Gadgets - just not for nerds

19. August 2020

Driving license class B196: Interesting for e-scooters

Since I am playing with the idea of ​​buying a Vespa-sized e-scooter, I took a look at what you need for a driver's license. With the regular B-Class for cars and Co. you can only [...]
18. August 2020

Why there are no USB-C hubs with multiple USB-C ports

If you look around for USB-C hubs, you will usually only find ones with a maximum of two C ports, several A ports and interfaces for SD cards, HDMI, etc. What I would need, for example, would be a USB-C Hub with ten USB-C ports so that [...]
11. August 2020
USB socket adapter from Lencent in the test

Test: USB socket with USB-C and USB-A ports

In our old building, sockets are quite rare. We have added new sockets here and there if there was already a connection there, but the bottom line is that you always have the feeling that there could be a [...]
23 JULY 2020
Test report for the Terratec Charge Air Key

In the test: Terratec Charge Air Key - battery key ring for the Apple Watch

A few days ago the manufacturer Terratec sent me a power bank for the Apple Watch, which can be hung on a bunch of keys with a small carabiner. The device belongs to the Air series of Terratec chargers and [...]
20 JULY 2020

Blue Connect Plus - remotely monitor the water quality in the pool

The pool sensor Blue Connect Plus from blueriiot analyzes the pool water with regard to pH value, temperature, chlorine content and more. In this way it can be determined exactly which agents have to be added so that the swimming pool does not turn green and is permanently clean, [...]
6 JULY 2020

What is NVMe - Non Volatile Memory Express?

NVMe is a hard disk protocol which, thanks to its comparatively economical structure, ensures fast data exchange between the computer and SSD storage. The abbreviation for the software interface stands for Non Volatile Memory Express; something […]
24th of June 2020

What is Qi Charging? The standard for wireless charging in detail

The Qi technology is used, among other things, in the current iPhone generations and in the AirPods charging case, so that the respective batteries can be charged wirelessly. But how does the wireless energy transfer work in detail and what is behind the name [...]
23th of June 2020

Mac mini Developer Kit - order hardware with Apple Silicon SoC

As a developer, you want to take a look at Apple's new hardware in order to adapt your Mac app to the new ARM processor (Apple Silicon)? Then you will certainly want to order the Mac mini Developer Kit, which yesterday at the [...]
28. May 2020

Oculus Quest VR - rent and test stand-alone VR glasses

You can rent the Oculus Quest VR from technology rental company Grover to experience virtual reality without the hassle of cables or cameras. Whether games or other programs in VR, the device has 128 GB of memory [...]
27. May 2020
Gotway MTen 3 unicycle

Gotway MTen 3 - the EUC for beginners, children and the backpack

Since I discovered the electric unicycles (EUC for "Electric UniCycle"), I have found the different models very exciting. The first EUCs with suspension are currently coming out, but that is a topic for another [...]

Gadgets – nur nicht für Nerds

18. August 2020

Warum es keine USB-C-Hubs mit mehreren USB-C Ports gibt

Schaut man sich nach USB-C-Hubs um, findet man meist nur welche mit maximal zwei C-Anschlüssen, mehreren A-Ports und Schnittstellen für SD-Karten, HDMI, etc. Was ich zum Beispiel bräuchte, wäre ein USB-C-Hub mit zehn USB-C-Ports, damit […]
11. August 2020
USB Steckdosenadapter von Lencent im Test

Test: USB-Steckdose mit USB-C- und USB-A-Ports

In unserem Altbau sind Steckdosen recht rar gesät. Wir haben zwar hier und da neue Steckdosen ergänzt, wenn schon ein Anschluss dort lag, aber unterm Strich hat man trotzdem ständig das Gefühl, es könnten ein […]
23. Juli 2020
Testbericht zum Terratec Charge Air Key

Im Test: Terratec Charge Air Key – Akku-Schlüsselbundanhänger für die Apple Watch

Der Hersteller Terratec hat mir vor einigen Tagen eine Powerbank für die Apple Watch geschickt, die mit einem kleinen Karabiner an einen Schlüsselbund gehängt werden kann. Das Gerät gehört zu der Air-Serie der Terratec-Ladegeräte und […]
20. Juli 2020

Blue Connect Plus – Wasserqualität im Pool aus der Ferne überwachen

Der Pool-Sensor Blue Connect Plus von blueriiot analysiert das Poolwasser hinsichtlich pH-Wert, Temperatur, Chlor-Gehalt und mehr. So kann exakt ermittelt werden, welche Mittel zugegeben werden müssen, damit der Swimmingpool nicht grün wird und dauerhaft sauberes, […]
6. Juli 2020

Was ist NVMe – Non Volatile Memory Express?

Bei NVMe handelt es sich um ein Festplattenprotokoll, das durch seinen vergleichsweise sparsamen Aufbau für einen schnellen Datenaustausch zwischen Computer und SSD-Speicher sorgt. Die Abkürzung der Software-Schnittstelle steht dabei für Non Volatile Memory Express; etwas […]
24. Juni 2020

Was ist Qi Charging? Der Standard zum kabellosen Laden im Detail

Die Qi-Technologie wird unter anderem bei aktuellen iPhone-Generationen und beim AirPods Lade-Case genutzt, damit die jeweiligen Akkus kabellos geladen werden können. Doch wie funktioniert die kabellose Energieübertragung im Detail und was steckt hinter dem Namen […]
23. Juni 2020

Mac mini Developer Kit – Hardware mit Apple Silicon SoC bestellen

Ihr wollt als Entwickler/in einen Blick auf Apples neue Hardware werfen, um eure Mac-App auf den neuen ARM-Prozessor (Apple Silicon) auszurichten? Dann wollt ihr sicherlich das Mac mini Developer Kit bestellen, das gestern auf der […]
28. Mai 2020

Oculus Quest VR – Stand-Alone VR-Brille mieten und testen

Beim Technik-Vermieter Grover könnt ihr die Oculus Quest VR mieten, um die virtuelle Realität ohne lästige Kabel oder Kameras zu erleben. Ob Spiele oder andere Programme in VR, auf dem Gerät stehen 128 GB Speicher […]
27. Mai 2020
Gotway MTen 3 Einrad

Gotway MTen 3 – das EUC für Anfänger, Kinder und den Rucksack

Seit ich die elektrischen Einräder (EUC für "Electric UniCycle") entdeckt habe, finde ich die verschiedenen Modelle sehr spannend. Aktuell kommen gerade die ersten EUCs mit Federung raus, aber das ist ein Thema für einen weiteren […]
25. Mai 2020
Tödlicher Onewheel Unfall – Schuld des Herstellers?

Tödlicher Unfall bringt Onewheel Hersteller Future Motion in Bedrängnis

Vor einigen Monaten habe ich mir ein Onewheel Pint gekauft – eine Art elektrisches Skateboard, das jedoch nicht mit vier Rollen, sondern mit einem einzigen, großen Reifen in der Mitte des Boards ausgestattet ist. Im […]