DJI Mavic Air: "Adventure Unfolds" event recap from January 23, 2018

Today, January 23, 2018, the DJI event "Adventure Unfolds" took place in New York, at which - similar to Apple's keynote events - innovations from the drone manufacturer from China were presented. Here I have given you a summary of the presentation that you can send by Live Stream with news and data on DJI Mavic Air created. TL; DR: Click here to go to the shop and to pre-order.

The DJI Mavic Air was unveiled at the Adventure Unfolds Event in New York on January 23, 2018.

The DJI Mavic Air was unveiled at the Adventure Unfolds Event in New York on January 23, 2018.

DJI Mavic Air

The DJI Mavic Air is the new, foldable and smart high-end drone that was unveiled today in News York by Michael Perry, DJI Director of North America. First there was a brief review of the company's previous milestones, such as the DJI Spark 9 months ago, the DJI Phantom 4 Pro before that, and the DJI Mavic Pro 18 months ago. Again and again, the designers and engineers had to go back to the drawing board. This time, due to new technologies and innovations, that also meant developing a new ventilation system to cool the drone well during flight and recording as well as on-board processing of recordings and to protect it from overheating.

Seven cameras, numerous on-board features, antennas in the landing pads, 8GB internal memory and a new cooling system as well as much more are in the camera drone.

Seven cameras, numerous on-board features, antennas in the landing pads, 8GB internal memory and a new cooling system as well as much more are in the camera drone.

Specifications

The DJI Mavic Air is only half the size of the Mavic Pro and also weighs significantly less. Here I have summarized the most important data about the new quadrocopter with 4K camera:

  • Take-off weight: 430 g
  • Diagonal: 213 mm
  • Maximum speed: 68,4 km / h (sport mode) or 28,8 km / h in "normal" mode
  • Maximum height above sea level: 5.000 m
  • Maximum flight time: 21 min
  • Camera: 4K video at 30 fps; Full HD video with up to 120 fps
  • Photos: High resolution with 12 megapixels
  • Data rate: 100 Mbit / s for the best video flow
  • Internal memory: 8GB (quick pick-up possible as the memory card does not have to be searched for)
  • Connection to other hardware: USB-C port
  • Sensors or 7 cameras for orientation (front, back and below) for ideal coordination and obstacle detection
  • For panorama and other feature images, it is possible to combine up to 25 high-resolution images (on-board within one minute)
  • More features below

You can find more specs in the article "DJI Mavic Air: Technical Specifications".

Revised 3-axis gimbal

The 3-axis gimbal has been revised for the new drone from DJI and is now supposed to compensate for flight maneuvers, vibrations and shocks even better than the predecessor of the Spark, Mavic Pro, Phantom 3 and so on. In addition, the gimbal and camera no longer hang as freely as with their predecessors. There is a protection that results from the new housing design, but which also serves to draw in cooling air, which is then passed through the drone.

Antennas in landing pads

The antennas for receiving and sending signals (control, video, photos) are now at the extreme points of the drone, which should ensure better communication. They sit in the landing feet or legs of the drone and should neither disturb nor be disturbed by the other hardware inside.

HDR, Active Track, Quick Shot Modes, Smart Capture, Flight Autonomy 2.0

With the DJI Mavic Air, not only the smallest, most mobile and smartest camera drone of its type and price range was presented, but new features were also presented. Here are all the functions that I wrote down during the performance.

HDR recordings for more details and contrast

HDR or High Dynamic Range stands for nicer pictures, better colors and clear details in photos and videos. The new DJI Mavic Air has an HDR mode to do just that. Michael Perry presented this mode at the Adventure Unfolds Keynote in New York and showed two images of the same scenery, once with and once without HDR. The result shows that the new feature is definitely paying off!

Photo of the DJI Mavic Air with and without HDR in comparison.

Photo of the DJI Mavic Air with and without HDR in comparison.

Active Track: better than before

ActiveTrack has been improved for the DJI Mavic Air. The drone now follows one or more objects / people and keeps the correct distance, can handle changes in speed smart and much more. In addition, it is sufficient to just tap the object / people to be followed on the screen of the smartphone in use in the DJI GO 4 app. No box or box has to be dragged around it. A smarter follow-up that enables good shots of unique events to be made faster.

Active Track just got better.

Active Track just got better.

New Quick Shot modes: Asteroid and Boomerang (boomerang)

Asteroid is a new Quick Shot mode that combines individual high-resolution stills (i.e. photo recordings) from a panorama and bends them in such a way that a kind of small planet or “asteroid” is created. This effect has been in vogue for a few years and is almost out again. However, the new DJI Mavic Air can achieve the corresponding effect without any additional work on the part of the photographer. There is also the Boomerang effect for video recordings. The drone flies around the pilot (or another object) in a circular or oval movement, like a boomerang would. This creates a fully automatic sightseeing flight that would require a lot of manual practice.

Smart capture: better than gesture modes

The gesture control (Gesture Mode) was particularly emphasized on the DJI Spark. With the new camera drone from China, the corresponding control and recording options without a controller and smartphone have been reinvented and provided with innovations:

  • Start with the palm of your hand
  • Moving with the palm of your hand (height and movement in space)
  • Increase and decrease the distance with two palms (like dragging with two fingers on the smartphone screen or Mac trackpad)
  • Land with the palm of your hand
  • Works at a distance of up to 19 feet (just over 6 meters)
With Smart Capture, the drone can be controlled even better with the palms than in the Spark's Gesture Mode.

With Smart Capture, the drone can be controlled even better with the palms than in the Spark's Gesture Mode.

Flight Autonomy 2.0

The new Flight Autonomy 2.0 results from the 3D map created on board, which the DJI Mavic Air creates using the 7 orientation cameras and the newly arranged sensors. When taking off, landing and navigating in the air, the drone is now much smarter and more manoeuvrable than, for example, the predecessor DJI Mavic Pro. In addition, there is the new Advanced Pilot Awareness System (APAS), which is conducive to faster and more intelligent avoidance of obstacles. This is supported by a very high wind resistance.

Outdoor usage in Patagonia by Chris Burkard

Not only Michael Perry was on stage, but also the outdoor photographer Chris Burkard. He was able to use the DJI Mavic Air on a trip through Patagonia in South America and praised the compact dimensions, the low weight and the smart recording and control options of the quadrocopter when he presented the recordings. It is a wonderful tool for all outdoor people who are looking for ready-to-use and handy equipment in addition to the DSLR, tripod and other bulky equipment. Burkard was convinced that Mavic Air will inspire millions of people to go out, experience and document adventures.

Buy / pre-order DJI Mavic Air

Starting today, so from now on, you can pre-order the DJI Mavic Air. This is just as possible at the dealer as it is at the official product page of the DJI Shop. You not only have the choice of the three colors "Arctic White" (white), "Onyx Black" (gray / black) and "Flame Red" (sports car red), but also between the standard edition for $ 799 or the DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo at $ 999. That sounds like a lot; But if you consider the sophisticated technology and the scope of delivery, then this is put into perspective. By the way: when buying a DJI Mavic Air, pay attention to it, directly DJI Select to use! Incidentally, the Mavic Air will be shipped from January 28, 2018; then it is also available from the dealer.

The DJI Mavic Air in Onyx Black, Arctic White and Flame Red.

The DJI Mavic Air in Onyx Black, Arctic White and Flame Red.

Presentation of the Mavic Air in the video

Comparison: Standard and Fly More Combo

DJI Mavic Air (Standard) DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo
Mavic Air drone 1 1
Remote controller 1 1
Intelligent Flight Battery 1 3
charger 1 1
Charging cable / power cord 1 1
Propeller pairs 4 6
Propeller protection (set) 1 1
RC cable for smartphone 1 x Lightning, Micro-USB and USB-C each 1 x Lightning, Micro-USB and USB-C each
Gimbal protection 1 1
Data cable (USB-C) 1 1
Carrying case 1 1
Some other same accessories ... ...
Battery charging hub (for up to 4 batteries at the same time) - 1
Battery power bank adapter - 1
overnight bag - 1
The DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo offers a great savings offer for people who want the camera drone always ready for use!

The DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo offers a great savings offer for people who want the camera drone always ready for use!

Your opinion

What do you think of the new DJI Mavic Air, which was presented today in New York by Michael Perry and Chris Burkard and a few helpers? Is it the camera drone you've been waiting for and are you looking forward to the new functions such as HDR, Active Track, the new Quick Shot modes Asteroid and Boomerang, Smart Capture, Flight Autonomy 2.0 and so on? Feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts on the device;)

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

DJI Mavic Air: „Adventure Unfolds“ Event-Zusammenfassung vom 23. Januar 2018

In New York fand heute, am 23. Januar 2018, das DJI-Event „Adventure Unfolds“ statt, bei dem – ähnlich wie bei den Keynote-Veranstaltungen von Apple – Neuheiten des Drohnen-Herstellers aus China vorgestellt wurden. Hier habe ich euch eine Zusammenfassung der Präsentation, die man per Live Stream verfolgen konnte, mit News und Daten zur DJI Mavic Air erstellt. TL;DR: Hier geht’s zum Shop und zur Vorbestellung.

Die DJI Mavic Air wurde beim Adventure Unfolds Event in New York am 23. Januar 2018 vorgestellt.

Die DJI Mavic Air wurde beim Adventure Unfolds Event in New York am 23. Januar 2018 vorgestellt.

DJI Mavic Air

Die DJI Mavic Air ist die neue, faltbare und smarte High-End-Drohne, die heute in News York von Michael Perry, dem DJI Director of North America, vorgestellt wurde. Erst gab es einen kleinen Rückblick auf die bisherigen Meilensteine der Firma, wie der DJI Spark vor 9 Monaten, der DJI Phantom 4 Pro davor, und vor ganzen 18 Monaten bereits der DJI Mavic Pro. Immer wieder hieß es für die Designer und Ingenieure zurück ans Reißbrett. Dieses Mal hieß das aufgrund neuer Technologien und Innovationen auch, ein neues Ventilationssystem zu entwickeln, um die Drohne bei Flug und Aufnahme sowie On-Board-Bearbeitung von Aufnahmen gut zu kühlen und vor Überhitzung zu schützen.

Sieben Kameras, zahlreiche On-Board-Features, Antennen in den Landefüßen, 8GB interner Speicher und ein neues Kühlsystem sowie viel mehr stecken in der Kamera-Drohne.

Sieben Kameras, zahlreiche On-Board-Features, Antennen in den Landefüßen, 8GB interner Speicher und ein neues Kühlsystem sowie viel mehr stecken in der Kamera-Drohne.

Technische Daten

Die DJI Mavic Air ist nur halb so groß wie die Mavic Pro und wiegt auch signifikant weniger. Hier habe ich euch mal die wichtigsten Daten zum neuen Quadrocopter mit 4K-Kamera zusammengefasst:

  • Abflug-Gewicht: 430 g
  • Diagonale: 213 mm
  • Maximalgeschwindigkeit: 68,4 km/h (Sport-Modus) bzw. 28,8 km/h im „Normal“-Modus
  • Maximale Höhe über NN: 5.000 m
  • Maximale Flugzeit: 21 min
  • Kamera: 4K-Video mit 30 fps; Full HD Video mit bis zu 120 fps
  • Fotos: Hochauflösend mit 12 Megapixel
  • Datenrate: 100 Mbit/s für besten Videofluss
  • Interner Speicher: 8GB (schnelles Abheben möglich, da die Speicherkarte nicht gesucht werden muss)
  • Verbindung zu anderer Hardware: USB-C-Anschluss
  • Sensoren bzw. 7 Kameras für die Orientierung (vorn, hinten und unten) für ideale Koordination und Hinderniserkennung
  • Für Panorama- und andere Feature-Bilder ist es möglich, bis zu 25 hochauflösende Bilder zusammenzufügen (On-Board innerhalb einer Minute)
  • Weitere Features im Folgenden

Mehr Specs findet ihr im Artikel „DJI Mavic Air: Technische Daten„.

Überarbeitetes 3-Achsen-Gimbal

Das 3-Achsen-Gimbal wurde für die neue Drohne aus dem Hause DJI überarbeitet und soll nun noch besser Flugmanöver, Vibrationen und Erschütterungen ausgleichen als die Vorgänger der Spark, Mavic Pro, Phantom 3 und so weiter. Außerdem hängen Gimbal und Kamera nun nicht mehr ganz so frei wie bei den Vorgängern. Es gibt einen Schutz, der sich aus dem neuen Gehäuse-Design ergibt, der aber auch dazu dient, Kühlluft anzuziehen, welche dann durch die Drohne geleitet wird.

Antennen in Landefüßen

Die Antennen für das Empfangen und Senden von Signalen (Steuerung, Video, Fotos) befinden sich nun an den äußersten Stellen der Drohne, was für eine bessere Kommunikation sorgen soll. Sie sitzen in den Landefüßen bzw. Beinen der Drohne und sollen dabei weder die weitere Hardware im Innern stören noch von selbiger gestört werden.

HDR, Active Track, Quick Shot Modi, Smart Capture, Flight Autonomy 2.0

Mit der DJI Mavic Air wurde nicht nur die derzeit kleinste, mobilste und smarteste Kamera-Drohne ihrer Art und Preisklasse vorgestellt, sondern es wurden auch neue Features präsentiert. Hier einmal alle Funktionen, die ich mir während der Vorstellung notiert habe.

HDR-Aufnahmen für mehr Details und Kontrast

HDR oder High Dynamic Range steht für schönere Bilder, bessere Farben und klare Details in Fotos und Videos. Die neue DJI Mavic Air verfügt über einen HDR-Modus, um genau das zu bieten. Bei der Adventure Unfolds Keynote in New York hat Michael Perry diesen Modus vorgestellt und zwei Bilder der gleichen Szenerie gezeigt, die einmal mit und einmal ohne HDR aufgenommen wurden. Das Ergebnis zeigt, dass sich das neue Feature durchaus auszahlt!

Foto der DJI Mavic Air mit und ohne HDR im Vergleich.

Foto der DJI Mavic Air mit und ohne HDR im Vergleich.

Active Track: besser als zuvor

ActiveTrack wurde für die DJI Mavic Air verbessert. Die Drohne folgt nun einem oder mehreren Objekten / Menschen und hält dabei den richtigen Abstand, kann smart mit Veränderungen der Geschwindigkeit umgehen und vieles mehr. Zudem reicht es, auf dem Bildschirm des genutzten Smartphones in der DJI GO 4 App nur das zu folgende Objekt / den Menschen anzutippen. Es muss kein Kasten, keine Box darum gezogen werden. Ein smarteres Folgen also, das schneller gute Aufnahmen von einmaligen Ereignissen ermöglicht.

Active Track ist nun noch besser.

Active Track ist nun noch besser.

Neue Quick Shot Modi: Asteroid und Boomerang (Bumerang)

Asteroid ist ein neuer Quick Shot Modus, der einzelne hochauflösende Stills (also Foto-Aufnahmen) von einem Panorama zusammenfügt und derart krümmt, dass eine Art kleiner Planet oder eben „Asteroid“ entsteht. Dieser Effekt ist schon einige Jahre im Trend und schon fast wieder out. Jedoch kann die neue DJI Mavic Air den entsprechenden Effekt ganz ohne zusätzliche Arbeit des Fotografen selbst realisieren. Zudem gibt es den Effekt Boomerang für Video-Aufnahmen. Dabei fliegt die Drohne in einer kreisförmigen bzw. ovalen Bewegung um den Piloten (oder ein anderes Objekt) herum, wie es ein Bumerang tun würde. So entsteht ein vollautomatischer Rundflug, für den man manuell einiges an Übung bräuchte.

Smart Capture: besser als Gesture Modes

Die Gestensteuerung (Gesture Mode) wurde vor allem bei der DJI Spark stark hervorgehoben. Mit der neuen Kameradrohne aus China wurden die entsprechenden Steuer- und Aufnahme-Möglichkeiten ohne Controller und Smartphone neu erfunden und mit Innovationen versehen:

  • Starten mit der Handfläche
  • Bewegen mit der Handfläche (Höhe und Bewegung im Raum)
  • Vergrößern und Verringern der Distanz mit zwei Handflächen (wie beim Ziehen mit zwei Fingern auf dem Smartphone-Bildschirm oder Mac Trackpad)
  • Landen mit Handfläche
  • Funktioniert bei einer Entfernung bis 19 Fuß (etwas über 6 Meter)
Mit Smart Capture lässt sich die Drohne noch besser mit den Handflächen steuern als in der Gesture Mode der Spark.

Mit Smart Capture lässt sich die Drohne noch besser mit den Handflächen steuern als in der Gesture Mode der Spark.

Flight Autonomy 2.0

Die neue Flight Autonomy 2.0 ergibt sich aus der On Board erstellten 3D-Karte, welche die DJI Mavic Air vermittels der 7 Orientierungs-Kameras und der neu-angeordneten Sensoren erstellt. Beim Abheben, Landen und Navigieren in der Luft ist die Drohne nun wesentlich schlauer und wendiger als beispielsweise der Vorgänger DJI Mavic Pro. Hinzu kommt das neue Advanced Pilot Awareness System (APAS), welches dem schnelleren und intelligenteren Ausweichen von Hindernissen zuträglich ist. Unterstützt wird dies durch eine sehr hohe Windresistenz.

Outdoor-Nutzung in Patagonien durch Chris Burkard

Nicht nur Michael Perry war auf der Bühne zu sehen, sondern auch der Outdoor-Fotograf Chris Burkard. Er hat die DJI Mavic Air auf einer Reise durch Patagonien in Südamerika nutzen können und lobte bei seiner Präsentation der Aufnahmen die kompakten Maße, das geringe Gewicht und die smarten Aufnahme- sowie Steuerungsmöglichkeiten des Quadrocopters. Er sei ein wunderbares Werkzeug für alle Outdoor-Leute, die schnell einsatzbereites und handliches Equipment neben der DSLR, dem Stativ und anderem sperrigen Gerät suchen. Burkard zeigte sich überzeugt davon, dass die Mavic Air Millionen Leute dazu inspirieren wird, hinaus zu gehen, Abenteuer zu erleben und diese zu dokumentieren.

DJI Mavic Air kaufen / vorbestellen

Ab heute, also ab sofort kann man die DJI Mavic Air vorbestellen. Das ist beim Händler genauso möglich wie auf der offiziellen Produktseite des DJI Shops. Ihr habt dort nicht nur die Wahl aus den drei Farben „Arctic White“ (Weiß), „Onyx Black“ (Grau / Schwarz) und „Flame Red“ (Sportwagen-Rot), sondern auch zwischen der Standard-Edition zu $799 oder der DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo zu $999. Das klingt recht viel; beachtet man aber die ausgereifte Technik und den Lieferumfang, dann relativiert sich das. Übrigens: achtet beim DJI Mavic Air kaufen darauf, direkt DJI Select zu nutzen! Versendet wird die Mavic Air übrigens ab dem 28. Januar 2018; dann ist sie auch beim Händler erhältlich.

Die DJI Mavic Air in Onyx Black, Arctic White und Flame Red.

Die DJI Mavic Air in Onyx Black, Arctic White und Flame Red.

Vorstellung der Mavic Air im Video

Vergleich: Standard und Fly More Combo

DJI Mavic Air (Standard)DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo
Mavic Air Drohne11
Remote Controller (Fernsteuerung)11
Intelligent Flight Battery (Akku)13
Ladegerät11
Ladekabel / Netzkabel11
Propeller-Paare46
Propeller-Schutz (Set)11
RC-Kabel für Smartphoneje 1 x Lightning, Micro-USB und USB-Cje 1 x Lightning, Micro-USB und USB-C
Gimbal-Schutz11
Datenkabel (USB-C)11
Transporttasche11
Einiges anderes gleiche Zubehör
Akku-Lade-Hub (für bis zu 4 Akkus gleichzeitig)1
Akku-Powerbank-Adapter1
Reisetasche1
Die DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo bietet ein Spar-Angebot für Leute, die die Kameradrohne immer einsatzbereit wollen!

Die DJI Mavic Air Fly More Combo bietet ein Spar-Angebot für Leute, die die Kameradrohne immer einsatzbereit wollen!

Eure Meinung

Was haltet ihr von der neuen DJI Mavic Air, die heute in New York von Michael Perry und Chris Burkard sowie einigen Helfern vorgestellt wurde? Ist sie die Kamera-Drohne, auf die ihr lange gewartet habt und freut ihr euch auf die neuen Funktionen wie HDR, Active Track, die neuen Quick Shot Modi Asteroid und Boomerang, Smart Capture, Flight Autonomy 2.0 und so weiter? Lasst gern einen Kommentar mit euren Gedanken zum Gerät da 😉

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.