Time travel: start Apple's "System 7" in Safari and Co.

Mac System7 in the browser

The operating system System 7, which was published by Apple in 1991 on the basis of the Macintosh system software, you can experience once again in its two-tone splendor online in Safari or another browser such as Firefox. Under the name MacOS System 7.0.1 Compilation it is again called “Welcome to Macintosh”. This means that the provider archive.org emulates one of the older versions of the operating system. Because the system was still on the market up to version 7.6.1 in 1997 (as Mac OS 7.6).

The Apple System 7, which ran on the Macintosh in the early 90s, can be relived in the online emulator using Safari, Firefox and Co.

The Apple System 7, which ran on the Macintosh in the early 90s, can be relived in the online emulator using Safari, Firefox and Co.

System 7 online emulator: Mac operating system in the browser

If you want to go into the world and especially the graphics of the old Macintosh, you will find the online emulator for System 7 at archive.org. All functions that could be used with the System1991 in 7 are of course not available. However, all nostalgics get a decent load of Macintosh with the slimmed-down package. Here is the offer of the emulated operating system from Apple:

  • System programs: HyperCard, Macintosh Basics, Settings
  • Apps: BBEdit Lite, MacDraw, MacPaint, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Microsoft Works, Orion, Pagemaker, ZTerm
  • Games: Risk, Cannon Fodder, Shufflepuck
  • System programs: HD Setup, Disinfectant (the former Anti-virus software), Disk Copy, ResEdit, TeachText, Compact Pro, Mac Gzip, Mar, Stuffit Expander, Stuffit Lite
  • Others: alarm clock, calculator, note pad, puzzle, scrapbook, trash can, etc.

Start Windows 3.1 in the browser: Microsoft for nostalgics

Anyone who did not sit at Steve Jobs 'computer in the early 90s, but used the operating system from Bill Gates' workshop, now has the opportunity to make these memories come true again. Long sentence, but short: Microsoft's Windows 3.1 operating system in the version from 1992 can also be accessed online alongside Apple's classic System7. You can find the online emulator for the browser of your choice at classicreload.com.

Your opinion on the retro offers

What do you think of such offers? Ideal for everyone who wants to relive early computer experience or is superfluous because current systems are much better anyway? Feel free to leave a comment on the topic - even if you are still using the original systems on an old Macintosh or an old PC. I personally think, by the way, that the online versions of System 7, Windows 3.1 and other old operating systems including apps are a nice gimmick. Something for leisure and rainy afternoons;)

-
 

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Zeitreise: Apples „System 7“ in Safari und Co starten

Mac System7 im Browser

Das Betriebssystem System 7, welches auf der Macintosh System Software fußend 1991 von Apple veröffentlicht wurde, könnt ihr online in Safari oder einem anderen Browser wie Firefox noch einmal in seiner zweifarbigen Pracht erleben. Unter dem Namen MacOS System 7.0.1 Compilation heißt es abermals „Welcome to Macintosh“. Damit wird vom Anbieter archive.org eine der älteren Versionen des Betriebssystems emuliert. Denn das System war noch bis zur Version 7.6.1 im Jahr 1997 (als Mac OS 7.6) auf dem Markt.

Das Apple System 7, das anfang der 90er auf dem Macintosh lief, könnt ihr im Online-Emulator per Safari, Firefox und Co erneut erleben.

Das Apple System 7, das Anfang der 90er auf dem Macintosh lief, könnt ihr im Online-Emulator per Safari, Firefox und Co erneut erleben.

System 7 Online-Emulator: Mac Betriebssystem im Browser

Wenn ihr euch in die Welt und vor allem die Grafik des alten Macintosh begeben wollt, dann findet ihr den Online-Emulator für das System 7 bei archive.org. Alle Funktionen, die man 1991 mit dem System7 nutzen konnte, sind natürlich nicht vorhanden. Jedoch bekommen alle Nostalgiker auch mit dem abgespeckten Paket eine ordentliche Ladung Macintosh ab. Hier mal das Angebot des emulierten Betriebssystems von Apple:

  • Systemprogramme: HyperCard, Macintosh Basics, Einstellungen
  • Apps: BBEdit Lite, MacDraw, MacPaint, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft Word, Microsoft Works, Orion, Pagemaker, ZTerm
  • Spiele: Risk (Risiko), Cannon Fodder, Shufflepuck
  • Systemprogramme: HD Setup, Disinfectant (das damalige Anti-Virus-Programm), Disk Copy, ResEdit, TeachText, Compact Pro, Mac Gzip, Mar, Stuffit Expander, Stuffit Lite
  • Weiteres: Wecker, Taschenrechner, Note Pad, Puzzle, Scrapbook, Mülleimer, etc.

Windows 3.1 im Browser starten: Microsoft für Nostalgiker

Wer in den frühen 90er Jahren nicht am Rechner von Steve Jobs gesessen, sondern das Betriebssystem aus der Werkstatt von Bill Gates genutzt hat, der hat heutzutage ebenfalls die Möglichkeit, diese Erinnerungen wieder Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen. Langer Satz, aber kurzer Sinn: Auch das Microsoft Betriebssystem Windows 3.1 in der Version aus 1992 ist neben dem Apple-Klassiker System7 im Netz aufrufbar. Den Online-Emulator für den Browser eurer Wahl findet ihr auf classicreload.com.

Eure Meinung zu den Retro-Angeboten

Was haltet ihr von solchen Angeboten? Ideal für alle, die frühe Computererfahrungen nachleben wollen oder überflüssig, weil aktuelle Systeme eh viel besser sind? Lasst gern einen Kommentar zum Thema da – auch wenn ihr noch die originalen Systeme auf einem alten Macintosh oder einem alten PC nutzt. Ich persönlich finde übrigens, dass die Online-Versionen von System 7, Windows 3.1 und anderen alten Betriebssystem inkl. Apps eine nette Spielerei sind. Etwas für die Freizeit und verregnete Nachmittage 😉

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.