Canon SELPHY CP1300 in the video: functions, problems and remedies

Update December 31.12.2018st, 1300: In the meantime, the Canon Selphy CPXNUMX has "moved in" with me and has completely impressed me. You can here is my review of the photo printer .

The Canon SELPHY CP1300 is a small, mobile WiFi photo printer that, in combination with the corresponding app, can print selfies and other photos directly from a smartphone or tablet. Various features and printing options (also via computer or SD card) make it usable for various occasions - for passport photos, for parties or weddings, for holidays and for printing individual postcards on a world trip. On YouTube I found a video about a Canon SELPHY CP1300 test, which I have linked and summarized for you here.

The Canon SELPHY CP1300 test by Marc Arzt shows that the mobile photo printer has its strengths. The weaknesses can almost be neglected. Image source: Amazon

The Canon SELPHY CP1300 test by Marc Arzt shows that the mobile photo printer has its strengths. The weaknesses can almost be neglected. Image source: Amazon

Canon SELPHY CP1300 review

A live test of the Canon SELPHY CP1300 as well as reports on the use of the device, a comparison with the predecessor "CP1200" and information on the functions, print quality and other areas are provided by Marc Arzt in his Video on the subject. In the YouTube video about the mobile photo printer, which can easily be controlled via WLAN via the app, there are many advantages, but also a few disadvantages. The color quality is already quite good, but its slight blue cast can be removed by making adjustments (for example in the mobile Lightroom version for the iPhone).

The underlying technology and its further development compared to the Canon SELPHY CP1200 is also critically addressed in the video. In fact, printing technology does not seem to have improved. Although the selfies and vacation photos come from the mobile printer in good quality, the thin line that is visible at second glance in the printed image was not removed. This line can even be seen in the product photos on Amazon, when you know that you have to keep your eyes open afterwards. 

Older post about mobile photo printers for iPhone, iPad and MacBook

Specifications: Canon SELPHY CP1300 datasheet

Before I get to the app and the other contents of the test report video for the Canon SELPHY CP1300, here are the specs of the device:

  • Manufacturer: Canon
  • Model: CP1300
  • Model number: 2235C002
  • Dimensions: 18,6 cm x 13,6 cm x 6,3 cm
  • Weight: 862 g
  • Print type: thermal transfer printer
  • Technology: printer foil cartridges
  • Print from: iOS or Android device, SD card, camera
  • Operation via power supply: yes
  • Battery operation: yes (CP1300 battery available separately)
  • Scope of delivery: Compact Photo Printer SELPHY CP1300, paper cassette (for paper in postcard format), compact power adapter CA-CP200 B, power cord, instructions
  • Useful accessories: Battery Canon NB-CP2LH; Canon printer cartridge RP-108 (two cartridge foils for 54 prints and 108 sheets of photo paper)

via GIPHY

Canon PRINT App for SELPHY and Inkjet

To send the photos from the iPhone camera to the photo printer, you need the app Canon PRINT Inkjet / SEPHY, short: PRINT. This is available for Apple iOS and Google Android alike. In addition to the printer shown, it is also made for the PIXMA and MAXIFY product lines. You can find the PRINT app download for iOS in the App Store and for Android in the Play Store.

[appbox app store id664425773]

Summary of advantages and disadvantages

In the almost ten-minute video, several advantages and a few small disadvantages of the device are named. Here I would like to reproduce them briefly so that you can get an insight:

Advantages

  • Mobile printing of photos and postcards in various modes
  • Input of images via WLAN, SD card and connection of the camera, PC or Mac
  • Operation either on the mains or mobile via battery (to be purchased separately)
  • Use via app via iOS device or Android device possible
  • Use of storage media and printing of images can be controlled via your own display

Neutral points

  • Color adjustments may be necessary; however, these are easy to implement
  • Battery not included
  • App for smartphone printing required (instead of WLAN transmission to printer memory)

Disadvantages

  • Printing technology with line in the picture taken over from the predecessor as a printing error
  • Printer cartridge foils and printing paper not included in delivery

DJI Osmo Gimbal for stable smartphone photos and videos

Slight blue cast - solution via your own correction

In the video linked and embedded above, a slight bluish cast is mentioned in the pictures printed by the Canon SELPHY CP1300 photo printer, which may only be noticeable by the photo professional. The solution also shown in the video consists of loading the image with the mobile selfie printer into an image editing app for iOS before printing it and adjusting the color temperature and other values ​​there, if necessary. In the example shown, the following steps have been taken:

  1. Open the iPhone photo you selected for printing in the Lightroom app
  2. To correct this, set temperature to +10, tint to +4 and saturation to +10
  3. Use the share option to send the image from Lightroom to the PRINT app and thus to the WiFi printer

So a little detour, but one that quickly and easily leads to more beautiful pictures. In this way, individual effects and color options can also be implemented. So if you want to see whether the photo should not be printed better as a black and white image (possibly with colored accents) or otherwise processed, you can also use an app for photo editing.

Illuminated selfie cases for iPhone 6 / 6s / Plus

Buy Canon SELPHY CP1300 and accessories

At Amazon, among others, you can not only buy the Canon SELPHY CP1300 mobile printer buy, but also the appropriate or necessary accessories. The package with Printer transparencies and paper for printouts in postcard format currently costs 28,90 euros (as of August 2018). With 108 prints, that's about 26,8 cents per photo. I still think that's quite humane - and on the go it's still much cheaper than the postcards from the souvenir shop. Speaking of on the go: of course there is also on Amazon the right battery for the device.

Canon mobile photo printer
The device performed well in the Canon SELPHY CP1300 test. Small mistakes and problems result in a deduction of points, but do not make the device a complete flop. You can find multimedia impressions of the device in the video.
11,49 EUR
Canon printer cartridge RP-108
You should order the Canon RP-108 printer cartridge with enough color and paper for 108 prints. Because these accessories are not included in the scope of delivery of the printer. Further technical data and Canon SELPHY CP1300 specs can be found in the data sheet above.
Canon NB-CP2LH battery
The Canon NB-CP2LH Selphy battery is compatible with the photo printer presented here. The battery can be charged directly via the printer in mains operation. Data: 22,2 V; 1.100-1.200 mAh; 25 Wh. Compatible with SELPHY models CP810, CP1000, CP790, CP1300, CP1200, CP900, CP820, CP910, CP780, CP800.
-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

4 comments

  1. Mark says:

    Is a thermal printer and not an inkjet printer as specified!

  2. Lara says:

    Hello :)
    I think it's great that the cp1300 offers different sizes!
    My question about this is: If a smaller size is selected, can different images be degprinted on one printing paper?

    • sir appleot says:

      You can make a collage with the Canon Selphy app and then select different photos to print out together on a piece of paper.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Canon SELPHY CP1300 im Test: Funktionen, Problemchen und Abhilfe

Der Canon SELPHY CP1300 ist ein kleiner, mobiler WLAN Foto-Drucker, der in Kombination mit der entsprechenden App Selfies und andere Fotos direkt vom Smartphone oder Tablet ausdrucken kann. Verschiedene Features und Druck-Möglichkeiten (auch per Computer oder SD-Karte) machen ihn für unterschiedliche Gelegenheiten einsetzbar – fürs Passfoto, für die Party oder Hochzeit, für den Urlaub und das Drucken individueller Ansichtskarten auf der Weltreise. Auf YouTube habe ich ein Video zu einem Canon SELPHY CP1300 Test gefunden, welches ich euch hier verlinkt und zusammengefasst habe.

Der Canon SELPHY CP1300 Test von Marc Arzt zeigt, dass der mobile Foto-Drucker durchaus Stärken hat. Die Schwächen kann man fast vernachlässigen. Bilderquelle: Amazon

Der Canon SELPHY CP1300 Test von Marc Arzt zeigt, dass der mobile Foto-Drucker durchaus Stärken hat. Die Schwächen kann man fast vernachlässigen. Bilderquelle: Amazon

Canon SELPHY CP1300 Test

Ein Live-Test des Canon SELPHY CP1300 sowie Berichte zur Nutzung des Geräts, ein Vergleich zum Vorgänger „CP1200“ sowie Angaben zu den Funktionen, zur Druck-Qualität und anderen Bereichen liefert Marc Arzt in seinem Video zum Thema. In dem YouTube-Video zum mobilen Foto-Drucker, der einfach über WLAN per App angesteuert werden kann, kommen viele Vorteile, aber auch ein paar Nachteile zum Tragen. So ist die Farbqualität schon recht gut, kann aber durch Anpassungen (beispielsweise in der mobilen Lightroom-Version fürs iPhone) von ihrem leichten Blaustich befreit werden.

Ebenfalls wird im Video die zugrundeliegende Technik bzw. deren Weiterentwicklung im Vergleich zum Canon SELPHY CP1200 kritisch angesprochen. Die Drucktechnik scheint sich nämlich nicht verbessert zu haben. Zwar kommen die Selfies und Urlaubsfotos in guter Qualität aus dem mobilen Drucker – jedoch wurde der dünne, auf den zweiten Blick sichtbare Strich im ausgedruckten Bild nicht behoben. Selbst auf den Produktfotos bei Amazon ist dieser Strich zu sehen, wenn man weiß, dass man danach die Augen offen halten muss. 

Älterer Beitrag über mobile Fotodrucker für iPhone, iPad und MacBook

Technische Daten: Canon SELPHY CP1300 Datenblatt

Bevor ich zur App und zu den weiteren Inhalten des Testbericht-Videos zum Canon SELPHY CP1300 komme, hier die Specs des Geräts:

  • Hersteller: Canon
  • Modell: CP1300
  • Modellnummer: 2235C002
  • Maße: 18,6 cm x 13,6 cm x 6,3 cm
  • Gewicht: 862 g
  • Druckart: Tintenstrahldrucker
  • Technologie: Drucker-Folien-Kartuschen
  • Druck von: iOS- oder Android-Gerät, SD-Karte, Kamera
  • Betrieb über Netzteil: ja
  • Betrieb über Akku: ja (CP1300 Akku separat erhältlich)
  • Lieferumfang: Compact Photo Printer SELPHY CP1300, Papierkassette (für Papier im Postkartenformat), Kompakt-Netzadapter CA-CP200 B, Netzkabel, Anleitungen
  • Nützliches Zubehör: Akku Canon NB-CP2LH; Canon Druckerkartusche RP-108 (zwei Kartuschen-Folien für je 54 Drucke und 108 Blatt Fotopapier)

via GIPHY

Canon PRINT App für SELPHY und Inkjet

Um die Fotos von der iPhone-Kamera an den Foto-Drucker zu schicken, benötigt ihr die App Canon PRINT Inkjet/SEPHY, kurz: PRINT. Diese ist für Apple iOS und Google Android gleichermaßen erhältlich. Neben dem aufgezeigten Printer ist sie auch auch für die Produktreihen PIXMA und MAXIFY gemacht. Den PRINT App Download findet ihr für iOS im App Store und für Android im Play Store.

Canon PRINT Inkjet/SELPHY
Canon PRINT Inkjet/SELPHY
Entwickler: Canon Inc.
Preis: Kostenlos

Zusammenfassung der Vorteile und Nachteile

In dem knapp zehnminütigen Video werden mehrere Vorteile und einige kleine Nachteile des Geräts genannt. Hier möchte ich diese kurz wiedergeben, damit ihr einen Einblick bekommt:

Vorteile

  • Mobiler Druck von Fotos und Postkarten in verschiedenen Modi
  • Einspeisung von Bildern über WLAN, SD-Karte und Anschluss der Kamera, des PC oder Mac
  • Betrieb wahlweise am Stromnetz oder mobil über Akku (separat zu kaufen)
  • Nutzung per App über iOS-Gerät oder Android-Device möglich
  • Nutzung von Speichermedien und Druck der Bilder über eigenes Display steuerbar

Neutrale Punkte

  • Eventuell Farbanpassungen nötig; diese sind aber leicht zu realisieren
  • Akku nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten
  • App für Smartphone-Druck nötig (anstelle einer WLAN-Übertragung auf Drucker-Speicher)

Nachteile

  • Drucktechnik mit Strich im Bild als Druckfehler vom Vorgänger übernommen
  • Drucker-Kartuschen-Folien und Druckpapier nicht im Lieferumfang enthalten

DJI Osmo Gimbal für stabile Smartphone-Fotos und -Videos

Leichter Blaustich – Lösung über eigene Korrektur

Im oben verlinkten und eingebetteten Video wird ein leichter – vielleicht nur für den Foto-Profi auszumachender – Blaustich in den vom Canon SELPHY CP1300 Foto-Drucker ausgedruckten Bildern erwähnt. Die ebenfalls im Video gezeigte Lösung besteht daraus, das Bild vor dem Ausdrucken mit dem mobilen Selfie-Drucker in eine Bildbearbeitung-App für iOS zu laden und dort die Farbtemperatur sowie ggf. auch andere Werte anzupassen. Im gezeigten Beispiel wurden folgende Schritte unternommen:

  1. Das zum Drucken ausgesuchte iPhone-Foto in der Lightroom App öffnen
  2. Für die Korrektur Temperatur auf +10, Tönung auf +4 und Sättigung auf +10 setzen
  3. Über die Teilen-Option das Bild aus Lightroom an die PRINT App und somit an den WLAN-Drucker schicken

Ein kleiner Umweg also, der aber schnell und einfach zu schöneren Bildern führt. So lassen sich auch individuelle Effekte und Farboptionen umsetzen. Wer also schauen will, ob das Foto nicht besser als Schwarz-Weiß-Bild (ggf. mit farbigen Akzenten) oder anderweitig bearbeitet gedruckt werden soll, kann ebenfalls den Weg über eine App zur Fotobearbeitung gehen.

Beleuchtete Selfie-Hüllen für iPhone 6 / 6s / Plus

Canon SELPHY CP1300 und Zubehör kaufen

Unter anderem bei Amazon könnt ihr nicht nur den mobilen Drucker Canon SELPHY CP1300 kaufen, sondern auch das passende respektive nötige Zubehör. Das Paket mit Drucker-Folien und Papier für Ausdrucke im Postkartenformat kostet aktuell 28,90 Euro (Stand: August 2018). Mit 108 Drucken entspricht das ungefähr 26,8 Cent pro Foto. Das finde ich noch recht human – und unterwegs immer noch wesentlich günstiger als die Ansichtskarten aus dem Souvenir-Laden. Apropos unterwegs: natürlich gibt’s bei Amazon auch den passenden Akku für das Gerät.

20,16 EUR
Mobiler Foto-Drucker von Canon
74 Bewertungen
Mobiler Foto-Drucker von Canon
Im Canon SELPHY CP1300 Test hat das Gerät gut abgeschnitten. Kleinere Fehler und Probleme sorgen für Punktabzug, machen das Gerät aber nicht komplett zum Flop. Im Video findet ihr multimediale Eindrücke vom Gerät.
Canon Druckerkartusche RP-108
33 Bewertungen
Canon Druckerkartusche RP-108
Die Canon Druckerkartusche RP-108 mit ausreichend Farbe und Papier für 108 Ausdrucke solltet ihr gleich dazu bestellen. Denn im Lieferumfang des Druckers ist dieses Zubehör nicht enthalten. Weitere technische Daten und Canon SELPHY CP1300 Specs findet ihr im obigen Datenblatt.
10,96 EUR
Canon NB-CP2LH Akku
5 Bewertungen
Canon NB-CP2LH Akku
Der Canon NB-CP2LH Selphy Akku ist kompatibel mit dem hier vorgestellten Foto-Drucker. Der Akku kann direkt über den Drucker im Netzbetrieb geladen werden. Daten: 22,2 V; 1.100-1.200 mAh; 25 Wh. Kompatibel mit SELPHY-Modellen CP810, CP1000, CP790, CP1300, CP1200, CP900, CP820, CP910, CP780, CP800.

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
51

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.