Connect the PS4 controller to an Apple Mac or MacBook via USB or Bluetooth

Play with the PS4 controller on a Mac? This is possible via USB or Bluetooth. Here are instructions for connecting the PlayStation 4 controller and Apple computer. (Image: Amazon, Apple assembly: Johannes Domke)

If you want to connect a PS4 controller to the Apple Mac in order to play with a good control unit on a very good computer, then you're in luck. Because here I have put together a guide for you to pair the PlayStation 4 controller and Mac or MacBook. So if you're looking for a gaming controller for the Mac: take the PS4. It can be easily connected to the computer via USB or Bluetooth.

Play with the PS4 controller on a Mac? This is possible via USB or Bluetooth. Here are instructions for connecting the PlayStation 4 controller and Apple computer. (Image: Amazon, Apple assembly: Johannes Domke)

Play with the PS4 controller on a Mac? This is possible via USB or Bluetooth. Here are instructions for connecting the PlayStation 4 controller and Apple computer. (Image: Amazon, Apple assembly: Johannes Domke)

Play with the PS4 controller via USB on the Mac

If you connect the PlayStation 4 controller to a USB port on the Mac or MacBook is connected, then this is the easiest way to gamble on the Apple computer. However, the trend is more and more towards wireless operation of pretty much all devices. Therefore, for the sake of completeness, here is the possibility to connect the PS4 controller to the Mac via USB:

  • Step 1: Connect the controller to the Mac / MacBook using a suitable micro USB to USB cable
  • Step 2: Press the PlayStation button on the controller
  • Step 3: Select "About This Mac" in the Apple menu (Apple)
  • Step 4: Select “USB” for the hardware in the “System Report”
  • Step 5: Select the "Wireless Controller" listed there

Buy a PS4 controller in white to match the Apple design

10,00 EUR
PlayStation 4 - DualShock 4 Wireless Controller, White (2016)
  • A new, highly sensitive SIXAXIS sensor enables first-class motion control.
  • The dual analog sticks have been improved and offer greater precision, better material on the surfaces ...
  • The L2 / R2 buttons on top of the controller have been rounded down to make it easier and smoother to use.

Connect the PS4 controller to the Apple Mac via Bluetooth

Granted, there aren't too many games Apps for the mac. But precisely because of the move away from DVDs that can be purchased towards the App Store, more and more titles are being added. In addition, the merger of macOS and iOS is making it increasingly clear that sooner or later iPhone game apps will also be available as Mac apps (and vice versa).

Enough of the preface, you couple the PS4 controller with the Apple computer via Bluetooth:

  • Step 1: Go to the system settings of the Mac / MacBook
  • Step 2: Then select the item "Bluetooth"
  • Step 3: Press the share button and the power button on the PS4 controller at the same time
  • Step 4: The controller light should now flash, the wireless controller appears in the overview of the Mac
  • Step 5: Now all you have to do is connect; so click on "Connect"

Conclusion on the topic

Not every game supports the use of a wireless controller on a Mac. But with the PS4 controller, those game apps that do this can be played much more comfortably. Even if you may first have to dig into the control system at first. How about you, have you ever paddled with the PlayStation Controller on your Mac? Feel free to leave a comment;)

 

-

Did you like the article and did the instructions on the blog help you? Then I would be happy if you the blog via a Steady Membership or at Patreon would support.

The page contains affiliate links / images: Amazon.de

13 comments

  1. Rocco says:

    Can I play with the playstation controller with the Apple TV?

  2. Colin says:

    both do not work for me :(

    • sir appleot says:

      Hi Colin! I'm sorry. Unfortunately, I don't have a controller here at the moment with which I could try it. But what's wrong with you? Can't find the device when searching for bluetooth devices on the ATV?

  3. Berlin44 says:

    Hello, what exactly do you mean by "Step 5: Select the" Wireless Controller "listed there?"
    I can see the controller, but I can't select it.

    • Johannes Domke says:

      Hallo,
      that's a bit unfortunate, admittedly. The steps for the controller connected via USB are basically only intended as a control to see whether it is recognized. If you select it, information about the device (manufacturer, etc.) is displayed. This is how you can see if it has been correctly identified. There is not much more to it than that.
      Best Regards
      John

  4. Paul says:

    Hi folks, can you tell me how I can change the key assignment on the controller?
    I can't do it and can't find a reasonable thread on the Internet ...

    Otherwise, many thanks for the tips.

    • Johannes Domke says:

      Hi Paul,

      since I don't have a controller at hand, I can't look for a general solution.

      In which software or in which game do you want to use the PS4 controller? Most platforms like Steam or the individual games have hidden the key assignment in their control options.

      Best Regards
      John

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello Paul! I could throw "BetterTouchTool" into the ring. With this you can actually adjust all the assignments of USB mice and other USB controllers to your own taste. Maybe that will help you? If you try it out, it would be great if you could briefly write here whether it worked or not. If others also have the problem ... LG!

  5. kate says:

    Hello, I have a problem:
    The PS4 controller is recognized by my Macbook, but cannot be connected to the computer via USB or Bluetooth and can therefore not be used in Fortnite. I have already reset the controller and performed a PRAM and SMC reset on the Mac - without success.
    I can't find a really helpful approach to solving the problem on the Internet. Someone wrote something about deleting or renaming plists, but I couldn't even find them on my computer. What else could i try?
    I am grateful for any help.

    • sir appleot says:

      Hello Käthe! You can find the .plist files in the "Library"> "Preferences" folder. You can access the library folder in the Finder via the "Go" menu (by holding down the ALT key).
      Otherwise, I don't fully understand how the MacBook recognizes the controller, but you can't connect to it. If it's "visible", you can actually use it.

  6. Kathe says:

    Hi and thanks for the quick reply. In the meantime I have already found and deleted the Bluetooth plist file, but that didn't help either. Normally the controller should of course connect, but it doesn't. The problem seems to occur more often - I found some questions about it on the internet - but unfortunately no answers. My computer runs on Mac OS Catalina, which should be compatible with the controller - so it can't be because of that ... who else could be familiar with something like that ?!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published.

PS4 Controller per USB oder Bluetooth mit Apple Mac oder MacBook verbinden

Mit dem PS4 Controller am Mac spielen? Das geht per USB oder Bluetooth. Hier eine Anleitung zum Verbinden von PlayStation 4 Controller und Apple Computer. (Bild: Amazon, Apfel-Montage: Johannes Domke)

Wenn ihr einen PS4 Controller mit dem Apple Mac verbinden wollt, um mit einer guten Steuereinheit auf einem sehr guten Rechner zu zocken, dann habt ihr Glück. Denn hier habe ich euch eine Anleitung zum Pairing von PlayStation 4 Controller und Mac bzw. MacBook gebastelt. Wenn ihr also nach einem Gaming Controller für den Mac sucht: nehmt den der PS4. Per USB oder Bluetooth lässt er sich recht einfach mit dem Computer verbinden.

Mit dem PS4 Controller am Mac spielen? Das geht per USB oder Bluetooth. Hier eine Anleitung zum Verbinden von PlayStation 4 Controller und Apple Computer. (Bild: Amazon, Apfel-Montage: Johannes Domke)

Mit dem PS4 Controller am Mac spielen? Das geht per USB oder Bluetooth. Hier eine Anleitung zum Verbinden von PlayStation 4 Controller und Apple Computer. (Bild: Amazon, Apfel-Montage: Johannes Domke)

Mit dem PS4 Controller per USB auf dem Mac zocken

Wenn ihr den PlayStation 4 Controller per Micro USB Kabel an einen USB-Anschluss des Mac oder MacBook anschließt, dann ist das der einfachste Weg zum Zocken am Apple Computer. Jedoch geht der Trend immer mehr zum kabellosen Bedienen von so ziemlich allen Geräten. Deshalb hier nur der Vollständigkeit halber die Möglichkeit, den PS4 Controller per USB mit dem Mac zu verbinden:

  • Schritt 1: per passenden Micro-USB zu USB-Kabel den Controller mit dem Mac / MacBook verbinden
  • Schritt 2: PlayStation Button auf dem Controller drücken
  • Schritt 3: Im Apple-Menü (Apfel) „Über diesen Mac“ auswählen
  • Schritt 4: Im „Systembericht“ bei der Hardware „USB“ auswählen
  • Schritt 5: Den dort aufgeführten „Wireless Controller“ auswählen

PS4 Controller in Weiß passend zum Apple-Design kaufen

PlayStation 4 - DualShock 4 Wireless Controller, weiß (2016)
691 Bewertungen
PlayStation 4 - DualShock 4 Wireless Controller, weiß (2016)
  • Ein neuer, hochsensibler SIXAXIS-Sensor ermöglicht eine erstklassige Bewegungssteuerung.
  • Die Dual-Analogsticks wurden verbessert und bieten eine größere Präzision, ein besseres Material auf den Oberflächen...
  • Die L2/R2-Tasten oben auf dem Controller wurden abgerundet und sind jetzt einfacher und flüssiger zu bedienen.

PS4 Controller per Bluetooth mit dem Apple Mac verbinden

Zugegeben, es gibt nicht zu viele Spiele Apps für den Mac. Aber gerade durch die Abkehr von zu kaufenden DVDs hin zum App Store kommen doch immer mehr Titel dazu. Zudem wird durch die Verschmelzung von macOS und iOS immer deutlicher, dass auch iPhone Spiele Apps früher oder später als Mac App zur Verfügung stehen werden (und anders herum).

Genug der Vorrede, so koppelt ihr den PS4 Controller per Bluetooth mit dem Apfel-Rechner:

  • Schritt 1: Geht in die Systemeinstellungen des Mac / MacBook
  • Schritt 2: Anschließend den Punkt „Bluetooth“ auswählen
  • Schritt 3: Am PS4 Controller gleichzeitig den Share Button und den Power Button drücken
  • Schritt 4: Das Controller-Licht sollte nun blinken, der Wireless Controller erscheint in der Übersicht des Mac
  • Schritt 5: Nun müsst ihr nur noch verbinden; also auf „Verbinden“ klicken

Fazit zum Thema

Nicht jedes Spiel unterstützt die Verwendung eines Wireless Controllers am Mac. Aber mit dem PS4 Controller lassen sich jene Spiele Apps, die das tun, wesentlich komfortabler zocken. Auch wenn man sich vielleicht anfangs erst einmal in die Steuerung reinfuchsen muss. Wie sieht es bei euch aus, habt ihr schon einmal mit dem PlayStation Controller am Mac gedaddelt? Lasst gern einen Kommentar da 😉

 

Sir Apfelot auf SteadyHQ unterstützen

Die Seite enthält Affiliate Links / Bilder: Amazon.de

9 Kommentare

  1. Rocco sagt:

    Geht das Spielen mit dem playstation Controller auch mit dem Apple TV ?

  2. Colin sagt:

    beides funktioniert bei mir nicht 🙁

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hi Colin! Das tut mir leid. Ich habe leider gerade keinen Controller hier, mit dem ich es probieren könnte. Aber was geht bei dir nicht? Findest du das Gerät nicht, wenn du beim ATV nach Bluetooth-Geräten suchst?

  3. Berlin44 sagt:

    Hallo was meint ihr genau mit “Schritt 5: Den dort aufgeführten „Wireless Controller“ auswählen?"
    Bei mir wird der Controller zwar angezeigt, aber ich kann ihn nicht auswählen.

    • Johannes Domke sagt:

      Hallo,
      das ist ein bisschen unglücklich formuliert, zugegeben. Die Schritte für den per USB angeschlossenen Controller sind im Grunde nur zur Kontrolle gedacht, um zu sehen, ob er auch erkannt wird. Wählt man ihn aus, dann werden Informationen zum Gerät (Hersteller, etc.) angezeigt. So kann man sehen, ob er richtig identifiziert wurde. Viel mehr steckt nicht dahinter.
      Beste Grüße
      Johannes

  4. Paul sagt:

    Hi Leute, könnt ihr mir eventuell sagen, wie ich die Tastenbelegung auf dem Controller ändern kann?
    ich bekomme das nicht hin und finde keinen vernünftigen Thread im Internet dazu…

    Sonst vielen Dank für die Tipps.

    • Johannes Domke sagt:

      Hallo Paul,

      da ich gerade keinen Controller zur Hand habe, kann ich nicht nach einer allgemeinen Lösung suchen.

      In welcher Software bzw. in welchem Spiel willst du den PS4 Controller denn nutzen? Meistens haben Plattformen wie Steam oder die einzelnen Spiele die Tastenbelegung in ihren Steuerungsoptionen versteckt.

      Beste Grüße
      Johannes

    • Sir Apfelot sagt:

      Hallo Paul! Ich könnte noch "BetterTouchTool" in den Ring werfen. Damit kann man eigentlich alle Belegungen von USB-Mäusen und anderen USB-Controllern nach seinem eigenen Geschmack anpassen. Vielleicht hilft dir das? Wenn du es ausprobierst, wäre es super, wenn du hier kurz schreiben könntest, ob es geklappt hat oder nicht. Falls andere auch das Problem haben… LG!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.