Smart Alec: Free check of SMART hard drives via Mac app

Smart Alec Test Download macOS

The free Mac app Smart Alecwhich is currently in public beta, features a review of internal and external SMART hard drives. The abbreviation for these storage media stands for "Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology". SMART hard drives, such as those installed in many versions of the Apple MacBook, check themselves independently and use analysis data to indicate whether and when they could break or fail. The software aims to process the relevant information in a user-friendly manner Smart Alec.

The Mac app Smart Alec analyzes SMART hard drives and displays their status and technical data. Currently in beta, soon available for free in the Apple App Store.

The Mac app Smart Alec analyzes SMART hard drives and displays their status and technical data. Currently in beta, soon available for free in the Apple App Store.

Smart Alec: Analysis app for SMART hard drives

If you have a SMART hard drive in your Apple Mac, iMac or MacBook that has been upgraded or you may be using external hard drives, then this program can help you with their analysis. Smart Alec helps you to read out hard drive models, the serial number, data on the service life and other information of the storage medium. Is the SMART hard drive OK, is it in critical status, or should it be replaced because it fails the SMART test? All of this is clearly shown in the app:

Software user interface. Image source: smartalec.biz

Software user interface. Image source for this and the next image: smartalec.biz

Message: Disk Failing / Predicted to Fail

In the overview of the hard drives in and on your Apple Mac you can already see the Colors green, yellow and redthe status of a hard drive. If you then select the appropriate model, you will get a detailed overview. Smart Alec then shows you messages such as “Disk Failing” (red) or “Predicted to Fail” (yellow) for each of the SMART hard drives. In the first case the FP should be exchanged, in the second case it could fail soon and must then be exchanged. So you better get one Backup do!

SMART hard drive in critical status. The best thing to do here is make a backup and buy a replacement ...

SMART hard drive in critical status. The best thing here is to make a backup and buy a replacement ...

Smart Alec download or beta test

Further information, the features of the software and the registration for the beta test can be found on the page smartalec.biz. As for the price of the Mac app, it is said that it will be available for free on the Apple App Store after launch. A version with more features will then probably be offered for a fee (in-app purchase or pro version):

"A version of SMART Alec will be available free from the Apple App store after launch. Further pricing information (for advanced features) will be available in the future."

You can find more information about SMART hard drives at Wikipedia ;) The contribution to the Statistics of the best hard drives from Backblaze Q3 / 2017.

-
 

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Smart Alec: Kostenloser Check von SMART-Festplatten per Mac App

Die kostenlose Mac App Smart Alec, die sich gerade in der öffentlichen Beta befindet, bietet eine Überprüfung von internen und externen SMART-Festplatten. Die Abkürzung dieser Speichermedien steht für „Self-Monitoring, Analysis and Reporting Technology“. SMART-Festplatten, wie sie unter anderem in vielen Versionen des Apple MacBooks verbaut sind, checken sich also selbstständig und geben vermittels Analysedaten Hinweise darauf, ob und wann sie kaputtgehen bzw. ausfallen könnten. Die entsprechenden Informationen benutzerfreundlich aufarbeiten will die Software Smart Alec.

Die Mac App Smart Alec analysiert SMART-Festplatten und zeigt deren Status sowie technische Daten an. Aktuell in der Beta, bald kostenlos im Apple App Store.

Die Mac App Smart Alec analysiert SMART-Festplatten und zeigt deren Status sowie technische Daten an. Aktuell in der Beta, bald kostenlos im Apple App Store.

Smart Alec: Analyse-App für SMART-Festplatten

Wenn ihr im Apple Mac, iMac oder MacBook eine SMART-Festplatte habt, welche nachgerüstet wurden oder ihr vielleicht externe Festplatten verwendet, dann kann dieses Programm euch bei deren Analyse helfen. Smart Alec hilft euch beim Auslesen von Festplattenmodellen, der Seriennummer, Daten zur Nutzungsdauer und weiteren Informationen des Speichermediums. Ist die SMART-Festplatte in Ordnung, hat sie einen kritischen Status oder sollte sie bereits ausgetauscht werden, weil sie den S.M.A.R.T. Test nicht besteht? All das wird übersichtlich in der App aufgezeigt:

Benutzeroberfläche der Software. Bilderquelle: smartalec.biz

Benutzeroberfläche der Software. Bildquelle dieses und des nächsten Bildes: smartalec.biz

Meldung: Disk Failing / Predicted to Fail

In der Übersicht der Festplatten in und an eurem Apple Mac seht ihr schon an den Farben Grün, Gelb und Rot, welchen Status eine Festplatte hat. Wenn ihr dann das entsprechende Modell auswählt, erhaltet ihr eine detaillierte Übersicht. Smart Alec zeigt euch zu jeder der SMART-Festplatten dann auch Meldungen wie „Disk Failing“ (rot) oder „Predicted to Fail“ (gelb) an. Im ersten Fall sollte die FP ausgetauscht werden, im zweiten Fall könnte sie bald ausfallen und muss dann ausgetauscht werden. Also besser schon mal ein Backup machen!

S.M.A.R.T. Festplatte im kritischen Status. Am besten ist hier: Backup machen und Ersatz kaufen...

S.M.A.R.T. Festplatte im kritischen Status. Am besten ist hier: Backup machen und Ersatz kaufen…

Smart Alec Download bzw. Beta-Test

Weitere Informationen, die Features der Software und die Anmeldung für den Beta-Test findet ihr auf der Seite smartalec.biz. Zum Preis der Mac App wird gesagt, dass sie nach dem Launch kostenlos im Apple App Store zur Verfügung stehen wird. Eine Version mit mehr Features wird dann aber wahrscheinlich kostenpflichtig angeboten (In-App-Kauf oder Pro-Version):

A version of SMART Alec will be available free from the Apple App store after launch. Further pricing information (for advanced features) will be available in the future.

Noch mehr Infos zu SMART-Festplatten findet ihr bei Wikipedia 😉 Lesenswert ist auch der Beitrag zur Statistik zu den besten Festplatten von Backblaze Q3/2017.

Vielleicht auch interessant?

Mehr für dich:
Game Royale 2: The Secret of Jannis Island - Neues Neo Magazin Royale Videospiel mit Jan Böhmermann

Wie würdest du diesen Beitrag bewerten?

 
52

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.