation, download and purchase options for the system and the download of the original wallpaper. A comprehensive lexicon that is well worth a look.

Don't get confused: Quick, Draw! from Google

If you are looking for information on Apple technology "QuickDraw", you will quickly stumble across the Google game "Quick, Draw!". This browser game is an AI experiment in which users draw objects in a few seconds, which are then to be identified by a neural network. With Quick Draw! should the "world's largest database for drawings" be created. It is intended to serve as publicly accessible research material. You can find more information and the game itself here with this link.

My tips & tricks about technology & Apple

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership would support.

Post a comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * marked

In the Sir Apfelot Blog you will find advice, instructions and reviews on Apple products such as the iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini and Mac Studio.

Specials
Shopping
  •  
  •

Was war QuickDraw am Apple Mac?

In den frühen Tagen der Heimcomputer gab es noch keine effiziente Grafikausgabe. Wenn Bilder und andere Grafiken berechnet werden konnten, dann nur auf komplexen Umwegen. Erst mit 2D-Bildbeschreibungssprachen und entsprechenden Grafikbibliotheken wurde es möglich, in Betriebssystemen und deren grafisch dargestellten Programmen nicht nur vorhandene Bilddateien anzuzeigen, sondern auch selbst welche zu zeichnen. Und hier kommt QuickDraw ins Spiel. Die erste QuickDraw-Bibliothek entstand am Apple II und wurde in den 1980er Jahren am Apple, am Apple Lisa und am Macintosh genutzt, um Rastergrafiken schnell und einfach zu erzeugen. Noch bis Mac OS 9.2.2 von 2001 war es Teil des Betriebssystems.

QuickDraw ermöglichte nicht nur eine grafische Oberfläche an Apple-Computern, sondern auch deren flüssige Bedienung und die Bearbeitung von Grafiken – etwa in MacPaint. Hier gibt es die wichtigsten Infos zu QuickDraw und den Nachfolger Quartz.
QuickDraw ermöglichte nicht nur eine grafische Oberfläche an Apple-Computern, sondern auch deren flüssige Bedienung und die Bearbeitung von Grafiken – etwa in MacPaint. Hier gibt es die wichtigsten Infos zu QuickDraw und den Nachfolger Quartz.

Die Geschichte von QuickDraw

QuickDraw soll auf die Doktorarbeit von Jef Raskin zurückgehen, die der Informatiker in 1967 unter dem Titel „A Hardware-Independent Computer Drawing System Using List-Structured Modeling: The Quick-Draw Graphics System“ an der Pennsylvania State University einreichte. Er und einer seiner Schüler, der Programmierer Bill Atkinson, landeten in den späten 1970er Jahren bei Apple, wo sie ihre Ideen zu grafischen Oberflächen und ihrer einfachen Bedienung umsetzen konnten. So entstand neben dem „Quick-Draw Graphics System“ aus der Doktorarbeit u. a. der Drag&Drop-Mechanismus für das Verschieben von Dateien, Ordnern und Laufwerken.

Die erste kommerzielle Version der QuickDraw getauften Grafikbibliothek wurde von Bill Atkinson am Apple II aus dem Jahr 1979 geschaffen. Geschrieben wurde sie für UCSD Pascal, einer Pascal-Implementierung, die von Apple für den Apple II als „Apple Pascal“ übernommen wurde. Nach den Apple genannten Computern wurde QuickDraw schließlich auch auf dem Lisa-Computer und auf dem Macintosh genutzt. Für letzteren wurde es vom Softwareentwickler Andy Hertzfeld erweitert, der ebenfalls zu den ersten Angestellten Apples gehörte. Schließlich wurde QuickDraw zu einem Kernelement von Mac-Systemen und Mac OS, um die grafische Oberfläche, deren Nutzung und die Bearbeitung zu ermöglichen. 

Quellcodes von QuickDraw und MacPaint sind verfügbar

Der Quellcode von MacPaint 1.3 aus 1984 wurde im Jahr 2010 von Apple an das Computer History Museum gespendet. Im Rahmen dessen wurde auch der Quellcode für die damals verwendete QuickDraw-Version veröffentlicht. Ihr könnt beides auf dieser Seite herunterladen und für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke nutzen. Zudem gibt es auf der verlinkten Seite noch ein paar weitere Einblicke in die Entwicklung der Technologien und Mechanismen. 

So wird z. B. erklärt, dass in der frühen Grafikbearbeitung die Inhalte erst vom Bildschirm gelöscht werden mussten, bevor die bearbeitete Form angezeigt werden konnte. Um das Flackern, das bei diesem Übergang entstand, zu vermeiden, wurden die Bearbeitungsschritte im Hintergrund ausgeführt und erst das fertige Ergebnis als nächster Frame nach dem Ausgangszustand angezeigt. So entstand eine flüssige Bearbeitung von Pixeln, Linien, Formen und ganzen Grafiken.

MacPaint als Zeichen-Programm am Macintosh

An Windows-PCs gibt es heute noch das im Betriebssystem integrierte Malprogramm „Paint“ (auch Microsoft Paint oder MS Paint). Am Macintosh gab es früher MacPaint, das ganz ähnlich aussah und auch die gleichen Werkzeuge wie frühe MS-Paint-Versionen mitbrachte. In MacPaint ließen sich verschiedene Mal-, Füll, Auswahl-, Formen- und weitere Werkzeuge nutzen. 

Zudem konnte die Stärke von Werkzeugen angepasst werden, um etwa die Pinselbreite zu ändern. Statt Farben standen in den frühen Versionen lediglich Schwarz, Weiß und Muster zur Verfügung. Mit den sich ergebenden Schattierungen konnten aber dennoch eindrucksvolle Zeichnungen erstellt werden. Ausprobieren könnt ihr das über die Apple-System- und Mac-OS-Emulationen von Infinite Mac.

Bildquelle: Apple / Computer History Museum
Bildquelle: Apple / Computer History Museum

Mac OS X – QuickDraw wird durch Quartz ersetzt

Mit dem neuen Jahrtausend wollte Apple noch mehr aus den eigenen Computern rausholen können als es zuvor mit System 1.0 bis Mac OS 9.2.2 möglich war. Und so wurde in 2001 das neue Betriebssystem Mac OS X 10.0 veröffentlicht, bald bekannt unter dem Namen „Cheetah“. Das neue Mac-Betriebssystem hatte zwar einen holprigen Start, brachte die Mac-Grafik aber auf ein neues Level. Denn anstelle der 2D-Bildbeschreibungssprache QuickDraw kam nun Quartz zum Einsatz, eine 2D- und 3D-Grafikschicht, die aus mehreren Einzeltechniken besteht. Diese wurden mit den darauf folgenden Versionen von Mac OS X, OS X und macOS immer wieder aktualisiert.

Quartz baute und baut auf diese Bestandteile auf:

  • Quartz 2D: Anzeige von 2D-Inhalten wie Rastergrafiken, Vektorgrafiken und Text
  • OpenGL: Schnittstelle für 3D-Inhalte
  • QuickTime: Multimedia-Schnittstelle für die Dekodierung und Wiedergabe von Audio / Video
  • Quartz Compositor: GUI-Unterbau für die Verwaltung von Programmfenstern
  • PDF-Implementierung: Für die Kantenglättung bei Grafiken und Texten sowie die Einbindung von OpenType-, PostScript- und TrueType-Fonts

Weitere Informationen und Einblicke zu den Neuerungen und Änderungen in den einzelnen Mac-Betriebssystemen von Mac OS X 10.0 Cheetah bis macOS 14 Sonoma findet ihr in diesem Beitrag: Mac-Betriebssysteme – Alles von Mac OS X 10.0 (2001) bis macOS 14 Sonoma (2023). Zu jedem System ist darin ein Einzelbeitrag verlinkt, in dem es ausführliche Informationen, ein Video der Präsentation, Download- und Kauf-Möglichkeiten für das System sowie den Download des originalen Wallpapers gibt. Ein umfangreiches Lexikon also, das durchaus einen Blick wert ist.

Nicht verwechseln: Quick, Draw! von Google

Sucht man Informationen zur Apple-Technik „QuickDraw“, dann stolpert man schnell über das Google-Spiel „Quick, Draw!“. Dieses Browserspiel stellt ein KI-Experiment dar, bei dem Nutzer/innen in wenigen Sekunden Objekte zeichnen, die dann von einem neuronalen Netzwerk identifiziert werden sollen. Mit Quick, Draw! soll die „weltweit größte Datenbank für Zeichnungen“ geschaffen werden. Sie soll als öffentlich zugängliches Material der Forschung dienen. Mehr Informationen und das Spiel an sich findet ihr mit diesem Link.

Meine Tipps & Tricks rund um Technik & Apple

Hat dir der Artikel gefallen und helfen dir die Anleitungen im Blog? Dann würde ich mich freuen, wenn du das Blog über eine Steady-Mitgliedschaft unterstützen würdest.

Kommentar verfassen

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert

Im Sir Apfelot Blog findest du Ratgeber, Anleitungen und Testberichte zu Apple Produkten wie iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, AirPods, iMac, Mac Pro, Mac Mini und Mac Studio.

Specials
Shopping
  •  
  •