HOOKED App: Read literature as chat stories

Literature fans and especially teenagers who use the smartphone not only for their own messages but also to read stories, I certainly don't tell anything new when I report on the HOOKED app. The almost 92 MB program for iOS and Android delivers literature from various genres as chat processes for the protagonists - including pictures and all the trimmings. In the following I would like to explain to you what the app can do, where are the advantages and disadvantages and whether you are really hooked, ie addicted to the stories.

The HOOKED app for iPhone and Android mobile phones offers exciting stories as chat history of the protagonists for the "Snapchat generation".

The HOOKED app for iPhone and Android mobile phones offers exciting stories as chat history of the protagonists for the "Snapchat generation".

HOOKED App: Read stories as chat flows

With its stories in the form of messenger chats, the HOOKED app is aimed primarily at teenagers and, as an extended target group, certainly also at other users who use the mobile phone for a wide variety of tasks. So if you like to read, like exciting stories and are tech-savvy, this application from the Apple iOS App Store or the Google Play Store for Android could be something for you. However, as you can read in the respective reviews and ratings, the current version (1.64 for Android devices; 3.9.1 for iPhone) offers some negative points that did not exist in previous versions.

By the way, these are the genres that you can access (at least with subscription):

  • Love / romance
  • Drama
  • Horror
  • Fantasy
  • Crime
  • Paranormal
  • Thriller
  • Comedy
  • SF

Tip: Blinkist test - experiences with book summaries

Advantages

I see a clear advantage that the stories that Telepathic Inc. brings to your cell phones are available in German. Where there is still a lack of translation of the program commands and messages, the stories themselves (i.e. the main content) are very well translated into German. The simple presentation and the constant development of the stories (at least the ones I looked into) also speak in favor of downloading and using the software. In addition, Telepathic clearly has it with HOOKED, the company's first product their philosophy Fulfills:

Telepathic is redefining storytelling for the Snapchat generation. We believe there is a billion-dollar opportunity in bringing "lean" principles to the development and distribution of mass-market fiction, and in presenting stories as a mobile-first experience.

Disadvantages

Anyone who likes to read through a story in one go or want to bang several stories at once will quickly get to know the negative sides of the app. Because the “billion dollar opportunity” of Telepathic Inc. and its investors naturally also includes substantial refinancing. And after the first free or inexpensive versions pulled users ashore and generated media reports, it is now being screamed. And that happens while reading as well as through the images in the chat history. 

If you want to avoid a waiting time of 35 to 40 minutes in the middle of the story or activate the photos of the story, a subscription is necessary. The HOOKED subscription models look like this:

  • 7 days free, then $ 4,99 per week
  • 1 month for $ 14,99
  • 1 year for $ 39,99

Without having tried the subscriptions, if I were more interested in the HOOKED app and reading on the iPhone or Android smartphone, I would use the free test week for the time being. Attention: If you do not cancel, this will be converted directly into a subscription! I would look at how many genres and stories are waiting for me and then see whether I can get through them in one month (subscription model 2) or whether there is enough material for one year (subscription model 3).

Neutral assessment

Anyone who informs themselves beforehand and also reads the reviews in the app stores knows what they are getting into. So if you can do without the pictures and get by with waiting times, then the free version of HOOKED might be just the thing. If you are already saving money because you are not buying books and would like to use the app as the first / new source for exciting stories and spend money on it, then that is certainly okay too. That's why I would rate the HOOKED app neither as completely great nor as absolutely bad.

Download

For Android you can of course find the HOOKED download in the Google Play Store. For the Apple iPhone with iOS, go to the Apple App Store or iTunes. Or you just use this app box;)

[appbox app store id1024818709]

Screenshot (Android)

For reasons I have "only" screenshots of an Android device available for this article. But these already give enough information to get an idea of ​​the app:


Write and submit your own stories for the HOOKED app

The concept of the HOOKED app naturally invites you to spin what you have read in other directions or to come up with completely new stories yourself. The simple chat style, which serves as a pure dialogue without a narrative element, makes it even easier. In addition, everyone knows one or the other situation from WhatsApp or other messenger apps that, with the right twist, becomes an exciting story. And that's exactly why you can write your own stories for HOOKED and publish them in the app. This video shows how to do this:

Interesting information and news

What I find interesting in addition to the content and the superficial business model of Telepathic and HOOKED are the structures and news / rumors behind them. The startup, which was founded in 2015, was not created out of the ground through investments by private users, but primarily through well-known financiers from Hollywood and Silicon Valley such as the ex-president of Warner Brothers Greg Silverman, the actor Kevin Spacey and companies such as SV Angel, Greylock Partners , 500 startups, cowboy ventures or the talent agency WME Ventures. 

In addition, a number of major media have already adopted the company and its app. Business Insider, Wired magazine, LA Times, New York Times, and more have reported. In the Online edition of the Los Angeles Times it even says that the data on the use of the app and the popularity of individual stories in Hollywood would be used to define the next "Harry Potter"; in other words, the next big franchise for a broad, lucrative target group. So all in all very interesting, isn't it? 

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

1 comment

  1. Matt says:

    That sounds exciting. Would certainly give such an exciting chat a chance. ;-)

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

HOOKED App: Literatur als Chat-Geschichten lesen

Literaturfreunden und vor allem Teenagern, die das Smartphone nicht nur für eigene Nachrichten, sondern auch zum Lesen von Geschichten nutzen, erzähle ich sicher nichts Neues, wenn ich über die HOOKED App berichte. Das knapp 92 MB messende Programm für iOS und Android liefert Literatur verschiedener Genres als Chat-Verläufe der Protagonisten – inklusive Bilder und allem Drum und Dran. Was die App kann, wo Vorteile und Nachteile liegen und ob man tatsächlich schnell „hooked“, also süchtig nach den Geschichten ist, das möchte ich euch im Folgenden darlegen.

Die HOOKED App für iPhone und Android Handys bietet spannende Geschichten als Chat-Verlauf der Protagonisten für die

Die HOOKED App für iPhone und Android Handys bietet spannende Geschichten als Chat-Verlauf der Protagonisten für die "Snapchat-Generation" an.

HOOKED App: Geschichten als Chat-Verläufe lesen

Die HOOKED App richtet sich mit ihren Storys in Form von Messenger-Chats vor allem an Teenager und als erweiterte Zielgruppe sicher auch an andere User, die das Handy für verschiedenste Aufgaben nutzen. Wer also gerne liest, spannende Geschichten mag und technikaffin ist, für den könnte diese Applikation aus dem Apple iOS App Store bzw. dem Google Play Store für Android etwas sein. Wie man aber in den jeweiligen Rezensionen und Bewertungen lesen kann, bietet die aktuelle Version (1.64 für Android-Geräte; 3.9.1 für iPhone) einige negative Punkte, die es in vorigen Versionen nicht gab.

Das sind übrigens die Genres, die man (zumindest mit Abo-Nutzung) abrufen kann:

  • Liebe / Romantik
  • Drama
  • Horror
  • Fantasy
  • Krimi
  • Paranormales
  • Thriller
  • Comedy
  • Science-Fiction

Tipp: Blinkist-Test – Erfahrungen mit Buchzusammenfassungen

Vorteile

Als ganz klaren Vorteil sehe ich, dass die Geschichten, die hier von der Telepathic Inc. auf eure Handys gebracht werden, auf Deutsch verfügbar sind. Wo es bei der Übersetzung der Programm-Befehle und Meldungen noch hapert, da sind die Storys an sich (also der hauptsächliche Inhalt) sehr gut ins Deutsche übertragen. Die einfache Aufmachung und die stete Entwicklung der Geschichten (zumindest jene, in die ich hineingeschaut habe) spricht auch für Download und Nutzung der Software. Außerdem hat Telepathic mit HOOKED, dem ersten Produkt der Firma, ganz klar ihre Philosophie erfüllt:

Telepathic is redefining storytelling for the Snapchat generation.  We believe there is a billion-dollar opportunity in bringing "lean" principles to the development and distribution of mass-market fiction, and in presenting stories as a mobile-first experience.

Nachteile

Wer gern eine Geschichte am Stück durchlesen oder gleich mehrere Storys bingen will, wird schnell die negativen Seiten der App kennenlernen. Denn zu der „billion -dollar opportunity“ der Telepathic Inc. sowie deren Investoren gehört natürlich auch eine kräftige Refinanzierung. Und nachdem mit den ersten gratis bzw. günstigen Versionen User an Land gezogen und Medienberichte erzeugt wurden, wird nun abgesahnt. Und das passiert beim Lesen sowie durch die in den Chat-Verläufen befindlichen Bildern. 

Möchte man nämlich mitten in der Geschichte eine Wartezeit von 35 bis 40 Minuten umgehen oder die Fotos der Story freischalten, wird ein Abo notwendig. Die HOOKED Abo-Modelle sehen folgendermaßen aus:

  • 7 Tage kostenlos, danach $4,99 pro Woche
  • 1 Monat für $14,99
  • 1 Jahr für $39,99

Ohne die Abos ausprobiert zu haben, würde ich bei mehr Interesse an der HOOKED App und dem Lesen auf dem iPhone respektive Android-Smartphone vorerst die kostenlose Test-Woche nutzen. Achtung: Diese wird bei ausbleibender Kündigung direkt in ein Abo umgewandelt! Dabei würde ich schauen, wie viele Genres und Geschichten überhaupt auf mich warten und dann sehen, ob ich diese in einem Monat (Abo-Modell 2) durchbingen kann oder ob es genug Material für ein Jahr (Abo-Modell 3) ist.

Neutrale Einschätzung

Wer sich vorher informiert und auch die Rezensionen in den App Stores liest, weiß, auf was er sich einlässt. Wenn ihr also auf die Bilder verzichten und mit Wartezeiten auskommen könnt, dann ist die Gratis-Version von HOOKED vielleicht genau das Richtige. Spart ihr sowieso schon Geld, weil ihr euch keine Bücher kauft und möchtet die App nun als erste / neue Quelle für spannende Geschichten nutzen sowie dafür Geld ausgeben, dann ist das sicher auch okay. Deshalb würde ich die HOOKED App weder als komplett super noch als absolut schlecht einschätzen.

Download

Für Android findet ihr den HOOKED Download natürlich im Google Play Store. Für das Apple iPhone mit iOS geht ihr über den Apple App Store oder zu iTunes. Oder ihr nutzt einfach diese App-Box 😉

HOOKED
HOOKED
Entwickler: Telepathic, Inc.
Preis: Kostenlos+

Screenshots (Android)

Aus Gründen habe ich für diesen Beitrag „nur“ Screenshots eines Android-Geräts zur Verfügung. Aber diese geben schon genug Infos, um sich ein Bild von der App machen zu können:


Eigene Geschichten für HOOKED App schreiben und einreichen

Das Konzept der HOOKED App lädt natürlich dazu ein, das Gelesene in andere Richtungen zu spinnen oder sich selber ganz neue Geschichten auszudenken. Der einfache Chat-Stil, der als purer Dialog ohne narratives Element dient, macht selbiges noch einfacher. Zudem kennt jeder aus WhatsApp oder anderen Messenger Apps die eine oder andere Situation, die mit dem richtigen Twist zur spannenden Story wird. Und genau deshalb kann man auch eigene Geschichten für HOOKED schreiben sowie in der App veröffentlichen (lassen). Wie das geht, zeigt dieses Video (Englisch):

Interessante Informationen und News

Was ich neben den Inhalten und dem oberflächlich aufgezeigten Geschäftsmodell von Telepathic und HOOKED noch interessant finde, sind die Strukturen und News / Gerüchte dahinter. Denn das 2015 gegründete Startup wurde nicht etwa durch Investitionen privater User aus dem Boden gestampft, sondern vor allem durch namhafte Geldgeber aus Hollywood und dem Silicon Valley wie dem Expräsident von Warner Brothers Greg Silverman, dem Schauspieler Kevin Spacey und Unternehmen wie SV Angel, Greylock Partners, 500 Startups, Cowboy Ventures oder der Talentagentur WME Ventures. 

Zudem haben sich schon etliche große Medien dem Unternehmen und seiner App angenommen. Der Business Insider, das Wired-Magazin, die LA Times, die New York Times und weitere haben berichtet. In der Online-Ausgabe der Los Angeles Times heißt es sogar, dass die Daten zu Nutzung der App und Beliebtheit einzelner Storys in Hollywood dazu genutzt würden, um den nächsten „Harry Potter“ zu definieren; also das nächste große Franchise für eine breite, lukrative Zielgruppe. Alles in allem also sehr interessant, oder? 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

1 Kommentar

  1. Matt sagt:

    Das hört sich spannend an. Würde so einem spannenden Chatverlauf sicher mal ne Chance geben. 😉

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.