.jpg file extension

JPEG format file extension

JPEG format file extensionThe file extension ".jpg" or ".jpeg" is usually found in image files. The image format is supported as an output format by DSLR or compact digital cameras, for example. Due to the compression and the associated loss of image information, however, photographers prefer to choose the [RAW format-> raw]. This saves the image data without loss and also in a form that allows the photo to be "developed". This means that you have significantly more color information than with the JPG format and can therefore "save" even underexposed photos. The disadvantage, however, is that the RAW files require considerably more storage space than JPG files.

Flexible compression enables the best compromise between image quality and memory consumption

Most of the graphics on websites can also be found in the formats [GIF-> gif] or JPG. While the GIF format is more suitable for graphics with little different and two-dimensional colors, the JPG format is best suited for photos. Line graphics or cliparts are also less easy to save with the JPG format. The edges of the strokes offer high contrast, which in turn leads to fractals when compressed. You can see this clearly in the three sample images with the text.

The advantage of the JPEG format is that it allows the compression rate to be set flexibly between 0 and 100, with the value 100 corresponding to the lowest compression and the highest image quality. If you go further down, the loss of image information in the photo becomes more and more visible. You can see fractals, puke formation and image noise, which is particularly noticeable in flat, dark areas. In Wikipedia I could read that there was even a lossless compression gives. I assume, however, that this corresponds roughly to the PNG format in terms of storage space savings.

No layers, no animation and no transparency

While animations can also be created from image sequences in GIF format and areas can be provided with transparency, in JPEG format neither an image sequence nor transparency information and certainly no level information is provided. So it is actually a bit "limited", but due to the high compatibility on the Internet and with technical devices, it is still the most widespread image format on the Internet.

For media designers who create print documents, it is certainly interesting that JPG is also the CMYK format controlled. However, it is hardly represented in the print sector. File formats such as [.ai-> ai], [.tif-> tif], [.eps-> eps] or [.pdf-> pdf] predominate there, as these files store much more image information.

Programs on the Mac that can be used to open JPG files

There are already some programs on every modern Mac that can handle .jpg files. These include:

  • Apple preview
  • Safari
  • Pages
  • Numbers
  • iPhoto

The following programs are more suitable for professionals:

  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements
  • Adobe Illustrator
  • Adobe Lightroom
  • Apple Aperture (will not be further developed)
  • Corel AfterShot Pro
  • GraphicConverter

Examples of the increase in image distortion in photos

In the following photos you can see how an image changes when you select 100, 50 and 0 as the value for the image quality for JPG export. The change in image size is also interesting: 324 kB, 61 kB and 20 kB.

Lake Como JPG image quality 100

Photo of Lake Como in JPG format with image quality 100. File size: 324 kB (Photos: Sir Apfelot).

Lake Como JPG image quality 50

Lake Como JPG image quality 50

Lake Como JPG image quality 0

Lake Como JPG image quality 0

Image quality test with text in JPG format

In the following images I used two fonts to show how the increasing compression rate affects the appearance of the font margins. You can clearly see that the JPG format is not the best choice for saving graphics with typography.

Font JPG image quality 100

Test with fonts in JPG format, image quality: 100. File size: 74 kB.

Font JPG image quality 50

Test with fonts in JPG format, image quality: 50. File size: 41 kB.

Font JPG image quality 0

Test with fonts in JPG format, image quality: 0. File size: 20 kB.

You can quickly see that the file size is not really interesting for the typography either. I exported a GIF with the fonts as a test, which works without loss and represents the text 1: 1. This only had a storage volume of 21 kB. You can see immediately which is the better choice here.

For those who have to do with editing and exporting images on a daily basis in their job, I recommend the "[Image Editing Primer-> Image Editing Primer]" - Volumes 1 and 2. This is an instructive and amusingly written book on the subject.

-
 

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

.jpg Dateiendung

JPEG Format Dateiendung

JPEG Format DateiendungDie Dateiendung „.jpg“ oder auch „.jpeg“ findet man in der Regel bei Bilddateien. So wird das Bildformat zum Beispiel von DSLR- oder auch Kompakt-Digitalkameras als Ausgabeformat unterstützt. Aufgrund der Komprimierung und des damit verbundenen Verlustes an Bildinformationen wählen Fotografen allerdings lieber das [RAW-Format->raw]. Dieses speichert die Bilddaten verlustfrei und zudem noch in einer Form, die ein „Entwickeln“ des Fotos erlaubt. Das heißt, man hat deutlich mehr Farbinformationen als beim JPG-Format und kann dadurch auch unterbelichtete Fotos noch „retten“. Der Nachteil ist allerdings, dass die RAW-Dateien erheblich mehr Speicherplatz benötigen als JPG-Dateien.

Flexible Komprimierung ermöglicht den besten Kompromiß zwischen Bildqualität und Speicherverbrauch

Im Internet findet man die meisten Grafiken auf Webseiten auch in den Formaten [GIF->gif] oder JPG. Während sich das GIF-Format eher für Grafiken mit wenig unterschiedlichen und flächigen Farben eignet, ist das JPG-Format bestens für Fotos geeignet. Auch Strichgrafiken oder Cliparts sind weniger gut mit dem JPG-Format abzuspeichern. Die Ränder der Striche bieten einen hohen Kontrast, der wiederum zu Fraktalen bei der Kompression führt. Man sieht dies gut in den drei Beispielbildern mit dem Text.

Vorteilhaft beim JPEG-Format ist, dass es ein flexibles Einstellen der Kompressionsrate zwischen 0 und 100 erlaubt, wobei der Wert 100 der kleinsten Kompression und der höchsten Bildqualität entspricht. Wenn man weiter runter geht, wird der Verlust an Bildinformationen im Foto immer deutlicher sichtbar. Man erkennt Fraktale, Kötzchenbildung und Bildrauschen, was sich vor allem in flächigen, dunklen Bereichen deutlich bemerkbar macht. In der Wikipedia konnte ich lesen, dass es mit dem JPEG-LS-Format sogar eine verlustfreie Komprimierung gibt. Ich nehme aber an, dass diese von der Speicherplatzeinsparung ungefähr mit dem PNG-Format übereinstimmt.

Keine Ebenen, keine Animation und keine Transparenz

Während man im GIF-Format auch Animationen aus Bildfolgen erstellen kann und Bereiche mit Transparenz versehen kann, ist im JPEG-Format weder eine Bildfolge noch eine Transparenz-Information und schon gar keine Ebenen-Information vorgesehen. Damit ist es eigentlich etwas „beschränkt“, aber durch die hohe Kompatibilität im Internet und mit technischen Geräten, ist es trotzdem das am weitesten verbreitete Bildformat im Internet.

Für Mediengestalter, die Druckunterlagen erstellen, ist sicher interessant, dass JPG auch das CMYK-Format beherrscht. Allerdings ist es im Printbereich kaum vertreten. Dort herrschen Dateiformate wie [.ai->ai], [.tif->tif], [.eps->eps] oder [.pdf->pdf] vor, da diese Dateien viel mehr Bildinformationen abspeichern.

Programme am Mac, mit denen sich JPG-Dateien öffnen lassen

Es gibt auf jedem modernen Mac schon einige Programme, die mit .jpg-Dateien umgehen können. Dazu zählen:

  • Apple Vorschau
  • Safari
  • Pages
  • Numbers
  • iPhoto

Für Profis kommen eher folgende Programme in Frage:

  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Adobe Photoshop Elements
  • Adobe Illustrator
  • Adobe Lightroom
  • Apple Aperture (wird nicht weiter entwickelt)
  • Corel AfterShot Pro
  • GraphicConverter

Beispiele für die Zunahme der Bildstörungen bei Fotos

In den folgenden Fotos seht ihr, wie sich ein Bild verändert, wenn man 100, 50 und 0 als Wert für die Bildqualität beim JPG Export wählt. Die Änderung der Bildgröße ist allerdings auch interessant: 324 kB, 61 kB und 20 kB.

Comer See JPG Bildqualität 100

Foto vom Comer See im JPG-Format mit der Bildqualität 100. Dateigröße: 324 kB (Fotos: Sir Apfelot).

Comer See JPG Bildqualität 50

Comer See JPG Bildqualität 50

Comer See JPG Bildqualität 0

Comer See JPG Bildqualität 0

Bildqualität Test mit Text im JPG-Format

In den folgenden Bildern habe ich zwei Schriftarten verwendet, um zu zeigen, wie sich die höher werdende Kompressionsrate auf das Aussehen der Schriftränder auswirkt. Man sieht deutlich, dass das JPG-Format nicht die beste Wahl für das Abspeichern von Grafiken mit Typografie ist.

Schrift JPG Bildqualität 100

Test mit Schriften im JPG-Format, Bildqualität: 100. Dateigröße: 74 kB.

Schrift JPG Bildqualität 50

Test mit Schriften im JPG-Format, Bildqualität: 50. Dateigröße: 41 kB.

Schrift JPG Bildqualität 0

Test mit Schriften im JPG-Format, Bildqualität: 0. Dateigröße: 20 kB.

Man sieht schnell, dass auch die Dateigröße bei der Typografie nicht wirklich interessant ist. Ich habe testweise ein GIF mit den Schriften exportiert, was ohne Verlust auskommt und den Text 1:1 darstellt. Dieses hatte nur 21 kB Speichervolumen. Man sieht gleich, was hier die bessere Wahl ist.

Wer in seinem Beruf täglich mit dem Bearbeiten und dem Export von Bildern zu tun hat, dem empfehle ich die „[Bildbearbeitungsfibel->bildbearbeitungsfibel]“ – Band 1 und 2. Das ist ein lehrreiches und witzig geschriebenes Buch zum Thema.

Hinweis: Als Amazon-Partner verdiene ich an qualifizierten Käufen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.