Usenet Archives: Search millions of posts on the 80s internet

Usenet was the predecessor of today's Internet with the World Wide Web, its possibilities and abysses. From 1980 on, various topics were and are discussed in so-called newsgroups - and that apart from Twitter, Facebook, Reddit and Co. In order to make a few million Usenet posts searchable, they were recently published usenetarchives.com uploaded. Once archived on magnetic tapes, they can now be conveniently searched using a search function. Behind the project is Jozef Jorosciak, who mainly took over content from the Utzoo Netnews archive from Henry Spencer.

With the Usenet Archives, Jozef Jorosciak brought Henry Spencer's Utzoo Netnews archive to the modern Internet and enabled a search function. Here is a test request on the subject of Apple II.

With the Usenet Archives, Jozef Jorosciak brought Henry Spencer's Utzoo Netnews archive to the modern Internet and enabled a search function. Here is a test request on the subject of Apple II.

Usenet Archives: Search the Internet before the Internet

Usenet groups, in which topic-specific discussions, speculations and information are given, as in a forum, are still active. They practically exist alongside the well-known Internet with its large platforms and discussion places. Those who wanted to archive them in the early days of technology mostly needed magnetic tapes. They were later converted into the so-called .TAR format. Using Python, they were then converted into a PostgreSQL database in order to present them on the modern Internet. They can also be searched in this way. Jozef Jorosciak describes the technical details in this blog post (English). According to the information on the archive page, it currently comprises 359 million posts in around 11.000 Usenet newsgroups.

Computer Usage from the Past: Links to a Bygone Era

By the way, there is still a topic about Usenet Archives a little article by Vice. If you want a little more nostalgia and want to use systems and programs from yesteryear in addition to news on various topics, you will find a few suitable options here in the blog. Because it is not only Usenet content that can now be easily tracked - for example Windows 95, System 7 or Mac OS 8.1 can be run on your Mac or PC with just a few clicks. Have a look here:

-
Do you like my blog? Then I would be happy to receive a short review on Google. Easy leave something here for a moment - that would be great, thank you!

 

Effectively for free: iPhone 13 Mini and iPhone 13 deals with top conditions at Otelo - Advertisement

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Usenet Archives: Millionen Beiträge des 80er-Internets durchsuchen

Das Usenet war der Vorgänger des heutigen Internets mit dem World Wide Web, seinen Möglichkeiten und Abgründen. Ab 1980 wurden und werden darin in sogenannten Newsgroups verschiedenste Themen diskutiert – und das abseits von Twitter, Facebook, Reddit und Co. Um ein paar Millionen Usenet-Beiträge durchsuchbar zu machen, wurden sie kürzlich auf usenetarchives.com hochgeladen. Dereinst auf Magnetbändern archiviert lassen sie sich nun über eine Suche-Funktion bequem durchforsten. Hinter dem Projekt steckt Jozef Jorosciak, der vor allem Inhalte aus dem Utzoo-Netnews-Archiv von Henry Spencer übernommen hat.

Mit den Usenet Archives hat Jozef Jorosciak das Utzoo-Netnews-Archiv von Henry Spencer ins moderne Internet gebracht sowie eine Suche-Funktion ermöglicht. Hier eine Test-Anfrage zum Thema Apple II.

Mit den Usenet Archives hat Jozef Jorosciak das Utzoo-Netnews-Archiv von Henry Spencer ins moderne Internet gebracht sowie eine Suche-Funktion ermöglicht. Hier eine Test-Anfrage zum Thema Apple II.

Usenet Archives: Das Internet vor dem Internet durchsuchen

Usenet-Gruppen, in denen wie in einem Forum themenspezifisch diskutiert, spekuliert und informiert wird, sind noch immer aktiv. Sie existieren quasi neben dem bekannten Internet mit seinen großen Plattformen und Diskussionsstätten. Wer sie in den Anfängen der Technologie archivieren wollte, brauchte dafür meist Magnetbänder. Später wurden sie dann ins sogenannte .TAR-Format umgewandelt. Über Python wurden sie dann, um sie nun im modernen Internet zu präsentieren, in eine PostgreSQL-Datenbank umgewandelt. So lassen sie sich auch durchsuchen. Die technischen Details dazu beschreibt Jozef Jorosciak in diesem Blogbeitrag (Englisch). Laut den Angaben auf der Archiv-Seite umfasst es derzeit 359 Millionen Posts in rund 11.000 Usenet-Newsgroups.

Computernutzung von früher: Links in eine vergangene Ära

Zum Thema Usenet Archives gibt es übrigens noch einen kleinen Artikel von Vice (Englisch). Wenn ihr noch ein bisschen mehr Nostalgie wollt und neben den Nachrichten zu verschiedensten Themen auch Systeme und Programme von anno dazumal nutzen möchtet, findet ihr dazu noch ein paar passende Möglichkeiten hier im Blog. Denn nicht nur Usenet-Inhalte kann man mittlerweile recht bequem nachverfolgen – zum Beispiel Windows 95, System 7 oder Mac OS 8.1 könnt ihr mit wenigen Klicks auf eurem Mac oder PC laufen lassen. Schaut mal hier:


Gefällt dir mein Blog? Dann würde ich mich über eine kurze Bewertung bei Google freuen. Einfach hier kurz etwas hinterlassen – das wäre toll, danke!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.