MailTrackerBlocker: Mail plug-in for Mac blocks tracker pixels

If you receive newsletters or emails with special offers, it may contain tracker pixels. These pass on information to the senders. When was the mail opened? Has it been read several times? Or was she ignored at all? Because the small and often invisible graphic provides feedback when it is loaded, these questions are answered. The data obtained can then be used to create analyzes and to develop and apply improvements for e-mail marketing. If you want to keep a secret of whether, when and how often you open newsletters or promotional mails, the mail plugin will help you MailTrackerBlocker continue.

TL; DR: You can go directly to the download page here

The mail plug-in MailTrackerBlocker for macOS on the Apple Mac blocks tracker pixels in emails. You can find the download source and tips for installation here.

The mail plug-in MailTrackerBlocker for macOS on the Apple Mac blocks tracker pixels in emails. You can find the download source and tips for installation here.

Update 9.8.2020/XNUMX/XNUMX: Plugin can crash on older systems

As two readers with the version number 9.3 of Apple Mail have already written to me, the mail program acknowledges every attempt to start with a crash. As far as I could read, they both had El Capitan installed and the plugin was supposed to be compatible.

If you have this case, you have to go to the Library go and delete the plugin there (Thanks, Peter!):

/Library/Mail/Bundles/MailTrackerBlocker.mailbundle

MailTrackerBlocker - Mail plugin blocks tracker graphics

The MailTrackerBlocker plug-in is compatible with the Mail app on the Apple Mac and works macOS 10.11 El Capitan. The add-on blocks email trackers, read confirmations and spy pixels. In the mail information about the actual e-mail, a small symbol (in X in a circle) appears after the installation of the plug-in, which shows with a number next to it whether and how many trackers have been blocked in the selected e-mail. Among the around 50 trackers that can be blocked with MailTrackerBlocker are those from these well-known service providers:

  • Amazon SES
  • GitHub
  • Mailchimp
  • Wix
  • Zendesk Sell

MailTrackerBlocker download and installation

The mail plug-in for macOS on Apple Mac, iMac and MacBook is open source and free. You can find the download with this link. You can also find that on the product page Link to GitHub, where the developer Aaron Lee discloses all components of the software. On the first linked page in this paragraph you will not only find the MailTrackerBlocker download and the complete list of the tracker pixels that can be blocked in emails, but also instructions for installation. This is translated into German as follows:

  1. Open in Mail Settings -> General -> Manage plug-ins
  2. Activate MailTrackerBlocker.mailbundle
  3. click on Apply and restart Mail

"Manage plug-ins" button is missing in the mail settings

With current macOS versions such as macOS 10.15 Catalina it may be that there is no button for plugin management in the mail settings. But that doesn't mean that you can't use Aaron Lee's add-on. Because with a small command in the macOS Terminal you can get the missing button back:

  1. Opens the terminal (e.g. via the "Utilities" folder or via the Spotlight search)
  2. Give the order
    sudo defaults write "/Library/Preferences/com.apple.mail" EnableBundles 1

    a

  3. Confirm the command with the Enter or Enter key
  4. Restarts the Mail app (exit and reopen)
  5. In the mail settings under General the button will appear

Source: Apple forum

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

10 comments

  1. macmarine says:

    Unfortunately, MailTrackerBlocker and MacOS 10.11 does not work with Mail 9.3. Each version of the bundle leads to an immediate crash of Mail after starting the program. In addition, there is no button for plugin management in the mail settings, although the terminal command does not help either.

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Ok, that can be. I don't have a Mac with macOS this old anymore. : D

      • macmarine says:

        Well, it's a MacBook Pro early 2008, C2D 2.5GHz, 6GB with SSD, which still runs fine, but unfortunately (without tinkering) can't take anything beyond Yosemite. Still too good to throw away.

        • Sir Apfelot says:

          Yes, unfortunately such old Macs are often not usable even as "surfing stations" because they do not meet certain security requirements and many websites are reluctant to provide anything here. I also have an old iMac that my son actually only uses as a Minecraft machine. Somehow there will always be an application that you can cover with an old Mac. : D

    • Peter says:

      Help - my Mail 9.3 now crashes immediately after starting the program! How do I get rid of the MailTrackeBlocker ???

      • Peter says:

        Uff - all clear ... found it on the GitHub page: delete the thing in /Library/Mail/Bundles/MailTrackerBlocker.mailbundle ...

        • Sir Apfelot says:

          Hi Peter! Thanks for the help with the solution. This will surely interest a few readers who have the same problem.

  2. Excellent! Installed it immediately, Jens. For me, it is mainly unwanted emails that contain such a tracker. This is a practical matter, because the senders will otherwise recognize that you have looked at the mail and then persistently ask why you don't want to have a power bank or a Bluetooth speaker for free testing ...

    • Sir Apfelot says:

      Yes, I know these emails well enough. : D Unfortunately Apple doesn't send me emails with the offer to test a new iPhone or MacBook Pro ... I'm still too unknown ... ;-)

  3. Gunnar Treugut says:

    My iMac Sept / 2011 with High Sierra does not respond to the input as described above either.

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

MailTrackerBlocker: Mail-Plugin für Mac blockiert Tracker-Pixel

Wenn ihr Newsletter bekommt oder Angebote-Mails erhaltet, können darin Tracker-Pixel enthalten sein. Diese geben Informationen an die Absender weiter. Wann wurde die Mail geöffnet? Wurde sie mehrmals gelesen? Oder wurde sie gar nicht beachtet? Dadurch, dass die kleine und oft nicht sichtbare Grafik eine Rückmeldung gibt, wenn sie geladen wird, werden diese Fragen beantwortet. Mit den gewonnenen Daten können dann Analysen erstellt sowie Verbesserungen für das E-Mail-Marketing entwickelt und angewendet werden. Wenn ihr ein Geheimnis daraus machen wollt, ob, wann und wie oft ihr Newsletter oder Aktionsmails öffnet, dann hilft euch das Mail-Plugin MailTrackerBlocker weiter.

TL;DR: Hier geht’s direkt zur Download-Seite

Das Mail-Plugin MailTrackerBlocker für macOS am Apple Mac blockiert Tracker-Pixel in E-Mails. Die Download-Quelle und Tipps für die Installation findet ihr hier.

Das Mail-Plugin MailTrackerBlocker für macOS am Apple Mac blockiert Tracker-Pixel in E-Mails. Die Download-Quelle und Tipps für die Installation findet ihr hier.

Update 9.8.2020: Plugin kann bei älteren Systemen zum Absturz führen

Wie mir bereits zwei Leser mit der Versionsnummer 9.3 von Apple Mail geschrieben haben, quittiert das Mail-Programm jeden Startversuch mit einem Absturz. Soweit ich lesen konnte, hatten beide El Capitan installiert, bei dem das Plugin eigentlich kompatibel sein sollte.

Hat man diesen Fall, muss man in die Library gehen und das Plugin dort löschen (Danke, Peter!):

/Library/Mail/Bundles/MailTrackerBlocker.mailbundle

MailTrackerBlocker – Mail-Plugin blockt Tracker-Grafiken

Das Plugin MailTrackerBlocker ist mit der Mail App am Apple Mac kompatibel und funktioniert ab macOS 10.11 El Capitan. Die Programmerweiterung blockiert E-Mail-Tracker, Lese-Bestätigungen und Spionage-Pixel. In den Mail-Informationen über der eigentlichen E-Mail erscheint nach der Installation des Plugins ein kleines Symbol (in X in einem Kreis), welches mit einer nebenstehenden Zahl anzeigt, ob und wie viele Tracker in der ausgewählten E-Mail geblockt wurden. Unter den rund 50 Trackern, die sich mit MailTrackerBlocker blockieren lassen, sind unter anderem jene von diesen bekannten Dienstleistern:

  • Amazon SES
  • GitHub
  • Mailchimp
  • Wix
  • Zendesk Sell

MailTrackerBlocker Download und Installation

Das Mail-Plugin für macOS am Apple Mac, iMac und MacBook ist quelloffen und kostenlos. Den Download findet ihr mit diesem Link. Auf der Produktseite findet ihr auch den Link zu GitHub, wo der Entwickler Aaron Lee alle Komponenten der Software offenlegt. Auf der zuerst verlinkten Seite in diesem Absatz findet ihr nicht nur den MailTrackerBlocker Download und die vollständige Liste der damit abwehrbaren Tracker-Pixel in E-Mails, sondern auch eine Anleitung für die Installation. Diese lautet auf Deutsch übersetzt so:

  1. Öffne in Mail Einstellungen -> Allgemein -> Plug-Ins verwalten
  2. Aktiviere MailTrackerBlocker.mailbundle
  3. Klick auf Anwenden und Mail neustarten

„Plug-Ins verwalten“-Button fehlt in den Mail-Einstellungen

Bei aktuellen macOS-Versionen wie etwa macOS 10.15 Catalina kann es sein, dass es in den Mail-Einstellungen keinen Button für die Plugin-Verwaltung gibt. Das heißt aber nicht, dass ihr die Programmerweiterung von Aaron Lee nicht nutzen könnt. Denn mit einem kleinen Befehl im macOS Terminal holt ihr euch den fehlenden Button zurück:

  1. Öffnet das Terminal (z. B. über den Ordner „Dienstprogramme“ oder über die Spotlight-Suche)
  2. Gebt den Befehl
    sudo defaults write "/Library/Preferences/com.apple.mail" EnableBundles 1

    ein

  3. Bestätigt den Befehl mit der Enter- bzw. Eingabe-Taste
  4. Startet die Mail App neu (beenden und neu öffnen)
  5. In den Mail-Einstellungen sollte unter Allgemein der Button auftauchen

Quelle: Apple-Forum


Wenn mein Beitrag geholfen hat und dir mein Blog unterstützenswert erscheint, würde ich mich über eine Hilfe per Steady oder Buy me a coffee sehr freuen.

10 Kommentare

  1. macmarine sagt:

    Leider funktioniert MailTrackerBlocker und MacOS 10.11 mit Mail 9.3 nicht. Jede Version des Bundles führt zum sofortigen Crash von Mail nach dem Programmstart. Zudem gibt es in den Mail-Einstellungen keinen Button für die Plugin-Verwaltung, wobei auch der Terminal-Befehl nicht weiterhilft.

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Ok, das kann sein. Ich habe keinen Mac mehr mit so altem macOS. 😀

      • macmarine sagt:

        Tja, ist ein MacBook Pro early 2008, C2D 2.5GHz, 6GB mit SSD, das noch prima läuft, aber leider (ohne Gebastel) nichts über Yosemite hinaus verträgt. Ist mir zum Wegwerfen immer noch zu schade.

        • Sir Apfelot sagt:

          Ja, leider sind solche alten Macs selbst als "Surfstation" oft nicht brauchbar, weil sie bestimmte Sicherheitsvorgaben nicht erfüllen und sich viele Webseiten sträuben, hier was zu liefern. Ich habe auch einen alten iMac, der bei meinem Sohn eigentlich nur als Minecraft-Maschine genutzt wird. Irgendwie findet sicher immer ein Anwendungsfall, den man mit einem alten Mac abdecken kann. 😀

    • Peter sagt:

      Hilfe – mein Mail 9.3 crasht jetzt auch sofort nach dem Programmstart! Wie kriege ich den MailTrackeBlocker bloß wieder weg???

  2. Super! Habs sofort installiert, Jens. Bei mir sind es vor allem unerwünschte Mails, die so einen Tracker enthalten. Da ist das eine praktische Sache, weil die Absender sonst erkennen, dass man doch in die Mail geschaut hat und dann hartnäckig nachfragen, warum man nicht noch eine Powerbank oder noch einen Bluetooth-Lautsprecher zum kostenlosen Testen haben möchte…

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Ja, diese Mails kenne ich auch zur Genüge. 😀 Leider schickt mir Apple nicht Mails mit dem Angebot mal ein neues iPhone oder MacBook Pro zu testen… Bin wohl noch zu unbekannt… 😉

  3. Gunnar Treugut sagt:

    Mein iMac Sept/2011 mit High Sierra reagiert auf die Eingabe wie oben beschrieben auch nicht.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Alle News 1x pro Woche

Du magst die Artikel auf Sir Apfelot?
Dann trage dich in meinen wöchentlichen Newsletter ein.